Green Cove Springs, FL 
Ronnie Van Zant Memorial Park Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #3 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 388ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee Sign



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
All I Can Do Is Write About It

2-4    11/25/2013   12/1/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 204  Reviewed: 202  Exp: 3.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mostly open course through fields and Florida scrub. Typically, I ain't the one to praise a course with as few obstacles as this one does, but most of these holes work for me. Trust that the relatively few trees present here are used well and make each hole unique. The first pair of holes play through the tightest woods, playing down fairways bounded by thin trees. The next bunch traverse a wide open field, allowing players to really air out a few drives. Around the mid point of the round, there are a few holes made in the shade. These are my favorites,a s they force you to throw over the low scrub and below the high fronds, as well as around the trunks.

You also won't spend much time searching for discs. If you aren't in the field, you should be able to spot exactly which bit of scrub you went into. This means a faster round, or allows you to listen to the call when one of these pleasant curves beckons to be thrown one more time.

There's not a ton of complexity here, but im a simple man, and can appreciate a course that lets you throw and watch the disc in flight and every mothers son should be able to enjoy the course on some level.
Cons: There aren't a lot of things goin' on for upper-level players. Most of the fairways are relatively straightforward and intermediate players shouldn't have too much trouble getting the disc to bend to their will.

The holes are often very straight. After a hundred courses, I know a little about courses great and terrible. This one is squarely in the middle. There is nothing special. There are no signature holes. It's completely flat. It's a very playable course for most skill levels but that is about it. Unless the vegetation is unfamiliar to you there is really nothing here that stands out.

The pads are not really big enough for the types of throws. Their serviceable, but on open holes like these, you have to at least gimme three steps.
Other Thoughts: I saw no sign of the second eighteen, so the original course can easily played with no confusion. At the same time, I would have liked to give them a shot and had no idea it was there until I returned to the site. It's an exciting concept and if you think I'll return to replay the first course and give the second a shot, you got that right.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

To Ronnie!

1    1/14/2013   2/5/2013
Review By: Rossome
Played: 10  Reviewed: 8
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Family friendly park with a variety of holes and mix of lengths. About half were wooded with precision shots required and half rewarded a strong arm. Tees were good and signs adequate. I enjoyed the back nine the most near the lake and woods.
Cons: The entrance and parking areas were not paved and mostly dirt, sand and mud. The location of hole one was not easily found, but once I did find it, the layout was fairly intuitive. I had to ask locals a few times where the next tee was or which basket to shoot for. Lots of spindly trees on the first couple of holes and last couple of holes making shots require luck as well as skill.
Other Thoughts: I played all four of the courses in Jax area and this was my second favorite (Ed Austin first). There wasn't much unique about the course nor was it particularly scenic. I enjoyed the lake area (for three holes). The park was clean, the golf was challenging and fun, but the course didn't have any real memorable traits.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Wow

1    5/14/2012   7/19/2012
Review By: chuckrcp
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.6 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Park is nice.
Lots of fun with a few holes that have an A and B hole.
Challenging.
Cons: The rattle snake challenge was very difficult.
They need to get rid of some underbrush.
It is very easy to lose discs in the under brush.
This is not for beginners.
Other Thoughts: We started on the 15th hole so we could end by car.
Had a good time on the original 18 holes.
When I go back no rattle snake challenge for me.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good Central Florida Day Trip

1    1/7/2011   1/19/2011
Review By: sasquach
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The park was well maintained. The course has it's own space so other park users are not in danger of being hit. Good for the ego. I don't have a big arm but was able to shoot 2-4 over par.
Cons: My only real con was the baskets and tee boxes being a bit close together. The course was not that full when we were playing but you still needed to keep your eyes open. I would like to see a bit more obstruction on the course to make it harder.
Other Thoughts: This is a good day trip for those in the central or north Florida area. Locals were very nice. Course was very easy to follow. Enjoyed it

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Ronnie Van Zant

1    5/1/2010   5/4/2010
Review By: I3ooI3oo
Played: 45  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.6 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is well maintained, there are plenty of trash cans, water fountains, and benches. While the course is a little short, there are a number of holes that are heavily wooded that require a tight line. The new Innova Disc catchers make finding the pin fairly easy. There are concrete pads for every hole and bag post for keeping your bag out of the sand. There is a decent amount of shade trees for getting out of the blazing sun.
Cons: First there is not a sign showing the way to hole one or the course layout. There is a few spots where multiple holes come together. 4 & 16's baskets and 5 & 17's pads are within a 30 foot area. the same is true about 14's basket and 10's pad. This makes you wait for people that are ahead or behind you which was not much of a problem but could be come one as the course gets busy. 13 does not have a fairway and tit is very hard to tell where the basket is from the pad. The hole starts with a 50ft open shot that then finds a 100ft of simi-dense woods with al lot of undergrowth.

While the course has Concrete pads they are only 6ft and should be longer.
Other Thoughts: The course could have been laid out a little better but it is a fun course that is a memorial for a great Florida musical icon. Just remember to bring something to play music and a copy of Freebird to set the mood.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  

1    4/30/2009   5/14/2009
Review By: boogdapirate
Played: 20  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great holes not too many people and the course design is great, the course makes a big U shape. Also there are a couple of water fountains along the course. There is a great use of the trees there aren't too many but there are enough too make the course challenging.
Cons: No tee pads and some holes are confusing. The course lacks some benches and a post to hang you bag.
Other Thoughts: Only two holes you can lose you disc on i think its 13 and 3 I think. Be careful you can get ticks and there are rattlesnakes. Hopefully the course will be improved on a later date.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun simple beginner course

1    3/30/2009   3/30/2009
Review By: 33tango
Played: 18  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.5 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun! Beginner friendly. Course is brand new.
Cons: Not very challenging for experienced players. Wind across open area can be rough. Doesn't require a variety of shots.
Other Thoughts: This course looks like it was put in on a bit of a shoestring, don't expect tee signs other than a 4 by 4 post cut to a slant on top with a house number screwed to it. The course has potential to be improved. I played it with one other experienced player and introduced my parents to disc golf on it. We all had a good time and it fit well with teaching beginners the game. More to come next time I'll take photos and try and sketch a course map.

When you enter the park, turn right and park near the empty bulletin board, you're at the first tee. All the tees are marked, but one hole in particular really needs a next tee sign, I think it was #9. When you finish, there is nothing else in sight. You're near a fence and some palmetto choked pines to the west. After holing out, turn around and go south back the way you came and take the path to your right cutting into the palmettos. At the Y, take the left fork and you will go straight to the next tee. After that the rest of the holes can be found without much scouting, just pay close attention to the facing of the slope of the 4x4 posts that serve as tee signs and generally point pretty close to where the basket is.

Nice park with restrooms, tennis courts, a fishing pond, etc.

Nearby: Due west on the same road you can find a grocery store and a small local Italian restaurant.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center