Austin, TX 
Cactus Patch DGC Share
Uploaded By: Bevo Hole #6 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 200ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
How to review this course?

1    11/23/2012   11/23/2012
Review By: austoroc
Played: 71  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 10.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The benches are nice, and it's something I did not expect to see at this course.

Some of the holes that I was able to play were nice, even though they're all short. It could easily be a fun ace run course if it had all of the baskets in place.
Cons: The bad are absolutely dominating this course and my review. It's my first time playing here, and there's one big flaw: missing baskets.

The baskets aren't permanent nor bolted down. This is why the baskets get stolen. When I played here, apparently there was another stolen basket. (#3 in addition to #8 and #9)

The course clearly hasn't been kept up in a while. the weeds/grass/etc are overgrown at this time, and that make things a bit difficult.

The navigation is awkward from 6th hole to 7th. It was a bit hard to see where the 7th tee was, and I walked past it.

The "dirty lot" isn't pretty to look at while you're walking around it to get to the 7th hole.
Other Thoughts: I can't give it a higher rating until the missing baskets are replaced, and the course was mowed/trimmed. It would be better if the baskets are permanently installed to reduce the chance of theft.

There's some defacing and graffiti on the benches, and there were plenty of discarded beer cans around the course, so it's clear that many people who came to play here weren't courteous enough to try keep things clean.

It's a shame, because it's pretty clear to me that some of the lines of the hole designs are pretty good for what they are. I hope to find out that the baskets get replaced/permanently installed sooner than later.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  meh

1    4/19/2012   4/21/2012
Review By: jndimaria
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: It's close and it looks like it was once a pretty nice course with the work they put into benches at each hole. The holes are pretty technical which is a good practice.
Cons: The landscape is pretty unkempt. There are weeds that are so overgrown they're as tall as me and the goal. Hole 1, 2 and 3 are completely overrun by milkweed so you can't throw without hitting one. The fairway is being overtaken by cactus and thorny brush that your disc is automatically attracted to the center of. Just walking around I got several thorns and stickers in my shoes and came home with several bleeders in my arms and hands and legs. Hole 9 does not have a basket so it might as well be considered an 8 hole course.
Other Thoughts: Go somewhere else, trust me.

  Last two baskets stolen

5+    12/31/2011   12/31/2011
Review By: DiscWizard
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.1 Years
Pros: Fun, chill spot to play. great practice for your straight game.
Cons: it's only a front 9 and now the last two have been stolen. also the baskets are not the best
Other Thoughts: as to today the last two baskets have been stolen. the locks have been cut.:/ this is my home course and im really sad someone messed up my home turf.

 Nice course

2-4    12/1/2010   12/2/2010
Review By: produce guy
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6
This review was updated on 12/27/2010
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good place to learn how to throw down narrow /wooden paths.Lots of shade
Cons: Lots of bushes that stick you and draw blood,kind of hard to find 1st tee?
Other Thoughts: nice course if you don't want to play Zilker,Manor,or Round Rock,not allot of people now of this course,alittle trimming of the landscape might help.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Technical and Fun

2-4    6/20/2010   8/20/2010
Review By: Chain_Smoker
Played: 12  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.3 Years
Pros: This course can be stressful for any player in my opinion but also fun and relaxing. It's very nice scenery plenty shaded for the hot summer days. If you're a technical player, this is a good short course for you. The holes aren't that far apart but it will be difficult for you to find your way to the basket on a few holes. Nice, hilly terrain and good baskets. It has a good variety of shots to (straight, DL right, DL left, etc) The few times I've been it's been pretty empty also so it would be a good practice course.
Cons: Well, in a way the scenery is kind of a con in my opinion simply because the humidity gets intense on the first few holes. It's so covered that you feel like it's thicker than usual. There's also, of course, quite a few cactus' out there. Some are right by the holes. The grass also needed some tending to out there which make it difficult to find discs. It also helped me collect quite a few stickers that were nice to ride home with. I also didn't get to pull out my driver more than once on this course and it was a horrible over throw. It's definitely a mid-range type course.
Other Thoughts: All in all it's a decent course for it's location and size. It's a jungle out there but it's fun if you're looking for some technical, mid-range disc play.

 not to shabby

1    7/8/2010   7/9/2010
Review By: blake918
Played: 16  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: course isnt as easy as some lead on. equires narrow path to shot on and tricky pin positions, but you wont be needing a driver for this course.
Cons: a few baskets are missing..stolen maybe? no marking or sign to tell where disc golf course actually starts, had to backtrack the entine 9 hole to find hole 1 park on far right side of church parking lot hole 1 is by the volley ball courts
Other Thoughts: this course isnt one id drive out of my way for but if a quick round is what you need come here this course can fill the fix

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short and Sweet

5+    4/26/2010   4/28/2010
Review By: jco2jco
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 20.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I Dig this course, nice lay-out for a 9-hole. Has decent skill holes, and decent birdie holes. It has the trees to make u accurate.
Cons: looks like home-made baskets, but very well made. no hole description on the tees. Also, people seem to love to toss beer cans around, at a church course. shame shame
Other Thoughts: I recommend to play at least 2 times, this is a nice place to sneak in a quick round, and i hear from Judson,,it is being extended soon.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Cool Little Course

5+    4/18/2010   4/18/2010
Review By: Overhanding4distance
Played: 41  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Hidden course
-Superb Layout
-Ace opportunities
-Benches on most holes
Cons: -Low quality baskets
-Lots of Cactus
-Advanced players may loose interest after one round
-Bad signage for #'s 6 and 7
-minimal trash cans
Other Thoughts: A gem considering it's a neighborhood course. They definitely picked the right name for this course,the Cactus Patch! It is probably second to Brushy Creek when ranking 9 hole courses in Austin (north).

