Ashland, KY 
Armco Park - White Course Share
Uploaded By: adam423 Hole #13 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 288ft.   3 / 318ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Short Tee

Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Legco White

1    6/22/2014   4/5/2015
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 134  Reviewed: 123  Exp: 9.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 19 holes with dual concrete tees and single discatcher basket with two pin positions and some tee signage. Excellent use of the elevation and terrain to create a variety of short par 3s. Very well maintained mostly wooded/shaded and no underbrush, low risk of losing discs. Interesting military sculptures. Bathrooms and water by parking lot in season.
Cons: Plays along park roads. No loop back to parking lot. Short holes, just a couple had suspect fairways. No pin indication. Navigation a little tricky, map outdated on here. Some tees uneven or raised. Lots of uphill. Steep slopes can cause roll a ways.
Other Thoughts: I like the design of the White course over the Blue course as it has more variety and better defined fairways. I wish the White course design was the length of the Blue course. There's some fun little holes on this course and like the other course a whole lot of elevation. Great course for beginners to advanced that don't mind a serious hike.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Blue's Little Brother

1    12/19/2014   3/10/2015
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 114  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 3.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Armco Park - White Course is a shrunken down version of the giant Blue course that also sits in this town park. This is a rec friendly course that appeals to more casual players, but does a nice job of still providing a similar rugged/woodsy feel like the Blue Course. Both courses start on top of a large hill toward the center of the park, then venture off into different sections. The White course starts and ends among a heavily wooded area and has a few (more) open holes in the middle.

Armco Park has a very cool setting, being in a town park right off a main road, but feeling like it is well secluded at times. This course travels far from hole 1 and then circles back, so the middle of the course offers a truly peaceful setting. While this course is shorter and flatter, most holes still have a nice combination of obstacles with the trees and elevation. Holes 2, 16, and 18 do the best job of mimicking the great design of the Blue course but set on a smaller scale. Most holes provide multiple lanes from tee to basket which gives you options - something I really appreciate.

This course focuses on precision shots with mid-ranges. With only one hole over 300' you would think that it would be easy to park your drives. This is not always the case on the more heavily wooded holes like 4, 8, 13, and 19. There is little room for error on holes like these, with seemingly inevitable chances at tree kicks and touch shots utilizing the elevation changes. The course does well from this design standpoint.

Having two tee pads and two pin positions is nice and everything was in great shape. Tees are concrete and appropriate length for the course, while the baskets are white in order to stand out from the other course. Long tees provide a higher level of difficulty and the short tees really give a lot of leeway since about half of them are under 200' and cut out some of the obstacles.
Cons: While this is a well-designed course, there is nothing too special about it with no true signature holes. Part of this is due to having an incredible course right beside it that is better in every aspect IMO. I would suggest playing this course first as a warm-up. I agree with another reviewer that this course felt a little repetitive and bland after playing the Blue course. Still, it is great for what it is in being designed with the more casual player in mind.

Players with big arms who like to show off their distance will not feel satisfied playing here. Even from the long tees there are three holes under 200' and only one over 300'.

There was no basket for 12, not sure if that was due to my timing or if that has been the case for a while.

Bathrooms were closed when I played in December, so keep that in mind if traveling far to get here during the offseason.

Tees were good sized, but were poured above grade and sometimes sloped to the grade of the hill. This made run-ups uncomfortable.

Navigation isn't too bad, but isn't always intuitive either. I had some trouble finding holes 3, 18, and 19. I'd recommend bringing a map.

While I love wooded holes that require precision shots, some holes have way too many trees with no clear lines (13 for sure).

I agree that there is an overabundance of left to right shots.
Other Thoughts: I found this course a little hard to gage. It is less daunting than the Blue course without the massive length and elevation changes. However, the Blue course always had well-defined lines and this course didn't always have that.

I do appreciate how this course was designed to be less of a beatdown. There are just a few design flaws here in terms of ease of navigation and shots required. Combining this with the fact that no holes truly stand out, I can't give this course higher than 3 discs. However, I encourage anyone to come here to this unique park. This is an awesome destination having two courses - and one being one of the best I have ever played.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

It might have its way with you!

