Warren, NJ 
Greenwood Meadows DGC Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #6 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 173ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee

Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
 *For Beginners Only*

1    5/20/2009   5/20/2009
Review By: valkyriefb11
Played: 22  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 9.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A great beginner course since it short and very simple and easy to follow. The baskets are really nice and new. There are signs at each tee which show the distance. The holes are all short so there are a ton of ace runs and all the holes are birdiable. The course utilizes the ground pretty well and the last few holes over the water retention basin are very good for being open holes.
Cons: The course is really small and the first 3 holes are going to be dangerous over time since they are placed around a ball field. This course is great for locals and people just starting out, but not worth it for anyone else.
The difficult thing with this course is that the park is so small and not conducive to a disc golf course. Matt LaCourte did a great job with what he had. The tees are just grass and the holes play very close to the road. Overall this course is good for locals, but nothing much for anyone else. I do worry that it will become more of a problem than a good thing for the sport.
Other Thoughts: Greenwood is just minutes away from Chimney Rock and Harry Dunham so you can bag three courses in a little over an hour. Great for course baggers or beginners.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    4/21/2009   4/25/2009
Review By: Macnamara
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.5 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -No lost discs
-Perfectly groomed
Cons: -Beyond short
Other Thoughts: Unfortunately, this course is doomed not by the designer, but by the canvas he had to work with: a drainage ditch and playing field perimeter....ouch.

I get the whole "it's an ideal learning environment for beginners...yadda yadda yadda", but I thought that's what Dunham down the street was for-so why again and so close.

This course really offers nothing other than good putting practice for anyone that has played for more than 3 months.

I worry about the people whom have only heard whispers of disc golf and see this as their first course and say...."THIS is Disc Golf-kinda lame.

If we are going to give this course the BEGINNER COURSE CLAUSE pass, then let's clearly mark the frieken thing at hole one-WARNING: BEGINNER COURSE-FOR MORE ADVANCED COURSES SEE PDGA OR DGCOURSEREVIEW.com

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 So this is what kissin a guy is like...

1    4/19/2009   4/19/2009
Review By: StringPeachIncident
Played: 24  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 10.3 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: *you only need to use 2discs maximum
Cons: *shorter than dunham
*less "trees" than dunham
*more people
Other Thoughts: when first pullin up and seein 5 baskets all clustered together i knew somehting wasnt right. This par 2 course was boring and every shot was dead straight, one could at least put the basket behind a tree or off to the side. The only thing that went thru my head was utter confusion as to why a town would ever invest fund in this putting green snaking around a a baseball field, playground and sewage drainage ditch that sum call a "rivine".
after 9 holes i left to go play Chimney Rock to remeber that i actually do like disc golf and shouldnt force myself to endure such dredgery, stupdity and lack of creativity.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Greenwood Meadows is Money!!

1    4/17/2009   4/17/2009
Review By: disc golfer
Played: 15  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 17.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/21/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This small course is designed for beginners, families, kids, older disc golfers and players looking to improve their mid-range and putting skills. Clean and nicely manicured family park. Brand new course with brand new baskets. One long hole on uphill and one fun downhiller. Several holes play back and forth over a water retention basin. This basin can get interesting if filled with water. First 4 holes are flat and the rest have some changing elevation. Natural tees, great signs, and no problem to navigate. Easy and fun course to play and easy to find and get to.
Cons: I can't find any cons other then there are no bathrooms at the park. Some players who like big courses may not like this course because it is short. Some also may complain that they will use their putter on 7 or 8 of the 9 holes, but I'm not complaining. If you want to lengthen the holes, there is plenty of room to back up from the tee and drive from there.
Other Thoughts: Most holes are short. Uphill Hole 7 and downhill 8 are the most challenging. Although this is a short course, it is fun to play, especially if you are with a beginner or have kids.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Sub Par Suburbia

1    4/8/2009   4/8/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 156  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 13.5 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 9 holer that along with Harry Dunham Park and Chimney Rock allow you to sprint through 3 quick niners all within minutes of exit 33 of I-78. Holes 7,8 and 9 are fun to throw from one side of a retention basin to another...If there ever is a lot of rain and the basin is full this would really be fun. I think every hole here is an ace run. The shortest is 116 feet and the longest is 240 slightly downhill. Come and get your ace. Impossible to lose a disc here. A great stress free for LOCALS to work on approaches and putting as there is fast greens and flat greens here and doubtful that the course will ever be too busy. It's a safe upper class suburban neighborhood.
Cons: Not really a piece of land that is conducive to a disc golf course.Designer did the best he could have done with the little land he was given. Holes 1-6 all pose significant danger and risk. Holes 1-3 I like to call Mickey, Joltin Joe and the Babe as these holes simply follow the reaches of a baseball field and the baskets end in left, center, and then right field. If a game is going on forget it. Hole 1 also skirts a road to the right. Hole 3 skirts a property to the left. Holes 4 and 5 both are very short 140ish and 116 that both have baskets near a busy residential parking lot. Hole 6 runs precariously close to a roadway to the left. Hole 8 if overthrown will also go into the street as well. The road is only a few feet from these holes so a drive landing there is not beyond reason. There are no tees just grass and simple signs. There just is too much risk in a residential neighborhood. I am sure once the guy who parks his car 8 feet away from hole 5 everyday starts to notice his car getting pelted that he may go to township and complain. I also saw many people walking their dogs across the field. I am sure they will be annoyed by discs as well. This is not a case of NIMBY I really can sympathize with the locals who live here. I would consider this a hazzardous course. It may do more harm to our game than good.
Other Thoughts: If your a course bagger like me than you can take exit 33 on I-78 and quickly bag 3 courses in under 2 hours. I often make up disc golf holes in my head as I am driving and always thought a retention basin/pond would make a cool hole with the grassy slopes over a hazzard and flat tee off top area to a fast green on the other side. This course at least fulfilled that fantasy for me.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.