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Tight Lines, Quick, Short, and Fun

1    3/14/2010   3/16/2010
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/26/2010
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A surprisingly fun nine hole church is perfect for what it's meant to be. This is a great short, tight, and technical course meant to benefit the church and the local YMCA. Hole #8 is the only hole over 350' and the rest run from 150' -250'. The length is compensated for some extremely tight lines forcing control and accuracy. The tees are natural but feel right in the cactus laden fairways. The course also has a balanced selection of hyzer and anhyzer holes maximizing the use to small land provided.

This is a great course for the amateur player looking to build their skills, but is just hard enough to make a beginner frustrated. It's also way too easy for a pro player to take seriously, so unfortunately this course is lingering somewhere in the middle of who will enjoy it. Like me, if you're a casual player looking for a slight challenge, but feel good quick round - this just may be the place for you.

BEST HOLE/S: #5; #8
Cons: #6 pin is now in the old tee location, and the tee is in the old pin position, so the flow of the course is thrown completely out of whack, and without a map - one could easily get lost in this area, not to mention hit with a disc on a busy day trying to backtrack a fairway. The course designer Judson informed me that #6 had to be reversed because the storage facility on the end of the fairway had to repair their fence three times this year from golfers throwing over the fence and ripping it apart to get the disc back. There are trails cut through the trees to prevent backtracking and cement signs pointing at them, and the brush pile is temporary. Just bring your map and make note of this change.

There is also a decent walk to get back to your car after finishing a round, but who doesn't like a good walk? Probably, the biggest complaint however is the simple fact the course is so short and hindered by restriction of land. Cactus Patch is a great example of do what you can with what you have. Signage isn't great, and you'll have to use the church or YMCA to access any facilities.

WORST HOLE/S: #6
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to play in conjunction with other courses in the area. If you didn't get enough disc golf after Wells Branch Park, then make your way out here. I can also see many people hitting Williamson County DGC, Brushy Creek MUD DGC, and Brushy Creek Sports Park DGC, and then making your way south for a quality tour of Round Rock disc golf.

Cactus Patch isn't bad by any means - it's quite fun and I enjoyed my round - it's simply not as high caliber when compared to the many amazing courses surrounding it. Sadly though, I would rate it above many Houston nine hole courses, very fun but typical.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A Labor of Love

1    6/20/2009   6/20/2009
Review By: shawn_l
Played: 29  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.5 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The guy that built this course, Jud, has a review on here. Go read it.

It's a big list of pros! This is a thoughtful, well planned, well maintained course.

Parking is plentiful, at the Catholic church and at the YMCA. You can park by #9 or #1, and they are not far from each other. There's a water hose on the side of the building close to #1, which is always nice.

The teepads are a work in progress, but currently dirt with flags bearing the hole number on them. They are in very good shape. They are lined with landscape timbers, and cone shaped so you know where to throw.

The baskets were crappy baskets, but Jud took out the thumbscrews and welded them back together himself. Personal touches like that are plentiful.

Signage is evolving, and #1 has a custom concrete and tile cast sign by the tee (see picture). Really nice!

There are stone lined borders to the course, and stone lined walkways from hole to hole! It's really nice to see and tough to describe. Just a wonderful amount of work put into this course.

Hand made benches he put in the ground with concrete are at almost (or maybe every?) hole. There is a dumpster on the premises as well.

The fairways are well mowed, and each hole has its own challenge. Over hills, under trees, through small windows, and always, always with cactus patches in strategic places.

The terrain is mostly level, with very large oaks throughout. He has trimmed a lot of branches, but built the course without taking a single tree. Cedars and oaks will dictate your shots, so don't be deceived by the 'short' distances of the holes. You need to be very proficient with your shot selection and execution or you'll be in trouble. Just like the big A tier and B tier courses, here if you throw well you're rewarded, and if you throw a mistake you'll pay dearly.

I'm not sure if #5 or #8 is the signature hole here. #5 starts out wide open and ends in a cedar lined alcove with cactus patches guarding the approach. #8 is the only very long hole on the course, and the view is nice and the fairway challenging.
Cons: The rough is ROUGH. It's actually so thick it keeps discs from getting into in most places, unless you're so dumb you throw thumber after thumber like I did. This is not really a con though, as the fairways are fair and tough.
Other Thoughts: The map is useful, but it's really easy to walk from hole to hole. From 6 to 7 is a 'long' walk, but it's a very clear path.

Jud was out there with his wife playing with a group ahead of us, and stopped to talk to us and make sure we could find the baskets and were enjoying ourselves. The planned developments he has are very exciting.

I cannot say enough how nice a guy Jud is, and the touches he's put into this course that are so personal and so nice. The rewelding of the baskets, the layout of the course, the water spigot he installed by the volleyball court, the hand made tile tee signs, the benches, the mowing, the rock walls and paths, and most of all just how nice he is make this a must play course. He told me he used to kayak a lot in Shoal Creek, and while hand mapping it used to come home with dozens of discs before he even started playing. He estimates he's returned over 1000 discs over the years, and I believe him. He spent 20 minutes helping us find my errant #2 shot on hole 8, and then offered to play through 9 with us, along with his wife. Just a super nice guy and very passionate about this course.

This course is already scenic, a good challenge, and one of the best 9 holers I've seen. It will soon be a jewel filled with short, technical holes and artistic touches built by a guy who's been playing disc golf since 1993.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.