Forest City, IA 
Forest City DGC Share
Uploaded By: dsmeyer Hole #12 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 250ft.   3 / 340ft.   3 / 420ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #12 White Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
A solid 18 (of 21)

1    9/13/2013   9/24/2013
Review By: cydisc
Played: 170  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 18.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good baskets
- concrete tees
- Multiple tees available
- Varied terrain
- Interesting shots
Cons: - Tee signage could be bigger and more descriptive.
- Some annoying hikes between some holes.
- Parking?
Other Thoughts: Driving up to the first tee, I was faced with the uncertainty of 1) where I was supposed to park, and 2) where the first tee actually was. The course starts from an RV camping area and parking for visitors seems to be anywhere along the gravel road. The first tee was not well marked as it is actually on a bike path that runs through the park. The tee is marked by a short length of 4x4 wood post with a small picture depicting the hole as viewed from the tee. All the other tees are concrete pads that are sufficiently sized.

The course is located on a piece of property with two different personalities. The first 10 holes travel along a fairly open and flat track. Several mature trees and some water features add challenge, but the real challenge is the length of these holes and you are encouraged to air it out in several places.

The other 11 holes are across the river in a more hilly and wooded area. These holes are more short and technical and adequately challenge the player with varied routes to the holes.

The course is well-maintained. The first-time visitor to the course might have some trouble navigating the course in places. The first tee had a place where course maps would be found, but there were none when I was there. There are a couple of long-ish hikes between holes and one where you need to cross a bridge and back again to play the hole (long tee). The front side had probably too many holes in the 330-350' range.

Overall, I liked the course despite a couple of annoyances. It's well worth a trip over from I-35 if you happen to be traveling that way.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Poor Planning but nice attempt

1    6/21/2013   6/22/2013
Review By: rhettro
Played: 36  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 13.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very nice tee signs, and most of the harder to find tees are marked at the previous pins. I read some reviews that the tee signs wont hold up, that is true but someone is actively replacing them, they were quite fresh and clear.

- first course i have ever played with fully stocked free score cards at tee #1. big plus.

- good mix of holes, wooded unwooded, long distance and short shots, a tad bit of elevation, waaaay too much water.

-nice chainstar pins.

- well mowed fair ways

- three tees for the majority of holes. very nice
Cons: - do you like water? Do you want to play all day with wet feet? this is the place for you!

- This course was altogether poorly planned. From what i gather from previous reviews and ppl in the area, the first 9 holes are playable for perhaps 1 month a year. Water is everywhere, some times it a few inches deep, sometimes its a few feet, all together unplayable.

- the back 11 have very thick unforgiving brush, so thick it is a bit more of a hazard then the water.

- i think there was one trashcan at hole 17. so prepare to carry your trash for a while.

- there is maybe one hole that wasn't partially submerged, a seasonal thing yes, but still they could have made better use of the land with the knowledge that this is easily flooded.


Other Thoughts: This course was highly rated here so i made the trip very excitedly. I was altogether disappointed between the first 6 holes being unplayable and every hole after that being a swamp. I will say that this course would be a lot of fun to play without all this water. there are a lot of tricky shots that put your discs at risk, shooting over ponds and streams, i love those holes. the back 10 or so has a really fun composition, i really liked a lot of the hole layouts.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 best course in north iowa

2-4    8/25/2012   8/26/2012
Review By: DjKilliQuik
Played: 34  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 12.3 Years
Pros: Great mixture of water shots. Long and short holes. Back 9 has a lot of good technical wooded holes. Front 9 is a lot more open and longer. Love the set up.
Cons: Really the things i dont like are the long walk in between hole 10 and 11 and all the paths and things running through it. And how close it was to that play ground on hole 10

 2 different courses

1    7/19/2012   7/22/2012
Review By: iblanchard
Played: 193  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 11.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Had scorecards with a map at hole one.
Easy to follow, the holes that have a little walk have signs with directions
1-3 tee pads per hole
Good use of water
Weeds in the woods are a little thick, but much is beaten down so finding a disc isnt too difficult.
Good variety of holes, open, few trees and in the woods.
Cons: Not all red and white tees were concrete
Signs clearly indicate hole and tee, but a map would be nice and not all distances are legible.
I almost parked by hole 4 then realized I had to drive deeper into the park
Not a big fan of ballfield obstacles.
Other Thoughts: Pretty good course. If I'm in the area and have time I will try to play it again.
Even though water is in play, there is usually a safe shot (except on 9 where there is water left long and short, almost plays like an island off of red and white tees).
You need to cross the bridge after 10.
I didnt see the river on hole 21 due to trees, but it was closer then I thought with a sharp drop off after the tree line.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Very Nice

