Burlington, MA 
Simonds Park Share
Uploaded By: justin Hole #3 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 256ft.   3 / 289ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 - Temp Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
We need more of these

2-4    10/21/2013   10/28/2013
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 106  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This and Olin College are the only courses close to the 128 beltway.

I am impressed that they could get 9 respectable holes with two tees into this park. The first two holes are mostly wide open, but the other seven are tucked among the tall pines. The look and feel reminds me a bit of courses in Oregon.

The red tees are more rec-friendly, but they are not boring holes. A big, sweeping hyzer won't get you very far on these holes. The red tees are generally straight shots through the trees while the white tees force a bit more line shaping. Most of these holes are under 300 feet.

Navigation isn't too tough after hole 2.
Cons:
Tee pads gravel and pretty short. The red tees are located close to the tee signs (although not always right next to them). They show where the white tees are, but I still had a tough time finding some of them.

The spray paint on trees is pretty ugly. I wish they'd improve some of the signage for the white tees or mark them a bit better.
Other Thoughts:
This was a surprisingly enjoyable course. Advanced players may need to limit their disc selection to get a big challenge here, but even intermediate players will find they have to earn their birdies. New players won't get beaten down if they are playing the red tees.

The Boston area is starved for courses. It's unlikely that we'll be getting many 18-hole courses within the 128 loop, but there is definitely room for fun 9-hole courses like this. Pay a visit to this one. It wouldn't hurt for the local disc golf community to demonstrate that there is a significant demand for the game.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Quality 9-holer

2-4    10/17/2013   10/18/2013
Review By: Policygnat
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good 9 hole course with regulation baskets and good signage at the tee pads.
Cons: Tee pads are not well kept and the gravel is uneven. I was a little concerned for my ankles when throwing from them.
Other Thoughts: Hole 1 starts by the batting cages.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nice & Close

1    8/19/2013   8/19/2013
Review By: Maddog30
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good 9 hole course. 2 open field holes, 7 wooded, all with two tee options. Now with regulation baskets. No room for expansion here, but they mad the most of what they had. Good grooming in this town owned facility.
Cons: The maps at the tees are not totally accurate, I believe some basket placements changed, so walk the holes to double check first time there. I went on what I thought would be an off time, and the play was slow due to the number of players.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Lunch Break Course

5+    7/1/2013   7/2/2013
Review By: Truschioni
Played: 16  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It is less than 5 mins from where I work
It is fairly well taken care of, never have any trouble finding a stray disc.
Relatively quiet, no lines no waiting
Good baskets
Some variation, can work on a lil bit of everything
Cons: For new comers it is hard to find the layout of the course.
No signage, would be cool to know distances and par of each.
Wet - holes 7/8 are constantly soaked and if you dont have good boots/shoes on you're doomed
Occasionally you run into people who are oblivious to the idea that people are throwing discs at the park
Other Thoughts: Overall I am very thankful for this course because I am able to play every day on my lunch break. My game has improved because of it.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A passable short course

1    1/21/2013   1/21/2013
Review By: gabereif
Played: 21  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -It exists and it's in the greater Boston area.
-It's playable and fun.

Cons: -Poor signage.
-Can be hard to find tees, including the first.
-Multiple tees (I think there were multiple tees...) for some holes is especially confusing.
-Lots of trees on some shots make for too high a luck to skill ratio
-Only 9 holes (but it's better than none!)
Other Thoughts: Don't drive more than 45 minutes to play this course, but if you're a local and don't mind doing some wandering to figure this course out, try it out.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Worth a quick trip if you're through Beantown

1    10/18/2011   10/18/2011
Review By: pfpro
Played: 45  Reviewed: 36
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Signs are up, I don't quite understand what th number is next to the distance (it's not strokes for par), but they are nice and usually show where the next tees are.
- good mix open/wooded, elevation used when available.
- for a shared course, there are only a few holes where the a and b shots feel the same
- very convenient to the interstate.
Cons: - the "b" tees (white) can be difficult to find. The "a" red tees have the sign which is pretty easy to find. Play those first so you have somewhat of an idea when you come through for the back nine.
- there was what appeared to be a homeless person back in the corner by 6, but they didn't want to be by me any more then I wanted to hit them with a disc.
-the tee pads are a bit short, but since they're gravel, you can pretty much start your approach from anywhere.
- personal con for me - I thought the baskets were about 12 inches too low
Other Thoughts: I was able to play quickly during a work trip. It took about 45 minutes to speed play the course, and it was time well spent. While not good pretty, I found the spray painted directions to the next tee pads quite helpful, especially where the pads are far apart. There really are no other courses close by, so this is a decent option. If you played this course frequently it may lose a half star as it is not overly challenging (I am used to the tight wooded fairways of NC) and you could. My favorite holes were the white 1 and 9 tees.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Ho-hum

