Dayton, OH 
Westbrook Park Share
Uploaded By: Darth Anovin Hole #16 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 220ft.   3 / 220ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Hiking: Required

1    7/17/2011   7/18/2011
Review By: tsqrd
Played: 32  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
--Baskets: DisCatcher, Excellent Condition.
--Tee Signs/Maps/Markers: Basic signs at each hole. Signs are very simple including hole number, direction, distance, and par. There is a map online and near the first tee, next to the parking lot. There were 4x4 posts in the woods with sharpie marker arrows pointing you toward the next tee when it was not visible or obvious by the path direction.
--General Course Design: Course flows well from hole to hole. Course starts and ends close to the parking lot.
--Foliage Maintenance: Areas around the baskets were clear. Wooded areas were clear of debris. Trees are nicely trimmed and grass appears to be cut regularly.
--Benches & Trash bins: There were a few benches throughout the course. A few trash cans available and I did not notice any trash on the course.
--Elevation: Great use of mature trees and elevation changes. The front 8 holes play primarily in open areas while the last 10 holes are almost all inside a heavily wooded area. The elevation in the wooded area was extreme in spots. It was definitely a workout hiking up and down the hills through the back 9.
--Signature Holes: Several potential signature holes. A variety of hole distances requiring many different shot selections. The course offers a good mix of tight, technical shots and a few opportunities for open bombs.
Cons:
--Tee Pads: Gravel, poor condition, no real identifiable boundaries to the tees. Just simply some gravel near the hole sign. Gravel areas were heavily worn and several contained deep ruts from heavy use.
--Restrooms: I did not notice any restrooms at the park.
--General Course Design: A few holes seemed to just be a tee and a basket with little thought what was in between. Although the majority of the holes appeared to be thought out, there were a few that seemed to be dropped in place with no rhyme or reason. Some paths to the next tee could interfere with other players. At one point, you have to walk right in front of a tee to get to the next hole.
--Foliage Maintenance: There was a lot of mulch throughout the wooded area in an attempt to make the paths less muddy. Instead, the mulch is very wet and squishy. On some of the steeper hills, this could become very hazardous. At the entrance, there is a huge pile of fresh mulch, so perhaps there is a plan to replace this older mulch.
Other Thoughts:
--This course was fun to play, and not so tough that beginners will be discouraged. As a beginner myself, the course was challenging enough to force me to consider my shots before throwing. The par on several holes was set at 4, which for a beginner allowed errant shots to not be punished too harshly, but this also gave a false sense of accomplishment when you got a birdie simply by missing the trees on your tee shot.
--There were some tricky hole layouts that required skilled shots and/or some self control.
--There is plenty of parking available with a short walk to the first tee.
--I definitely recommend this course to any beginners looking for a confidence boost.
--Veterans to the game looking for some challenging wooded shots with a lot of forgiveness will enjoy this course as well.
--When the tee pads are upgraded and the mulch replaced, this course will get higher ratings.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Lost in the trees!

1    7/17/2011   7/17/2011
Review By: Foofoohead
Played: 21  Reviewed: 21
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very unique basket placements.
Variety of shot possibilities.
Great elevation changes.
Great fitness workout!
Cons: Tee areas are terrible!
Too much mulch in areas!
Hilly areas slick when wet!
Huffin and puffin on some of the hills.
Other Thoughts: This course has great potential! Get some tee pads and clean some areas up and you have a great course. Very technical, can't just grip it and rip it. I hope they make the necessary additions to make this a better course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Westbrook Park (Clayton)

2-4    5/29/2011   5/30/2011
Review By: Captain Bad
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 18.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/27/2013
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Setting:
Westbrook plays in a small suburban park that seemed to be mostly about the disc golf course. There's a good variety of environment here as the front nine plays primarily in the open, while the back plays primarily in tight woods. Elevation changes throughout the course make for some exciting and challenging shots. Overall, this is a very enjoyable park to walk through.

Equipment:
Discatcher baskets are in good shape except for Hole 12 (I think) has a couple loose chains. It totally cost me a stroke, I swear. Each hole has a sign post with distance, par, and basic hole map.

Course Design:
There's a bit of shot variety here, and several holes could be approached in a variety of ways. I don't think it was as varied as Buck Creek up in Springfield, but it's definitely more so than at a place like Belmont. The use of the elevation is superb -- not only for variety, but also to create blind shot opportunities.
Cons: Setting:
The park is a bit too small for the course, especially on the back nine. I agree with a previous reviewer that an 18-hole course was crammed into a 12-hole space. The paths in the back nine were muddy when I played, making them a little bit sketch. Some mulch would be helpful, especially on the walk from 12-13 which is a little steep downhill. Otherwise, the area is wonderful.

Equipment:
Well the tees are gravel. There are plenty of reviews citing the cons of gravel tees, so I won't rehash that, but I wanted to add a couple other items. First, aside from the gravel, the pads themselves are pretty uneven and tended to have a bit of mud in them. Second, there was nothing to mark the perimeter of the pad. We kinda just guessed where the end of the pad was. Even a couple of stakes pounded into the ground would have been helpful.