1    12/24/2011   12/25/2011
Review By: djschnabel
Played: 157  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 17.8 Years
Pros: Very nice course set in a city park setting. Plays on both sides of the river.

There are a few water holes, and multiple tee pads allow you to play the round that suits your skill level. Nice cement tee pads that are plenty large.

A variety of ace runs, holes with elevation, bomber holes, and tight technical shots.
Cons: Some of the holes might play too closely to the ball fields and playground. I think it's hole 9, that plays from the long tees over a pond. The Teebox faces the pond, and we think it's direction should be modified to allow an easier choice of slot selection, so you can either shoot the gap to the right (thin line) instead of almost forcing you to throw a huge drive over the pond (350?). I think a circular tee pad here would be perfect. A small investment in signage would go a long ways to improving the flow of the course, as some longer holes leave you wondering, is that really the basket?
Other Thoughts: The signage issues are pretty nitpicky, as the course's flow is pretty intuitive. In my opinion, I would decrease the length of holes 5 and 10, to decrease the chance of an errant drive because somebodies trying to outthrow their disc. When we played, some distances are on the teepads in paint, some are written on the wooden posts in sharpie, and some are not written anywhere. Some of the holes are longer than what our great site says, for example, hole 20 is 485 from the blue tee. It looks as if hole one is getting a new nice landscaped putting area, so it's pretty obvious the course is in a state of advancement. If the course was closer to the freeway, I'd play it anytime that I drove past. As it is, I would make plans to play it, but I could see it getting bumped if time didn't allow. It took three of us about 2.5 hours to play, 20 minutes of that looking for a disc on hole 20 (we lost sight of it's flight path, so our bad).

 A gem of a course.

1    6/22/2010   6/23/2010
Review By: Martin Dewgarita
Played: 1148  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/14/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Amenities. A camp ground with rest rooms on site, could be a fun place to camp and play disc golf. Designated parking is limited, but it appears you can park nearly anywhere in the park.

Beautiful. Views of the Winnebago River and a journey through the woods offer some nice scenery. A walk across the swinging bridge provides a great view of the dam and the river.

Tees. Red/White/Blue tees offer a level of challenge for everyone, each hole has nice level concrete tees for each location.

Baskets. Nice Chainstar baskets on every hole. some holes have multiple pin placements as well.

Water. Great use of water on this course, water comes into play on several holes and is a decent threat.

Variety of holes. From wide open grip and rip holes, to straightforward anny/hyzer lines, to technical wooded holes this course will test your accuracy and line shaping ability as well as your distance.

Ace and birdie opportunities. Ace runs are limited, but do exist, some good risk/reward opportunities for a birdie out there, and some of the holes will test your skills to achieve par.

Locating discs. If you keep the disc out of the water, despite being rather wooded - the underbrush is kept relatively clear, most of your time should be spent playing the game, not searching for discs.

Navigation. Each hole is easy to find after the previous hole - if it isn't immediately obvious, there is a small note nearby to describe where to go (After hole 10 cross the swinging bridge to find hole 11).
Cons: Signage. A solid attempt at providing a small map of each hole with distances and pars will not last very long. The laminated sheets of paper are still there on most holes, but are falling off or missing in many places - I'd hope to see something more permanent in the near future.

Tee Maintenance. A small gripe, only as to have something in the "con" section. Though relatively new, the tees are getting over grown in some areas, or are covered in gravel, or goose poop, though not a huge problem at the moment, it could be in the near future.

Parking. I mentioned earlier that you can park just about anywhere, this results in people parking very near some of the holes - Holes 3 and 4 I had to contend with vehicles parked near the basket, this could be a problem on many of the front 9 holes, depending on where fishermen are parking.
Other Thoughts: An Excellent course, well worth the trip if you're in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.