Lake Jackson, TX 
Dunbar Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #4 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 258ft.   3 / 356ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Short Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Dunbar Funbar

2-4    10/8/2013   10/11/2013
Review By: uwdiscgolf
Played: 74  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Pros:

1. Tee posts

2. Only 18 hole in area as of now.

3. Easy to find and navigate.

4. Trees!!! Gorgeous old trees that add a very nice touch to the scenery.

5. Baskets are in good shape.

6. Holes 1 and 18 are close to the parking lot.
Cons: The Cons:

1. Tees are routed on most holes.

2. Standing water after rain. Basket 2 is a little island after it rains.

3. Fire Ants everywhere. No points knocked off for this. * Wife wanted to lay in the grass and look at the sky. I told her to watch for ants. She laid right on top of a mound. Not pretty. She was totally fine though.

4. Holes 1-12 are all pretty much the same. Just avoid the trees is all you have to do. But Hole 9 is exempt. I will explain in "Other Thoughts"

5. No map of course layout. No points knocked off for this but seeing how it is the only 18 hole course in the area it would have been nice to have one.


Other Thoughts: Best holes: 9 & 17.
9. the view from the tee is exciting. Its like two trees guarding the basket. Risk vs. Reward if you try the gap. I did and made it. Nice ace run!

17. Plays near the river, and downhill towards it. This was probably the only hole that i ran ahead to check out what kind of shot i would throw. The fairway is mostly downhill so you be sure to hug it as long as possible and then park it near the basket of risk the water.

Dunbar is the only 18 hole course in the area.
I had fun playing it once by myself, and then again with my wife. This coure was on my wishlist for a year and half only because i knew i would play the other three courses in the area if I traveled to Lake Jackson. Park is well kept and I would definitely play again if in the area no matter what. The only real downside to Dunbar is the fact that holes 1-12 are all pretty much the same. Hole 13 begins the "back Nine" in my opinion. "Back SIX" for those who are picky. Definitely check this course out even if you are 50 miles away. I think that if you only play the same course or courses all the time you fool yourself into thinking that you are a good player. Travel, meet new people, and throw plastic till you die!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    7/15/2013   7/30/2013
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 129  Reviewed: 108  Exp: 2.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/22/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: With the addition of Cornerstone Church, this course is apart of a one-two punch in terms of good courses being close together. The course is 18 holes on a huge piece of land with huge 100 ft tall beautiful trees and easily accessible from 288, maybe a third of a mile from the highway.

The course is short so breaking par and aces are very plausible to happen if you are having trouble doing either.

The back three or four holes play down and up a hill and next to water. It adds a little bit of variety to an other wise repetitive course.
Cons: Repetitive. Short. Are the two big motifs of this course. Writing this review a few weeks after playing the course it is hard to remember any particular holes. Except #12 which is the only +350' hole on the hole course.

Hole 13 is not a very good golf hole as it plays near behind a fenced in area. The aggressive route says go over the fence, but you run the chance of not making it over or hitting a low branch and falling over the fence.

There are no concrete tees, and with the lack of people playing here the tees are not worn in like other concrete-less courses.
Other Thoughts: If you were to Google "average disc golf course" this would be the first result. This course is a fun course and is the best in a 40 miles radius. This course does not have anything unique to add that you would not see any other course.

Still, with the small population of the surrounding area this course is perfect.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great for Beginners

2-4    4/22/2013   4/22/2013
Review By: KimD
Played: 29  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 1.8 Years
Pros: Playground for kids.
Picnic tables and pavilions.
Lots of trees and a creek.
Plenty of trashcans...
Cons: There are no bathrooms.
Nasty water hazards.
While there are lots of trashcans, people tend to not use them. Today there was trash everywhere!
Other Thoughts: Of the parks in our area this is my favorite, but I've only been playing 2 months or so. The first 13 holes are pretty straight forward, lots of open area with large trees along the way. The rest of the course is along the water and hilly. You are either above the target throwing down, or below the target throwing uphill - some you can't even see from the tee.

 Wow, that's a big frickin tree!

1    6/25/2010   6/25/2010
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.7 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Trees - I'm talking 100+ year old Live Oaks that dot this course providing ample shade in the hot Texas sun. They are some of the biggest and most beautiful trees I ever seen in this region and worth noting. Coupled with the trees is the simple fact of how many of the holes have been shaped around them. Many shots, while short, make you keep things low and tight to get things close.

Four holes lay along Oyster Creek, but conservative play right should keep you dry. The only real pucker hole is #17, which drops down from the box and hugs the creek side a bit closer than the other pins. These are great holes to finish a course.

The park is in a good location right off the highway and is pretty easy to navigate once you find the first tee box. It's also very flat and beginner friendly so pushing a stroller with my wife and kids made life a little easier. There is also a playground to drop the family off at around hole seven just when they are starting to get tired leaving you to enjoy the rest of your round without complaint.

