Ashland, KY 
Armco Park - White Course Share
Uploaded By: adam423 Hole #10 (Taken 6/2009)
4 / 298ft.   4 / 348ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Short Tee

Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Nice Quick Round

1    8/6/2010   9/3/2010
Review By: Ben17
Played: 65  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 5.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Armco park is located in a nice and very large park. Many trees are planted along some of the fairways, and some holes are just very open with no trees what so ever. The baskets are nice white topped innova discatcher baskets. This is the only course i've seen with white topped baskets. It is nice so that you can tell it apart from the blue course. The one very nice thing that they have here is the shelters. There are shelters everywhere. The pedestrians here are very nice. I was talking to some of them and they were very helpful. There is a decent amount of elevation changes. I wouldn't say there is as much as there is on the blue course, but there is still a decent amount. The best part about this course is thats a well taken care of nice course. The people take really good care of the park. There is like no trash laying anywhere. There are restrooms all over the course, which can be very helpful.
Cons: Due to the elevation changes it does get quiet windy here. The one really bad thing is that it does not get any use. When i was here there was not one other person there playing disc golf. The pedestrians can also get in the way sometimes when you are playing, so you will need to wtch out for that. It can get a little bit confusing at times if it is your first time. They dont really offer a variety of different holes. The holes are either down hill or up hill. Almost all of the holes are par threes. That takes alot of fun out of a course.
Other Thoughts: Really this course is plain and simply fun. You can come here and play a quick round in a little bit over an hour. If you go to the links/files you will see that there is a course map. When i was there i had one but really you dont need one at all. Always look out for the people walking, they will get in your way. If you haven't already learned to play with the wind you will learn here, it gets very windy.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    8/17/2010   8/17/2010
Review By: wkelly42
Played: 24  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 12/18/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: After playing Peaks View Park in Virginia three times, I figured I was ready for something new. Armco is the closest course to my house, and I'd heard really good things about it, so I headed over there after a short work day.

The layout is outstanding, except for a couple things I'll mention under 'Cons.' Risk-Reward is present all over the place, with multiple lines to the basket from every tee. This one has more distance than I'm used to (see the specs on Peaks View if you're wondering how that could be), but it's still accessible for beginners. After playing the shorter course, I had a lot of confidence in my disc golf ability. After playing Armco, I know how much work I still need to do.

Plenty of facilities here, and the park is beautiful. Several playgrounds for the kids to have fun on while you're golfing too.
Cons: I got spoiled by the hole signs with diagrams in Virginia -- the signs here don't have that. Most of the time that wasn't a problem; I could figure out where the hole was based on the layout of the land. On some of the longer holes, though, it would have been a big help.

I got lost going from 11 to 12. (Follow the road and you'll see the tees for 12 on your right.) From 2 to 3 you need to just walk straight up the hill and head slightly right -- you'll see the tee pads across the road). The course doesn't flow as well as it could, but once you've played it one time you'll know where things are. Everyone has mentioned the broken glass on the course; I didn't notice it until about #7 or so.

#15 is my LEAST favorite hole. Landing area is NARROW, and of course I missed it. Very unforgiving hole.

This is a new course, and they're still putting in some things that are really needed (steps from 15 to 16 would be GREATLY appreciated -- and if I'm off when you build them, I'll even help!).
Other Thoughts: Two sets of tees for each hole. Two pin positions for each hole. And of course, they changed to the LONG pin positions right before I play the course. This is a fun course, and a GREAT addition to disc golf in this area.
Update just to say that this course plays completely different in the fall and winter. There are lines there when the leaves are down that you'd never be able to try in the spring and summer.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    9/12/2009   7/12/2010
Review By: puttinhutton
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 31.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is located in a well maintained state park with beautiful and enormous trees. The brush has been mostly cleared. Topo plays a large factor and offers many unique shots. The scenery is beautiful. Althought I like the blue course better, this pair of courses is hard to beat.

