Parkville, MO
English Landing Park Share
Uploaded By: Jayl3ird Hole #1 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 285ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 English Landing

5+    4/10/2011   12/7/2011
Review By: mindoveryou
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in a picturesque park near the Missouri river. Well maintained with modern facilities in the park. This course has several long pin placements with little challenge other than distance, however, that makes this park an excellent practice course. Work on your driving and enjoy the view.
Cons: For experienced throwers-Little challenge beyond baskets 1 and 2. Single pin placements. Basket 9 plays too close to a sand volleyball spot; watch out for kids. Lots of wind in the dusk hours coming off the river; it always blows from the right on the front side, then left on the back side- annoying. All teepads(except #1) are dirt with railroad ties, and no signage. When the river floods(as it did this summer) the whole park is closed for extended periods.
Other Thoughts: Great practice course. Easy beginner course. Lots of joggers, dog walkers, playgrounds, and trees make this a great multi-use park. Parking is only available outside the park entrance, and basket 1 teepad is on the NE corner of the basketball court with a faint red outline.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Ho-hum

1    9/24/2010   12/23/2010
Review By: Hamilton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park is in great shape. There are restrooms, parking, and walking trails available, and the park is easy to find. Mach baskets are in pretty good shape. The holes play close to walking paths, but not so closely that you'd be afraid of clocking someone. There is lots of mid-range/approach type practice in this course, to prepare you for more challenging courses locally. You can play this course very quickly (if you already know the layout).

My memorable holes:
-Nothing really stands out here. Some trees here and there, ALL flat, and sometimes you have to watch out for the drainage ditch.
Cons: This course if very plain. Not much in the park to design challenges around. There are lots of people around, so sometimes you have to wait to make sure an errant throw won't hit someone. There was no map available, so navigation was a little bit of a challenge, but do-able. The train coming through a couple times during my round did disturb a couple shots, so watch for it, as the tracks run right next to the park. Watch yourself on the dirt pads, as they can be tricky. Also, the ground here holds water very well, so watch out for soft ground and puddling after a rain.
Other Thoughts: This park is very well kept, easy to get to, and very scenic (river view). If you have some time to kill in the area, it's not a bad play, but I wouldn't go out of my way for it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Love this course for practice

5+    11/6/2010   11/6/2010
Review By: wrongfulleaf
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I use this course only for practice so keep that in mind.
1. Small and easy to follow
2. Very hard to lose discs
3. Great sites to see at this park.
Cons: 1. Tee pads dirt pads
2. Only 9 holes
3. Very open
Other Thoughts: I love this course when i just want to go throw and work on my game. I can easily play this course 3-4 times in an hour or two. There is very few players that come to this course so you don't have to worry about waiting to tee off. It is in a very nice neighborhood so very little worries about shady people. This is by far not the greatest course in KC but when playing by yourself I think it is the best one!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good Beginners course

2-4    9/6/2010   9/8/2010
Review By: WillCW
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy and flat for a new player like myself. Not a busy course.
Cons: Tee boxes need help. You get to jump over some drainage ditches while walking the course. Play after a rain will be very muddy, especially in the tee boxes.
Other Thoughts: First tee is on the baskeball court. Hole #4 is the longest of the 9 holes.

A nice flat course, great for beginners, such as myself. You have to try hard to lose a disc.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Short but sweet.

2-4    8/6/2010   8/7/2010
Review By: drummerjh
Played: 49  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 22.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/5/2010
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice little course set in a beautiful park, located in a killer town...Parkville.
This course is a confidence builder and is a perfect course for beginners, or for those that are trying to tighten up their short game.
Cons: Most reviews for this course emphasize the fact that it is a VERY busy park, which is true, but I did not have to stop for pedestrians at any point while playing. The park is completely flat & not that challenging, but that did not bother me. I guess my only real complaint would be the teeboxes. It consists of a toeboard and VERY worn-out grounding. Footing is definitely an issue when teeing off.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this little couse. It's an awesome park set next to the Missouri river. It will improve anyones short/putting game, which I need desperately. I will be playing this course on a regular basis.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Look at all the little lakes, umm I mean fairway puddles.

