Parkville, MO 
English Landing Park Share
Uploaded By: Jayl3ird Hole #1 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 285ft. Par / Distance:
First tee behind restrooms painted on basketball court.



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
A quick course after lunch...

1    5/17/2014   5/17/2014
Review By: phantom51
Played: 19  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 1.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very scenic course of the Missouri river. Nice variety of trees that beautify the park, with a mixture of recently planted trees which should come into play in the future. Baskets seem in good shape. Fairways are largely open. I'll agree that this is a good beginner course.
Cons: Not much to offer a novice or more experienced player here. The course is flat, as I believe the only elevation that resembled a hill was on #1 with the slope going up towards the neighboring railroad tracks. The park was in heavy use this Saturday but people mainly kept to themselves. One older couple paused to watch as I was attempting a putt on #6. It looks like a soccer goal was set up near #7. I wonder if that could prevent play when they are out there. Not sure.
Other Thoughts: My wife and I stopped by Parkville for lunch (Stone Canyon Pizza). A walk around the park afterwards made me go back to grab my disc bag when I noticed the first basket. I'm thinking this is a good course to introduce someone to the sport, but wasn't overly impressed. Tee signage is what would improve this course the most. The lack of tee pads isn't vital since the course is so short.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A tad longer than a pitch and putt

2-4    3/20/2014   3/27/2014
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 253  Reviewed: 97  Exp: 4.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a nicely kept park that offers a nice scenic view of the river. There are other amenities here like a playground, restrooms, and a basketball court.
Rounds will play quickly here. This is a park style golf course for sure.
Hole observations:
1-plays L to R
2-straight with trees to shape your shot, my favorite hole here
3-straight with the basket in the open
4-moderate length with young trees upon approach
5-mostly open
6-straight shot with young trees
7-moderate length shot that is straight
8-straight shot
9-wide open shot
Cons: There isn't any signage here and the tees are odd. Some are framed by small boards and the box is very narrow. On one hole they put a cement/tile piece and piled dirt around it??? It was odd for sure.
Some of the nickels are facing the opposite direction of the tee.
Couldn't find 1's tee. Wind will be a factor during your round here as most of the course is out in the open.
A lengthy walk from 4's basket to 5's tee slows the flow down and the walk from 9's basket to your car is rather lengthy as well.
No elevation change.
Other Thoughts: This is a very beginner friendly park style course. Disc loss should be very minimal here. It appears that some trees have been planted on holes 4 and 6 and as they mature it will help to provide a challenge here.
This is a good place for the family to spend the day outside together and enjoy the course or the other amenities that are offered here.
A more experienced player may want to skip this course as it might be too boring. For a newer player to the sport this course is a good place to start and learn the game.
Not a must play course by any stretch of the imagination but its good that entry level courses like this are out there.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Wife's First Time

1    8/10/2013   8/11/2013
Review By: djpatch28
Played: 15  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Intuitive flow after we figured out the first hole
Good way to test your drive, being so wide open.
Baskets are well maintained.
Nice scenery with people out everywhere
Cons: Tee boxes are in bad shape. Hole #7 even was sloped backwards with gravel and made a run up near impossible
Same old, same old after hole #3
Other Thoughts: Wife played for the first time and seemed to enjoy it. I made sure to let her know this was not a typical course.
Had fun and we were both impressed with how much activity was going on in this park.
Saw a couple playing on our way in and and a pair of guys just started when we finished. So for a Saturday, it was nice and slow.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Flattest Course Ever

2-4    7/29/2013   7/29/2013
Review By: bigreddog
Played: 55  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 2.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The grass is short and there is no rough, making discs extremely easy to find. 10/10

Navigation on the holes is a breeze most of the time even though there are no tee signs. 9/10

Navigation between holes is also pretty easy and intuitive. The course is just five holes one direction and then four back the other way. This does make the flow pretty boring though. No tee signs and small gravel tees makes it a little difficult to see the next tee from each basket, but it's still 8/10

There are water fountains along the course, a little bit of shade, and the grass is short. I don't remember there being any benches but it's only nine holes so it's still a comfortable round. 8/10
Cons: There is absolutely no elevation change on this course, being in a former riverbed. 0/10

No alternate pin positions. 0/10

Baskets aren't the best and the tees are pretty worthless as they are just small gravel patches. 3/10

The course was very well mowed, but there were no tee signs or trash cans. course maintenance 3/10

The holes had a little bit of variety in shot paths. There were a couple that favored a left to right shot, but none really favored right to left. 3/10

Only a few of the holes had multiple ways to play the holes. Decisionmaking 3/10

Most holes just have one or two trees as obstacles, so there is not much variety in openness. Holes 1, 2, and 5 are exceptions to this. 3/10

This course will not provide advanced players with any challenge at all, but could help new with learning how to drive and a couple of holes require decent distance to make par for recreational players. 3/10 on challenging all levels

All of the holes are either pretty short or relatively long, with not much in between, but it's not bad 4/10

There are a reasonable number of obstacles present, but they aren't really utilized as well as they could be. The first three holes as well as the fifth are pretty good about this, but after that the course seems to almost intentionally play away from obstacles. 4/10
Other Thoughts: This is a very easy course, even for newer players. This park gets a lot of use basked on the day I was there in the form of volleyball, bicyclists, and ultimate frisbee or soccer. There were a couple of holes where these activities could potentially get in the way. I probably won't make the drive to this course again unless I am passing by on the way to another course and want a warmup.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great for practice

5+    6/25/2013   6/25/2013
Review By: oshavy
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Open, great for beginners, good scenery, good place to practice without too many other players on the course. This is my favorite course to go out and practice. I'll throw multiple discs and experiment with new shots without fear of holding up other players or of losing any discs.

