Disc Golf Store

Course Extinct
Taylor Mill, KY 
Pride Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
3 / 275ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
not good

1    5/14/2013   5/17/2013
Review By: jamiejogov
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Hilly with lots of trees
Cons: There is no map at the beginning so you know where to go. Half the holes are gone, if you can find the tee. We spent two hours here, mostly looking for the holes, no paths, no arrows, nothing. This course is so poorly kept it should be illegal, it's that bad. The grass isn't even cut, except for the last hole, where there is family stuff.
Other Thoughts: This park is crowded so in certain areas you have to hope you don't hit someone. There were a lot of shady people on the back trails, I would recommend going in a group, but honestly you shouldn't even go. They are doing construction at the first hole so you can't play it.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A resurrected KY hill workout

2-4    8/23/2012   8/23/2012
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 180  Reviewed: 161  Exp: 3.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you are looking for a workout while you play, Pride Park DGC is right up your alley! It feels like more than half the holes either run slightly to severely uphill, or the path to the next tee does. It's a good thing there are benches near about 2/3rds of the tees.

Located in Taylor Mill, KY, this pretty, wooded course wends its way downhill from the parking lot from a nice family park with all the amenities. When (not if) some of the family decides the course is too challenging, there's plenty here for them to do.

The first hole runs across a valley, where you'll see that the photograph here on dgcr is fairly dated. That tree in the valley is more than twice the size pictured. The second hole angles downhill to a woods teaser, then you walk back uphill to a shot over a graveyard on #3 (unique!), and then into the woods on 4 & 5 . A few hillside annys (rhbh) later, you're hooking to the right, 200' out and 50' up a severe hill on #8 (to the right, not down the path to the left: that's the #16 basket), before getting really 'interesting' as you start the back nine.

When you stare down the hill on #10, and see the creek ravine below, you can't imagine that the simple 140' #11 actually is a level shot, but you'll need to climb down about 60' (and back up!) for your putt. The short left hook on #12 finishes at a beautifully MacGyver'ed basket, and then you need to backtrack downhill for the final ravine-crossing #13 (don't go on past #12's basket without some breadcrumbs and a gps device).

14-16 work back along the left side of the ravine with some decently challenging control shots, then you walk back up to the #8 tee, turn right across the ravine, go up to the trail, where you jog left, then double back right, and (more!) uphill to the 17th tee (follow the pink ribbons). 17 & 18 are tight, slightly uphill holes that feel long (290') and get longer (334'), with low overhead to navigate, as well. I chose to divide (the fairways) and conquer, and settle for the 3's if I could get them. You finish your cardio workout by continuing to slog your way uphill about a marathon's distance to the parking lot (at least it felt that way to me).

In all, a great workout, a tight course, and a real challenge for the recreational to intermediate level disc golfer. It's not the longest course around, but it can feel like it by the time you get back to your car.
Cons: Maintenance is the major issue here: it's being lovingly resurrected from near-extinct, but you won't always catch this course at its best.

Course navigation can be a challenge despite printing out the map here on the website, because the woods get pretty claustrophobic, depending on the maintenance, which can be very sporadic (see 'other thoughts' below).

Some of the 'wrong' baskets are visible from the next tees. For instance, don't shoot straight downhill to the visible basket on #2, your shot will be 30 degrees to the right. You'll see the #16 basket from the #8 tee. Look way up the hill for the right one. When you reach the #10 basket, look to your left to preview the location of #13.

Missing basket on 9, but there's a clearing where it should go. There are actually some treacherous paths which range from cleared, to half blocked by fallen timber, to rocky and steep. You will experience difficulty crossing the creeks, and these hills are likely impossible when it's slick.
Other Thoughts: If you're looking for a nice relaxing round of disc golf, these hills are not for you. If you're a really big guy like me, make sure your cardio fitness has been approved by your MD.

The layout works in a full loop for the 18, so don't come expecting to take a break at the 'turn' on #9.

Course navigation is notoriously difficult, but look for the pink ribbons to guide you from hole to hole, wherever paths diverge.

The park board has said they plan to pull these baskets, and put them in storage, while anticipating a future redesign, but some local, dedicated DGers have worked so hard this spring and summer to resuscitate the course (thank you, RustyChains & Sir Sidearm!), the park is pitching in with maintenance (for now). And that #12 basket is a treasure. I hope folks come to see what you did there!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 little "pride"

1    10/24/2010   11/6/2010
Review By: nickharrington
Played: 42  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.2 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: 1 thru 6 are great. What a hike for the rest.
Cons: Very overgrown. Poor markings (several vandalized). Basket 9 is about to fall over, tee maker for 10 is missing, basket 12 is missing.
Never saw 17 and 18. Needs to take more "pride" in the park.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Absolute Awful Course