The mature tree canopy leaves plenty of open alleys between the large tree trunks. Since the brush has been largely cleared, the course is not overly punitive allowing recovery shots that need to be shaped, and leaving few "dead" zones.

Good fun, good exercise, beautiful course.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  great course

1    6/17/2010   6/17/2010
Review By: sojo1
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The short distance makes this a great place for the novice or someone my age at 60 to enjoy this game. I think that I have found my home course.
Cons: While the terrain may not be that hilly, the undulations made for some uneasy footing.
Other Thoughts: The time may be at hand for this sport, to being grooming a flat primary landing area so that a player can have sure footing due to a properly placed drive off the tee.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    4/3/2010   4/26/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 420  Reviewed: 356  Exp: 7.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Two concrete tees per hole, each with high-quality tee signs. Bathroom scattered across park. Same site as longer and more difficult 18-hole Blue course.
Some holes, primarily from the longs, seemed a bit like pinball. Some minor flow issues - several holes play near/alongside access roads and walking paths. Lots of broken glass at various parts along the way, almost as if it was part of the fill-dirt.
Other Thoughts:
Course plays up, down, and across the moderately-wooded land of multi-purpose park. Very consistent distances - from the shorts, as over 2/3rd of the holes are in the 165'-230' range, and from the longs, over 2/3rds of the holes are in the 225'-280'. Nearly every hole will have you dealing with trees at some point, nearly every hole requires a straight throw (or a right-turner - there was definitely a paucity of left-turns needed), and there is about a 50-50 mix between flat and holes with changes (moderate) in elevation. Combine all these components and you have a course well suited for helping (making?) you develop a controlled mid-range game.

To find tee #4, re-trace your steps past #3 and pavilion behind. From tee #6, the most visible basket straight ahead is actually #7 - basket #6 is sharply to the right after clearing the treeline. Steep, dead-leaves filled slope to right of #13, and leave-filled gully near basket #15 could make a disc very difficult to find. Short-but-steep eroding walk from basket #15 to tee #16.

Favourite hole #11: Longest at just under 300', gently up-slope with trees to wend your way through, slightly elevated basket position with drop-off on two sides.
Least favourite #8 from the long - throwing a disc between prison cell bars would have been easier!

Ice cream shop across from the entrance was really good! Plenty of food/petrol options nearby. Great course for developing touch-n-control w/o being a deep-woods course.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Short and technical

1    4/14/2010   4/14/2010
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 185  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 27.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great elevation changes

Long and short tee's

Nice pads

Restrooms, trash cans and shelters everywhere
Cons: No real bomber holes

Signage lacks pin placement
Other Thoughts: This is a fun little "side-kick" to the Blue course, here at Armco Park.

The elevation here is top notch. You will shoot to and from every angle - up, down, right, left and strait on.

There is a nice mix of open and tight shots. Nothing too tight, and nothing wide open.

The park is gorgeous and well manicured. The picturesque landscape is worth a trip.

The only thing really out of balance is the length. It is a short course. Even the long tee's here are short. Still, that is how it was designed. It is not a mistake. This course is for the novice to intermediate player. If you want more distance shots, step over to the Blue course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Valleys and ridges!!!

1    1/24/2010   1/24/2010
Review By: harr0140
Played: 871  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6.9 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) This is a very well thought out course. It uses a couple valleys set between some ridges of a large hilly area. The Blue course is set on the same property and is designed similarly. These valleys and ridges create some interesting shot requirements.

2) This is another one of those courses that feel mostly open, with very large mature Oak trees creating all of the shot shaping. It is a course that didn't require a lot of tree removal which is surely a positive especially considering that disc golf has a reputation as requiring a lot of tree removal. Not in this case, they used the trees and the elevation to create the course. That to me is a supremely locaed and designed course.

3) The turf in the open areas is in good shape. The valleys that are more densely wooded have minimal turf but they have a fair amount of leaf coverage tha keeps the areas from being slick mud.

