Tulsa, OK 
Chandler Park - Moose Run Share
Uploaded By: dontbl1nk Hole #12 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 229ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
A great "control" course

1    7/17/2014   7/17/2014
Review By: vancraft
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
Pros: Nice park and not very congested with other park users.
The course is well designed and provides variety.
Cons: Rocky and exposed roots make this difficult to roll on.
Other Thoughts: Keeping your disc low and straight are keys to this course. The canopy of trees are helpful to summer comfort (shade).

Great course

2-4    10/1/2012   11/12/2012
Review By: TylerM
Played: 31  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 3.8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very interesting course after playing the original Chandler course. It is short, but feels long if you play it after the old course. The mix of technical holes require you to thread your drives through the trees. A few holes allow you to air it out, giving a little variety.

There are restrooms, tables, a pavilion, some playground equipment, softball fields, and many other things here on the highest point in Tulsa. The view as you leave the park is very pretty.

The pads, baskets, and signs are all in good condition.

The fun factor for me was very high both times I played it.

Cons: Even though it is longer than Chandler Original, it is short.

Also, it does get very crowded, not just with discers, but parties and families with children.

Not really any especially impressive holes to push it up to a 4.5 for me.
Other Thoughts: Much better course than the original. Overall a very fulfilling course for any level of player.

JUST A STORY:

The first time I played here there was a group getting warmed up on the first hole. They had spiced up our game a little. First, off the pad they bowled a bowling ball. Next, they threw a full size metal trash can lid twice. Then, they used discs until they chained out. They were hungover to start with (Sat. morning) and I believe they were trying to fix it with a few "substances ". They were hilarious to say the least!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

The tougher brother

5+    8/18/2012   9/10/2012
Review By: Filipeeno
Played: 31  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 12.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Tight technical shots. Lots of trees to maneuver.
Cons: Almost all of the shots are technical, so there isn't much variety throughout the the course. I've played many times when there have been family gatherings in the way of a few holes.
Other Thoughts: This course is far better than it's older counter part in the same park. Better to me because the difficulty goes way up.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Chandler Park (New Course)

5+    6/30/2012   8/4/2012
Review By: BigGAC1
Played: 33  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/7/2012
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a great course, I play this one more than any other in Tulsa. It provides much more of a challenge than its shorter counterpart course. It has a nice variety of long open shots, mixed with some more technical holes. Almost never crowded.
Cons: The leaves tend to pile up on the ground in the fall, making discs exceptionally difficult to find at times. The #1, and #4 baskets are on pedestals for some ungodly reason, which can easily turn a missed birdie put into a bogey.
Other Thoughts: Its a great course that isn't too far of a drive from Tulsa. It isn't super challenging, but it certainly is not an easy course. Everyone from beginners to advanced players can find something to enjoy on this course. Hole #11 is a personal favorite of mine.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    4/23/2011   4/26/2011
Review By: Conwaykidms
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Now that course is finished there are concrete tee pads on all 18 holes along with tee signs and marked baskets to show next hole, Course laid out very well several different types of shots.
Cons: Back nine has tons of trees making it very tough to get to the basket off the tee pad.
Other Thoughts: As a beginner I really enjoy playing a course where I don't have to search for the next hole and know what the yardage is with accuracy very few courses in my area have all tee pads and signs in place huge plus for me

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/26/2011   3/1/2011
Review By: Heathen
Played: 164  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 9.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Chandler Park appears to be a pretty popular destination as evidenced by the number of players on the course. This particular Saturday was pretty cold and a little windy. I imagine a warm spring day may be a bit crowded. Moose Run is a fairly open park course scattered amongst the trees with easy to choose lines and few holes that will test your arm. This is a short course with most holes only around 200' which translates into a plethora of ace runs, many of which have been successfully aced and declared on the backs of the tee signs with names and dates.
The navigation is easy, with signs for every hole (except the last four) sporting all the necessary information. All the tee pads are concrete although some of them were still a bit muddy after the rain two days before.
I felt like I went through plenty of shot variety and was challenged enough to make the game enjoyable.

Cons:
About the only thing I would add to the course is some trash cans and some benches so an old and tired discer like me could have a seat now and then. The course as a whole is showing a little wear and tear and could use a little maintenance, but not so much that it detracts from the game. Currently, though, the last four holes appear to be missing tees. I think this is a temporary condition due to some work being done in the park, but I couldn't say with certainty.

Other Thoughts:
Some may consider the less than championship caliber of play this course demands to be a con, but I for one don't feel that every course should be a Pebble Beach of Disc Golf. I played this and her sister course near the end of a very long day of course bagging through Tulsa and thoroughly enjoyed these rounds without being beaten down physically by the course. Chandler Park's Moose Run and the Original course both had nearly everything needed for a great round of Disc Golf.


7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Poison Ivy!

1    7/10/2009   7/22/2009
Review By: SoonerJim
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 17.2 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Lots of trees, longer course than original Chandler & much more challenging with all of the trees.
Cons: First time through it's hard to find all of the tees.
Other Thoughts: Hole 1 & 4 pins are elevated about 3 feet. Hole 6 & 10 are LONG (long in relation to the rest of the course) blind shots.
POISON IVY all over the trees throughout the whole course!

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Tulsa Bound

1    6/22/2009   6/25/2009
Review By: DFWDiscGolfTrader
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 14 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Take a dip in the pool after playing this one! Enjoy the great views~ overlooking Tulsa area. First time to Tulsa so I was happy playing.
Cons: so short!. Avg hole is about 200 ft it seems. I could go on but hey, it's not that bad just short for someone like me. Also seems like a lot of the shots are the same.
Other Thoughts: saw cool people, bikinis and bbq

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Moose Knuckle

5+    6/20/2009   6/22/2009
Review By: JWood311
Played: 21  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.9 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is longer and more challenging than the original Chandler course. Give you a great chance to step up your game after playing a chip & putt course like the old. This will be a great course for fall play. Nicely shaded.
Cons: Most of the back 9 is a forest. No clear tee lines, just trees. Tee pads are rough and somewhat hard to find. No signs indicating hole location or distance.
Other Thoughts: This could be a great course with some careful tree clearing.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Very good

5+    4/19/2009   4/27/2009
Review By: notrpmp
Played: 91  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 14 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short enough to think you can do well but long enough to be very challenging. Brand new baskets, visable tee boxes marked with bright orange flags and painted orange wood planks with the hole number on it. Great wooded shots, tons of trees, need to be very accurate to score well. Super fun for being the newest course around. Helps spread out the players over 2 courses on the "mountain", where one course alone got a little busy at times. Bathrooms, camping, picnic areas, swimming pools, basketball courts baseball fields playgrounds and tons of stuff to do up there but none of them interfere with either of the courses which is great.
Cons: no concrete pads YET, no signs yet so its a bit challenging going through the first time, but once you get to hole 6 its easy to follow around. hole 1 and 3 are missing for now but will be installed soon, i think they are elevated baskets and they are waiting to be installed but i dont really know and could be wrong.
Other Thoughts: Another excellent course in the tulsa area, definently a must play being as there are 2 courses here now.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.