1    7/15/2010   7/15/2010
Review By: Ben17
Played: 62  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 4.8 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -The sign at the tee is somewhat nice for some holes
-Some of the pins have a sticker showing what hole the pin goes to
-The first 4 holes are somewhat nice and fun holes
Cons: -The tee that you throw from is made up of just dirt and grass
-They do not take good care of the course at all
-Some of the signs at the tee are completely messed up and take you in the complete wrong direction
-Some of the pins are missing so really you are throwing at nothing, which takes all the fun out of it
-On some of the holes there isn't even a trail so you are just walking through weeds
-The benches at the tee are all falling apart
-The woods are very thick and it is so easy to lose your disc so you have to be extra careful
-There are not many people who play here so the disc golf part of the park doesn't get really any use
-There are no signs that direct you to the next hole so you are walking all over the place to find the next hole
-The whole course is made up of par 3's which takes alot of the fun out of it, because it really doesn't change
Other Thoughts: Out of all the courses that i have ever played by far this is the worst course. With all of the good courses in this area this just doesn't even compare. Nobody ever takes care of this course. It is not nice at all. It gets no use so i dont even see the point of having it. It really wasn't even fun because i spent all of my time looking for discs and trying to find the way to the next hole. So if you are planning on going to this course dont even bother.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  

1    7/5/2010   7/7/2010
Review By: matt12denver
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.3 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Excellent use of elevation, and space. You are not likely to see another person out on the course after # 5. First course I have ever played where fatigue could be a legitimate factor.
Cons: Basket on #9 is laying on ground, finding a tee for #10 is impossible, and #12 has no basket (although it is short, and you could easily play to the tree next to the hole that was the basket). Finding #17 & #18 (#8 & #9?) was tricky.
Other Thoughts: Difficult to traverse, and probably unplayable after moderate rain. Wear sturdy shoes (not a flip-flop course). I would recommend ample water and bug spray, and a machete would help on some holes.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Feelin it the next day...

1    5/27/2010   5/28/2010
Review By: NobleVillin
Played: 32  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.8 Years
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Amazing hike! if you're a back packer, this one's for you! Load up the Camelback and the bug spray and enjoy the vast elevation change ( especially when you get lost ) and technically difficult shots through the woods...
Cons: What a Hike! I was pooped the next morning,,, Our guide (jnix) took us on a path that was supposed to lead us to tee 17, , , it didnt. when we came to a clearing, we saw that the parking lot was about 1/4 mile away. So, when headed to 17, and you find yourself going up an extremely daunting hill, , , turn back...
Other Thoughts: I would like to know how 17 and 18 are if I ever get the chance....

Also...

With great sadness I have to report my Champion Beast was lost to the disc knome at hole 15. careful out there, choose colors wisely...

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Pride Park

1    3/1/2010   5/4/2010
Review By: richardmmill
Played: 48  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 12.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It has potential but thats about it. The signs are nice and helpful.
Cons: This might be one of the worst kept courses I have ever been on. The way some of the holes were over grown there was little to no enjoyment with the play of the course. The holes are set in spot where erosion has made them pretty horrible to try and walk through. One hole throws over/really close to a small cemetery. Holes throw really close to a play ground also, if someone hard an off throw or some grip lock going on, it might not turn out so good.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Course, Amazing Potential

1    8/18/2009   8/18/2009
Review By: TheTennesseeFireman
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.6 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I don't often do this, but I'm gonna give the hole-by-hole:

1- Beautiful opener. Mostly straight, downhill shot with from the picnic shelter.

2- Fun, but relatively steep downhill shot, so be careful as running it past can be deadly.

3- The "Graveyard Hole", and a fun one at that. The hole offers 2 routes to the pin, so pick whichever shot you throw best.

4- Another fun downhill shot through a tree chute, opening up with a slight left turn at the end.

6- An good wooded hole over a small depression. Overgrowth is only a slight problem here.

8- Very difficult sharply uphill shot. Bite off as much as you can from the tee.

10- Extremely cool steep downhill shot. Only the big guns will find this to be an ace run, but even the lighter arms can get it close.

11- A signature shot over the creek. Have fun!

13- Back over the creek, only this time slightly uphill. Maybe even better than 11.

15- Cool hyzer throw along the road. Not too different from 14 or 16, but still entertaining.

17- The change in scenery (you exit the deep woods for the first time since hole 5) is very nice. Also good to see some holes with right turns.

18- The longest hole on the course, and a real test.

General: Easily has the potential to be the best short course in Cincinnati. Holes of all sorts about here: mild and steep uphill and downhill shots, left and right turns, water and ravine carries, and more. The course is also relatively short, which is very useful for your legs given the terrain. Despite the popularity of the park, you will see few if any people for the majority of the round (this course is scarcely used). The tee signs are useful. Also, it's more accessible and easier to find than any other course in Northern Kentucky.
Cons: 5- From this point on, every single hole could use significant attention (trimming at the very least). This one has a fun uphill turn, but wildflowers choke the landing area.

7- Tons of overgrowth problems here. The double fairways are a neat trick, but where the trees are the thornbushes are also watch out.