[UPDATE 1-27-2013] Concrete tee pads have been installed on all holes. The pad placements are generally in the same area as the original gravel pads. The placements make sense for the holes and in some cases, Hole 8 in particular, actually add a little bit of difficulty to the hole compared to the original placement. The only complaint I have regarding the new pads is that they were not dug in and poured flush with the ground. Hopefully some landscaping can resolve this, but for now use caution and try not to roll your ankle.

The signage is OK, but not great. The tee signs are very basic, but they get the point across. Signage to the next tee, however, is lacking. The back nine especially would benefit from some more, better placed signs directing you where to go.

Course Design:
Since the course is a bit short on space, several holes tend to bleed into one another posing some potentially severe safety concerns. Go a bit wide left on 16 and you're in 12's fairway. The walk from 15 to 16 requires that you walk right in front of 14's tee pad. If there's someone there at best you interrupt their drive; at worst you take a disc to the dome. If there's a path around the tee, I didn't see it.
Other Thoughts: The course is fairly beginner friendly, though there might be a fair amount of pinball being played on the back nine. The average hole distance here is ~260' with the max being 350', so if you've got a big arm and you're looking to bomb some drives, Westbrook probably isn't what you're looking for. OTOH, if you're looking for a short to mid-range, finesse course, Westbrook is worth the trip.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    11/30/2010   12/12/2010
Review By: Chainrattler
Played: 120  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a good course because it has alot of variety. When I'm in the mood to play a hilly wooded course, this is a good pick. It has alot of potential if it gets completed with signs and teepads.
Cons: There are some holes that you just hope for the best because there are so many trees.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/15/2010   9/15/2010
Review By: andrewkh
Played: 54  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/19/2010
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -lots of elevation changes
-great basket placement
-wide variety of shot options
-doesn't seem to get crowded
-baskets were in good shape
Cons: -loose gravel tees make for bad footing
-lots of fallen or cut down debris laying around
-needs more trash can
-lack of signs on the course makes it hard to navigate
Other Thoughts: this course looks to have huge potential, if only just a little work is put into it. would definatly rate this course higher but when i played it there was a ridiculous amount of twigs, branches, and other loose debris everywhere...if it gets clean up, this course would be great

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Variety

1    8/10/2010   8/10/2010
Review By: pugsrul2001
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has alot of hole to try differant throws. Front 9 open not much trouble. Back 9 is very fun and challenging.
Cons: Hole 5 is close to houses and I lost my favorite mid-range disc (Buzz). Tees are loose graval and easy to loose your footing. because of this u should have a good onestep throwing approach.
Other Thoughts: The back nine does not have moderate hills at points i felt like a billygoat. Overall I enjoyed the course greatly. I will play again.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Too many hills, too many trees

2-4    7/16/2010   7/20/2010
Review By: BoB3k
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/18/2011
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: For being heavily wooded, there is a lot of mulch and little mud.
Cons: Many of the holes on this course were just too hilly and tree-filled. There are holes with as much as 20 ft elevation, and trees are everywhere, with many holes feeling to me not so much as planned, but just a tee and a basket set out in the woods.

You are often backtracking from the pin to the next whole, and if it's busy you are in the way of shots.

Gravel Tees.
Other Thoughts: This course felt to me like they squeezed an 18 hole course into a spot really only big enough for 12 holes.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 cool home course

1    7/12/2010   7/16/2010
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 195  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 28.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Made the most of the land

Great elevation

Very cool layout/pin placement
Cons: Easy/simple front nine

Perhaps too short...I know this is not a con to many.
Other Thoughts: This was a respectable course.

The first couple holes are awesome and have some nice elevation. After that, the front nine got a bit bland. Deuces are available on most holes.

Once we got to the back nine, my opinion changed significantly. These holes are very well laid out and the difficulty raised two fold. The elevation also improved to the point of being a true bonus.

If this were a local course, I would play it often. There is enough diversity here to keep you honest.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 From STL

1    11/11/2009   11/11/2009
Review By: XJDano
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I liked the course. Pretty easy to figure out where you are going next. Big Map at the parking lot. I took a picture with my phone for reference, which came in handy.
Cons: Only one trash can on the back 9 and some trash around. This time of year the ground is covered with leaves and it'll be hard to find your disc if it goes where you didn't intend. (spent about 20 minutes looking for a bight orange disk in the brush to the right in between 12)

if you aren't careful your disc could end up in a neighbor's yard
Other Thoughts: I lost a set of keys somewhere, i think on the back 9 and in the leaves it was impossible to find. REWARD if you find them. Black Lanyard with Hancook embroidered, a car key, and a couple masterlock keys and a house hey.


0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Westbrook Park

2-4    9/12/2009   9/14/2009
Review By: hendersondayton
Played: 30  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 15.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/14/2010
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Short enough for Beginners to play and have fun. Challenging layout with ALL the drives blocked by something. Not crowded at all. If you see someone else, they are probably playing disc golf.
Cons: Back nine gets a really steep. Up and Down. IF you have a heart condition or are overweight, beware.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.