Course Extinct
Commerce, TX 
Cain Sports Complex Share
Uploaded By: Marty McFly Hole #1 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / --   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 3
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Don't bother

1    6/24/2010   6/24/2010
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 198  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 26.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It has 8 Innova baskets with inner change.

Baskets do have numbers on them.
Cons: No tee's marked for any hole.

Basket #5 is missing.

Many of the hole have zero trees in the fairway, or even close to the fairway for that matter.

Other Thoughts: Ok, I only played this course to add it to my list. Even my son asked if it was the worse disc golf course I have ever played. It would be in my bottom 5 for sure. Shoot, I played a course with no trees that was one of the worse courses, but at least that course had tee signs.

I just played from the gate to hole one, (the gate next to basket #2) then played from basket to basket.

Now that I have played it, I will never play it again.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Awful and lazy

5+    1/24/2010   2/1/2010
Review By: vedderthanyou
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 3/20/2010
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The only good thing about this course is that no one plays it, with good reason.
Cons: I have a feeling that this is an extension of the artificial wet lands in commerce, but I could be very wrong. The course, even with little rain, is soaking wet, which is a poor quality when playing disc golf, clearly. There are no tee pads and the course is lay out does not flow. Hole number 2 is located between a fence that leads to the parking lot and another fence which happens to be the home run fence for a softball field. Almost too difficult and ridiculous to try any shot that is not 60-100 feet. All other shots, because of the nature of the wind and discs, will surely end up over one of these fences. Up hill and over a walkway you will find hole three. By the time you can see hole three or get a good hole out of it, the hole is too short and rather unplayable. Four and eight are on the same "green," and if it is your first time on the course you will not know which basket to throw at. I could go on, but im sure most of you understand the rest of the layout considering my first few sentences.
Other Thoughts: I have said to different friends that this course was either designed by someone who did not know what disc golf was or by someone who absolutely has an unending hatred for the game. This is the worst excuse for a recreational location, and the only service it provides is the number 1 hole, located at the far end of a softball field. This hole could be used for practicing wide open drives. This course, I guess, serves well in only one purpose, throwing long on one hole. It could be interesting if someone would change the location. This is not disc golf. It is sad and shameful.


update-I have emailed the person in charge of the complex, to no avail. Nothing has changed and apparently never will.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Cain Park

5+    3/21/2009   4/1/2009
Review By: Marty McFly
Played: 59  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 12.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/30/2010
12 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nobody in Commerce is playing here. Based on population and the number of people who play in the area. It is a great chance you will be a loner.

No tee boxes anywhere so we made up our own challenging holes.

Two holes have water in play and you can start anywhere. Nobody will be around to stop you.

This is the perfect place to bring the kids out and give them a lesson. You will never feel rushed by players behind you.
Cons: Hole 1 and 2 seem to be out of place. This course was designed for beginners in mind. Don't expect it to test you.

Somebody ran a car into the basket on number 5.
Other Thoughts: Since nobody is out here to play you can let lose and have some fun. Make up your own holes and get some great practice in the open soccer fields.

12 of 15 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.