Warren , NJ 
Greenwood Meadows DGC Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #7 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 230ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Bad but playable

2-4    3/14/2014   10/19/2013
Review By: EWSdiscgolf
Played: 38  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 1.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/26/2014
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -It is a good course for beginners
-In a park so you can bring kids
-You can play a short round
Cons: - 1 basket is destroyed
- 4 tee signs were missing
- Maybe too short for advanced people
- One hole is right nest to a tennis court (hitting someone is possible)
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty bad course, but its good to bang out a round in 15 minutes here.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 It has Baskets...

1    4/10/2012   4/11/2012
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 73  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/22/2012
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Greenwood Meadows is located off a major road and isn't far from I-78, making it easy to get to.

The baskets at the park were in great shape, as were the tee signs (those that were still available), the course map, and the rules.

The park appears to be very well maintained and has several other amenities including a baseball field, playground, and tennis court. So it's a great place to bring the young ones to introduce them to the sport and then follow-up with some playground time.
Cons: Oh, where to start. Safety is a biggie for me, so let's kick things off there. The course borders roads, parking lots, or back yards on seven of the nine holes. Running onto the road to fetch a stray disc = dangerous. Errant drives going into somebody's yard (several of which showed evidence of small children) = dangerous. Shaking a throw into somebody's car = dangerous.

After safety, the next thing for me is course design. This course should not have been installed here. The space limits the design to holes that average 188 feet (including one that's 116 feet...116 feet, really?), straight ahead. For the vast majority of players, this is an approach shot, leaving most (if not all of the holes) as birdie, if not ace, runs.

Signage was a problem on several of the holes as they were missing tee signs. This wasn't a really big issue because you could ballpark the tee location from the course map.

Although the course is right off the main road, you may drive past it a few times before you actually find it.
Other Thoughts: I wanted to give this course a 1.25, but I just can't round up to 1.5. It lacks any variety needed to make a serious (or even casual) golfer give it a second look. It's disappointing that nine pristine baskets were installed in a place where they are probably never used (or make for a dangerous situation when they are used) instead of on a piece of land with true fairways.

If you're in the area and really need to play, skip this course and play Harry Dunham Park down the road.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Basic of basics

1    3/1/2011   3/1/2011
Review By: Aupps
Played: 32  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good beginner course
-Well manicured course
-Nice Houck designed signs
-Easy to find course
-A good place to practice with your mids and putters
-An ace run course
-Playing around the detention pond is fun, up and down the grassy hills
-Very nice baskets
-No chance of losing discs
Cons: -No tee boxes
-The course is just an open field. Plays around playing fields. Would not use this course when there are games in session
-All the throws are just strait shots
Other Thoughts: Even though the plot of land is small the designer of this course did a good job putting in 9 holes, but it doesn't force you to use an arsenal of shots. I would bring a new player or a child to this course to teach them about DG. Little chance that anyone would bother you. All the shots are under 250'. The neighborhood is very nice, very safe. The only hole you really need to control you throw is on #5 as the basket is placed with in 10 feet of a parking lot for near by town homes. It's also a short play with only 9 holes, but this can be combined with Harry Dunham and Chimney Rock to make a decent 27 hole run.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad for what it is

1    12/22/2010   1/5/2011
Review By: softball29
Played: 23  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's a good course for people starting out as it's quite wide open and if discs go flying left and right, you should be OK. It's wide open and there's no real challenges if you can throw with control and straight. It's a course one could probably play in 30 minutes or less if you are solo. Basically, if you are looking for a quick round and are near here, it's worth checking out.

As a newcomer, I didn't hate the course. It was a bit windy, which made things a little tougher for me as my discs were flying all over the place. All in all, it wasn't a bad little course to stop and check out.

The course is also quite short, which some could look at as a good thing and others as a bad thing.

Good baskets, though. Also, the tee markers are excellent.
Cons: Same type of hole for nine holes. Everything is wide open. The holes are short, so better players probably don't need to carry more than two discs.

There was nothing going on when we were there, but I could see where this would be hard to play if things were going on -- such as a soccer game or kids playing all over the field.

The drainage pipe is kind of blah, too. Some of the shots run awful close to streets, so it could make for dangerous curves if you don't throw straight.
Other Thoughts: If you are an advanced player or a newer player who can throw decent and straight, two discs will be enough for you to carry around -- a mid-range and a putter.

If you lived in this area, it would be a great little place to go just to be able to throw some discs and practice. The course is what it is. It's not going to challenge you awfully mentally and physically, but it's a good little course for practice and to just get out and chuck a few discs to stay loose. Wind can make things quite interesting, too. If I was in the area, I'd play it again for a quick round.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 An OK Little Play

