Zachary, LA 
Flanacher Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Qikly Hole #2 (Taken 8/2013)
3 / 190ft.   3 / 236ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Approach



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Diamond in the Rough

1    4/23/2014   5/2/2014
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 62  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Enormously spread out in a secluded part of the otherwise basic Flanacher Park, the course here truly is an enigma - a hidden gem that is probably not talked about as much as it should be. There is ample parking space and a rec center with nice bathrooms and water fountains before you enter the course. Once you take the short hike to the course map and first tee, you start to feel that you are already completely in a different element. Speaking of the beginning of the course, I felt that hole 1 is a great way of easing the player into the course - tight but nothing extreme, not very long, and offers you two lane choices.

The tee signs aren't colorfully designed, but I actually liked the feel of them being personally drawn, and I thought they did a real nice job defining the lines and showing the pin placement. Mach 3 baskets have holes numbers on them.

I have never seen anything else like some of the holes here, with the extreme anhyzers on 6 and 12 and the 90 degree angles on 3, 9, 11. This course is grueling and will challenge your mental game for how you approach the holes. Hole 2, for example, challenges you into deciding if you want to play along the path, or throw over the trees and try to hyzer to the basket. However, either approach to the hole is risky, as the path is very tight and rough is very thick throughout. Much emphasis is on shot placement, and with Flanacher's extreme lines, each shot is very important and requires thought. Hole 11 is maybe the best example of this, with a straight shot off the tee, 90 degree turn to the left, then 90 degree turn to the right and to the basket.

Some very well thought out pin placement, tucking pins back into tight pockets in the woods or within a few trees. Holes 4, 6, 11, 16, and 19 are great examples of this.

Offers a variety of pars, with 8 par 4's and 2 par 5's.

The fairways are mowed extremely well and wide, which is amazing considering how much land this course covers.
Cons: -From a technical standpoint, the course places a ton of emphasis on hitting the line. If you don't hit your line, you will be greatly penalized and most likely land in thick rough. This makes the course in general a very particular kind of golf. I appreciated this aspect on many of the holes, but there comes a point where it would be nice to be offered multiple lines.
- I'm someone who enjoys playing in a picturesque setting, something that Flanacher does not offer. It's a cool, unique setting, but not attractive to the eye.
-Probably the biggest detractor of the course is the great amount of rough that you are constantly battling through. And because the course is so tight, challenging, and unforgiving, there is a good chance you will end up in it multiple times. Not only is it hard to make any kind of reasonable throw from inside most of this rough, it is simply hard to walk through in many spots.
-There is no real convenient way of getting back to the parking lot once you're inside the course. Keep in mind that there are no bathrooms or water fountains in the course, it requires a lot of walking, and takes a very long time to play (took two of us three hours). Come prepared.
-The brick tee pads get the job done, but are a little uneven in certain spots
-Am tees seem random and it would be nice if they were better thought out due to how hard the course is. There are am tees on a few holes, some holes that have hard-to-find orange flags marking the tees, and other where nothing is offered. Therefore, not much is given here for a lesser player.
-Navigation would be tricky at times without a map. The most difficult spots are from 10-11 and 19-20.
-No fault of the course designers, but other than the slightly raised pin on 17 and slightly raised tee on 19, there is no elevation on this course. One of the flattest courses I have played.
Other Thoughts: Flanacher is a very unique course that you should definitely go out of your way to play if you are in the area. It isn't for the faint of heart, so come mentally and physically prepared for a long, grueling round. Still, the design is tremendous and offers one of the best challenges within hours of the area.

My favorite holes:
5, 6, 11, 13, and 15.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Brutal for non-pros

1    2/28/2014   3/1/2014
Review By: Fazeddie
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: No worries about cross play or getting in the way of others.
Cons: I gave it a poor rating and that is from the perspective of someone who is new to the sport and has only played 3 other courses. This is not new disc golf player friendly at all.

There is virtually no forgiveness in the course, ridiculous blind shots, tight fairways with punishing rough complete with briars and thorns. Plus, with recent rain, we literally felt like we were in a swamp. Many of the pins were completely surrounded by water and some fairways were submerged and it was actually easier to walk in the woods!
This is the kind of course that would completely discourage most new players. In fact, I have a friend who lives in Zachary who is interested in taking up the sport, but I wouldn't recommend him starting here!

Most holes require a spotter so I can imagine, as one reviewer said, when the course is busy, slow play will be the order of the day.

As others have noted too, forget finding or using the amateur tees. That is a total afterthought by the designer.
Other Thoughts: If you can, play with someone who knows the course.

