Disc Golf Store
Newaygo, MI 
Newaygo State Park Share
Uploaded By: volklgirl Hole #6 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 210ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Approach



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 ANOTHER right curve

1    6/19/2010   6/19/2010
Review By: mklahre
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -concreate tees
-well marked
-nice beginer course
Cons: -there were 4 right curves in a row all almost exactly the same. i jaust had to play them the same way and i got the same result. In order to have good course you cant have repeats
-very very very easy.
-the only really tough one is 18 and that is just impossible.
Other Thoughts: campers nearby watch out.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 No baskets during the winter

1    12/23/2009   12/23/2009
Review By: mcmyers640
Played: 40  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/14/2010
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Signs
Convenient Parking Lot
Cons: First Four Holes Look Tight.
Other Thoughts: Came out during the winter to play. Tight fairways for the first four holes. Excited to come back and play this course. The holes were down in the winter so I couldn't get a chance to play. Keep that in mind the next time you play this course in the winter. Enjoy!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 You can't be serious.

1    10/9/2009   10/10/2009
Review By: discinboogs
Played: 110  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 13.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New baskets, concrete pads and great signage make this course relatively easy to navigate. Tee pads are massive which is usually a good thing. Parking lot is VERY conveniently located JUST outside the entry gate to avoid any fees to play. Great sign that says DISC GOLF PARKING, letting everyone know we exist and invading Michigan's State Parks. ALSO there is camping in the park and there are campsites sometimes only 20-30 feet from teepads. It actually helped me that day because I sold a disc to a family. If I would have had more extras, they would've been golfing that day :)
Cons: Ridiculous tee placements. Not every pad is where it should be. A 6x10 teepad should be in a place where there are options for throwing from the respective corners for LH and RH golfers. A lot of the pads are oriented pointing in the entirely wrong direction and make it so only a small 1'x1' corner of the pad can be used in order to get a good line at the pin. Too many trees in the wrong spots. A mistake made by a lot of designs shows here in the attempted copy of a couple nearby course's layouts. Very aggravating at times are the the signs being just a few feet from the basket location. Hole 14's indicator sign is fewer than 10 feet from 13's basket, making me have to straddle putt a perfect drive. Potentially that metal sign could actually break a disc, so bad idea there for sure. If the course didn't look like a bulldozer drove through most of the holes, leaving a bare flat dirt fairway, not natural terrain, it might have earned an extra rating point.
Other Thoughts: My experience brings me to hope that all disc golf course designs bring out the natural beauty of the property. This course totally missed it. Awful AWFUL tee pad placement on over half the holes. Most of the tees here have PVC pipes embedded in four spots on them. They are just asking for someone to hurt themselves on those things. It definitely forces the golfer to take a different route to the front of the teepad on the drive. This course looks like they just randomly dropped 18 baskets from the sky and then built the course around it. One VERY bad thing about the course is the baskets. They are brand new Innova Discatchers. For some weird and dumb reason, the S-hooks that hold the chains to the chain harness/top ring of the basket still have their plastic packaging on them. THATS LITTERING when those things finally come off. It looks like crap and it's littering. I didn't have enough daylight to stand there and remove every single plastic wrapper from every single S-hook on every single basket, otherwise I would've been happy too. Instead I just picked up random litter along the course. Won't be back here for a while. Branstrom (5-star course IMO) 30 minutes to the west, why waste your time here? Head to Fremont and see some next-level design.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Tight and Technical

1    5/1/2009   5/5/2009
Review By: marcwatts
Played: 104  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great signs for every pad indicating hole number. Weaves next to a campsite for those interested in camping. Lots of par chances even for beginners. I consider myself a middle of the road player and I had 4 birdies. I played in the early spring so there was not much thick brush, but it looks like it could get thick in the middle of the year. Not a lot of elevation makes for really easy walking. I don't remember any stumps or piles of branches for it being a new course. Nice view of lake/river along 9 and 10.
Cons: The parking for the course was not marked. Park next to the brown building I posted a picture of. No real variety on this course. I consider it a chip and putt course. It's short enough you can peg a tree and still save par on most holes at least in the spring. No elevation or openess to really stretch a drive. No trash cans as of May 1st. As you can see from pictures a lot of holes looked the same. The first few tee pads look like they laid 2 old boat ramp pads down.
Other Thoughts: I think this is a good course for young families who want to just get a taste for disc golf while they are camping. I would play it again if I lived close, but it's just not worth much of a drive. If you want to practice tossing some midrange discs in between some small gaps, this is the course for you.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.