Springdale, AR
JB Hunt Park Share
Uploaded By: bball7273 Hole #1 (Taken 4/2013)
3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Great course

2-4    6/21/2013   6/22/2013
Review By: Avehnor
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
Pros: Great variety of shots. It's one of the longer courses and there are a lot of opportunities to practice your drives or your accuracy shots.
Cons: No t-pads. I wish they'd put in concrete t-pads, some benches here and there, and perhaps better signs.
Other Thoughts: JB is one of my favourite longer courses in the area. I think it gets overlooked because of the lack of t-pads!

Nice but needs alot of work

2-4    7/26/2012   1/9/2013
Review By: bball7273
Played: 57  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/14/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very nice discatcher pro baskets
- Nice taken care of grounds
- Wonderful rolling hills and layout. The designers used every element on the land to make this more challenging.
- Good amounts of parking and there is a bathroom
Cons: - No tee pads just grass
- The "tee signs" are just wooden posts in the ground written in sharpie.
- Navigation is a mess! On most of the holes i had to search for 2 to 5 minutes to find them and i still couldnt even find all 18.
- The holes run along a creek. The creek is lined up with tall weeds that are a mess to go through to retrieve your disc.
- They really need to put in bridges because you have to cross the creek 3 times to get to the next tee and if the creek were to be filled, this would be a major issue.
- With so many missing elements to this course, it really doesnt have a fun factor.
Other Thoughts: This course has so much potential. It still needs many improvements. If you are in Springdale, I would reccomend playing Sports Life because it is a better course. If this course were easier to navigate, it would be a very good course. If you are going to play this course, I highly recommend printing off the course map on the links/files section.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    6/10/2008   5/10/2012
Review By: StoneWallKid
Played: 18  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful course. Lots of green cut grass. Mostly wide open shots, some are nice and tucked around some trees.
Cons: Wide open, not much challenge. Its very hard to find your way around the course. I could only find 5 baskets when I was there. There were no signs .
Other Thoughts: This would be a great course if it was easier to follow.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Perfect day for disc golf

1    3/29/2012   3/29/2012
Review By: Ricky1962
Played: 23  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course offered a good challenge for a newbie golfer like me (less that 1 year experience).
Several long drives to really let one go.
Although the tees are not cement, they were in good shape.
The fairways were very well mowed and beautifully kept. Some of the best I've ever seen.
All the baskets were in good shape.
Most of the tees/holes were easy to find for a first timer.
Cons: There were a couple of holes that were different than the most recent map -- no biggie, we found every one.
There are certainly some woody hazards that could eat a disc -- though I made it through the course today without losing any discs.
Other Thoughts: a few well placed tee hint markers (like Lake Fayetteville has) would make it easier to find the next tee from the previous basket.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent Up and Coming Course

5+    2/4/2012   2/11/2012
Review By: MattMan
Played: 17  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.8 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A lot of varying shots throughout this course. Baskets are all in good shape. Excellent use of elevation, and of the single creek.
Cons: No teepads. I don't necessarily need concrete, but I'd prefer level, solid footing for a first drive, just for consistency's sake. I guess I'll say having to cross the creek multiple times is a con, though I've never seen the water high enough to not be able to find a close "easy" crossing.
Other Thoughts: Excellent course, will probably alternate between this course and Northshore as frequently as possible.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Incomplete

1    8/20/2011   8/22/2011
Review By: random2006
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a great lay out and is spread over a very vast area.
Holes are decently spaced out. Very good for an experienced player.
Grass is kept short and clean.
Cons: This course is incomplete. There are no real tee makers, just a quick diagram written in sharpie.
You have to play alongside a creek for most of the holes. The creek has only one bridge and is located closer the the end of 5 and start of 6.
The creek is dry but there is tall grass/weeds on either side of the creek so its difficult to cross.
It seems like they intended on building bridges to cross from hole to hole but never completed the project. (see course description below)
Other Thoughts: Hole one is straight out in the open, then you have to walk back close to the first tee box to tee off on hole 2.
Hole 2 drops down a hill that is covered in downed trees and broken limbs. This is a rough terrain.
Hole 3 comes back up the hill on similar terrain. Then you cross the road for hole number 4.
Hole 4 is a good distance down hill and has a few trees for added difficulty.
Hole 5 is directly west of hole 4 but is located across a creek which only has one bridge crossing it. You are forced to walk past the whole hole and back in order to play it. Hole 6 is located back on the other side of the creek and plays over the creek. You are again forced to walk over the bridge again to play through the hole. (which is no big deal on this hole)
Hole 7 plays down along the creek bed but hole 8 is located on the other side of the creek. If you don't want to go through the creek you are forced to walk all the way back past 7 and past 6 all the way back around to 8. 8 is a very long distance and plays along the creek again.
9 plays up the hill and is a very challenging hole.
By the time we got through with the front 9 we were too exhausted to continue.
I think the course has great potential but it really needs course markers and a few bridges. It also wouldn't hurt to cut down the tall grass on either side of the creek.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Ho hum