My son plays at pro level out west and he was 4 over par after 18 holes so it is playable if you're a great player. But even he had to make some miraculous recovery shots to stay at that score. Anyone else need not apply!

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Underappreciated

2-4    4/23/2014   8/18/2013
Review By: Qikly
Played: 65  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 2.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/23/2014
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is in a nice, if a bit off the beaten trail, park, that is well maintained by BREC. From what I understand, the fairways are regularly mowed. Parking is ample, garbage cans are spread throughout the course, and there are a few, welcome benches, too.

Flanacher is distinguished by the extremity of its lines and windows. Its many winding, circular, and sharp turning fairways cut through or are bordered by the woods, and often feature tight (5'-10') windows at one or several points. The course will test the limits of your line shaping abilities and force you to constantly weigh risk versus reward: is it worth it to gain an extra thirty feet or push for a birdie when failing to hit your line could very well mean pitching out from impossible rough and adding two or more strokes? Complicating the decision-making process is Flanacher's dense rough and foliage, which can really punish you. Playing out of the rough back onto the fairway is often impossible without pitching out. Even so, the lines and windows are usually doable enough to tempt you to go for broke: the fairways themselves aren't densely populated with obstacles, it's just a matter of hitting your line.

Topping it off are Flanacher's fairways, which wind some of the most absurd angles I've ever seen. Corkscrews and 90 degree angles aren't uncommon here, and the often sharp turns will force you to hit very particular curves. I laughed aloud several times at the extreme lines I was being forced to attempt. In the wrong hands, such turns would feel gimmicky, but at Flanacher they're handled knowingly to great effect. They're a unique attribute, and really lend the course a particular (read: "daunting") character.

Much of Flanacher makes you work from drive to putt: many pins are tucked into groves and behind small copses of trees, making you ever wary of throwing into the rough just beyond the pin. Other holes place the basket underneath a spreading oak (8) or wedged behind a massive island of greenery (19, 21). The few pins which are out in the open (17 & 18) come late enough in the game that they feel like a concession that you've more than earned. Between these pin placements and the zigzagging fairways, you're earning every shot of your round.

Even in the midst of all this technicality, there are some opportunities (such as 8) to air it out. Overall, there's a lot of variety here. This course will test your game regardless of your caliber.

In general, there are a lot of memorable holes here. Very few feel forced or ill-conceived, at least from the pro tees.
Cons: Besides the difficulty? This course has the potential to really kick your butt and eat your discs - the rough is often black hole level thick off the fairway, and the course's extreme angles lead to a number of blind shots. A spotter is absolutely essential on a course like this.

The amateur tees seem like an after thought: they're inconsistently marked, occasionally brick but usually natural (and a rough natural at that), with only a pair of red tiles to mark them (no separate tee signs). I couldn't find them on a good third of the course's holes, some of which were intensive enough from the pro tees to certainly warrant them. Elsewhere the am tees water down the hole's character to an absurd degree in comparison to the pro tees, making it flavorless to play from. I can appreciate that a course characterized by long distances (13/21 holes being over 300' from the pro tees, with 7/21 over 400') and challenging angles such as Flanacher would have a hard time translating to amateur tees, but more could be done to integrate these into the course and into the natural character of each hole. This in turn would widen Flanacher's appeal to a greater range of ability levels. As it stands, there's a lot here to discourage a beginner or casual player. Coupled with the lack of alternate pin positions, there's really only one way to play Flanacher, which hinders replayability and is a shame on such a quality course.

Like a lot of Louisiana courses, Flanacher almost completely lacks relevant elevation. The raised pin on 17 is more visual than functional, though 19's slightly elevated pro tee is fun. Not much you can do about geography, but a man made hill or two would work wonders to adding further variety.

There's a lot of walking here, between the long holes, some spread out transitions, and 21 holes, probably a bit more than what's needed. Even if you're in shape and stocked up on water, you'll wear down by the end of a summer round. A source of water on the course would be very welcome.

Navigation is mostly okay, but can be dodgy in a few spots. My wife and I had a few moments of hunting for the next tee. It's especially noteworthy because a simple "next tee" sign at the end of a hole or on a hole's tee would be all that's needed to clear things up.
Other Thoughts: Given the fairly mixed reviews here on DGCR and from local New Orleans DGers I've talked to, I wasn't sure what to expect from Flanacher, but its quirky lines, prolonged multistage holes, and unique pin placements won me over. This is a quality course that ranks among the best I've played thus far in my admittedly young disc golfing career. I'd recommend this course to anyone in the area as long as they're interested in a challenge.