1    4/28/2010   5/12/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 205  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 27.1 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a flat course with a simple layout to follow along with. Play the left side of the little creek (about 5 feet wide) that runs through the park heading on the first part of the course and then back on the right side. Tee #1 is on the cement slab, behind the shed on the left when crossing the first walking bridge from the parking lot. The baskets are in pretty good shape. There are a few old trees that can make you choose a route on a few of the holes.
Cons: The dirt tees have a wood plank marking the front of the tees. These dirt "pads" are quite a mess and worn in. The walk from #9 basket to #1 tee is farther than it should be for a 9-hole course. This is a very busy place, so watch out for people, as they were everywhere, even walking through the course. Most of the holes are a straight drive and wide open, which keeps it simple. The course is really flat and does not drain well. There was standing water in fairways throughout the course even though other parts of the park were completely dry.
Other Thoughts: This is a great starter course for people learning to play the game. The Fun Factor is nil here. The few trees that force you to pick a route is enough to make it Ok the first time through. This is certainly not worth a road trip.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Not what it could be

1    4/19/2010   4/21/2010
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 312  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 10.8 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Decent course for rec players with little chance of losing discs. If you're with newbies this would be a good place to introduce them. Holes have good length unlike a lot of small town nine holers I see. Good quality DGA baskets. Flow is easy to follow even with the lack of a map or tee markers.
Cons: Hands down some of the most awful excuses for tees I've ever seen. They're constructed of a dirt box with timbers at the front. No chance of following through on them as you'll trip if you try. On top of that, they're deteriorating. Until I recognized by the pattern of the course that they were teeboxes, I had ignored them thinking they were a horseshoe pit or something. Park is flat and seems to hold water in the center for several days after a rain. This impacts the last seven holes. Walking path around the park is very busy with pedestrians and most of the holes cut too close to this. Definitely watch before you throw.
Other Thoughts: English Landing is kind of conundrum course for me. In one respect you ponder why it couldn't have been designed better as there is acreage aplenty for a decent nine holer here, and yet considering the walking path you wonder if it should have been installed at all. Most of the park's more formidable trees line the walking path, and when weighing challenge versus safety, the designer wisely chose safety, even though it kind of neuters the course.

Not really worth the time and gas to specifically play this, but downtown Parkville right next door is cool, and the walking path is worth a stroll. If you're in the area and want to get some discing in, its there for the playing.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 If you can, skip it

2-4    4/6/2009   9/16/2009
Review By: bthoma1
Played: 36  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/3/2010
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: There are a few holes where you can let it go.
I honestly can't think of many more positive things about this course.
Cons: Probably the worst course I have ever played. Trash everywhere along with every hole being muddy.
There are no tee pads just a piece of wood you must shoot behind.
people everywhere. so you have to wait and throw sometimes.
This place is bascally a park where someone added a few disc golf baskets, and now it is way to crowded.
Other Thoughts: #1 tee is by the basketball court, then it's pretty simple after that

Like I said, if you can avoid it, then please do. There are a lot better courses in the area that you will enjoy a lot more than this one. But EL does have decent baskets for the quality of the course

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Practice Course!

5+    7/31/2009   8/19/2009
Review By: jbecker36
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Extremely fun to play. Terrain is not very challenging, but some holes have decent length. An average player should be able to par almost everything. This is a great course to learn or to practice on. It provides the freedom to really let the disc rip. Tee locations are well marked and easy to find. Baskets are in great condition.
Cons: Not very challenging. There are quite a few non disc golfers around.
Other Thoughts: This is located right next to a neat little town, Parkville. I would recommend this course to anyone. It is where I learned to play, and I have fun every time I am out there.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Quick and Open

2-4    7/13/2009   7/14/2009
Review By: Jayl3ird
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: As everyone before me has stated, lots of people walking/running/riding, so good for people watching. Very cool playing along the river. Several holes that you can really "let your arm go" on without fear of losing discs. Quick and easy.
Cons: Very wet and very muddy all 4 times I have played this course. Trash everywhere. Hard to find the 1st tee and tricky to navigate due to the odd setup. Very flat, very open.
Other Thoughts: The first tee is painted on the corner of the basketball course, behind the restrooms.****

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.