Disc Golf Store
Parkville, MO 
English Landing Park Share
Uploaded By: Jayl3ird Hole #2 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
A quick course after lunch...

1    5/17/2014   5/17/2014
Review By: phantom51
Played: 19  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 1.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very scenic course of the Missouri river. Nice variety of trees that beautify the park, with a mixture of recently planted trees which should come into play in the future. Baskets seem in good shape. Fairways are largely open. I'll agree that this is a good beginner course.
Cons: Not much to offer a novice or more experienced player here. The course is flat, as I believe the only elevation that resembled a hill was on #1 with the slope going up towards the neighboring railroad tracks. The park was in heavy use this Saturday but people mainly kept to themselves. One older couple paused to watch as I was attempting a putt on #6. It looks like a soccer goal was set up near #7. I wonder if that could prevent play when they are out there. Not sure.
Other Thoughts: My wife and I stopped by Parkville for lunch (Stone Canyon Pizza). A walk around the park afterwards made me go back to grab my disc bag when I noticed the first basket. I'm thinking this is a good course to introduce someone to the sport, but wasn't overly impressed. Tee signage is what would improve this course the most. The lack of tee pads isn't vital since the course is so short.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great for practice

5+    6/25/2013   6/25/2013
Review By: oshavy
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Open, great for beginners, good scenery, good place to practice without too many other players on the course. This is my favorite course to go out and practice. I'll throw multiple discs and experiment with new shots without fear of holding up other players or of losing any discs.

All holes are oriented east-west along the river. If you get wind from the south blowing over the river, it can provide a nice crosswind on all holes for added practice in that respect.
Cons: This is a city park with baskets placed sporadically throughout the lot. Most people who are at the park are not there to play DG.
There is no course map and there are no signs on the course.
The tee boxes serve the purpose of telling you where you should stand 5 feet to the side of when you tee off (the tee boxes themselves are 4'x4' gravel spaces that are ineffective with respect to their intended purpose).
There isn't a huge variety between holes.
No real need to shape your shots.
Other Thoughts: As far as courses for beginners or for practicing, this is one of my favorites.

Tee box #1 is located on the NE corner of the basketball court. The flow of holes is pretty logical: walk east until you get to #6 tee box and turn around and come back the way you came.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 English Landing

5+    4/10/2011   12/7/2011
Review By: mindoveryou
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in a picturesque park near the Missouri river. Well maintained with modern facilities in the park. This course has several long pin placements with little challenge other than distance, however, that makes this park an excellent practice course. Work on your driving and enjoy the view.
Cons: For experienced throwers-Little challenge beyond baskets 1 and 2. Single pin placements. Basket 9 plays too close to a sand volleyball spot; watch out for kids. Lots of wind in the dusk hours coming off the river; it always blows from the right on the front side, then left on the back side- annoying. All teepads(except #1) are dirt with railroad ties, and no signage. When the river floods(as it did this summer) the whole park is closed for extended periods.
Other Thoughts: Great practice course. Easy beginner course. Lots of joggers, dog walkers, playgrounds, and trees make this a great multi-use park. Parking is only available outside the park entrance, and basket 1 teepad is on the NE corner of the basketball court with a faint red outline.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short but sweet.

2-4    8/6/2010   8/7/2010
Review By: drummerjh
Played: 49  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 23.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/5/2010
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice little course set in a beautiful park, located in a killer town...Parkville.
This course is a confidence builder and is a perfect course for beginners, or for those that are trying to tighten up their short game.
Cons: Most reviews for this course emphasize the fact that it is a VERY busy park, which is true, but I did not have to stop for pedestrians at any point while playing. The park is completely flat & not that challenging, but that did not bother me. I guess my only real complaint would be the teeboxes. It consists of a toeboard and VERY worn-out grounding. Footing is definitely an issue when teeing off.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this little couse. It's an awesome park set next to the Missouri river. It will improve anyones short/putting game, which I need desperately. I will be playing this course on a regular basis.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Practice Course!

5+    7/31/2009   8/19/2009
Review By: jbecker36
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Extremely fun to play. Terrain is not very challenging, but some holes have decent length. An average player should be able to par almost everything. This is a great course to learn or to practice on. It provides the freedom to really let the disc rip. Tee locations are well marked and easy to find. Baskets are in great condition.
Cons: Not very challenging. There are quite a few non disc golfers around.
Other Thoughts: This is located right next to a neat little town, Parkville. I would recommend this course to anyone. It is where I learned to play, and I have fun every time I am out there.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.