Dayton, OH 
Westbrook Park Share
Uploaded By: Darth Anovin Hole #11 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 180ft.   3 / 180ft.   3 / 180ft.   3 / 180ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

1    9/15/2010   9/15/2010
Review By: andrewkh
Played: 54  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/19/2010
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -lots of elevation changes
-great basket placement
-wide variety of shot options
-doesn't seem to get crowded
-baskets were in good shape
Cons: -loose gravel tees make for bad footing
-lots of fallen or cut down debris laying around
-needs more trash can
-lack of signs on the course makes it hard to navigate
Other Thoughts: this course looks to have huge potential, if only just a little work is put into it. would definatly rate this course higher but when i played it there was a ridiculous amount of twigs, branches, and other loose debris everywhere...if it gets clean up, this course would be great

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Variety

1    8/10/2010   8/10/2010
Review By: pugsrul2001
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has alot of hole to try differant throws. Front 9 open not much trouble. Back 9 is very fun and challenging.
Cons: Hole 5 is close to houses and I lost my favorite mid-range disc (Buzz). Tees are loose graval and easy to loose your footing. because of this u should have a good onestep throwing approach.
Other Thoughts: The back nine does not have moderate hills at points i felt like a billygoat. Overall I enjoyed the course greatly. I will play again.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Too many hills, too many trees

2-4    7/16/2010   7/20/2010
Review By: BoB3k
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/18/2011
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: For being heavily wooded, there is a lot of mulch and little mud.
Cons: Many of the holes on this course were just too hilly and tree-filled. There are holes with as much as 20 ft elevation, and trees are everywhere, with many holes feeling to me not so much as planned, but just a tee and a basket set out in the woods.

You are often backtracking from the pin to the next whole, and if it's busy you are in the way of shots.

Gravel Tees.
Other Thoughts: This course felt to me like they squeezed an 18 hole course into a spot really only big enough for 12 holes.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 cool home course

1    7/12/2010   7/16/2010
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 170  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 26.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Made the most of the land

Great elevation

Very cool layout/pin placement
Cons: Easy/simple front nine

Perhaps too short...I know this is not a con to many.
Other Thoughts: This was a respectable course.

The first couple holes are awesome and have some nice elevation. After that, the front nine got a bit bland. Deuces are available on most holes.

Once we got to the back nine, my opinion changed significantly. These holes are very well laid out and the difficulty raised two fold. The elevation also improved to the point of being a true bonus.

If this were a local course, I would play it often. There is enough diversity here to keep you honest.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 From STL

1    11/11/2009   11/11/2009
Review By: XJDano
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I liked the course. Pretty easy to figure out where you are going next. Big Map at the parking lot. I took a picture with my phone for reference, which came in handy.
Cons: Only one trash can on the back 9 and some trash around. This time of year the ground is covered with leaves and it'll be hard to find your disc if it goes where you didn't intend. (spent about 20 minutes looking for a bight orange disk in the brush to the right in between 12)

if you aren't careful your disc could end up in a neighbor's yard
Other Thoughts: I lost a set of keys somewhere, i think on the back 9 and in the leaves it was impossible to find. REWARD if you find them. Black Lanyard with Hancook embroidered, a car key, and a couple masterlock keys and a house hey.


0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Westbrook Park

2-4    9/12/2009   9/14/2009
Review By: hendersondayton
Played: 30  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/14/2010
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Short enough for Beginners to play and have fun. Challenging layout with ALL the drives blocked by something. Not crowded at all. If you see someone else, they are probably playing disc golf.
Cons: Back nine gets a really steep. Up and Down. IF you have a heart condition or are overweight, beware.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Westbrook Park DGC

5+    8/14/2010   9/7/2009
Review By: yankeefanjln
Played: 36  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/16/2010
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice park. Secluded. I saw other disc golfers both times I've played. Course layout makes play an adventure.
Cons: Hills can be very steep. A few more signs indicating next teebox might be nice (good map available online). So many trees.
Other Thoughts: A number of heavily wooded holes make this an enjoyable course to hike. It is set up well for amateurs as there are several par fours and a par five. After playing other courses, I understand this is not a terribly challenging course, but I do enjoy it.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Westbrook Park

1    9/4/2009   9/4/2009
Review By: Corkscrew
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 30.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: No traffic, Park was empty. Signs indicating distance and par were nice. You can tell that alot of thought was put into layout of course and a decent amount of effort building it.
Cons: No teepads concrete or rubber. Most are just pits. Losers that leave trash on the course
Other Thoughts: As a beginner I was worried that I would not like the back nine because of how tight that it was. It turned out quite the opposite. It really opened my mind and I enjoyed it. I found my straight disk....Thank you Buzzz

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 new local 4 me

5+    8/22/2009   8/26/2009
Review By: xs9095
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 29.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: local, not alot of traffic..yet, nice flow. birdy,eagle ops out front, you will need that cushion for the back that is all par 3's
Cons: needs pads, idiots still manage to throw out there beer cans,and water bottles on the course,losers!!
Other Thoughts: fun factor of 4.5 out of 5 nice course to play to losen you up for Englewood MetroPark DGC just 5 miles away. play both while your there

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Hidden Gem

1    5/31/2009   6/1/2009
Review By: Andy Hlavac
Played: 35  Reviewed: 20
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I was very impressed with this recent (5/09-ish) addition to the Dayton, OH disc golf scene. The park was easy to find (I just "googled" Westbrook Park in Clayton, OH for directions), and a large, clear course map greeted us near the first tee.

The course offers a decent challenge for most skill levels. The holes frequently exceed 300 ft., but there are also some birdie/ace opportunities which keep you from getting too frustrated. Also, the obstacles and specific challenges on each hole vary from distance, to trees, to bends, etc. I was particularly pleased with the use of elevation changes, which are abundant. These different challenges keep you engaged and require you to consider different shots and strategies as you move from hole to hole.

Finally, the flow of the course is straightforward and easy to navigate, and there was no traffic. I expect the course to become more crowded once the word gets out about this great course tucked away in a pretty suburban park. Be the first kid on your block to play Westbrook!
Cons: The tee pads are either dirt or gravel at this point. We slipped at least a couple of times. I hope that permanent, concrete tee pads get installed, because those are one of the only things lacking.

The existing tee sigs tell you the distance and general direction, but seem almost oversimplified (i.e. just a straight line). This really isn't a problem because the course was designed with such a natural flow, but I think we got confused on one hole...
Other Thoughts: Westbrook Park is a beauty. Get out and enjoy this one, then drive down the street to Blue Heron (Englewood Metroparks). That is another course which is five minutes from Westbrook, and is worth playing.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.