4) Massive elevation change is used on this course. You work your way up a valley to a ridgeline where you play a few holes, then you begin to work your way down another valley and along another ridge, then you finish back down the valley. This was just a well thought out part of the design process. It has a wonderful mix of ups, downs, and level holes.

5) The variety in foliage density is very well done here. There are some more open holes, some with just the large mature Oaks to work around. There are also some holes that require a more tightly thrown line. No real dense woods, but enough obstacles to force a tunnel feeling.

6) Concrete tees are always a positive especially on a course with this much elevation change and uneven tee areas.

7) Risk/reward is evident in many spots on this course especially with some basket placements. You really need to take some risks to score well, but those risks can easily turn into bogies.

8) Dual tee format is nice because it offers a little extra distance.

9) Good directional signage to point you to the next hole in appropriate places.

10) Alternate basket locations are also in place on this course which would be nice for mixing up the holes from time to time.

11) Fairly beginner friendly course. My wife enjoyed the course as much as I did and she doesn't have a great arm yet. It surely will challenge the beginner but it will do so fairly.

12) The park has a playground, a picnic area under a gazebo and other activities. It even has a merry go round if you want to reminisce about when you used to spin until you puked!

13) Looks to be a well maintained course. It was winter when I played so it is hard to tell but there were areas where the leaves have obviously has been cleared for disc retrieval.

14) Restrooms available on one of the ridge holes but it was unfortnately closed for the winter apparently.

15) Very nice white rimmed discatchers on this course and blue rimmed discatchers to differentiate the two courses.

16) Teesigns are present and they indicate all distances to all baskets from all tees. They have the Hole # and par also included. They only lack a diagram of the hole.

17) Very little underbrush on this course. Even those ridge holes where the dense woods is on the side of the fairway are pretty clear and if you do experience a rollaway you will still be able to find your disc.
Cons: 1) Gravel is eroding from underneath some of the 1 year old teepads. It would have been better to frame those pads up with timber and pack the gravel into the forms before laying the concrete.

2) Some of the teepads are sloped and not level. Some of the teepads also have had erosion around them with large dropoffs that could be very dangerous if you have a big runup and tend to overshoot the front of the teepad on your follow through.

3) Short and long tees are too similar. Most holes there is only a little bit of distance difference, and they generally do not change the look at the hole they only offer one more obstacle to clear before hitting the same fairway line.

4) Hole distances are too similar. I would have liked to see some longer holes from time to time, perhaps one longer uphill, one longer ridgeline shot, and one more long downhiller. This would provide more variety in effective distance of holes.

5) This course is too short in my opinion. It looks like there was room for more or longer holes and maybe would have been a better course if the property was used more. Don't get me wrong I loved it, but I would generally lke to see some longer holes. It might have taken another 1000' to make it better IMO, so only 5 of the holes would need to be extended 200' or so. That would give some more multiple shot holes which this course lacks completely. The only time you need to throw multiple shots per hole is if you hit a tree in your way, if you miss all the big trees you will be parked, or have a simple approach shot and an easy putt.

6) There are a few areas where roads cross or run alongside some of the holes so please be careful and wait until people pass you to throw. This shouldnt be a huge problem because they are all internal park roads and not the main roads.

7) Teesigns lack a good diagram.

8)) Noticed hundreds of broken bottles in the ground, Not sure if this was in some soil that was brought in or if people just throw their beer bottles everywhere.

9) Hole #6 is confusing because you look out and see #7 basket. The 6th basket is right along the woods, although it is fairly easy to figure out because if you look at the distance it is obvious that you are not looking at the correct basket when looking at 7 from 6 tee.