1    12/5/2010   12/5/2010
Review By: Everett Evans
Played: 63  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 21.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Two tees per hole
Great baskets (Mach IIIs)
Decent location (close to Boston)
Got as much out of the park as the designer could
Decent mix of open, wooded, tight, left, right, etc.
Cons: Most holes seem to play about the same length
Holes 1 and 2 are pretty close to streets, cars, people, other park usage
Due to lack of signage, it took a while to get from 1 to 2
Sorry, but the graffiti-like spraypaint on the trees is just hideous. There must be 20 trees in the woods with various numbers, arrows, in ugly spraypaint. No excuses, put in temporary signs or at least nail decent signs to the trees, anything but spray paint.
Lack of tee signs. Eventually, signs will add a huge amount to the course, luckily you can see most holes from the tees, so navigation isn't too bad.
Other Thoughts: Eventually, once the spray paint wears off and the tee signs go in, this will be a decent course. It is a little like Amesbury in that most of the holes are in an old pine forest littered with broken branches and pine cones. Hole 2 is an accident waiting to happen, since the wind blows left to right and a turnover could easily cross a busy road, or a bad hyzer will cross the park road. All in all, a little fun if you are in the area, but not worth a long drive to play.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 going to the mall

1    8/28/2010   9/12/2010
Review By: eastcoastf
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: very decent small course in the woods. i think it's a great place to stop in your in the area.

free and restrooms near playground
Cons: course could be better marked.
Other Thoughts: it's about 5 minutes from the burlington mall. the park is across from a great walking area with a gazebo.

the park has a really nice playground, skateboarding area, and wading pool.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Finally a course in Metro Boston!

5+    8/22/2010   8/24/2010
Review By: AaronD
Played: 26  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It's such a relief to have a course this close to Metro Boston. It used to be at least an hour and a half round trip to get in a round, but with this course it's been cut to about 30 minutes.

They make really good use of the space they have. There's a really good mix of holes. When I first played the course I was just happy they were so close, but the addition of the 2nd set of tee boxes and the hole position changes (8 and it appears 7 is on the way as well) have made this a satisfying and challenging course to play. It's no longer a "I don't feel like driving all the way to Topsfield" course. I'll go here just for the sake of playing the course.

Whoever maintains this place has done a great job getting it in good shape in just a year or two.
Cons: scratch, scratch... tons of poison ivy in the wooded area during the summer. However, there's a bathroom on site so I was able to avoid any complications.

7&8 were swampy during the spring, but we've had a dry, dry summer.

I've had a handful of random folks walking aimlessly through the course when I've played. I see how there could be issues with this sort of thing, but it wasn't that bad.

No formal sign posts or anything, but they're still working on the course, so I don't hold this against them. The markers on the trees do a good job for now.
Other Thoughts: Kudos to Justin and others for putting this course together. I hadn't played much in the last two years, and this course has given me and my friends a place close to home to get back on our game and play again.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Upgrades on the way!

5+    7/31/2010   7/31/2010
Review By: Smithcok
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Convenient location. For anyone living in the greater Boston area, any other course is going to be 35 minutes or more away. This course is easily accessible off of 95, is free, and has ample parking (plus the snack bar is open if you are lucky)

- Good variety of holes. The first two holes are open and in the grass near the sports fields. Then its into the woods for the rest. Plenty of distance and angle varieties to cater to golfers of all throwing types (aka not all RHBH holes).

- Good community working on course improvements.
Cons: - 9 hole course (although the pseudo-18 will be fully operational soon)

- Sometimes cars of people watching baseball games line the fairway of hole 2. Fore!

- Punk teenagers causing raucous in the woods (although rare lately)

- Above mentioned punk kids leaving trash on the course.

- Some holes were a little short, but again they are being modified/lengthened

- If you've never played here before, sometimes its hard to find holes 1 (which tees off back by the basketball courts) and 2 (which is across the park from hole 1, in the big open field by the major intersection).
Other Thoughts: If you haven't been to the course for awhile, come back! The course is being updated, with alternate tees being added to each hole. These are not just "40 feet behind the old ones" sort of tees. On many holes, new fairways have been cut through the woods, and all new tees offer a brand new look at the pin.

Hole signs are coming soon as well.

With the efforts being put into course maintenance and development, its definitely worth your while to visit this course. Plus, now you can play "18 holes" on a 9 hole course.

Also, a few holes are being lengthened and the course will have multiple 300+ feet holes.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.