8- Here's where another problem starts to kick in: erosion. Especially after rain, some hills (especially this one) will be very hard to climb, and much of the ground .

9- A bit too tight. Also, the pin sees perilously close to falling out of the ground.

10- While the hole itself is fun, erosion really starts to bare its teeth here. Good luck getting down the hill without slipping. Also could benefit from some trimming. The tee sign is missing here.

11- Crossing the river can be a big problem. The banks of the river are steep and muddy, which can make it difficult to reach the other side. A bridge would be helpful.

12- As of right now, this hole doesn't exist. Seems like a drunken party went through here. Heaps of trash are strewn about the tee, and the basket is gone. The hole itself seems like it could use a defining feature (maybe a hanging basket or an island green).

13- Its easy to go the wrong way looking for this hole. Take the route that doubles back towards 11. Unfortunately the only place to cross the creek is where you crossed 11, so you will again have to get your feet muddy struggling up the hill.

14- Again, too tight. Would also benefit from a bit more length.

16- Too similar to the last hole; needs some inspiration.

17- The overgrowth doesn't allow enough room for creative shotmaking, as this hole was designed for. Trimming would be helpful. In addition, getting to this hole can be confusing. Make sure you take the path on the right and the switchback up above the dirt road. Tee sign and pin are labeled as #8.

18- Tee sign and pin are labeled as #9.

General: Overgrowth and erosion are the two biggest problems. Bugs and thornbushes are also a problem here, so wear long pants whenever you can, as retrieving discs can be a chore. Bring water. Trash is also present on a few holes, something I'm surprised the park hasn't noticed/addressed. Navigation can be tricky on a few holes, so print a map from the Cincinnati Disc Golf website.
Other Thoughts: All this course needs is a bit of love. Some cleanup and could easily make this a 4-star course. If you think the same way I do, PM me and we can make an effort.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Potential buts needs Attention!

1    7/5/2009   7/7/2009
Review By: dobbins66
Played: 85  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 9.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice Park with adequate parking and shelters.

Like many others have mentioned, there are some nicely laid out holes here.
#1 - Good Starting hole with elevation and trees in play.
#10 - Great downhill shot through the trees.
#17 & 18 - Are nice moderate distance tunnel shots.
#8 (i think) - Nice uphill left turning hole where bad shots may return to you.

The course really teaches you to keep your tee shots under control. There are many small gaps to hit and dangerous roll away potential so you better be willing to play it safe at times. Good shot variety with forehand/backhand mix. Play this course very often and it will force you to learn a decent forehand for a few of the holes.
Good Tee signs with distance and layout on most holes : Except #10 (Missing), #17 (Labeled as 8) & #18 (Labeled as 9).
Cons: Tee Area - I'm OK with natural tees but in many cases there wasn't even a moderately level place to stand. Thankfully most holes are short because an attempted run up will destroy an ankle (or worse).

Navigation can be difficult - On my search for #17 I found a Tee with a #8 on it and thought I'd found #18 with the "1" missing. So I backtracked and walked around and gave up so I went back and threw the #8 tee only to see a "17" on the basket when I got there. Might have checked this sooner except that most baskets did not have numbers.

#12 Basket is missing - Looked recent by the fresh dirt and there were ATV tracks all around the basket placement with brush knocked down. I posted the info on the Cincy Website.

Holes 11 thru 13 - Like #11 & #13 but after throwing #13 you have to hike back up to the #11 crossing to find a reasonably safe place to attempt to get back to the #13 basket side. Heard there used to be a bridge - It could use something.

Weeds were high in places but I can live with that at times on wooded courses in rough areas.
Other Thoughts: This place will get you in shape or make you give up the game. I like the layout and if I'm in the area I might play it again. Just not on a wet day like my first adventure. Thought I was never going to make it down the slick hill to the #10 basket in one piece! Has potential based on the layout and would be a could place to work on different parts of your precision game. Better tee areas would be the biggest help - I think erosion has added to this problem.

Don't play it when wet and be prepared to climb.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/8/2009   7/5/2009
Review By: DirtyMittenDG
Played: 108  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 10.7 Years
This review was updated on 9/9/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hole Variety/Course Layout-
This is for sure a technical course, but a couple open holes at the start help warm you up for the intense woods and hills. Also most of the holes are pretty short but theres a few long ones in there. The hills are used well to make some really unique holes.
Cons: Course Maintenance-
There are no tee pads here, a couple holes will have you wishing there were (hole # 10 for example). Also when I went it was a little muddy, and the mix of slippery mud and steep hills could for sure be a hazard to people without the best balance.

-I went in early spring and even then there were a few holes with overwellming thrick brush in spots, I can imagine this course gets pretty overgrown in late summer.
Other Thoughts: -I had a really good time at Pride Park, we ended up playing it twice. I was told to stay away from this course before I came, but I had a feeling I was going to like it and did! I can understand why some people wouldnt like this course though, it is very tight in spots.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.