Burlington, MA 
Simonds Park Share
Uploaded By: justin Hole #2 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 339ft.   3 / 379ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 - Temp Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Lunch Break Course

5+    7/1/2013   7/2/2013
Review By: Truschioni
Played: 16  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It is less than 5 mins from where I work
It is fairly well taken care of, never have any trouble finding a stray disc.
Relatively quiet, no lines no waiting
Good baskets
Some variation, can work on a lil bit of everything
Cons: For new comers it is hard to find the layout of the course.
No signage, would be cool to know distances and par of each.
Wet - holes 7/8 are constantly soaked and if you dont have good boots/shoes on you're doomed
Occasionally you run into people who are oblivious to the idea that people are throwing discs at the park
Other Thoughts: Overall I am very thankful for this course because I am able to play every day on my lunch break. My game has improved because of it.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Worth a quick trip if you're through Beantown

1    10/18/2011   10/18/2011
Review By: pfpro
Played: 47  Reviewed: 37
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Signs are up, I don't quite understand what th number is next to the distance (it's not strokes for par), but they are nice and usually show where the next tees are.
- good mix open/wooded, elevation used when available.
- for a shared course, there are only a few holes where the a and b shots feel the same
- very convenient to the interstate.
Cons: - the "b" tees (white) can be difficult to find. The "a" red tees have the sign which is pretty easy to find. Play those first so you have somewhat of an idea when you come through for the back nine.
- there was what appeared to be a homeless person back in the corner by 6, but they didn't want to be by me any more then I wanted to hit them with a disc.
-the tee pads are a bit short, but since they're gravel, you can pretty much start your approach from anywhere.
- personal con for me - I thought the baskets were about 12 inches too low
Other Thoughts: I was able to play quickly during a work trip. It took about 45 minutes to speed play the course, and it was time well spent. While not good pretty, I found the spray painted directions to the next tee pads quite helpful, especially where the pads are far apart. There really are no other courses close by, so this is a decent option. If you played this course frequently it may lose a half star as it is not overly challenging (I am used to the tight wooded fairways of NC) and you could. My favorite holes were the white 1 and 9 tees.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner 9, but could be more

1    7/6/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 75  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.2 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is a very fun nine holer that plays mostly secluded from other park activities. The navigation is easy; especially once you get into the woods. Next tee arrows and hole numbers spray painted on trees in the woods. The basket positions are located very cleverly: which adds to the super easy navigation. The teepads are the best natural ones I have ever seen. They are almost totally level with no rocks or roots (very rare for New England). Where hole nine comes out it is pretty close to hole one and where you park. There are two grip and rip (for an average player anyway) holes, several ace races and a few harder holes. The DGA baskets are in like new condition and catch incredibly well. Parking and family entertainment wont be a problem with a large parking lot and plenty of athletic fields. A porta-pottie is available near the first tee.
Cons: There are no tee signs. They arent really needed as you can see the basket from every tee but hole one (the basket is in between the bushes and large tree) . There isn't a map or scorecards available. Even though they are in great condition the tee pads are natural. Hole seven 's tee pad could be moved back ten feet and you wouldn't have to worry about the roots. A few of the holes play right next to busy streets and an errant shot could spell trouble. The holes in the woods have a large litter problem. Hole nine's tee is almost in the middle of five's fairway. Some of the fairways arent seperated by more than twenty feet.
Other Thoughts: To get to hole two cross the baseball field and the road. The tee is in between the two trees.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little course

2-4    11/21/2009   11/21/2009
Review By: whitewaterhelix
Played: 30  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Convenient location, decent variety, good baskets, tons of parking, good lines on all holes will make you use a variety of shots, good use of space, skatepark/playground/etc. also in the park.
Cons: Short, all par 3, poison ivy in the summer is everywhere, undergrowth needs to be removed from rough (p.i. and lots of tiny trees trying to grow up), people walking dogs through course, some trash
Other Thoughts: This course reminds me of a mini-amesbury as it is nestled into a pine forest for 7 of the 9 holes (other two are open field holes). It is short and won't test your arm, but does offer some challenging shots for birdies (I was stoked to birdie #5 by parking the basket with a Wasp, this is a great hole). The 330' open field shot does let you see if you really can throw over 300 feet like you think you can :-)
Will be a great little course with more TLC, teeboxes and clearing of the underbrush. Not much fun in the summer with all the poison ivy! It would be great to see a few of the holes made a bit longer or have alternate tees, esp #6 and #7 could be backed up some. #7 is nice but would be an even better challenge if set back about 30ft further so you have to throw through those first two trees. #8 could also be moved back into the corner a bit more perhaps?

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Decent rec course

1    5/25/2009   5/27/2009
Review By: GrandCactus
Played: 35  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It's hard to argue that this isn't the best course within a 40 minute drive of home, because its the only one.
Good use of available forest and geography.
New course=entire place to myself
Cons: Well, its half a course right now, so its hard to judge (missing tee boxes), but I would say "confined" describes it pretty well.
Other Thoughts: I'd describe this course as "the best use of available space". It crams seven holes into a heavily wooded section of the park (2 are in the open). Most of the holes play pretty short and require dodging through trees. There really aren't fairways though; admittedly the underbrush needs to be cleared, but there arent many clean lines through the forest (there are lots of ugly ones-- so I wouldn't call it technically challenging). Also, as was mentioned in other reviews, the roads are really quite close. I just stuck with my mid-range, both to avoid trees and keep my drives out of traffic. Given the confines of the park, I did enjoy the elevation changes, since evey hole was sloped to some degree. All-in-all I'd say its a good course for recreational golfing and practicing your mid-range game, but if you are looking for something that will challnege your distance or technique look elsewhere.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center