Even though there is a lot of left-to-right motion here, the particular shots are quite varied, to the point where the repetition didn't register as such for me.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


1    8/10/2013   8/10/2013
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 118  Reviewed: 101  Exp: 2.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This may be one of the more challenging courses I have ever played in regards to length and shot selection.

This course is not one of the courses that you have a good drive, short approach, 20' putt like most courses are. This course really makes that second shot the most important shot on many of the holes due to the curved nature of many of the holes. The holes are unique, challenging and they do have fun factors.

The holes do have variety from your short ace runs to your righty friendly as well as the lefty friendly holes. The basket placements are tough but fair and the average pro should make most holes in the suggested par.

The course has a nice sign at the beginning of the course as well as good tee signs at the pro tees. The tee boxes are unique as they are tiles put together rather then just a single pour of concrete. It added a bit of good look and I did not notice any change in performance compared to concrete.

The fairways are mowed on the regular. This gives the course a very "country club" feeling as you make your way through the hundred acres that this course sits on.
Cons: Starting at hole 3 the feeling of the course is that: 1. The course will be very tough and 2. The holes can seem a little head-scratching. I am all about curved fairways and holes that are not straight. However, 550ft holes that are a 360 degree circle with thick brush flanking both sides and NO landing zone the hole can seem a little unfair.

My one suggestion for a player is keep it in the fairway. The long grass off the fairways are chest high in some places not to mention the brush off the fairways on some holes are filled with 1 inch thorns.

Am tees are present on some holes but not well marked. The am tees also take away some of the aspects of each hole that made each difficult from the pro tees. To get the best experience of the course I would suggest playing from the pro tees.
Other Thoughts: I can honestly say that in my mind I hyped this course more than what it was worth. It was a tough course, one that will test you in every aspect of your game. However, to me the fun factor was just not there. Being an out of towner I left feeling disappointed and I can say I would probably not return because of the punishments for even the slightest off shot.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Very challenging

1    7/14/2013   7/14/2013
Review By: Doofenshmirtz
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 2.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/3/2014
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is extremely challenging from the pro tees.

Good signage and good concrete tee boxes.

There are no cross play issues and the course is sitting on ample land with mature trees which make for some very nice holes.
Cons: This course is as flat as that beer you opened last week and left in your boat. There is simply no elevation change to speak of.

Selectively mowed so that you can spend extra time searching for your disc out in the open where the lack of mowing won't affect your next shot at all but hides your disc well. Yes, it appears that the lack of mowing has the sole purpose of wasting your time as well as that of anyone who is behind you.

You need a spotter on many holes because you are throwing blind. Many shorter holes "feature" blind shots as well.

You really need to wear pants if you are playing this course. Briars and plenty of other things await you in the woods where you will often find your disc.

The difference between the two sets of tees on most holes is the difference between the novice and pro tees in a tourney. On one hole you may have a blind, anhyzer into an impossibly tight approach off the pro tees and an ace run off the am tees with nothing in between. In many cases there is no tee pad for the "Am" tees. Some were marked with a marker that you will only notice when you walk directly over it.

The design speaks more to someone trying to make a course as hard as possible than of trying to create a fun overall experience. Some of the shorter holes are designated par 4 for a reason. If throwing two short shots around a mando (that you may not realize is there because it can't be seen from the teee) for an opportunity to see the basket sounds like fun to you, this is your course.

The parking lot is a long way from the course and you will need to bring all the water you want with you. No restrooms either on this 21 hole course.

Not beginner friendly at all. This is a course that isn't going to grow the sport any. Hopefully, beginners will go to Greenwood Park, a few miles away.
Other Thoughts: This course is definitely worth playing if you are an experienced player and in the area, but you should take the pars indicated on the official map to heart. There are some birdie opportunities, but there are also some stupidly difficult holes where no driver is welcome. You should also expect a lot of slow play due to the lack of mowing of large open areas and the need to go forward to locate the basket on even short holes.

If you are a beginner, don't bother. This course wasn't designed for you and isn't maintained with you in mind.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Probably Evolution

1    3/6/2011   11/7/2012
Review By: Martin Dewgarita
Played: 1148  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 4.8 Years
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Personal Rank: 100

Physical Beauty. A very nice park complex with a wide variety of activities, each with its own area. The course is separate from the other activities in a scenic DG area.

Variety. Nearly every hole utilizes open areas and tight wooded areas that create some unique holes and require nearly every shot in your bag. Short tees are provided for an easier round while the longs make for a grueling yet enjoyable challenge of a course.