1    6/28/2014   6/29/2014
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 244  Reviewed: 228  Exp: 4.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If it were the only course in the park, Ashland, KY's Armco White DGC would get high marks for its technical, (mostly) uphill holes that play really tough with tourney OB and sloping rough, along with its fairways littered with park trees. But it will inevitably be downgraded slightly because it sits next to its more magnificent big brother (Armco Blue).

The White course boasts two concrete tees and two basket positions on each of its 19 holes, with the long tees being roughly 1000% tougher than the shorts. ;) . Played long to long, and strict OB rules (like in yesterday's inaugural Oil City Classic), this course is a real challenge for the Intermediate level disc golfer (and even a technical workout for Advanced and Open players). But for variety, it looks like the short tees to short baskets would still be fun for Recreational and casual players who have a little experience under their belt (I would not recommend it for absolute beginners, though).

The layout does tend to favor rhfh or lhbh players, because the majority of the holes play left to right with the driveway running down the left side of the fairway. There are a LOT of trees, because (I'm told) they were not allowed to cut anything for clearing lines during installation. The flow is good, with no crossing traffic on the course, and makes tremendous use of the impressive elevation in the area. If you play here often, you won't learn to crank big distance drives off the tee, but you will develop a lot of mid & putter control, along with a nice 'touch' with uphill and downhill shots. ...unless you really enjoy brutal recovery shots back up to the basket from the deep woods!

The park infrastructure and maintenance looks really good, with shelters, bathrooms, water fountains, and so on. The baskets are white DisCatchers that grab your disc nicely, and they have deep cages to keep your disc in.

Having two tournament caliber courses, both with twin sets of pads and basket positions, all in one park, is incredible. You will be exhausted playing them back to back. But in a good way. Between Ashland and Huntington both having this type of setup, they appear to be vying to make this a destination region.
Cons: The concrete tee pads are decently sized, but were usually poured above grade and conformed to the slope, instead of being level, so run-ups can be awkward.

Though the short tees seem to have been located to create decent fairways, there were a lot of times when the longer tees were sited to be a bit brutal, with trees forcing overly precise lines. I found myself giving up on the idea of deucing most of the holes. Combine that with the fact that the sweeping left to right lines with the OB driveway down the same side each time, and the holes seemed to get a little repetitive after starting the day on the Blue course.

Being a huge fan of downhill shots, it seemed a little bit unfair to 'pay' with so many uphill holes, only to have seemingly disproportionate (few) downhills. A couple of times, early on (like hole 3), you go from the top of a climb, walk down to a tee, and shoot another uphill.

Just like the Blue course, Armco White has places where first timers can get confused. The map is good, but a guide would be better. And since they've added a hole, some of the info on DGCR needs a little updating. Though the tee signs are very well done, the trees obscure basket positions, and the longs are not indicated on the map. In a dream world, the tee signage would someday get an upgrade to the type with a hole layout diagram for each position, plus 'next tee' diagrams. I know, it's only money, right?
Other Thoughts: Having just played each of these courses once, in a tournament setting, no less, I have to admit that I was really worn out by the time I finished the White. I hope my review caught the flavor of how a first timer might see the course. But the overall takeaway is that these courses are challenging, exhausting, and still fun. Don't expect to have it easy with them, or they might have their way with you!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Hope you’re feelin lucky...

1    8/4/2012   8/7/2012
Review By: upfromtheashes
Played: 42  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 11.3 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Water spigots located around the park were great and very welcomed.

-High quality DISCatcher baskets.

-The park it's located in was attractive and looked to be well maintained.

-Concrete teepads and signs on all holes which included distances.
Cons: -Far and away my biggest complaint about this course is that it places far too high a premium on luck. I like to play courses that reward skill. Luck comes into play here in two primary ways: #1 - a number of holes have no defined fairway, just a mess of trees with 3-4-5 foot gaps between them. You literally throw and cross your fingers. #2 - most pin placements are on the side of a hill. As such, you can throw a perfect shot and park it right beneath the basket, but if your disc catches an edge you can easily roll 50 feet away from what should have been a drop-in. Not even pros are capable of reliably hitting 3 foot tree gaps and avoiding punitive rolls down hills. You shouldn't have to rely on luck in order to throw a good round.