1    8/6/2011   8/6/2011
Review By: DD-Smitty
Played: 95  Reviewed: 9
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Main course is very well maintained and could be developed into a great course.

Baskets are very nice innova discatchers.

All tees have 4X4 posts that mark the tees (except 17 & 18).

The only course I have played in NWA that allows you to air it out most of the way around the course.

Hole 8 is the best hole on the course and demonstrates the potential for the course.

Holes 2 & 3 are also pretty good holes and the only holes that have much elevation change.

-most of the holes play on flat ground.
Cons: Design of the course and lack of trees.
-you are forced to cross the creek bed 3 different times.
-most of the holes there is very little punishment for an errant drive.
-the length of the holes seems odd. Most are drive and throw short upset.
-the tunnel shots are very rough.
Other Thoughts: Many people I talked to compared this course to Water Works. They must have never played WW. Because the 2 are not similar at all.

Would be great to get a group of designers together and develop this place and make it a must play.

Hole 11 is cool, would be better if it played to 12's tee.
Hole 12 is horrible, would be much better playing down the mowed path that comes in on the right side of fairway.

I can mark this off my list. Have no plans on heading back out there.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 It just needs larger tee markers...

1    4/30/2011   5/1/2011
Review By: eye-ball-sac
Played: 67  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/7/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: COURSE HAS 18 HOLES AS APPOSED TO WHAT THE INFO SAYS.

Course is located in JB Hunt park. The course has rolling hills with a small creek running through the the back side of the park. Very good mix of holes distance and shape wise. Many of the holes play over the creek, but it's clean enough to retrieve your disc easily if it lands in there. All of the holes are really fun to play. Holes are long, but still have a technical challenge to them. Elevation plays a huge role here too. Short holes uphill feel like they go on forever. The course also has a shorter, technical side. Trees are trimmed enough though so it's not too brushy. Baskets are DISCatchers and are in great condition. Restrooms and running water are located near hole 1. Hole 9 ends up fairly close to the parking lot.
Cons: The tee markers are just nylon patches in the ground and are incredibly difficult to find (I guess thats where the get the name j.b. HUNT). It took an hour and a half to play 9 holes. Even with a map the markers are almost impossible to find. I would highly recommend playing with someone who knows where the tees are. Even if you do find the tee markers it's just a grass tee pad. It might be located on a side hill which can give you some bad footing.
Other Thoughts: What's killing this course is the lack of tee pads/markers. If it had those it would be a 4-4.5 course. It really makes me disappointed that this course doesn't have much marking. I hope to see improvements on this course soon.
**7 Tee markers are in the ground. Still don't know about tee pads. Hopefully I'll be able to make another trip there to update you.
-------------------------
If you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a personal message here on DGCR explaining what is wrong with it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Update

5+    5/6/2010   5/23/2010
Review By: jeffm516
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 9/20/2010
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I love this course it has soooo much possibility. The elevation changes are great so fun to play. They just got sponsored for the last 9 holes so that will be coming soon. The grass is always so nice there.
Cons: Bad thing about this course is there is NOOO signs but soon it will be fully completed.
Other Thoughts: If you need any help with navigation jump on NWADGC.com. If you need a guide send me a message.

BE A POSITIVE REVIEWER :)

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 J B Hunt Out The Tee

1    1/27/2010   1/27/2010
Review By: durangozac
Played: 42  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 20.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I liked this course. Good elevation changes. The park looks like it has a ton of possibility.
Cons: Obviously it is lacking tee pads and signage but..........
Other Thoughts: I found a course map on the outside wall of the bathroom that really helped me find my way around.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.