Burlington, MA 
Simonds Park Share
Uploaded By: justin Hole #1 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 218ft.   3 / 274ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 - Temp Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Beginner 9, but could be more

1    7/6/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 75  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 5.9 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is a very fun nine holer that plays mostly secluded from other park activities. The navigation is easy; especially once you get into the woods. Next tee arrows and hole numbers spray painted on trees in the woods. The basket positions are located very cleverly: which adds to the super easy navigation. The teepads are the best natural ones I have ever seen. They are almost totally level with no rocks or roots (very rare for New England). Where hole nine comes out it is pretty close to hole one and where you park. There are two grip and rip (for an average player anyway) holes, several ace races and a few harder holes. The DGA baskets are in like new condition and catch incredibly well. Parking and family entertainment wont be a problem with a large parking lot and plenty of athletic fields. A porta-pottie is available near the first tee.
Cons: There are no tee signs. They arent really needed as you can see the basket from every tee but hole one (the basket is in between the bushes and large tree) . There isn't a map or scorecards available. Even though they are in great condition the tee pads are natural. Hole seven 's tee pad could be moved back ten feet and you wouldn't have to worry about the roots. A few of the holes play right next to busy streets and an errant shot could spell trouble. The holes in the woods have a large litter problem. Hole nine's tee is almost in the middle of five's fairway. Some of the fairways arent seperated by more than twenty feet.
Other Thoughts: To get to hole two cross the baseball field and the road. The tee is in between the two trees.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little course

2-4    11/21/2009   11/21/2009
Review By: whitewaterhelix
Played: 30  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Convenient location, decent variety, good baskets, tons of parking, good lines on all holes will make you use a variety of shots, good use of space, skatepark/playground/etc. also in the park.
Cons: Short, all par 3, poison ivy in the summer is everywhere, undergrowth needs to be removed from rough (p.i. and lots of tiny trees trying to grow up), people walking dogs through course, some trash
Other Thoughts: This course reminds me of a mini-amesbury as it is nestled into a pine forest for 7 of the 9 holes (other two are open field holes). It is short and won't test your arm, but does offer some challenging shots for birdies (I was stoked to birdie #5 by parking the basket with a Wasp, this is a great hole). The 330' open field shot does let you see if you really can throw over 300 feet like you think you can :-)
Will be a great little course with more TLC, teeboxes and clearing of the underbrush. Not much fun in the summer with all the poison ivy! It would be great to see a few of the holes made a bit longer or have alternate tees, esp #6 and #7 could be backed up some. #7 is nice but would be an even better challenge if set back about 30ft further so you have to throw through those first two trees. #8 could also be moved back into the corner a bit more perhaps?

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Resident Man

5+    10/23/2009   10/24/2009
Review By: mactaz
Played: 56  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's awesome for me cuz I live in that town in all my life. It's be great for me to play as practice, warm up, and exercise. That course would be good for beginners. Also it's for expert to be warm up or practice with your throwing.
Cons: A several youth or punks been there but it's not bothering me at all. Need a Bulletin Board for any new events and disc golf information.
Other Thoughts: It's taking me less in 5 mins to drive...

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A close to Boston Gem

5+    7/25/2009   7/26/2009
Review By: LSC player
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.4 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great location with respect to proximity to Boston. A shorter course but will challenge even the most experienced disc golfer. Newly marked tee locations and spray painted directions on trees have made this course easier to navigate. A great course to play if you have 1/2 an hour to kill because you probably won't see another fellow frolfer while you are out there. Not a heavily used course.
Cons: Hole 1 is next to a bball court so expect some trash talking from time to time from the area youth. Hole 2 has become a hot spot for a fly fishing casting class. Yelling "fore" at them doesn't seem to matter. Maybe someone with a real power shot can scare them off the spot. Hole 4 was pulled out of the ground by a couple of kids (I was there shortly after it was done and saw the kids run away). Repairs have been made but it's lopsided now. Holes 5 and 9 can be difficult to find for first timers.
Other Thoughts: Overall I really love this course. There might be a bias here because it is my home course, but this 9 hole course uses limited space fantastically. Hole 5 doesn't have a spray painted board for a tee box so it can be a challenge to find (It's uphill from hole 4. There is a spray painted #5 on a tree). Hole 9 is a bit tough to find but a great hole to play. With a little more TLC, I can see upgrading the rating to a 4+.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Decent rec course

1    5/25/2009   5/27/2009
Review By: GrandCactus
Played: 35  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.7 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It's hard to argue that this isn't the best course within a 40 minute drive of home, because its the only one.
Good use of available forest and geography.
New course=entire place to myself
Cons: Well, its half a course right now, so its hard to judge (missing tee boxes), but I would say "confined" describes it pretty well.
Other Thoughts: I'd describe this course as "the best use of available space". It crams seven holes into a heavily wooded section of the park (2 are in the open). Most of the holes play pretty short and require dodging through trees. There really aren't fairways though; admittedly the underbrush needs to be cleared, but there arent many clean lines through the forest (there are lots of ugly ones-- so I wouldn't call it technically challenging). Also, as was mentioned in other reviews, the roads are really quite close. I just stuck with my mid-range, both to avoid trees and keep my drives out of traffic. Given the confines of the park, I did enjoy the elevation changes, since evey hole was sloped to some degree. All-in-all I'd say its a good course for recreational golfing and practicing your mid-range game, but if you are looking for something that will challnege your distance or technique look elsewhere.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not Bad for Being so close to Boston