-The signs have no map on them, and a number of the pins are not readily visible from the tees. We had to go hiking several times to find where we were throwing.

-This is one of the hillier courses I've ever played, and there were no benches at the tees. The course plays in and around several picnic areas, but you have to walk 50-75+ feet to reach a place to sit down.

-No garbage cans at tees.

-Teepads looked as though no effort at all was made to level them. Some were leaning front to back, others even leaning side to side.

-Many holes played left to right (from the long tees) and felt redundant.

-The multiple tees were very strange. In some cases, the long tee was only about 15 feet away from the short tee. In several cases, the short tee had a defined fairway to hit, whereas the nearby long tee had no defined fairway as it had to deal with several trees right in front of the teepad. Effectively, the only difference between the long tee and the short tee was a worse line to play.
Other Thoughts: -I need to reiterate how hilly this course is. Perhaps this shouldn't be a surprise, given the location, but we played both the White and Blue courses on a hot summer day and we were flat out whooped. These courses are insanely hilly.

-There are not many courses in this part of the state, and even fewer good options. I'm of the opinion that the somewhat generous ratings this course has received are a reflection of the scarcity of better options nearby. This is not a course that's worth driving hours to play.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great Day at the Park

1    7/18/2012   7/18/2012
Review By: Disc Golf Dave
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 31.8 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is a great companion to the blue course. It may not be quite as challenging, but together they make a pair of wonderful courses. It has a somewhat reduced level of difficulty when comparing to other great Kentucky courses, but it a great day at the park. I have adopted Kentucky as my second home. Disc golf is obviously a priority there and I love to be part of it.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Warmup

1    7/12/2011   7/23/2011
Review By: Crooow
Played: 181  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 28.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Easy to find; convenient parking; easy to navigate; multiple tee pads; water spigots all around the park; beautiful park; free to play; baskets in good condition; nice variety; but best of all, great way to warm up before playing the blue course.
Cons: No special holes; a little short; minor interference with other park users.
Other Thoughts: If this course did not have a big brother, I probably would have rated it a 3.5 - fun to play once or twice but not challenging. But since the Blue course is also here, it serves as a great way to warm up and get a feel for the terrain before playing that course. The heat index was 106 when I played and I really appreciated having the water spigots around so I only had to carry one water bottle.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


5+    6/18/2011   6/20/2011
Review By: jaybob
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/3/2013
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Distances are very manageable for newer players. I have not played that many courses but this one ranks up there with anything I've played. Course design makes good use of terrain and incorporates park facilities.
Cons: Finding the next hole is a problem in two places.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course that should definately be checked out if you are near. All holes have defined fairways although a couple are tight. This is a good course to work on your accuracy.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner friendly.....sort of.

5+    1/8/2011   1/14/2011
Review By: Johnny Conservative
Played: 19  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/30/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is very beginner friendly in the sense that none of the holes are too long. It is a good course to build your game. All but two of the holes are par 3. The other two are very managable par 4's.

Another thing that I love about this course is the multiple tee's at each hole. You can play the white tee one round and play the blue tee in the next round and you will feel as if you have played two courses!

Because of the close proximity of the road to the fairways, a player will learn accuracy very quickly if you play this course very many
times. Also, while I consider this a beginner friendly course, it is not too easy as to not be a challenge to more experienced players.

There are many restrooms throughout the park, and places to rest if necessary.

Overall, this is a great course. ENJOY!!
Cons: The OB situation can make it frustrating to players before they learn how to better control the flight of their discs.

During the summer months, if a disc gets away from you and flies into the woods and/or rolls down hill into the woods, they can be very hard to find. Try to use discs that are easy to see and/or have a friend spot your throw.

