Warren , NJ 
Greenwood Meadows DGC Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #8 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 242ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Basic of basics

1    3/1/2011   3/1/2011
Review By: Aupps
Played: 32  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good beginner course
-Well manicured course
-Nice Houck designed signs
-Easy to find course
-A good place to practice with your mids and putters
-An ace run course
-Playing around the detention pond is fun, up and down the grassy hills
-Very nice baskets
-No chance of losing discs
Cons: -No tee boxes
-The course is just an open field. Plays around playing fields. Would not use this course when there are games in session
-All the throws are just strait shots
Other Thoughts: Even though the plot of land is small the designer of this course did a good job putting in 9 holes, but it doesn't force you to use an arsenal of shots. I would bring a new player or a child to this course to teach them about DG. Little chance that anyone would bother you. All the shots are under 250'. The neighborhood is very nice, very safe. The only hole you really need to control you throw is on #5 as the basket is placed with in 10 feet of a parking lot for near by town homes. It's also a short play with only 9 holes, but this can be combined with Harry Dunham and Chimney Rock to make a decent 27 hole run.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad for what it is

1    12/22/2010   1/5/2011
Review By: softball29
Played: 23  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's a good course for people starting out as it's quite wide open and if discs go flying left and right, you should be OK. It's wide open and there's no real challenges if you can throw with control and straight. It's a course one could probably play in 30 minutes or less if you are solo. Basically, if you are looking for a quick round and are near here, it's worth checking out.

As a newcomer, I didn't hate the course. It was a bit windy, which made things a little tougher for me as my discs were flying all over the place. All in all, it wasn't a bad little course to stop and check out.

The course is also quite short, which some could look at as a good thing and others as a bad thing.

Good baskets, though. Also, the tee markers are excellent.
Cons: Same type of hole for nine holes. Everything is wide open. The holes are short, so better players probably don't need to carry more than two discs.

There was nothing going on when we were there, but I could see where this would be hard to play if things were going on -- such as a soccer game or kids playing all over the field.

The drainage pipe is kind of blah, too. Some of the shots run awful close to streets, so it could make for dangerous curves if you don't throw straight.
Other Thoughts: If you are an advanced player or a newer player who can throw decent and straight, two discs will be enough for you to carry around -- a mid-range and a putter.

If you lived in this area, it would be a great little place to go just to be able to throw some discs and practice. The course is what it is. It's not going to challenge you awfully mentally and physically, but it's a good little course for practice and to just get out and chuck a few discs to stay loose. Wind can make things quite interesting, too. If I was in the area, I'd play it again for a quick round.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 An OK Little Play

1    11/25/2010   11/25/2010
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 62  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 3.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 9 hole course tucked into a small park within an upscale housing development. Hole 1 has a pictured course map allowing for easy navigation and also has hole distances and par listed. There are permanent tee signs at each hole. Very good use of elevation on the latter third of the course- hole 7 in particular is a neat little hole in which you throw over a dry drainage basin from an elevated perch to a heightened basket on a slope about 230 feet away. All Innova Discatcher baskets in very good shape, and permanent metal signs are affixed to a metal post at each hole.
Cons: With all holes between 140-240 feet, this course is not for truly competitive play amongst advanced players. Course consists of primarily straight shots with no real obstacles in the way to challenge you. Natural (grass) tee pads here. Caution: several holes surround a soccer and softball field, two border the back yards of two houses and three others play perilously close to the street and parking lot of an apartment complex. Unlike the tee areas, the baskets are not numbered.
Other Thoughts: Despite a very small parcel of land with which to work, this course is laid out well. It is ideal for a casual round of recreational golf, to work on puts/approaches or teach someone the sport but not for good competitive play. Regardless of shortcomings, a course is worthwhile in my book if there are quality baskets, signs and easy navigation. Greenwood Meadows meets those criteria, but as others have stated, it is best to play this course as part of a package deal with nearby 9 holers Harry Dunham Park and Chimney Rock. Located on a side street across from The Pingry School in Warren.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Mediocre

2-4    7/15/2009   7/15/2009
Review By: gregorvn
Played: 42  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/14/2009
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Clearly marked tees. Quality baskets.
Cons: Very short.
Unimaginative course layout.
Other Thoughts: Of the three short courses in the area (Chimney Rock, Harry Dunham, and Greenwood), I think I like this one the least. The park itself is just not a good fit for a disc golf course, and restricted the options available to the course designers. I guess it's a good course for a beginner, but any beginner would quickly outgrow this course.

Edit: I've played this course a few more times an decided to up my review to two stars. The last time I played this course, it was a bit breezy, which made it more challenging. I can see using this as a training course if you want to work on your windy game skills without having to worry about anything else.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.