In an area with very limited options of courses worth playing, this course stands out as a gem. I wouldn't make this a destination area because of the lack of other courses, but if you're looking for the best of the south, Flanacher is one of my favorites, and the only course in LA that made my list.
Cons: Flat. If elevation is your thing, you probably shouldn't be looking for it in LA.

Thick Shule. Recovery shots are tricky, pitch outs are going to be common.
Other Thoughts: After playing 1000 courses, I'm excited to share my opinion on some of my favorites. My top 100+ list can be found on my blog, my favorites list is at 110 of 1022 as of writing this review. Of all courses played, the top 1.5% receive a rating of 5, down to 6% is a 4.5, and 15% is a 4.0 creating a bell curve distribution. I apologize that my reviews are not as detailed as they have been previously, but I feel that sharing some information is better than none at all. I have included the details as to why this course stands out to the best that my memory serves.

My personal criteria is very subjective, a gut feeling:
~Physical beauty stands out, both scenery and the beauty of each hole.
~Amenities don't mean much to me, it doesn't much matter if there's benches, concrete tee pads, or garbage cans.
~Technical design - How well designed are the fairways/airways and landing areas? Are there unique holes that stand out? Variety of holes - distances, shapes, elevation, tree density, rough thickness. Pars 4 and 5?
~I love extreme/adventure golf. Rugged and secluded courses stand out more than park style courses. In general I prefer more technical over more open.
~Local Scene.
~The main thing I ask myself is "Does this course make me want to come back?" if the answer is yes, it makes the list.

Thank you, enjoy my reviews and if you don't find this information helpful, please let me know what I can do to improve.

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Love it

5+    9/24/2012   9/27/2012
Review By: Bluracoon
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well what can I say, this is a great park it is challenging and frustrating but great I just love it. It is kinda set off in the middle of nowhere so traffic on the field is non existent which is more then I can say for some other parks (Highland Rd) They maintain the place very well, grass is always cut. All tees are marked, paved and has a board with the direction of the hole. Even if it's your first time playing here if you have a map you should be fine. I recommend this one above any other. If you are looking for some good disc golf at a nice park this is it.
Cons: Well there are a lot of dog-legs which is all good but it gets to be a pain after a while. Watch out for the spider webs, because the course is not used that much they are all over the place. Hole 19 has a pond that is kinda hidden if you are playing there for the first time. it has claimed many a disc so be mindful of it. Otherwise this park is my favorite.
Other Thoughts: Nothing like the smell of fresh cut grass and the view of a basket in the distance...I love playing disc golf and Flanacher is where it's at.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Zach Attack

1    10/24/2011   10/26/2011
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 197  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 11.2 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Flanacher Park DGC is a terrific course in a very scenic and well kept park. The beautifully mowed fairways and total absence of litter were remarkable. All tee pads had posted hole maps with distance, and block pavers that were nice and level. Baskets looked and caught well. Nice mix of short birdie holes and long drives where accuracy over distance helps a great deal. The course weaves in and out of the woods, often over open fairways to a basket tucked into the trees. Several tended to be dogleg right holes, but I thought varied distances and well placed obstacles kept it fresh. I utilized forehand and backhand shots throughout.
Cons: Mosquitoes were thick on the first few holes. Hardly any elevation change or water hazards to work with. May be messy after rain. Traces of mud were present, but still very playable. Many holes the basket isn't in view from the tee, be prepared to throw blind, or explore if you haven't been there before. Thick and ferocious rough could cost you a disc if you shank one.
Other Thoughts: Flanacher Park DGC was the kind I tend to really enjoy. Long drives on open fairways, and enough trees to make it fun. Pin locations that were difficult, but not super technical. Some nice wooded holes also. I loved the zig-zag cut on #11. Opportunities for birdies sprinkled all through the course. One of the cleanest parks I have ever seen, and a course that was immediately one of my favorites.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Wanted to Love it

