Austin, TX 
Cactus Patch DGC Share
Uploaded By: Bevo Hole #3 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 197ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 

1    6/17/2009   6/17/2009
Review By: biggio1
Played: 39  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 8.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is short but by all means not easy. It has some very tight shots and a very beautiful hole #8. Good use of long and short grass for ruff and fairways. Many benches and well marked tee pads make this course a pleasure. Many birdie ops if you hit your line and several of the holes are aceable. Maps avalible on this site but not at all hard to navigate.
Cons: Watch for the stickers! The brush is still a bit thick.
Other Thoughts: Met and played the last 5 holes with the designer. He payed for it all and did most all the work himself. He made the benches and cleared out all the brush. He says that he still has plans for this course. If you meet him out there tell him thanks for a beautiful 9 hole course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Only the Beginning

1    4/28/2009   5/1/2009
Review By: AKoller85
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variety of shots. A good mix for different throws and discs. Again this isn't a long distance course, but a more technical shot course; which I do like. I'm more used to courses like this since being from Wisconsin, where I played more wooded courses. Beautiful setting. Nestled along the back of a church, but not too close at all; wouldn't even know it was there if you didn't walk through the parking lot to the first hole. It is also shaded in many spots and has benches, let's you get out of the heat and take a break. The layout is well thought out for the space allowed. For right now probably isn't too busy, so you don't have to wait in line.
Cons: It's only 9 holes; but this course is new. I don't know if there is plans for expansion yet. Could be a little confusing where next hole is; but not too much. Just follow the trails after each hole and you'll be fine. Alot of shots are more technical, rather than distance. Just depends what you like. There are a few though with distance and I'm sure you'll enjoy them.
Other Thoughts: I had the pleasure to play this for my first time with the designer/builder, his wife, and a disc golfing friend. He gave me a good idea on how to approach each hole. Overall this course has great potential; again this is a new course and can only get better. Thanks again guys for allowing me to try out the course!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Best Niner in Austin

5+    4/30/2009   4/30/2009
Review By: Cody
Played: 40  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/5/2010
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I tend to like more precision courses, so I enjoyed this one, even though it's primarily a mid-range course.
Benches on every tee!
Hole 8 is my favorite-- longest on the course, has you shooting through a fairly tight "gateway" guarded by a big oak, downhill a bit to the basket.
I found it easy to navigate, of course I had the map with me, but even if I hadn't, it should be fairly easy to find your way around because of the little stone pathways that point you in the right direction.
Only once have I seen anyone else out there.
Cons: A bit too short, but you can only do the best with the land your given to use; and, it is a work in progress...
Lotta cactus! (hence the name)

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/15/2009   4/20/2009
Review By: judson
Played: 78  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 20.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: large shot variety requiring more accuracy than distance.
good balance between left, right and straight shots.
challenging for experienced golfers but short enough for first timers
beautiful campus
lots of shade and wind protection
benches made of reclaimed lumber
trash cans from recycled barrels
free for anyone to play
quick round once you've learned the course.


Cons: short
not completely finished yet but will be
lots of hacksaw vine and dew berry thorns that haven't been tamped down yet
it's still a young course
hard to navigate completely without the map until the Tee signs get put up.
Other Thoughts: I feel odd reviewing a course that I designed and built, but I think this review and the map I uploaded may make your play of this course more enjoyable. Every cent spent on this course was donated specifically for the course by private parties and all the labor in designing, clearing, mowing and installing were volounteer. 18 fairways were cut on a very small plot of land and I am thinking about taking some of the other nine holes and combining them into longer safari holes to replace some of the shorter ones and leaving it a longer nine hole course. This course is a model to show other churches the benefits of having a disc golf course on campus and will hopefully bring more church courses into existance as well as bring church members into disc golf. I was holding off the grand opening of the course till the signs were up, but the word got out and someone beat me to adding it to the data base. Everyone is invited to play this course, but it is private property. Please be respectful of this course and every other course you play. When I propose to other churches the idea of a disc golf course on their unused property, I will be refering to this model and how it benefits everyone so try to keep the negative impacts to a minimum.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/10/2009   4/10/2009
Review By: sidewinding
Played: 81  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/20/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The tee pads are dirt but are framed with landscape timbers at the front with red flags on each front corner which makes the course easy to follow and you never have to guess if your teeing from the right spot like so many other nine holers I've played.

This course plays all the way around a church but there are so many trees that you never really know the church is there. It is a beautiful piece of land with large oaks and underbrush that has not been cleared except for the fairways. The name is very fitting because there are thousands of prickly pear cactus throughout the course.

Hole 8 is the signature hole. It's about 400' downhill but you have to make it through one of a few narrow gaps. The other 8 holes are not bad but if anything are a little too short for advanced discers. There is a good mix of left, right, and straight shots.

The designer did an excellent job of making nice shady seating areas thoughout the course. For that reason this course can be played on the hottest of summer days.
Cons: There are two transitions that are hard to follow. After #4 don't follow the main large fairway type trail that brought you to the basket but follow the small bunny trail behind the basket into the brush to find the #5 teepad. If you follow the larger trail like I did you will see the #6 basket and throw a short right hook to it from the #5 teepad thinking it's the #5 basket. If the baskets were marked it would help alot.

The #7 tee pad is very hard to find. After you finish 6 just follow the small bunny trail close to the fence and just stay on it for about 100 yards or so until you come to a large clearing where you can see a basket (#8's) on the other end of a dam. Turn left at the dam and the teepad is hidden up under an oak tree surrounded by brush.

The rocky terrain and cactus means this course will be difficult to keep mowed. Many courses like this become unplayable when the weeds get neck high. Hopefully they will be able to maintain it.
Other Thoughts: This is a great place if your looking for a quick lunch round. I work pretty close and normally go to Wells Branch but will probably come here quite often now.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.