5+    5/22/2009   5/25/2009
Review By: mattydgolfer
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/26/2009
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very close to Rt. 128, Boston, northern suburbs. Uses limited space very well. Provides some challenge even though holes are pretty short. Not too hilly and newbie friendly.
Cons: Since this park is heavily used there is some trash especially on the first few holes. There is also been some annoying use of hole 2's fairway for fly fishing classes sponsored by rip off LL Bean. I have also discovered some punks talking trash but they quickly shut it after I rip one down the middle. Tee boxes are still poorly defined although the piece of wood and spray painting is much better.
Other Thoughts: This course is free, great location, can play multiple rounds, variety of shots needed from a long and wide open hole 2 to woods. I see progress as well as an information kiosk is in place and people have made makeshift tee boxes!!!!This course will be simply awesome when it is 100% complete.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Simmonds Park: Did Someone Forget to Finish It?

1    5/25/2009   5/25/2009
Review By: InternationalLog
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Close to Boston. Some nice spaces with presence in the woods.
Cons: No tee markers requires constant looking for spray painted boxes on the ground. In some of the more wooded areas, it seems as though some of the smaller branches could be taken back to make shots more appealing. Although it was nice to be in the woods for a major portion of the course, it would be nice if it seemed a little less wild.
Other Thoughts: Has potential for great improvement, but until that happens, I will be going further from the city for my disc golf outings.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Designer's Walkthru

5+    4/22/2009   4/23/2009
Review By: justin
Played: 275  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.1 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well there's been enough use of this unfinished course including a review on DGCR so I guess it's time I post something.

This course utilizes previously unused space in Simonds Park so eventhough it is a busy park you should not have to contend with other users barring someone taking their dog through the woods. This course is far closer to Boston than any other and has two very publicly visible holes which should help expose disc golf to passers-by. This is also a very new-player-friendly course. There are a lot of very good courses in New England which I have seen families discouraged by. I hope this helps generate many new players.
Cons: Things get swampy around hole 7 & 8 in the springtime. Lots of trees means some errant shots could bounce into another hole's fairway. No tee boxes yet, just flags. No signs yet. No info kiosk yet. No practice basket yet. No clearing yet completed on #'s 5, 6, & 8. #2 could end up in the road if you've got power without accuracy.
Other Thoughts: #1 plays next to but not too close to the basketball courts and shoots uphill to a basket behind some hedges but under a large tree. This is my favorite shot on the course.

#2 is a 336' shot on open grass with OB on both sides. Experienced players should not be too concerned about going OB onto 3A (on the right) and newer players probably don't have the strength to go that far wide but there is of course a chance it will happen.

#3 is the first wooded hole. A straight, right, left turnover shot will approach the green on the backside of a small slope.

#4 Shoots from above a small wall of rocks down a slight hill to the basket. Tight and straight with right and left paths will get you to the basket.

#5 is a 302' shot down a log open wooded corridor. The fairway drops down 4-5' to the green. Some clearing at that dropoff is coming. Early repots say this hole as a crowd favorite.

#6 is a short straight shot with the basket just off to the right. I am hoping to back the tee up about 50' before permanent tee boxes go in. Obviously the fairway needs clearing as well.

#7 throws from the corner of 3A and Church back towards #5. The basket has three guardian trees surrounding it. This is one of my favorites.

#8 is the only obvious RHBH hyzer hole. Less than 200' so non-RHBH throwers should still be able to get close enough for a put. This hole is awaiting clearing just like #6.

#9 is the one uphill on the course. Two trees in the fairway will challenge your throw before a few widely-spaced trees evenly surrounding the green.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of Potential to Grow the Sport

1    4/22/2009   4/23/2009
Review By: pdisc
Played: 53  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I really liked the location. It is close to Boston and Burlington has a lot of businesses and industry which makes it a perfect lunch break course for anyone working close to the park. Also, the park is very busy with a lot of people playing basketball, baseball, or using the playground area. You get a lot of stares while you play, which perks a lot of interest. As a result, this can grow the sport.
Cons: Hole #2 can be a little nerve-racking for those who are not as experinced. It is sandwiched between the driveway enterance (which can get busy at times) and a very busy route 3A (but, I always say what doesn't kill you will make you stronger and it forces you to learn how to throw straight). Also some clean up in the wooded areas ( especailly around #5)are needed and some clearing out of brush on #6 and #8.
Other Thoughts: I don't know what else you can do with course development because the area is very tight. The biggest assest this course has is it's location and high volume of people traffic which can grow the game. I'll give it a 5++ in that catagory.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.