Disc Golf Store
Austin, TX 
Cactus Patch DGC Share
Uploaded By: Bevo Hole #9 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 225ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Nice course

2-4    12/1/2010   12/2/2010
Review By: produce guy
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6
This review was updated on 12/27/2010
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good place to learn how to throw down narrow /wooden paths.Lots of shade
Cons: Lots of bushes that stick you and draw blood,kind of hard to find 1st tee?
Other Thoughts: nice course if you don't want to play Zilker,Manor,or Round Rock,not allot of people now of this course,alittle trimming of the landscape might help.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Only the Beginning

1    4/28/2009   5/1/2009
Review By: AKoller85
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variety of shots. A good mix for different throws and discs. Again this isn't a long distance course, but a more technical shot course; which I do like. I'm more used to courses like this since being from Wisconsin, where I played more wooded courses. Beautiful setting. Nestled along the back of a church, but not too close at all; wouldn't even know it was there if you didn't walk through the parking lot to the first hole. It is also shaded in many spots and has benches, let's you get out of the heat and take a break. The layout is well thought out for the space allowed. For right now probably isn't too busy, so you don't have to wait in line.
Cons: It's only 9 holes; but this course is new. I don't know if there is plans for expansion yet. Could be a little confusing where next hole is; but not too much. Just follow the trails after each hole and you'll be fine. Alot of shots are more technical, rather than distance. Just depends what you like. There are a few though with distance and I'm sure you'll enjoy them.
Other Thoughts: I had the pleasure to play this for my first time with the designer/builder, his wife, and a disc golfing friend. He gave me a good idea on how to approach each hole. Overall this course has great potential; again this is a new course and can only get better. Thanks again guys for allowing me to try out the course!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/10/2009   4/10/2009
Review By: sidewinding
Played: 81  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/20/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The tee pads are dirt but are framed with landscape timbers at the front with red flags on each front corner which makes the course easy to follow and you never have to guess if your teeing from the right spot like so many other nine holers I've played.

This course plays all the way around a church but there are so many trees that you never really know the church is there. It is a beautiful piece of land with large oaks and underbrush that has not been cleared except for the fairways. The name is very fitting because there are thousands of prickly pear cactus throughout the course.

Hole 8 is the signature hole. It's about 400' downhill but you have to make it through one of a few narrow gaps. The other 8 holes are not bad but if anything are a little too short for advanced discers. There is a good mix of left, right, and straight shots.

The designer did an excellent job of making nice shady seating areas thoughout the course. For that reason this course can be played on the hottest of summer days.
Cons: There are two transitions that are hard to follow. After #4 don't follow the main large fairway type trail that brought you to the basket but follow the small bunny trail behind the basket into the brush to find the #5 teepad. If you follow the larger trail like I did you will see the #6 basket and throw a short right hook to it from the #5 teepad thinking it's the #5 basket. If the baskets were marked it would help alot.

The #7 tee pad is very hard to find. After you finish 6 just follow the small bunny trail close to the fence and just stay on it for about 100 yards or so until you come to a large clearing where you can see a basket (#8's) on the other end of a dam. Turn left at the dam and the teepad is hidden up under an oak tree surrounded by brush.

The rocky terrain and cactus means this course will be difficult to keep mowed. Many courses like this become unplayable when the weeds get neck high. Hopefully they will be able to maintain it.
Other Thoughts: This is a great place if your looking for a quick lunch round. I work pretty close and normally go to Wells Branch but will probably come here quite often now.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.