Green Cove Springs, FL
Ronnie Van Zant Memorial Park Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #6 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 328ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee Sign



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
great course

5+    11/12/2012   11/14/2012
Review By: pimpski03
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is an extremely clean course with a great layout. It has a mix of challenging/ technical fairways, and long open fairways. The locals that play the course are very friendly. Bathrooms are easily accessable and there are benches at every T pad.
Cons: This is a pretty active park. It is not un common for people to just come walking accross the fairway in front of you. In the spring evenings pop warner practices in the field in the center of the park and the parents seem to set up their lawn chairs in the middle of the fairway on holes 4, 4A, 5, 8 and 15. Other than that the park is excellent and would recommend it to anyone.
Other Thoughts: The park has a back 18 called rattle snake ridge. 9 of the T pads are layed and I cant wait until they get the other 9 layed. Its a work in progress. Something seriously needs to be done about the parents and their lawn chairs with the pop warner team. I'm all about the kids having fun but parents "get the hell out of the fairways"

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Free as a Bird

1    2/12/2012   2/26/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 682  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Nice concrete tees are always appreciated.

2) Signs are decent with Hole #, maps of the hole and the distances are listed.

3) Nice yellow discatchers are always appreciated for visibility.

4) There is a kiosk at the first hole with some information and also another kiosk with an incredibly large course map by #19 (the first hole in the "Rattlesnake Challenge".

5) Excellent variety of hole type here. There are some fairly wide fairways, then some parklike holes running through turfed areas with just key trees, and there are also some really tight shots.

6) Bagracks again on many holes which must be a local thing as I do not see that in most places around the country. There are also a few benches scattered around for you to take a break and sit down.

7) Parking lot has plenty of parking for the course unless there are a ton of other general park users.

8) Decent distance variation ranging from low 200's all the way up to mid to upper 300's. The back 9 has one hole over 400'. This will force you to have a bunch of different throws and disc selection will be key.

9) Bathrooms located near the beginning and end of the course which is expected because the course runs a decent distance away from the parking lot and other park activities.

10) The best elevation is back on the Rattlesnake Challenge but the front 18 hole course has a couple of minor changes.
Cons: 1) Routing got a little confusing with the additional holes but I know they aren't real old so that will eventually be adjusted. I would seriously consider calling the back 9 a completely different course even though it is located off to another totally different area. The reason for this is with all the extra holes and the confusing layouts people will get bungled up pretty good. There were 2 extra holes on 4 and 5 which maybe need to be played during sporting events on the baseball field because the regular holes play along and across the field.

2) Multiple holes play in areas where people will be walking across the course. There are also a few areas where there are other sporting events that might be in danger. Basketball courts, tennis courts, baseball field.

3) I would say this course is not for beginners. Take the Rattlesnake Challenge away and the normal 18 hole course wouldn't be too challenging but as a whole this course will possibly deter beginners of the game. Ed Austin would be a much better course for beginners.

4) Hole #18 is simply dangerous for anyone in the parking lot. If a straight line was drawn to the basket you would cut off about 25% of the parking lot. I do not remember if the lot was listed as OB but it should be. As it is there are a lot of trees in between the tee and the basket and you could easily catch a tree and kick out into the lot.

5) The map on the teesigns was somewhat generic. Sure it indicated trees and a fairway and the tee and basket location, but the routing on the shot did not always concur with the line they had drawn as their "fairway".

6) Teepads are slightly short. It doesn't bother me much because I have short legs, ut many others with a longer runup might not like these tees.
Other Thoughts: I noticed an area with crumb rubber (recycled tires used to reduce compaction and allow turf to grow better in high traffic areas) near #16. I am not sure of the reason for this but it gave me an idea that it could be a very useful tool to be placed around teepads and basket areas.

The course is named after the late member of Lynrd Skynrd which everyone can appreciate. He is a local hero to Jacksonville and it is only fitting the band who sang "Free Bird" gets themselves a disc golf course named after them.

I enjoyed this course about as much as Ed Austin . . . "Rattlesnake Challenge" is what makes this course as challenging as it is. There are a lot more places to get into trouble back there, but the front 18 holes is still a solid course. You can make some birdies but you can also be punished by a tree or two.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Ronnie Van Zant

5+    1/14/2012   1/16/2012
Review By: debuck03
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great Course! 18 regular holes along with an additional 9 hole course in the back. This course also has an alternative tee box and basket for #4, for when the field is covered with pee wee football players.
Cons: Not many water fountains and there is always some football team practicing in the afternoons. All bathrooms are towards the beginning holes of the course.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 great course for average players

5+    5/23/2011   5/23/2011
Review By: fujijon
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.1 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Well marked. Great People. Fast play, new basket placement on 12 & 18, possibly to birdie all baskets for good players, yet still challenging. New back nine (19-27) short but differ cult bends, Alternate baskets for 4 & 5 - great for when park fields are full of softball/baseball players.
Cons: Wear lots of bug spray, ticks are everywhere. Watch for snakes (adds a little danger & excitement to the course).
Other Thoughts: New back nine has thick heavy underbrush, recommend long pants & snake boots and telescopic pole with hook to retrieve disc from all sorts of hazards. Definitely a course worth a visit.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Come on, play freebird

2-4    12/4/2010   12/7/2010
Review By: DelightSquad
Played: 34  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.7 Years
This review was updated on 12/17/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course with a variety of shots and challenges, but still offers some open holes for ace possibilities.

-Bag holders on every hole
-Plenty of trash bins
-Well maintained
-Professional(but slightly misleading) signs
-Involved locals
Cons: What the course offers in shot shaping it lacks in terrain(mostly flat). Hole 9 is far from the parking lot making it hard to leave or regroup.

-Some holes close to park amenities
-Not many benches
-Big groups on weekends
Other Thoughts: All together the pros far outweigh the cons for me. A mix of short to medium holes, some with tight lines and hammer or thumber throws needed made for a concentrated and rewarding round. The course had sandy holes with medium trees, which flowed into an open field, into a forest, and back again. I wouldn't take the tee signs into consideration before a shot, but would use them to find the pin. If it were closer to Gainesville I would play here often, but I still would recommend this course to any northern FL or southern GA residents to check out.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.