BEST HOLE/S: #17
Cons: The course is short and aims more towards beginners and intermediate players. Big arms with get bored as most holes require little more than a fairway driver or mid-range to get close to the pin. Hole #12 is the only hole over 300 feet, so get ready for your ace run.

Good luck finding the alternates without a guide, because they weren't marked. The shorts on the other hand are easy to see with a wooden post as a marker with number.

There are no bathroom facilities, which is a bit odd since it's a pretty big park with a good playground area. Usually these things go hand in hand. Finally, the first 13 holes are perfectly flat and the front nine is a bit on the boring side, playing back and forth similar to Nottingham Park with only the trees providing any variation.

WORST HOLE/S: #1
Other Thoughts: This fun and tight treed course is a joy because it promotes accuracy with most shots, and forces me to work on the most important part of my game - my mid range and putting. You master a course at this length then you've won most of the battle. Houston players who love Anges Moffitt Park will appreciate this course due the similarities in length and feel, and get the added bonus from four water holes to provide that extra challenge. This isn't necessarily a destination location, but it made for a fun and relaxing day trip if you're in the Houston gulf coast region.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Fun pitstop in the area

2-4    4/29/2010   4/29/2010
Review By: Martin Dewgarita
Played: 1149  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 5.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The best course in the area doesn't have a whole lot to offer, unless you're looking for ace runs and a chance to break par, this is the course I was finally able to break into the 40's on with a 49. Rather simple and straightforward; throw about 230 feet on every hole to the basket, avoid the trees.

Chance to break par. If you're having trouble breaking even or better, give this course a try!

Ace Runs. Every single hole has a decent chance of an Ace (if your arm can handle the 380 number 12).

Well laid out. Even though it's a relatively simple course, I found that each hole had a unique challenge.

Tidy. Garbage cans are available around the perimeter of the course, though not directly in relation to the holes, it's a short walk to throw away your trash, it seemed relatively well maintained and there was not much trash around.

Number of people. I basically had this course to myself, there was a few other groups out, but I never came into contact with them.

Navigation. Though no map or signage was provided, each tee is placed strategically near the previous hole's basket, it was not difficult to find my way around at all.
Cons: Variety of holes. Though each hole had a challenge in its own right, they all seemed very similar, about 240 feet avoid the trees, a RHBH hyzer was sufficient on nearly every hole.

Tees. Dirt tee pads were rather sufficient for this course, I never found myself even thinking that concrete pads would have mad it better - but I guess there's always room for improvement here.

Fairways. The course was pretty much wide open, with many trees dotting the fairways, but the grass was not well manicured and skipping was nearly impossible.

Length. As said before, every hole was 240 feet or so, with the exception of the 380 foot number 12.

Multiuse park. Again, it's great that disc golfers and other recreationists can exist in harmony, but it was slightly annoying when a family was using the hole 14 fairway as a playground for their small child. I just waited for them to move on and it didn't delay my game much at all.

Signage. Each hole had a tee marker with at least a hole number on it, some of them had a distance written in marker on it, who knows how accurate that distance rating is, there was no rough sketch of the hole or direction to the next hole (this never really was a problem, as it was relatively easy to navigate).
Other Thoughts: A fun pitstop if you're in the area, I wouldn't go out of the way to play this course unless you're looking for an opportunity to break par, or maybe you're looking for your first ace!

Favorite Hole:

Number 9. The large trees in the fairway give you a small window to view the pin through, go ahead and shoot through that window if you have pinpoint accuracy, I took the wide angle approach with a sweeping hyzer skip to the basket, if I could have only pushed it out farther it would have been a beautiful skip in ace!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Happy to see this course

5+    4/2/2010   4/4/2010
Review By: kuhlmarl
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course rewards accuracy and creativity more than arm strength. For example, #4 has four trees guarding the flight path--you can get around them with a good anny, a hard-cutting hyzer, or a well-aimed straight shot, but none of them are easy. A couple of pins call for rollers (esp. #9). Alternate tees are available (adds about 6 throws to my typical scores). Park has lots of shade, playground for kids.
Cons: Several pin locations (esp #7 and #3) remain soggy for several days after rain. No restrooms are within easy walking distance. Alternate tee boxes are not well marked--marked by flags that get mowed over--grab a local (like me) if you want to play the long tees, or just make them up when you can't find them. Park entrance is kind of hard to find--you have to enter the park east of SH 288, then drive under it to get to the #1 tee.
Other Thoughts: I was very happy when this course sprang up 5 minutes from my house and I quickly became addicted to disc golf thereafter. I may be biased since this is my home course, but #9, with basket tucked behind the archway formed by two large trees leaning opposite directions, is my favorite view from the tee box of any disc golf hole. Fences have been climbed so many times to retrieve wayward discs that now you can easily pull the fence down and walk over it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Something is Brewing Down in Lake Jackson

