Newaygo, MI 
Newaygo State Park Share
Uploaded By: Friends Newaygo StPk Hole #12 (Taken 8/2011)
4 / 295ft.   3 / 214ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Short Tee

Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Feeling Deucey today?

1    4/17/2015   4/17/2015
Review By: davetherocketguy
Played: 48  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 11.3 Years
Pros: - In a beautiful state park that borders what is essentially an equally beautiful inland lake.
- All of the baskets are newer Innova Discatchers with double layer chains and the conspicuous yellow chastity belt adorning the top. Kind of a nice feature since spotting baskets out in woods like this can be challenging.
- No navigation issues to speak of. The park service has put in big brown and white signs indicating where to go. If you get lost on this course you're either stupid high, dumb or not paying attention.
- On each teepad there are 5 gallon buckets serving as trash cans. And not surprisingly the course is rather free of debris.
- 9, 10 and 11 play along the lake and offer stunning views. It's too bad the water never comes into play here.
- I am very thankful that someone went to the effort to write the distances on each of the tee signs.
- I like the tee pads. About half of them seem like they are slabs from something else so to see material like that get recycled is pretty cool. All the pads were fine for me.
- #8 is far and away the best hole on the course and really gets your attention with it's 300'+ long fairway through a tight line in the woods.
Cons: - Newaygo over all seems to be a rather repetitious course. Sort of variations on a theme which is "let's see how many 200-ish foot long holes can we make through these woods." The answer here is 15 apparently. 8, 17, and 18 are all pretty long but the rest are just plane 'ole deuce run after deuce run. Yawn. And then a few ace runs on 14 and 15.
- Poke and hope fairways just drive me nuts. 12 and 16 are perfect examples of this. Yes there is a fairway but midway down there are half a dozen trees with 36" gaps between each. Yay! Let's play plinko!
- The shorts (why are there short tees on this short course anyways?!?!) are marked with a typical 4x4 laid flat in the ground. Unsurprisingly, given the short nature of this course it doesn't look like anyone uses them.
Other Thoughts: Newaygo is the kind of course you want to bring a first timer to teach fundamentals of the game. Since there is a large campground here I suppose this is a good spot for that. It's where you hand the newb a Roc or Buzzz and let them fall in love with the game like each one of us did. This really isn't a place to get your big arm distance on.

And a note on state park passes. If you are only coming here to play disc golf this is going to be a rather expensive pay to play situation. If you are a Michigan resident just get the yearly pass or pay an extra $10 to the Secretary of State when renewing plates. It's worth it because it supports our valuable park system and if your are like me visiting parks is common practice in the summer. If you are an out of state visitor and are only stopping to play disc golf and not camp or do anything else in the park then the passes probably not worth it. I would move on down the road and look for somewhere else to play.

 Nice Little Course

2-4    7/8/2011   8/5/2011
Review By: AKasprzak
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Its a right hand freindly course, but has a couple left hand curve balls. The pads are nice kinda small but nice. The baskets are nice. And its very clean trash cans at every hole.
Cons: Lots of treenial on this course, but still alot of fun. Big clifs into water... awsome looking, but would be so awsome if you threw ur disc over the edge. There is no getting down them. We looked its a great view, doesnt looks like a good climb.
Other Thoughts: If you are camping the park at the time u play it you can get sites that are right by tee's and baskets. Thats a plus, only a short walk between yourself and disc golf. I dont really have anything to say bad or good. It was a good course we played it several times and i would go back, but there were was not amazing holes, just amazing sights.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Quicky

1    8/20/2010   8/23/2010
Review By: BucketBonanza
Played: 47  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 13.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Newaygo State Park features 18 holes on flat, wooded terrain. This course offers some variety in the way of shot choice and route selection through tight tree lined and tree dotted fairways, but the holes are generally short and simple. The possibility of losing a disc is low, with the exception of hole 18, and the roughs are generally not very dense with bushy thickets or other treacherous growth. The course was clean and the holes utilize concrete teeing areas which are rough and provide good traction. Navigation is intuitive.
Cons: This course winds through camp sites which could be a bit intrusive to campers. There are holes that could be considered unfair as there are no defined lanes and plenty of trees to hit. There is quite possibly nothing more annoying than facing an impossible hole and this course has more than one hole that could be called lame. It is possible that paying 6 dollars for a day pass to play this course could feel like a rip off by the end of the round as it is a short, relavtively unremarkable play.
Other Thoughts: This course might be worth a look to anyone passing through the area with a serious disc golf jones. Especially if you have a state park sticker and don't have to cough up the 6 dollar fee for the somewhat mundane course. Overall, it is always a worthwhile experience to play disc golf and play it everywhere possible so thanks to Newaygo for the nod. Alright, just nothing to write home about.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    7/25/2010   7/29/2010
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 262  Reviewed: 256  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: short and technical. doesn't require a ton of arm to play well, just accuracy and maybe a little luck.

winds around a camp ground and along the croton dam reservoir. It's kind of nice to have a little different scenery along the way.

easy to navigate course, huge numbers on the signs make it easy.

BIG tee pads (made of recycled concrete which has PVC pipes which are relatively flush with the surface of the pad

Brand new discatchers are pretty and bright
Cons: The discatchers, while pretty and bright, still have plastic on the s-hooks, which is a bit tacky.

Some impossible holes, 18 comes to mind. winds hugely left with the target in a pocket on the right.

Very thick rough. The rough is made up of very young trees which are pretty skinny and plentiful.