1    11/25/2010   11/25/2010
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 63  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 4.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 9 hole course tucked into a small park within an upscale housing development. Hole 1 has a pictured course map allowing for easy navigation and also has hole distances and par listed. There are permanent tee signs at each hole. Very good use of elevation on the latter third of the course- hole 7 in particular is a neat little hole in which you throw over a dry drainage basin from an elevated perch to a heightened basket on a slope about 230 feet away. All Innova Discatcher baskets in very good shape, and permanent metal signs are affixed to a metal post at each hole.
Cons: With all holes between 140-240 feet, this course is not for truly competitive play amongst advanced players. Course consists of primarily straight shots with no real obstacles in the way to challenge you. Natural (grass) tee pads here. Caution: several holes surround a soccer and softball field, two border the back yards of two houses and three others play perilously close to the street and parking lot of an apartment complex. Unlike the tee areas, the baskets are not numbered.
Other Thoughts: Despite a very small parcel of land with which to work, this course is laid out well. It is ideal for a casual round of recreational golf, to work on puts/approaches or teach someone the sport but not for good competitive play. Regardless of shortcomings, a course is worthwhile in my book if there are quality baskets, signs and easy navigation. Greenwood Meadows meets those criteria, but as others have stated, it is best to play this course as part of a package deal with nearby 9 holers Harry Dunham Park and Chimney Rock. Located on a side street across from The Pingry School in Warren.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good place to take a child or beginner

1    7/18/2009   7/18/2009
Review By: MrHighlandPark
Played: 54  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Brand new baskets, well maintained lawn, full color signs, layout that is easy to follow.
Cons: Extremely short course, with virtually no obstacles to throw around. Every single hole is a straight shot, and most are under 200 feet. Should be par-2 all the way around. If for whatever freak reason this course became busy, holes 7/8/9 would be very dangerous, with crossing flight paths. Those holes also seem to be bordering some sort of landfill with trash lying all over the place. Smelly.
Other Thoughts: This would be a great course to take someone for their very first disc golf outing, so that they can learn to throw straight without the risk of losing discs. Perfect for young kids.

Other than that, there's absolutely no reason to play this course unless you are combining it with Chimney Rock and Dunham for 27 holes in an afternoon. It's a shame that the money invested into these baskets wasn't instead spent on expanding one of those other two local courses into a standard 18-hole course though.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Mediocre

2-4    7/15/2009   7/15/2009
Review By: gregorvn
Played: 42  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/14/2009
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Clearly marked tees. Quality baskets.
Cons: Very short.
Unimaginative course layout.
Other Thoughts: Of the three short courses in the area (Chimney Rock, Harry Dunham, and Greenwood), I think I like this one the least. The park itself is just not a good fit for a disc golf course, and restricted the options available to the course designers. I guess it's a good course for a beginner, but any beginner would quickly outgrow this course.

Edit: I've played this course a few more times an decided to up my review to two stars. The last time I played this course, it was a bit breezy, which made it more challenging. I can see using this as a training course if you want to work on your windy game skills without having to worry about anything else.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A New Jersey Nine

1    5/20/2009   6/3/2009
Review By: Tolbert
Played: 249  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 9.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A little neighborhood 9 hole that quickly felt like a beginners course. Not much land to work with here, and as such not much hole variety. First 4 or 5 holes were open and played around the edges of the park. There was good use of the water basin to create some elevation challenge and to place some pins on slopes. If it weren't for the strong winds from incoming storm on the day I played the course would have felt very easy indeed.
Cons: I can appreciate putting in a course when the opportunity is provided, with the exception of the water basin, which has 4 holes crammed on it, this just didn't seem like ideal land for a course. Very simple and when combined with other park activities there doesn't seem to be much room for disc throwing. It reminded me of some other 9 hole courses in jersey. As said, beginner and local/practice friendly.
Other Thoughts: As I usually state, its a decent course in a state that is a disc golf void, much to a good friend of mine's dismay and therefore a welcome addition. When combined with nearby 9 hole Chimney Rock and Harry Durham parks, you could have yourself a nice 27 hole afternoon.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 *For Beginners Only*

1    5/20/2009   5/20/2009
Review By: valkyriefb11
Played: 22  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 8.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A great beginner course since it short and very simple and easy to follow. The baskets are really nice and new. There are signs at each tee which show the distance. The holes are all short so there are a ton of ace runs and all the holes are birdiable. The course utilizes the ground pretty well and the last few holes over the water retention basin are very good for being open holes.
Cons: The course is really small and the first 3 holes are going to be dangerous over time since they are placed around a ball field. This course is great for locals and people just starting out, but not worth it for anyone else.
The difficult thing with this course is that the park is so small and not conducive to a disc golf course. Matt LaCourte did a great job with what he had. The tees are just grass and the holes play very close to the road. Overall this course is good for locals, but nothing much for anyone else. I do worry that it will become more of a problem than a good thing for the sport.
Other Thoughts: Greenwood is just minutes away from Chimney Rock and Harry Dunham so you can bag three courses in a little over an hour. Great for course baggers or beginners.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Why?

1    4/21/2009   4/25/2009
Review By: Macnamara
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.5 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -No lost discs
-Perfectly groomed
-Parking
Cons: -Beyond short
-Monotonous
-Unimaginative
Other Thoughts: Unfortunately, this course is doomed not by the designer, but by the canvas he had to work with: a drainage ditch and playing field perimeter....ouch.

I get the whole "it's an ideal learning environment for beginners...yadda yadda yadda", but I thought that's what Dunham down the street was for-so why again and so close.

This course really offers nothing other than good putting practice for anyone that has played for more than 3 months.

I worry about the people whom have only heard whispers of disc golf and see this as their first course and say...."THIS is Disc Golf-kinda lame.

If we are going to give this course the BEGINNER COURSE CLAUSE pass, then let's clearly mark the frieken thing at hole one-WARNING: BEGINNER COURSE-FOR MORE ADVANCED COURSES SEE PDGA OR DGCOURSEREVIEW.com


3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.