All holes are oriented east-west along the river. If you get wind from the south blowing over the river, it can provide a nice crosswind on all holes for added practice in that respect.
Cons: This is a city park with baskets placed sporadically throughout the lot. Most people who are at the park are not there to play DG.
There is no course map and there are no signs on the course.
The tee boxes serve the purpose of telling you where you should stand 5 feet to the side of when you tee off (the tee boxes themselves are 4'x4' gravel spaces that are ineffective with respect to their intended purpose).
There isn't a huge variety between holes.
No real need to shape your shots.
Other Thoughts: As far as courses for beginners or for practicing, this is one of my favorites.

Tee box #1 is located on the NE corner of the basketball court. The flow of holes is pretty logical: walk east until you get to #6 tee box and turn around and come back the way you came.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    5/27/2013   5/27/2013
Review By: Ferrell
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice scenery along the river and cool tall trees on the course. Contains mostly wide open shots, great for beginners (no way to lose discs). The layout is pretty easy to follow. Great for a quick practice course.
Cons: Tee boxes are worthless. No maps, signage, bag holders, benches, or elevation change on course. Only 9 holes.
Other Thoughts: The park could totally upgrade the tee boxes and signage and it would really improve the course. They could also add a couple more baskets at the east tail end of the park through the trees and it would add some technical shots.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice old, multi-use park

1    5/24/2013   5/24/2013
Review By: Rob Martin
Played: 101  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 4.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Old, mature trees along the Missouri river. Neat multi-use park.

While I would not drive a significant amount out of the way to play, if I was within 20 minutes I would make a point to stop by.

Great place to teach people how to play DG.
Cons: There are no signs, etc. However, it is pretty intuitive where you go next. It would not be if there was snow on the ground.
Other Thoughts: The flow of the park pretty much goes out and back.

When I was here on a Friday lunch hour, there was a surprisingly lot of people. Lots of runners, children playing, people flying kites. It gave you a nice feeling to be outside.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    9/5/2012   9/5/2012
Review By: astomps
Played: 53  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 12/16/2012
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: + Park is very nice
+ Good distance
+ Excellent place to practice
Cons: - teepads arent even teepads
- no signs
- some backets warped
- multipurpose park
Other Thoughts: Let's be honest, this is not a disc golf course, it's a few baskets thrown here and there at a community park. Shouldn't be judged as a disc golf course, because that doesn't seem to be the intention. That said, several 500+ spaces to throw discs and practice.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty Park - Pretty Boring Course

1    7/9/2012   7/13/2012
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park is a clean, well manicured, and located right along the river with plenty of areas to relax and walk. There a cute little shopping area nearby as well with great places to eat. Oh and the course? Well, I guess the biggest pro is you have nine open holes on similar length and shot selection so it can provide you with some nice practice.

BEST HOLE/S: #2
Cons: The tee boxes are a 2x2 area of hard packed gravel encased in a three-sided wood frame. They provide a good marker for where to tee from, but are completely worthless to actually tee from. Actual markings on the course are non-existent save the #1 painted on the corner of the basketball court to start your round. However, the park is wide open and plays a simple there and back, so you won't get lost. Sadly, just when the treed area of the park comes close by #5, instead of playing into it - you simply turn back across the open expanse back to the parking lot.

Sadly, the worst part of this course is simply that it's so boring. Besides #2, everything is wide open and only #4 gives you length enough to be challenging. This place is simply drive, pitch, putt, repeat. You can play this course with one disc if you had too. Given that there are so many better courses in the greater KC area, I would only recommend this course if you were in the immediate area, or just wanted some practice without being bothered by other golfers.

WORST HOLE/S: The rest since they are all the same.
Other Thoughts: This really is a nice park, but given that the land is a thin strip, I don't know if it could ever become anything greater than a boring there and back. If the tee boxes were seriously improved and some decent signage was put in - then this course would at least be reasonable. However, the baskets are in great shape, so you could really get in some great practice, but if you're serious about hitting a quality round - skip this course and go hit Water Works, either Rosedale courses, or Kessler Park.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Riverfront Property

2-4    6/16/2012   6/19/2012
Review By: Clumsy Fumbles
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.3 Years
Pros: This course is great if your a beginner with it being all flat and not many trees to get your way. You can really practice your drives here. Have only seen 2 other people here playing so no waiting on other people. (people running and walking on paths nut not in way)
Cons: It's only has 9 holes and has no technical shots. The Tees are a small sqaure box with gravel in them so unless your just standing still and throwing these Tees aren't good to use.
Other Thoughts: Being right by the river is nice except when river floods so after heavy rains be careful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.