Once a player is experienced enough to make the OB a non-issue, there are no other cons in my opinion of this is course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Very Nice Course

1    10/12/2010   10/13/2010
Review By: cccp00a
Played: 23  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
* Very nice 18 hole course set in a beautiful park with many amenities. Another 18 hole course is set in the same park.
* Course seems to be maintained very well and is a central part of this park
* Two nice large concrete tee pads
* Very nice baskets offering two pin positions, white tops to differentiate between the white/blue courses.
* Very nice signage listing both the distances and direction to the basket. Also, signs to the next tee pad (except to #3 - read below)
* Distance are not too far for the amateur or new player but the do require a variety of shots.
* Nice offering of open shots and shots through the woods
* Much broken glass and trash through the wooded holes. Although there are some trash cans at the pavillions may need some at tees (But, this may not stop this problem)
* Basket #3 has been pulled from its old position and a new #11 has been added. From basket #2 you will need to go to the #4 tee pad - and the basket will read #3 this will go on until you reach #10 and then a new #11 has been added.
* Some of the hole are very close to the roads through the park and potentially other park users.
* Some of the wooded holes do not seem to have any defined fairway and you feel like you are just throwing through an area of trees.
Other Thoughts: Were able to play this course while I was in Huntington, WV at a meeting. Really enjoyed this course but, did not have time to play the blue course. Good use of the elevation by offering a number of up hill and down hill shots. The parked seemed to be kept up very well - also had a water pump to wash off after your round. Nice playground and other amenities for kids. Would be a great place to stop if you are passing through the area.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good beginner's course at public park

1    8/27/2010   9/7/2010
Review By: Scazmatic
Played: 12  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/12/2011
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Well maintained course at public park. Easy to find off of the highway with ample amenities nearby.

- Multiple picnic shelters, bathroom facilities, and trash cans throughout the course.

- Lots of variety in terms of distance, shot type, elevation, and difficulty. Both wooded and open holes.

- Challenging yet fair course suitable for beginners but tough enough for more experience players.

- Additional course on site.
Cons: - Course plays along the park access roads. Passing traffic is often in play, and throwing OB is always a concern.

- Signage from hole to hole could be improved. Having the online course map helps in navigation, but even then the course can be confusing at times.

- Multiple pin locations are not marked on the tee signage. Several baskets are not easily viewable from the tee pad.

- Broken glass and debris not unusual.
Other Thoughts: I played Armco for the first time last year and posted a review then, but we went back to play this week. After playing several courses in several states, and having played this course a couple times now, I felt like I needed to update my review. I'll preface by saying a lot of this is copied directly from my Blue Course review, as most comments hold true for both courses.

Armco Park is located in Boyd County, Kentucky about five minutes off of I-64. It's very easy to find the park entrance just off the main highway behind the state police barracks. The park houses two courses, the longer and more difficult Blue Course on the left hand side of the park upon entering, and the more moderate but still challenging White Course on the right hand side. Both courses are tournament caliber, well maintained and well designed, and are worth a trip if you're coming from out of town.

In my opinion, the White Course is the more casual and less difficult of the two Armco Park courses. The lengths are much more managable, and though there is still a certain degree of difficultly and accuracy is always tested, it's definitely the more enjoyable of the two. If I were bringing new players to the park, this is the course I would play, but if a more experienced player was coming in from out of town, I'd point them to the Blue Course.

The course makes good use of the topography. There are a lot of elevation changes, both uphill and downhill, and several holes that require tight placement, both in terms of trees and the access road that serves as the OB line that wraps around the course. Holes are not particularly long but by no means are simple. There are definite ace and birdie opportunities available for bigger arms.

The course does play to the top of a hill and back down, so there is a considerable amount of walking and hiking. The rough is also in play on several holes around the turn, and it's easy to misplace a disc in the unmowed portions. As with any wooded course, bugs and poison ivy are not uncommon off the beaten path, so take precautions as you feel necessary.

The park itself is a really great facility, with lots of picnic shelters, playgrounds for the kids, public restrooms and water spigots. It'd be very easy to combine a round with a family trip or cookout.

All in all, I think Armco is a great course and a real asset to the community. Though it's very challenging, it's ultimately very fair and players of all skill level can get something out of a round here.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.