Green Cove Springs, FL 
Ronnie Van Zant Memorial Park Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #16 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 322ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee Sign



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Ronnie Van Zant

1    5/1/2010   5/4/2010
Review By: I3ooI3oo
Played: 45  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.8 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is well maintained, there are plenty of trash cans, water fountains, and benches. While the course is a little short, there are a number of holes that are heavily wooded that require a tight line. The new Innova Disc catchers make finding the pin fairly easy. There are concrete pads for every hole and bag post for keeping your bag out of the sand. There is a decent amount of shade trees for getting out of the blazing sun.
Cons: First there is not a sign showing the way to hole one or the course layout. There is a few spots where multiple holes come together. 4 & 16's baskets and 5 & 17's pads are within a 30 foot area. the same is true about 14's basket and 10's pad. This makes you wait for people that are ahead or behind you which was not much of a problem but could be come one as the course gets busy. 13 does not have a fairway and tit is very hard to tell where the basket is from the pad. The hole starts with a 50ft open shot that then finds a 100ft of simi-dense woods with al lot of undergrowth.

While the course has Concrete pads they are only 6ft and should be longer.
Other Thoughts: The course could have been laid out a little better but it is a fun course that is a memorial for a great Florida musical icon. Just remember to bring something to play music and a copy of Freebird to set the mood.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 My Local Course

5+    1/9/2010   1/13/2010
Review By: melkman
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/26/2010
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -good facilities at park
-good foundation for a course
-slowly being improved
Cons: -very flat
-can be confusing at first
-no dogs allowed in park. my dog likes to come with me.
Other Thoughts: this is the closest park to my house so I play it quite a bit. Its a pretty easy course. could use a redesign on a few holes. i wish there where some elevation changes (it is Florida though).

*UPDATE* they put in concrete tee boxes

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  my local course

5+    4/3/2010   5/27/2009
Review By: mvp67muddbone
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 4/10/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Restrooms, water fountains, covered pic-nic tables, play ground, fishing pond, tennis & basketball courts.

Good for beginers, all short holes, some open areas to let it fly, some tight spots to test your accuracy.

Golden next tee markers have been placed on trees near last pin played, about 10 ft up.but still maybe hidden, like tees 3 & 6 by palmetto bushes, & tee 7 is in the trail near pin 6, then left at Y.
Benches, bag poles & tee pads have been added.
Cons: Popular park on weekends. Most pedestrians are unaware. Picnicking, walking, or playing in fairways.


Holes 8,9,10,11 zig-zag & holes 11,12,13 cris-cross one another making it difficult to tee untill the prior group has completed the set.
Other Thoughts: This course was installed about March 2009. Improvements are being done on a buget.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

1    4/30/2009   5/14/2009
Review By: boogdapirate
Played: 20  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great holes not too many people and the course design is great, the course makes a big U shape. Also there are a couple of water fountains along the course. There is a great use of the trees there aren't too many but there are enough too make the course challenging.
Cons: No tee pads and some holes are confusing. The course lacks some benches and a post to hang you bag.
Other Thoughts: Only two holes you can lose you disc on i think its 13 and 3 I think. Be careful you can get ticks and there are rattlesnakes. Hopefully the course will be improved on a later date.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 New stomping Grounds

5+    5/10/2009   5/10/2009
Review By: Joovie88
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very Shaded, always a good breeze. Don't have to play around people hardly ever, love the disc catcher baskets.
Cons: very wooded, not well marked
Other Thoughts: This is my new favoriate course, it's about 1.3 miles from my house. it's nice and shaded and a good time. I've been playing it all par 3 which seems about right, a few are very challenging (like 18) but mostly because of the trees in between you and the hole.

not very crowded which personally i really like, it's not four palms but it'll do for now.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun simple beginner course

1    3/30/2009   3/30/2009
Review By: 33tango
Played: 18  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.7 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun! Beginner friendly. Course is brand new.
Cons: Not very challenging for experienced players. Wind across open area can be rough. Doesn't require a variety of shots.
Other Thoughts: This course looks like it was put in on a bit of a shoestring, don't expect tee signs other than a 4 by 4 post cut to a slant on top with a house number screwed to it. The course has potential to be improved. I played it with one other experienced player and introduced my parents to disc golf on it. We all had a good time and it fit well with teaching beginners the game. More to come next time I'll take photos and try and sketch a course map.

When you enter the park, turn right and park near the empty bulletin board, you're at the first tee. All the tees are marked, but one hole in particular really needs a next tee sign, I think it was #9. When you finish, there is nothing else in sight. You're near a fence and some palmetto choked pines to the west. After holing out, turn around and go south back the way you came and take the path to your right cutting into the palmettos. At the Y, take the left fork and you will go straight to the next tee. After that the rest of the holes can be found without much scouting, just pay close attention to the facing of the slope of the 4x4 posts that serve as tee signs and generally point pretty close to where the basket is.

Nice park with restrooms, tennis courts, a fishing pond, etc.

Nearby: Due west on the same road you can find a grocery store and a small local Italian restaurant.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.