1    2/20/2011   2/20/2011
Review By: lxdawg25
Played: 32  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/24/2011
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course was immaculate. The signs, baskets, tee pads, and fairways were all very well maintained and in great condition. This course is on a nice piece of land a secluded away in a beautiful setting.
Hole 11 was definitely one of my favorite holes I've ever seen. The jig in the woods made for a really interesting shot. It would have to be seen to be believed.
Cons: Lack of variety. Probably about 50% of the holes are right hand dog legs into the hole tucked back into a little break of the trees. It gets pretty boring after awhile and they just keep getting longer and longer making it more and more frustrating.
Awkward difficulty is the only way I can really think to explain what I want to say about this. I've played long courses, and I've played technical courses. This course tries to do both and honestly is just a bit to difficult for my taste. Maybe if I lived in the area and played it more often I would get used to it. Hole 1, 7, 10 and 18 are all short and straight forward then you get to a hole like 13 where is is 591 foot dog leg right and you don't see the basket until at least your second shot.
Admittedly I have been away from very wooded courses for awhile so I was a bit off my game on that end. But other courses I've played if you hit the brush you didn't pay with your blood. The thorns out there were awful. Wear shoes and long pants if you're playing here. I've seen some of the biggest thorns I've ever seen in my life out here.
Other Thoughts: I wanted to love this course, I did. It was in a great setting, well maintained and in just amazing. A lot of effort is put into the course and it shows. And maybe its just me but the uber long technical holes that were all sitting with the same over 90 degree dog leg just got old, boring, and not worth the effort.
Okay so after only one trip out there I'm hesitant to even bring this up and I did not actually talk to them but there was a large group of course rats out there and they pulled their truck up by the basket of 19 and were just sitting around drinking so after I played 18 we just left. I didn't want to deal with it, and this wasn't like they just pulled off the parking lot to get their truck there, this was going out of your way to break a few laws and wreck the park.
THIS IS A TECHNICAL COURSE, don't let the distance numbers fool you. I was warned it was hard before I traveled there but looked at the map and thought I would be just fine, well 5 holes in I knew my mistake.
Bring bright discs, I spent 20 minutes on the second hole looking for an errant drive. I wish I had bagged more bright plastic.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate/Expert

1    12/28/2010   12/30/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 414  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 11 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a large park, which is pretty much an even mix of dense forest and open fields. Doesn't seem to be any other activities that go on in the DG side, soccer fields and such are far away.
- Almost every hole, from start to finish, has some difficult line or window that needs to be hit. The forest is very thick, the lanes are very tight, and the holes in the open are riddled with obstacles. Any trouble here is big trouble, and is harshly punished. Most of the fairways hazards and general rough is borderline impenetrable by any shot. Thorns and brambles are ever present, which can take away anything from a reach back to a follow through on a recovery shot. Goes without saying that there are well protected baskets.
- Almost every single line can be found here. General RHBH ones include: Sharp hyzer (#2), gentle hyzer (#21), straight (#17), gentle anny (#13), and sharp anny (#6). I also like a RHFH flex shot on #3. #11, is a bit trickier, with a S-curve that follows a LHBH anny route or similar. Shooting out of, around, and into the forest provides lots of tight windows that can be do-or-die.
- This course scoffs at the idea of tight/short and long/open hole design. Narrowing fairways on a 660' and 591' hole, shooting out of and into the forest on a 399' hole, these will test almost every aspect of your game. Distance, accuracy, shot placement, approach, and putting all come into play in big big ways, without sacrificing one for the other.
- A couple of easier holes mixed in here and there are great to give a little balance to the course. A few simple hyzers and annys, including a 238' ace run and a 213' tunnel shot, are still satisfying to play and put the pressure on to get some strokes back. Overall great variety in hole length.
- Tee signs and baskets are great, tee pads are in great shape but might seem a bit small to some people. Map in front should be enough to get around, the flow is pretty straightforward.
Cons: - Course suffers from being on nearly dead flat ground. There are a few spots here and there with elevation changes, but even then it is minor.
- Not a drop of water on the course, the only hazards here are trees, bushes, forest, woods, and grass.
- The course plays in a large field, circling the inside of the forest. This results in a ton of holes with forest on the right side, and other bad stuff on the left. While this doesn't mean every shot is a RHBH anny, a lot of it has the same feel throughout.
Other Thoughts: - This course doesn't have anything fancy; with no elevation, no water, and no insanely (unfairly) tight fairways. The lines are there, the windows are there, but they are very very particular and really test both distance and accuracy. Laying up alone can result in some high scores, due to long hole lengths or multi-shot paths to the basket. To score well, you must, must have both good aim and good distance. Many legitimate pro par 4's here, without question.
- Some holes that really stuck out were #3 (I saw my RHFH line, that's step one), #6 (558' right u-turn with a tree filled fairway), #11 (336' double dog leg), and #13 (591', early kink to the right, to get into the tunnel).
- Spotters are helpful. Beginner's nightmare, especially with an overabundance of nasty thorns. Absolute clinic in forest technique, except for pinball holes.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.