Disc Golf Store
Dayton, OH 
Westbrook Park Share
Uploaded By: Darth Anovin Hole #3 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 330ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Westbrook

2-4    8/14/2012   8/14/2012
Review By: preludedrew
Played: 67  Reviewed: 43
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: very nice course, mostly woods, has some real nice drops in the woods.
Cons: Some drops in the woods are deep and you can lose a disc easy that way. lots of elevation in the woods too, in case you dont want to walk.
Other Thoughts: I love this 18 hole course, has some good open, field shots, and interesting drops in the woods.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Westbrook Park (Clayton)

2-4    5/29/2011   5/30/2011
Review By: Captain Bad
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 16.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/27/2013
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Setting:
Westbrook plays in a small suburban park that seemed to be mostly about the disc golf course. There's a good variety of environment here as the front nine plays primarily in the open, while the back plays primarily in tight woods. Elevation changes throughout the course make for some exciting and challenging shots. Overall, this is a very enjoyable park to walk through.

Equipment:
Discatcher baskets are in good shape except for Hole 12 (I think) has a couple loose chains. It totally cost me a stroke, I swear. Each hole has a sign post with distance, par, and basic hole map.

Course Design:
There's a bit of shot variety here, and several holes could be approached in a variety of ways. I don't think it was as varied as Buck Creek up in Springfield, but it's definitely more so than at a place like Belmont. The use of the elevation is superb -- not only for variety, but also to create blind shot opportunities.
Cons: Setting:
The park is a bit too small for the course, especially on the back nine. I agree with a previous reviewer that an 18-hole course was crammed into a 12-hole space. The paths in the back nine were muddy when I played, making them a little bit sketch. Some mulch would be helpful, especially on the walk from 12-13 which is a little steep downhill. Otherwise, the area is wonderful.

Equipment:
Well the tees are gravel. There are plenty of reviews citing the cons of gravel tees, so I won't rehash that, but I wanted to add a couple other items. First, aside from the gravel, the pads themselves are pretty uneven and tended to have a bit of mud in them. Second, there was nothing to mark the perimeter of the pad. We kinda just guessed where the end of the pad was. Even a couple of stakes pounded into the ground would have been helpful.

[UPDATE 1-27-2013] Concrete tee pads have been installed on all holes. The pad placements are generally in the same area as the original gravel pads. The placements make sense for the holes and in some cases, Hole 8 in particular, actually add a little bit of difficulty to the hole compared to the original placement. The only complaint I have regarding the new pads is that they were not dug in and poured flush with the ground. Hopefully some landscaping can resolve this, but for now use caution and try not to roll your ankle.

The signage is OK, but not great. The tee signs are very basic, but they get the point across. Signage to the next tee, however, is lacking. The back nine especially would benefit from some more, better placed signs directing you where to go.

Course Design:
Since the course is a bit short on space, several holes tend to bleed into one another posing some potentially severe safety concerns. Go a bit wide left on 16 and you're in 12's fairway. The walk from 15 to 16 requires that you walk right in front of 14's tee pad. If there's someone there at best you interrupt their drive; at worst you take a disc to the dome. If there's a path around the tee, I didn't see it.
Other Thoughts: The course is fairly beginner friendly, though there might be a fair amount of pinball being played on the back nine. The average hole distance here is ~260' with the max being 350', so if you've got a big arm and you're looking to bomb some drives, Westbrook probably isn't what you're looking for. OTOH, if you're looking for a short to mid-range, finesse course, Westbrook is worth the trip.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    11/30/2010   12/12/2010
Review By: Chainrattler
Played: 120  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 4.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a good course because it has alot of variety. When I'm in the mood to play a hilly wooded course, this is a good pick. It has alot of potential if it gets completed with signs and teepads.
Cons: There are some holes that you just hope for the best because there are so many trees.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Variety

1    8/10/2010   8/10/2010
Review By: pugsrul2001
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has alot of hole to try differant throws. Front 9 open not much trouble. Back 9 is very fun and challenging.
Cons: Hole 5 is close to houses and I lost my favorite mid-range disc (Buzz). Tees are loose graval and easy to loose your footing. because of this u should have a good onestep throwing approach.
Other Thoughts: The back nine does not have moderate hills at points i felt like a billygoat. Overall I enjoyed the course greatly. I will play again.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 From STL

1    11/11/2009   11/11/2009
Review By: XJDano
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I liked the course. Pretty easy to figure out where you are going next. Big Map at the parking lot. I took a picture with my phone for reference, which came in handy.
Cons: Only one trash can on the back 9 and some trash around. This time of year the ground is covered with leaves and it'll be hard to find your disc if it goes where you didn't intend. (spent about 20 minutes looking for a bight orange disk in the brush to the right in between 12)

if you aren't careful your disc could end up in a neighbor's yard
Other Thoughts: I lost a set of keys somewhere, i think on the back 9 and in the leaves it was impossible to find. REWARD if you find them. Black Lanyard with Hancook embroidered, a car key, and a couple masterlock keys and a house hey.


0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Westbrook Park

2-4    9/12/2009   9/14/2009
Review By: hendersondayton
Played: 30  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/14/2010
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Short enough for Beginners to play and have fun. Challenging layout with ALL the drives blocked by something. Not crowded at all. If you see someone else, they are probably playing disc golf.
Cons: Back nine gets a really steep. Up and Down. IF you have a heart condition or are overweight, beware.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Westbrook Park

1    9/4/2009   9/4/2009
Review By: Corkscrew
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 30.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: No traffic, Park was empty. Signs indicating distance and par were nice. You can tell that alot of thought was put into layout of course and a decent amount of effort building it.
Cons: No teepads concrete or rubber. Most are just pits. Losers that leave trash on the course
Other Thoughts: As a beginner I was worried that I would not like the back nine because of how tight that it was. It turned out quite the opposite. It really opened my mind and I enjoyed it. I found my straight disk....Thank you Buzzz

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.