Rapid City, SD 
Jackson Park Share
Uploaded By: TomSawyer Hole #4 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 228ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Very fun, well designed course

1    7/22/2012   9/4/2012
Review By: Jroc
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Multiple pins for most every hole...some alternate tees too. Tee signs on each hole. Good design...mixture of right, left, long, short, tight, open. Very pretty...especially the back 9. Course map and practice basket. Trees and bushes are well maintained.
Cons: No bathrooms that I saw. A few places on the back 9 that I had to search for the tees.
Other Thoughts: Very fun course that's challenging, but not too much. It plays as a solid white to blue level course. You see the course length and think it will be a pushover, but it will surprise you. And, there is a creek that comes into play on a handful of holes. You can tell the people that maintain this course take pride in what they do. Its a shame that more elevation didn't find its way onto this property, but its got just about everything else you would want in a fun, not-too-stressful round of golf.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 best flat course ive played!

1    6/27/2012   7/13/2012
Review By: adazm
Played: 23  Reviewed: 22
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: easy to navigate!
people there to the point they can be helpful without slowing anyone down.
excellent water hazards with the creek weaving along border of course.
for a very flat course, there were many interesting and challenging holes.
the ample mature trees and well maintained grass/park were a big plus.
a couple of the bridges were uber scenic (though not really dg related).
many diff pin placements, which always helps.
Cons: flat. a little open at times.
really very few cons. hence my 4 star rating. if there were anything amiss with the course, would be a 3.5. if there were anything truly astounding (or a hill) could be a 4.5.
Other Thoughts: must have been like hole 16 where i blasted my condor 240 feet and slammed chains (but fell out) for an easy drop in birdie. had i missed basket, i would have unknowingly been way way way deep in the hidden creek!
as course 6 of 9 on week long road trip, was still not disappointed in any way. numerous places to throw into water without actually "losing" your disc (just acquiring penalty stroke).

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Picturesque

1    11/5/2011   11/10/2011
Review By: Joey Pauley
Played: 24  Reviewed: 8
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Great signage
- Not too far off the highway if passing through
- Multiple Tee pads, signs, and hole locations
- Well maintained
- Flowed like it should
- Love the varieties of trees and foliage. Well maintained
- not much garbage on the ground
Cons: - There was a small amount of construction
- Some holes were close to the road way
- Wish there was a bit more elevation changes but they did the best with the design of the land. It was perfect because it was not too strenuous.
Other Thoughts: I can still picture the weeping willows. The river was beautiful. There were some small drainages throughout.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great time

2-4    5/11/2011   5/12/2011
Review By: Adontalis
Played: 56  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course was developed by two guys, one a lefty and the other a righty. Because of this there a wonderful mix of hyzer, anhyzer, and straight shots. Course had plenty of challenging holes. It's fairly centrally located and easy to find. Really fun practice pin as well.
Cons: Wind was a factor for me, however, it added to the challenge. The biggest downfall for this coarse would have to be that it is relatively short. They did a marvelous job with the space they had but I found myself playing with my mid-ranges more often than not.
Other Thoughts: A must if you are in the area. Local players are really nice. Beware the wind and the river.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Needs more hills... still fun!

1    8/28/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 348  Reviewed: 342  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2014
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -I like the blue baskets, a nice touch
-Dual tees on many holes
-Multiple and very different pin placements on every hole. Every time you come here it could be a different round! I don't know how often they are rotated.
-Creek comes into play a lot and it would be fairly hard to retrieve a disc now, it is flowing fast.
-No easy holes, the short ones have guarded baskets or a hazzard nearby. Many risk/reward drives and approaches. There are still a few ace runs if you hit the right line.
-Some kind of open holes at the start to some reasonably wooded holes in the middle and back into the open for the end. A very good mix. There are a good amount of trees, no luck holes with too many trees and no wide open holes.
-Practice basket.
-Course flows well. Map at the start and each tee has maps of the hole and a direction of the next tee box.
-Tees are fairly large and concrete
-This course is pretty long, especially on the longer layouts.
Cons: -There are hills everywhere around except at this park! Playing in Rapid City in the Middle of the Black Hills I expected more hills.
-Could lose discs in the creek
-Could be pretty busy.
-Most holes are relatively open and not many shots are forced here.
-Not a lot of other cons
Other Thoughts: This is a fun and challenging course in Rapid City. There are other good courses in the Black Hills too. If you are on vacation visiting Crazy Horse/Mt Rushmore/Deadwood then this is a good stop.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Jackson Park

2-4    8/3/2010   8/9/2010
Review By: TomSawyer
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice lay out of course and use of land available. Great variety of trees and uses of basket locations.
Cons: may be a little wet on the last few holes, also a few holes are next to a large creek / river, it will just make you more cautious and a better player
Other Thoughts: VERY nice place to have played, well kept up as well. Seems to have nice local players as well. We played several time during our short stay in Rapid City.
Would go back to play this course any time!!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Interesting Course

1    6/27/2010   7/20/2010
Review By: JDDISK
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice layout, attractive park with a lot of water. Friendly locals, well kept and easy to navigate.
Cons: There were some wet areas but considering all the rain they had just received it was not a detriment to play.
Other Thoughts: Definitly worth stopping at if on vacation in the Black Hills area.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course to play

1    7/3/2010   7/16/2010
Review By: indydiscgolfer
Played: 76  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 35.5 Years
Pros: Multiple pin placements on most holes. Alternate tees on some holes.

Small creek winds through the course.

Good info on tee signs. Signs and baskets in good shape.

Nice big park with no other park activities around disc golf course.
Cons: Completely flat terrain.

In some places the course is wide open with multiple baskets in view making it difficult to know where to throw. I actually played towards a visible basket on one hole but should have played to another basket hidden behind some bushes.
Other Thoughts: The day I played most pins were in the easiest positions and I played the tees with the signs, since it was my first time there, and the course offered very little challenge (I shot a 42). I'm sure the alternate pin locations and tees would make this a more challenging course. The few large trees that were in the middle of the park were used well but being in the Black Hills area and having absolutely no elevation changes was disappointing. The small creek was utilized on several holes with baskets placed near the bank. Hole #2 was very nice.

The locals were very friendly and helpful. I would return here to play again if ever in the area.

 Old Stomping Grounds

5+    8/14/2007   5/20/2010
Review By: Amenz
Played: 46  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple basket placements and multiple launch pads.
Mixture of short and long holes.
Water on several holes.
Practice basket.
Pretty spread out and fairly quiet even when somewhat crowded.
Cons: Flat.
Water on several holes makes it a bit rough for newbies.
Last I played it had just one porta john.
Other Thoughts: This course is the place I really learned the game. It is a nice park with lots of trees and yet is not a super tight technical course by any means. The water holes can make you think twice about your shot selection. The multiple placements and pads make it an ever changing course. I wouldn't skip this course if you are near Rapid City or even the Black Hills.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Loved this course

1    8/29/2009   8/31/2009
Review By: Harrishabitat
Played: 135  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 8.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Variety of holes, some short some long, some open some technical. Nice park, not to crowded. Good signage.
Cons: Not really that I can think of, more bathrooms would be nice.
Other Thoughts: A very pleasant surprise. Me and my 3 sons went up to Mt Rushmore for the day and stopped by here after lunch. A very fun round, lots of risk v.s. rewards. Some very interesting holes with water right behind the hole that makes you take a second thought before your throw. Would recommend to anyone to play if in the area.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.