10) A bridge from #16 to 17 tee would be helpful, that ravine is steep, wet, and slick. It could be totally out of play beyond the basket but would help mek this part of the course less annoying.
Other Thoughts: I had a great time at this course it is some of the better elevation I have played. Unfortunately the hole distances and total length were too short IMO, but the property is very unique and the design was very well done. It is a fair course that will challenge you to hit your desire lines, but you do have multiple options to choose from. Just be decisive and execute the shot. I had a lot of birdies and a couple bogies (which were due to hitting a tree I was trying to cut right past).

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Great short course!

5+    8/13/2009   8/22/2009
Review By: strohman
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very well designed course! Some might think that this course looks too short to be a challenge, but that isn't the case. It was designed by a former Disc Golf World Champion, and a lot of thought went into every hole.
The elevation changes all throughout the course and every hole is different. It's definitely a technical course that requires some real accuracy and shot placement.
At the same time, a new player could learn a lot on this course since it requires accuracy, but not extremely long drives. I have been playing disc golf for less than 2 years and I really enjoy this course. I am able to shoot par on many holes and I have gotten a few birdies too, so it's great for a beginner or a player without a 300 yard drive.
The course has plenty of bathrooms and parking too! It's located close convenience stores and restaurants and the interstate!
Cons: The course is very well maintained, but there are a few holes where there is a lot of broken glass. I'm not sure where this came from, but the maintenance people haven't noticed it since it's on the course, in the wooded section.
Also, there is a picnic shelter with parking near hole #7. If you go on a weekend and the shelter has been reserved, you can't play that hole since cars are parked too close to the basket and fairway. (It's a very tight hole.)
Other than that, nothing at all!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fast and fun

1    8/8/2009   8/13/2009
Review By: newsguru
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short, fun course. Creative basket placement. Several different ways to get to the basket. Even difficulty for both right and left handed throwers. Beautiful park with interesting wildlife. Great family environment. Allows of beginners to shoot for birdies. Solid concrete tee pads. Tough, even for a beginner, to lose a disc.
Cons: Some tees are located close to the road, which could be dangerous for some players who can't control their throws. Lots, surprisingly, of broken glass. Short tees could be VERY easy for more experienced players. Arrows and permanent signs needs to be made. Some course improvements would be nice too.
Other Thoughts: I REALLY enjoy playing this course. You can throw it fast with friends with only a putter and midrange. If I lived closer or didn't have a gass guzzler I would play Ashland once a week.
Things to remember; watch for cars driving through the park and head back around the war memorial to throw hole 4 after getting your disc on basket 3. My home course is Rotary Park in Huntington, which is amazing, but these two courses in Ashland are a great start to bring disc golf to the region. If you're passing through, want to get in a quick round or want to take up the sport Ashland's White Course is the way to go. For a challenge, check out Ashland's Blue Course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A Real Gem!

5+    8/29/2009   8/4/2009
Review By: Dunksmooth
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/30/2009
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Both Armco courses are located in Armco Park in Ashland, Kentucky. The park itself is very well maintained and conveniently located so that even someone new to the area could easily find it. There are several restrooms spread throughout the park so you're never left walking too far to find one. The course is brand new - the baskets (Innova), teepads (concrete), signs/markers, etc...everything is new. Each hole has both white and blue tee pads and long and short pin placements. The course was designed by local pro Johnny Sias and has an excellent flow with well defined fairways; great use of elevation changes; good risk/reward challenges; and an easy to navigate layout. As an added perk, on a quiet day it's common to see lots of wildlife...a flock of 12+ wild turkeys graced us with their presence on more than one occasion.
Cons: Hole #7 is located near a large shelter house. When that shelter is occupied the hole sometimes becomes unplayble due to cars being parked too close to the fairway. Only choices are to skip the hole or risk damaging someone's vehicle.
Other Thoughts: There are both blue and white signs marking each teebox on every hole; however (and I know I'm knitpicking) a higher quality sign with a graphic layout of the hole would increase the professionalism of the course. In addition a few footbridges, stairs and walkways would turn this course into a legitimate world class contender.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.