1    8/1/2009   8/12/2009
Review By: SpringDgLover
Played: 98  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 9.7 Years
This review was updated on 12/28/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is located in a very scenic park right off of 288 in Lake Jackson. The first thing you will notice are the big beautiful trees, some of these mammoths can be more then 30 feet around. They provide ample shade and fun obstacles on the course. The course has brand new Discatchers with some still having the plastic on them. Each hole is unique and the alternate tees add an extra dimension of difficulty and variety. There are no teepads to speak of but the ground is not beat up and provides good footing for taking drives. The locals at this course are extremely welcoming and were some of the nicest people I have met playing disc golf. You can really tell they love their course and are constantly putting work into it. Of all the holes I think I like the ones along the canal as they use the elevation wonderfully and are also pretty holes to look at. This isn't the most difficult course but it offers some wonderful shot variety and is a blast to play.
Cons: Well the obvious first con is the lack of teepads. Once they put them in this course could rise another half disc easy. The second is some of the tees are flat out dangerous with 15's teebox being right in front of 14's it could spell some pretty hairy moments on a busy day. Also 13 is a hole where you can easily lose a disc over the fence and prepare for a big walk or climb if you do. As I mentioned before if your looking for a brutal challenge, look elsewhere, the holes can be tricky but nothing an advanced player couldn't dominate.
Other Thoughts: I had a really good time when I played this course. The park is exceptionally kept and the locals are awesome. This is easily the best course in the area and I think it will get nothing but better as the locals put more love into it. There is definitely something brewing down in Lake Jackson and I'm drinking the cool aide.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 The only real game in town

2-4    8/1/2009   8/10/2009
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 188  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 7 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful park course with all brand new equipment and lots of shade. Dual tees make this park worth playing for a wide range of skill levels. The short tees are appropriate for Novice and Rec level players while the long tee boxes provide a challenge better suited for Intermediate and Advanced players. There are some holes with reasonable elevation changes for a Houston area course. Wooden tee sign posts are easy to find without being obnoxious. Alternate tees are presently marked with small flags. Mandos are spray painted on trees. The course flow is obvious and it's almost impossible to get lost or crossed up. There are trash cans available.
Cons:
Many of the baskets are placed too close to the subsequent tee boxes. The worst offense of this is #15's tee box which is basically sitting in #14's fairway. Some of the short tees are repetitive and lacking in variety.
Other Thoughts:
Local rules stipulate that road and beyond is played OB as are discs over any fences or in the creek. This is a decent course that will appeal to a wide range of players. There aren't many other close choices of courses to play and as such Dunbar does a great job of filling that need.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Very nice park

1    7/12/2009   7/12/2009
Review By: Midnightbiker
Played: 54  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 7.5 Years
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nice course located in a very beautiful park. Lots of very large trees offering shade though out the park, from the hot Texas sun. Most of the holes average about 230-250ft, but with the lay out of the course, the huge trees come into play making this course very challenging. A great course to really work on your technical game, and your short game. Lots of birdies and a few aces can be had at this park. Lots of picnic tables, under the shade of huge trees makes this a great place to have a picnic before or after the round. Great course for families and beginner players.
Cons: #13 plays very close to a chain link fence, and its very easy to send you disc over the fence. You can get it back, but its a long walk. The closest restrooms are on the other side of the park about a 1/4 mile walk from the course. #14 and #17, the baskets are very close to the bayou and its easy to loose you disc on a bad throw.
Other Thoughts: This is a really fun course to play and really worth the drive from Houston. Some good places to eat are only 3 minutes from the course, so you can have a great time playing disc golf, and food is just around the corner. This is also a great course to take beginners and families to enjoy a great afternoon of disc golf. # 9 is the signature hole, or it should be, and is one of the coolest holes in disc golf I have ever seen. Awesome pin placement. #12 is the only hole you can really "rip it" at 380ft, but this is more of a technical course rather than a "rip it" course. This is a fun course that will really make you think about your shot before you take it. I had a blast and I will be coming back .

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course in beautiful park

1    6/7/2009   6/7/2009
Review By: ChrisMacG
Played: 84  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.9 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A fun course with mostly short holes that make use of the park's many big trees to keep you on your toes. Most of the holes are between 250' and 300' and require accuracy more than power on throws. The last five baskets use the banks of the creek to mix in some elevation challenges.
Cons: The lack of big open holes will keep you from the big drives. Some of the baskets are a bit too close together and too often the only challenge is shooting under tree canopies. The park could do with a restroom and more benches along the course. The proximity to the creek means that you'd better bring bug spray. A map on site would be a nice addition too.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for people who are new to disc golf. The holes are mostly short and straightforward with a few tricky ones. The creek side holes are beautiful and the creek isn't too threatening to errant discs. The ninth hole looks fantastic from the tee-box.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.