Austin, TX 
Cactus Patch DGC Share
Uploaded By: Bevo Hole #1 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 204ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Last two baskets stolen

5+    12/31/2011   12/31/2011
Review By: DiscWizard
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.3 Years
Pros: Fun, chill spot to play. great practice for your straight game.
Cons: it's only a front 9 and now the last two have been stolen. also the baskets are not the best
Other Thoughts: as to today the last two baskets have been stolen. the locks have been cut.:/ this is my home course and im really sad someone messed up my home turf.

 Technical and Fun

2-4    6/20/2010   8/20/2010
Review By: Chain_Smoker
Played: 12  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.6 Years
Pros: This course can be stressful for any player in my opinion but also fun and relaxing. It's very nice scenery plenty shaded for the hot summer days. If you're a technical player, this is a good short course for you. The holes aren't that far apart but it will be difficult for you to find your way to the basket on a few holes. Nice, hilly terrain and good baskets. It has a good variety of shots to (straight, DL right, DL left, etc) The few times I've been it's been pretty empty also so it would be a good practice course.
Cons: Well, in a way the scenery is kind of a con in my opinion simply because the humidity gets intense on the first few holes. It's so covered that you feel like it's thicker than usual. There's also, of course, quite a few cactus' out there. Some are right by the holes. The grass also needed some tending to out there which make it difficult to find discs. It also helped me collect quite a few stickers that were nice to ride home with. I also didn't get to pull out my driver more than once on this course and it was a horrible over throw. It's definitely a mid-range type course.
Other Thoughts: All in all it's a decent course for it's location and size. It's a jungle out there but it's fun if you're looking for some technical, mid-range disc play.

 Short and Sweet

5+    4/26/2010   4/28/2010
Review By: jco2jco
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 20.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I Dig this course, nice lay-out for a 9-hole. Has decent skill holes, and decent birdie holes. It has the trees to make u accurate.
Cons: looks like home-made baskets, but very well made. no hole description on the tees. Also, people seem to love to toss beer cans around, at a church course. shame shame
Other Thoughts: I recommend to play at least 2 times, this is a nice place to sneak in a quick round, and i hear from Judson,,it is being extended soon.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Cool Little Course

5+    4/18/2010   4/18/2010
Review By: Overhanding4distance
Played: 41  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Hidden course
-Superb Layout
-Ace opportunities
-Benches on most holes
Cons: -Low quality baskets
-Lots of Cactus
-Advanced players may loose interest after one round
-Bad signage for #'s 6 and 7
-minimal trash cans
Other Thoughts: A gem considering it's a neighborhood course. They definitely picked the right name for this course,the Cactus Patch! It is probably second to Brushy Creek when ranking 9 hole courses in Austin (north).

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/17/2009   6/17/2009
Review By: biggio1
Played: 39  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 8.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is short but by all means not easy. It has some very tight shots and a very beautiful hole #8. Good use of long and short grass for ruff and fairways. Many benches and well marked tee pads make this course a pleasure. Many birdie ops if you hit your line and several of the holes are aceable. Maps avalible on this site but not at all hard to navigate.
Cons: Watch for the stickers! The brush is still a bit thick.
Other Thoughts: Met and played the last 5 holes with the designer. He payed for it all and did most all the work himself. He made the benches and cleared out all the brush. He says that he still has plans for this course. If you meet him out there tell him thanks for a beautiful 9 hole course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Best Niner in Austin

5+    4/30/2009   4/30/2009
Review By: Cody
Played: 40  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/5/2010
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I tend to like more precision courses, so I enjoyed this one, even though it's primarily a mid-range course.
Benches on every tee!
Hole 8 is my favorite-- longest on the course, has you shooting through a fairly tight "gateway" guarded by a big oak, downhill a bit to the basket.
I found it easy to navigate, of course I had the map with me, but even if I hadn't, it should be fairly easy to find your way around because of the little stone pathways that point you in the right direction.
Only once have I seen anyone else out there.
Cons: A bit too short, but you can only do the best with the land your given to use; and, it is a work in progress...
Lotta cactus! (hence the name)

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/15/2009   4/20/2009
Review By: judson
Played: 78  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 20.6 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: large shot variety requiring more accuracy than distance.
good balance between left, right and straight shots.
challenging for experienced golfers but short enough for first timers
beautiful campus
lots of shade and wind protection
benches made of reclaimed lumber
trash cans from recycled barrels
free for anyone to play
quick round once you've learned the course.


Cons: short
not completely finished yet but will be
lots of hacksaw vine and dew berry thorns that haven't been tamped down yet
it's still a young course
hard to navigate completely without the map until the Tee signs get put up.
Other Thoughts: I feel odd reviewing a course that I designed and built, but I think this review and the map I uploaded may make your play of this course more enjoyable. Every cent spent on this course was donated specifically for the course by private parties and all the labor in designing, clearing, mowing and installing were volounteer. 18 fairways were cut on a very small plot of land and I am thinking about taking some of the other nine holes and combining them into longer safari holes to replace some of the shorter ones and leaving it a longer nine hole course. This course is a model to show other churches the benefits of having a disc golf course on campus and will hopefully bring more church courses into existance as well as bring church members into disc golf. I was holding off the grand opening of the course till the signs were up, but the word got out and someone beat me to adding it to the data base. Everyone is invited to play this course, but it is private property. Please be respectful of this course and every other course you play. When I propose to other churches the idea of a disc golf course on their unused property, I will be refering to this model and how it benefits everyone so try to keep the negative impacts to a minimum.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.