Warren , NJ 
Greenwood Meadows DGC Share
Uploaded By: optidiscic Hole #7 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 230ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Bad but playable

2-4    3/14/2014   10/19/2013
Review By: EWSdiscgolf
Played: 32  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 1 Years
This review was updated on 3/26/2014
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -It is a good course for beginners
-In a park so you can bring kids
-You can play a short round
Cons: - 1 basket is destroyed
- 4 tee signs were missing
- Maybe too short for advanced people
- One hole is right nest to a tennis court (hitting someone is possible)
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty bad course, but its good to bang out a round in 15 minutes here.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 It has Baskets...

1    4/10/2012   4/11/2012
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 73  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/22/2012
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Greenwood Meadows is located off a major road and isn't far from I-78, making it easy to get to.

The baskets at the park were in great shape, as were the tee signs (those that were still available), the course map, and the rules.

The park appears to be very well maintained and has several other amenities including a baseball field, playground, and tennis court. So it's a great place to bring the young ones to introduce them to the sport and then follow-up with some playground time.
Cons: Oh, where to start. Safety is a biggie for me, so let's kick things off there. The course borders roads, parking lots, or back yards on seven of the nine holes. Running onto the road to fetch a stray disc = dangerous. Errant drives going into somebody's yard (several of which showed evidence of small children) = dangerous. Shaking a throw into somebody's car = dangerous.

After safety, the next thing for me is course design. This course should not have been installed here. The space limits the design to holes that average 188 feet (including one that's 116 feet...116 feet, really?), straight ahead. For the vast majority of players, this is an approach shot, leaving most (if not all of the holes) as birdie, if not ace, runs.

Signage was a problem on several of the holes as they were missing tee signs. This wasn't a really big issue because you could ballpark the tee location from the course map.

Although the course is right off the main road, you may drive past it a few times before you actually find it.
Other Thoughts: I wanted to give this course a 1.25, but I just can't round up to 1.5. It lacks any variety needed to make a serious (or even casual) golfer give it a second look. It's disappointing that nine pristine baskets were installed in a place where they are probably never used (or make for a dangerous situation when they are used) instead of on a piece of land with true fairways.

If you're in the area and really need to play, skip this course and play Harry Dunham Park down the road.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 A New Jersey Nine

1    5/20/2009   6/3/2009
Review By: Tolbert
Played: 241  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 9.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A little neighborhood 9 hole that quickly felt like a beginners course. Not much land to work with here, and as such not much hole variety. First 4 or 5 holes were open and played around the edges of the park. There was good use of the water basin to create some elevation challenge and to place some pins on slopes. If it weren't for the strong winds from incoming storm on the day I played the course would have felt very easy indeed.
Cons: I can appreciate putting in a course when the opportunity is provided, with the exception of the water basin, which has 4 holes crammed on it, this just didn't seem like ideal land for a course. Very simple and when combined with other park activities there doesn't seem to be much room for disc throwing. It reminded me of some other 9 hole courses in jersey. As said, beginner and local/practice friendly.
Other Thoughts: As I usually state, its a decent course in a state that is a disc golf void, much to a good friend of mine's dismay and therefore a welcome addition. When combined with nearby 9 hole Chimney Rock and Harry Durham parks, you could have yourself a nice 27 hole afternoon.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 *For Beginners Only*

1    5/20/2009   5/20/2009
Review By: valkyriefb11
Played: 22  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 7.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A great beginner course since it short and very simple and easy to follow. The baskets are really nice and new. There are signs at each tee which show the distance. The holes are all short so there are a ton of ace runs and all the holes are birdiable. The course utilizes the ground pretty well and the last few holes over the water retention basin are very good for being open holes.
Cons: The course is really small and the first 3 holes are going to be dangerous over time since they are placed around a ball field. This course is great for locals and people just starting out, but not worth it for anyone else.
The difficult thing with this course is that the park is so small and not conducive to a disc golf course. Matt LaCourte did a great job with what he had. The tees are just grass and the holes play very close to the road. Overall this course is good for locals, but nothing much for anyone else. I do worry that it will become more of a problem than a good thing for the sport.
Other Thoughts: Greenwood is just minutes away from Chimney Rock and Harry Dunham so you can bag three courses in a little over an hour. Great for course baggers or beginners.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Why?

1    4/21/2009   4/25/2009
Review By: Macnamara
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.2 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -No lost discs
-Perfectly groomed
-Parking
Cons: -Beyond short
-Monotonous
-Unimaginative
Other Thoughts: Unfortunately, this course is doomed not by the designer, but by the canvas he had to work with: a drainage ditch and playing field perimeter....ouch.

I get the whole "it's an ideal learning environment for beginners...yadda yadda yadda", but I thought that's what Dunham down the street was for-so why again and so close.

This course really offers nothing other than good putting practice for anyone that has played for more than 3 months.

I worry about the people whom have only heard whispers of disc golf and see this as their first course and say...."THIS is Disc Golf-kinda lame.

If we are going to give this course the BEGINNER COURSE CLAUSE pass, then let's clearly mark the frieken thing at hole one-WARNING: BEGINNER COURSE-FOR MORE ADVANCED COURSES SEE PDGA OR DGCOURSEREVIEW.com


3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Sub Par Suburbia

1    4/8/2009   4/8/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.2 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 9 holer that along with Harry Dunham Park and Chimney Rock allow you to sprint through 3 quick niners all within minutes of exit 33 of I-78. Holes 7,8 and 9 are fun to throw from one side of a retention basin to another...If there ever is a lot of rain and the basin is full this would really be fun. I think every hole here is an ace run. The shortest is 116 feet and the longest is 240 slightly downhill. Come and get your ace. Impossible to lose a disc here. A great stress free for LOCALS to work on approaches and putting as there is fast greens and flat greens here and doubtful that the course will ever be too busy. It's a safe upper class suburban neighborhood.
Cons: Not really a piece of land that is conducive to a disc golf course.Designer did the best he could have done with the little land he was given. Holes 1-6 all pose significant danger and risk. Holes 1-3 I like to call Mickey, Joltin Joe and the Babe as these holes simply follow the reaches of a baseball field and the baskets end in left, center, and then right field. If a game is going on forget it. Hole 1 also skirts a road to the right. Hole 3 skirts a property to the left. Holes 4 and 5 both are very short 140ish and 116 that both have baskets near a busy residential parking lot. Hole 6 runs precariously close to a roadway to the left. Hole 8 if overthrown will also go into the street as well. The road is only a few feet from these holes so a drive landing there is not beyond reason. There are no tees just grass and simple signs. There just is too much risk in a residential neighborhood. I am sure once the guy who parks his car 8 feet away from hole 5 everyday starts to notice his car getting pelted that he may go to township and complain. I also saw many people walking their dogs across the field. I am sure they will be annoyed by discs as well. This is not a case of NIMBY I really can sympathize with the locals who live here. I would consider this a hazzardous course. It may do more harm to our game than good.
Other Thoughts: If your a course bagger like me than you can take exit 33 on I-78 and quickly bag 3 courses in under 2 hours. I often make up disc golf holes in my head as I am driving and always thought a retention basin/pond would make a cool hole with the grassy slopes over a hazzard and flat tee off top area to a fast green on the other side. This course at least fulfilled that fantasy for me.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.