Other Thoughts: I personally liked the course, but got tired of trees about halfway through. There are a lot of birdie holes and a couple of definitely ace-able holes.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Good Beginner Couse

2-4    7/6/2010   7/13/2010
Review By: OnlyAces
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course is a nice walk through the woods. The holes are easy enough for players just starting out. If you toss your disc in the woods, it is generally easy to find except for hole 18.
Cons: The holes are too easy for experienced disc golfers; most are are 300ft or less.
Other Thoughts: Hole18 Tip: It could help to have a spotter walk up around the corner to see where discs fall. It's pretty hard to find the disc after it enters the dense foliage around there.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 ANOTHER right curve

1    6/19/2010   6/19/2010
Review By: mklahre
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -concreate tees
-well marked
-nice beginer course
Cons: -there were 4 right curves in a row all almost exactly the same. i jaust had to play them the same way and i got the same result. In order to have good course you cant have repeats
-very very very easy.
-the only really tough one is 18 and that is just impossible.
Other Thoughts: campers nearby watch out.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Tight technical

5+    4/12/2010   4/12/2010
Review By: uomichigan09
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: I love this course. I head out there camping about 5-10 a year. We grab a campsite right on the course and play about about 2-3 round per day. Totally LOVE IT... SO Relaxing! The course is a very tight and for the most part pretty short, so it challenges all the shorts in your bag (especially the tomahawk with the thick trees). Play a few rounds out here and it'll make you a better overall player.

Distance doesn't come into play too often. Accuracy is what you need here
Cons: If you want to shoot low you gotta have a little luck on your side because on a few holes got a lot of trees.

A couple pads could be placed a little different

Don't like the fact that they take the backets out in the winter and JUST put them back in.
Other Thoughts: I've only been playing for about a year but this is by far my favorite place to play... The camping just makes it that much sweeeeter!

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 No baskets during the winter

1    12/23/2009   12/23/2009
Review By: mcmyers640
Played: 40  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/14/2010
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Signs
Convenient Parking Lot
Cons: First Four Holes Look Tight.
Other Thoughts: Came out during the winter to play. Tight fairways for the first four holes. Excited to come back and play this course. The holes were down in the winter so I couldn't get a chance to play. Keep that in mind the next time you play this course in the winter. Enjoy!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 You can't be serious.

1    10/9/2009   10/10/2009
Review By: discinboogs
Played: 110  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 14.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New baskets, concrete pads and great signage make this course relatively easy to navigate. Tee pads are massive which is usually a good thing. Parking lot is VERY conveniently located JUST outside the entry gate to avoid any fees to play. Great sign that says DISC GOLF PARKING, letting everyone know we exist and invading Michigan's State Parks. ALSO there is camping in the park and there are campsites sometimes only 20-30 feet from teepads. It actually helped me that day because I sold a disc to a family. If I would have had more extras, they would've been golfing that day :)
Cons: Ridiculous tee placements. Not every pad is where it should be. A 6x10 teepad should be in a place where there are options for throwing from the respective corners for LH and RH golfers. A lot of the pads are oriented pointing in the entirely wrong direction and make it so only a small 1'x1' corner of the pad can be used in order to get a good line at the pin. Too many trees in the wrong spots. A mistake made by a lot of designs shows here in the attempted copy of a couple nearby course's layouts. Very aggravating at times are the the signs being just a few feet from the basket location. Hole 14's indicator sign is fewer than 10 feet from 13's basket, making me have to straddle putt a perfect drive. Potentially that metal sign could actually break a disc, so bad idea there for sure. If the course didn't look like a bulldozer drove through most of the holes, leaving a bare flat dirt fairway, not natural terrain, it might have earned an extra rating point.
Other Thoughts: My experience brings me to hope that all disc golf course designs bring out the natural beauty of the property. This course totally missed it. Awful AWFUL tee pad placement on over half the holes. Most of the tees here have PVC pipes embedded in four spots on them. They are just asking for someone to hurt themselves on those things. It definitely forces the golfer to take a different route to the front of the teepad on the drive. This course looks like they just randomly dropped 18 baskets from the sky and then built the course around it. One VERY bad thing about the course is the baskets. They are brand new Innova Discatchers. For some weird and dumb reason, the S-hooks that hold the chains to the chain harness/top ring of the basket still have their plastic packaging on them. THATS LITTERING when those things finally come off. It looks like crap and it's littering. I didn't have enough daylight to stand there and remove every single plastic wrapper from every single S-hook on every single basket, otherwise I would've been happy too. Instead I just picked up random litter along the course. Won't be back here for a while. Branstrom (5-star course IMO) 30 minutes to the west, why waste your time here? Head to Fremont and see some next-level design.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 New and Tight!

1    6/6/2009   6/17/2009
Review By: raptor4you
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 16.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/14/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tight fairways will challenge accuracy of all levels of players. Many short to middle range holes where placement is key. Excellent park bench between hole 9 and 10 with view of Hardy Dam Pond (looks like a lake to me). Ace run time on 15! Paths between holes are extremely well marked for flawless 1st time navigation on trails in the woods.
Cons: Because this course is so new, there is no cement, tee signs, trash cans, etc. Rough is pretty thick, so keep it in the fairway!
Other Thoughts: On your 1st time, there are a lot of blind holes, so additional scouting is reqired. Play many holes to a place in the fairway and get a par. Parking it on the drive will not happen on many holes because of the accuracy required. Bring your bug spray and water.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.