Minnetonka (Minneapolis, MN 
Hopkins High School Share
Uploaded By: Goon13 Hole #4 (Taken 12/2011)
3 / 280ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee: Throw over infield - basket near dugout



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Teeless High School Course With Nice Baskets!

1    7/23/2011   8/17/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 632  Exp: 36.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Hopkins High School course has nine baskets sets up beginning at the water tower and continuing down onto their athletic fields and back. The baskets are nice, basically brand new, DGA models with the red numbers on top. And like Harr says, they are installed the correct way, that is with the number facing back towards the tee. Unusual thing is that the baskets are numbered 10-18. So you're playing the back nine of a course with no front nine-strange indeed!
There are no teepads on this course so playing basket to basket seems to work.
There is a nice variety of length with the first three holes being short (all under 200'), the middle three between 200-300' and then # 7 and # 8 are both listed as over 430'.
# 11 is kind of a fun little 165' ACE run. # 12 is a short little hyser of 180'. One of the holes in the middle has you throwing around the third base fence of one softball field to a basket on the first base line of the other field. Fun hole when the place is deserted. # 16 has the elevated (10' high) basket standing in front of the chain link fence to the elementary school. Makes for an interesting putt.
Cons: To me, the number one drawback negative here is the limited hours that the course is available. During prime disc golf hours during the school year, the course would be filled with high school athletes. It would be a new experience to play all the while ducking shot putts and discus', not to mention the softball fields and their mulitudes of girl softball players all screaming their softball chants. No-one could putt with that chirping going on!

I hate not having tees. I'm so anal retentive. I have to play the course as designed and play the pars as listed. I never enjoy played safari so just picking a place to tee off drives me batty.
Other Thoughts: I look as this course as a very limited course in two areas. # 1 in the small window of time that it's actual available for play. That would be summer days. Weekends would be sketchy as you might always find someone on the fields here.

And then the course itself is pretty limited with it's lack of trees and imagination.
It's definitely not a course you'd want to drive any distance to play as you very well could get here and find the fields in use and be turned away. So in summarizing, I would say that it's a mostly summer only course that's short, unusual, with no teepads, chirpy high school softball players and shott putts flying by your head.

WARNING! Play at your own risk!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Better than poor . . .but only passable.

1    6/24/2011   6/24/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 715  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Elevation is used effectively on the first three holes. It is actually the key element to this course getting any kindof positive rating.

2) Baseball fence is used as a key design element on one hole because you need to get past the dugout in order to have a putt. I used a skip hyzer off the clay infield and parked it within 10'.

3) Another fence forces a high hyzer or a high throw on the last hole also. Normally this sort of thing bothers me but this course was designed for gym class and not for general play so I can understand they needed to create some obstacles on such a small part of the property in between all the other activities.

4) Raised basket is another key design element on this course. A nice idea and installed well to make this work as a hole.

5) Good variety in distance on the holes ranging from 165' up to 463' (2 over 400', 4 in the 200' range and 3 under 200').

6) Baskets are nice newer Mach basket and in great shape, installed properly and the number plated are all facing the tee!
Cons: 1) Throw basket to basket since there are no tees. I would imagine this is how they play the course during gym class unless their socially challenged gym teacher (I can only assume) sets up cones or flags to mark the tees and can alter them every week.

2) On the short end of holes int he game . . . due to the small section of property used for the course right in between all the other activities.

3) There are a few pretty boring holes . . . they did what they could witht he property they had and I do give them credit for trying out a few things on the other holes like using the elevation, the raised basket, the use of the fence to create two different shots, but still it is a pretty boring course.

4) No benches, no signs, no garbage cans, no teepads, no marking at all (While I understand it is a school course, these things are kindof a minimum for me so it is worth mentioning.) I won't take off because it is missing, but it would make me enjoy the course less.
Other Thoughts: A school course . . . what else to say! It is your typical gym class course with minimal obstacles, minimum challenge. They do have some different hole layouts than a typical school course, but it just isn't enough for me to ever come back. I give them credit and I hope it is a successful gym program, but you won't catch me back there unless I end up having to go back to high school or that is the only course I could get to if my car broke down or something unexpected.

Don't go out of your way unless you are a course whore like me and just want to play every course once!!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 meh

1    8/18/2009   8/21/2009
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 343  Reviewed: 338  Exp: 6.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice, new baskets
-Gets the sport more popular with the gym kids
-located near sunnyside, basset and plymouth creek park
-very close to the wonderful gotta go gotta throw store which is just north of here
-has an interesting fast green: on a very steep hill that leads to a water tower
Cons: -no tees
-lots of kids everywhere from about 3-7 pm august to november
-short with no distance and only 1 challenging hole; the fast green one
-no trees, water, or anything else in the way
-no bathrooms or garbages on course but you can find both at the nearby school
Other Thoughts: I didnt find any tees and I played with no snow on the ground. It would be good to have near your house if you wanted to practice but this barely qualifies as a course due to lack of tees. This course is basically closed in the spring and fall from 3-7 pm due to kids sports practices. I showed up at 6:30 thinking they would be done and ended up waiting over a half hour to get on the course. It weaves through the sports practice fields making it impossible to throw without hitting someone.

Do not follow the directions of google maps. They are correct until the end. When you see Hopkins Junior/Senior high drive all the way to the back of the parking lot and you will see the track/football field and the course is behind/left of that.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/6/2009   4/6/2009
Review By: Cradical
Played: 107  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 7.2 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It is located near many other courses. Also it is at a highschool which makes it good for getting the sport out there.
Cons: We could only find 9 holes that were labelled 10 through 18. There could be another 9 out there somewhere but we didn't find them.
Course is super super short. We couldn't find any tees to play from, but that could be because there was snow on the ground.
Other Thoughts: If you play here and can't find any tees, you can probably just play from hole to hole.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.