Burlington, MA 
Simonds Park Share
Uploaded By: justin Hole #3 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 256ft.   3 / 289ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 - Temp Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Quality 9-holer

2-4    10/17/2013   10/18/2013
Review By: Policygnat
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good 9 hole course with regulation baskets and good signage at the tee pads.
Cons: Tee pads are not well kept and the gravel is uneven. I was a little concerned for my ankles when throwing from them.
Other Thoughts: Hole 1 starts by the batting cages.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 going to the mall

1    8/28/2010   9/12/2010
Review By: eastcoastf
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: very decent small course in the woods. i think it's a great place to stop in your in the area.

free and restrooms near playground
Cons: course could be better marked.
Other Thoughts: it's about 5 minutes from the burlington mall. the park is across from a great walking area with a gazebo.

the park has a really nice playground, skateboarding area, and wading pool.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Upgrades on the way!

5+    7/31/2010   7/31/2010
Review By: Smithcok
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Convenient location. For anyone living in the greater Boston area, any other course is going to be 35 minutes or more away. This course is easily accessible off of 95, is free, and has ample parking (plus the snack bar is open if you are lucky)

- Good variety of holes. The first two holes are open and in the grass near the sports fields. Then its into the woods for the rest. Plenty of distance and angle varieties to cater to golfers of all throwing types (aka not all RHBH holes).

- Good community working on course improvements.
Cons: - 9 hole course (although the pseudo-18 will be fully operational soon)

- Sometimes cars of people watching baseball games line the fairway of hole 2. Fore!

- Punk teenagers causing raucous in the woods (although rare lately)

- Above mentioned punk kids leaving trash on the course.

- Some holes were a little short, but again they are being modified/lengthened

- If you've never played here before, sometimes its hard to find holes 1 (which tees off back by the basketball courts) and 2 (which is across the park from hole 1, in the big open field by the major intersection).
Other Thoughts: If you haven't been to the course for awhile, come back! The course is being updated, with alternate tees being added to each hole. These are not just "40 feet behind the old ones" sort of tees. On many holes, new fairways have been cut through the woods, and all new tees offer a brand new look at the pin.

Hole signs are coming soon as well.

With the efforts being put into course maintenance and development, its definitely worth your while to visit this course. Plus, now you can play "18 holes" on a 9 hole course.

Also, a few holes are being lengthened and the course will have multiple 300+ feet holes.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Resident Man

5+    10/23/2009   10/24/2009
Review By: mactaz
Played: 56  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's awesome for me cuz I live in that town in all my life. It's be great for me to play as practice, warm up, and exercise. That course would be good for beginners. Also it's for expert to be warm up or practice with your throwing.
Cons: A several youth or punks been there but it's not bothering me at all. Need a Bulletin Board for any new events and disc golf information.
Other Thoughts: It's taking me less in 5 mins to drive...

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not Bad for Being so close to Boston

5+    5/22/2009   5/25/2009
Review By: mattydgolfer
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 7/26/2009
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very close to Rt. 128, Boston, northern suburbs. Uses limited space very well. Provides some challenge even though holes are pretty short. Not too hilly and newbie friendly.
Cons: Since this park is heavily used there is some trash especially on the first few holes. There is also been some annoying use of hole 2's fairway for fly fishing classes sponsored by rip off LL Bean. I have also discovered some punks talking trash but they quickly shut it after I rip one down the middle. Tee boxes are still poorly defined although the piece of wood and spray painting is much better.
Other Thoughts: This course is free, great location, can play multiple rounds, variety of shots needed from a long and wide open hole 2 to woods. I see progress as well as an information kiosk is in place and people have made makeshift tee boxes!!!!This course will be simply awesome when it is 100% complete.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of Potential to Grow the Sport

1    4/22/2009   4/23/2009
Review By: pdisc
Played: 53  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I really liked the location. It is close to Boston and Burlington has a lot of businesses and industry which makes it a perfect lunch break course for anyone working close to the park. Also, the park is very busy with a lot of people playing basketball, baseball, or using the playground area. You get a lot of stares while you play, which perks a lot of interest. As a result, this can grow the sport.
Cons: Hole #2 can be a little nerve-racking for those who are not as experinced. It is sandwiched between the driveway enterance (which can get busy at times) and a very busy route 3A (but, I always say what doesn't kill you will make you stronger and it forces you to learn how to throw straight). Also some clean up in the wooded areas ( especailly around #5)are needed and some clearing out of brush on #6 and #8.
Other Thoughts: I don't know what else you can do with course development because the area is very tight. The biggest assest this course has is it's location and high volume of people traffic which can grow the game. I'll give it a 5++ in that catagory.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.