Panama City, FL 
Joe Moody Harris Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #6 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / 234ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Shady Acres

1    7/10/2014   7/10/2014
Review By: Jurd269
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 0.6 Years
Pros: - Great use of the space, all holes centered around a central hub in the park
- Holes 1-6 offer a variety of finesse opportunities
- The grounds are in good shape and I didn't see a single piece of garbage in sight.
- Good, long, concrete tee pads
- Great beginner course
Cons: - Holes 7-9 were an afterthought, 7 in particular is ridiculous, there is no path to the basket, creative or otherwise
- The area was shady, see more below
- Short, no opportunity to let it rip
Other Thoughts: I was in Panama City for vacation with the wife and I ended up visiting this course for a quick 18 riding solo. Trust every review that says this course is in a rough part of town. I met a great group of local players that invited me to join their group; one pulled me aside to advise that he has personally seen people beaten down in gang-related violence at this park. Please, and I say PLEASE, do not visit this park alone. Always in a reasonable sized group.

 

1    6/21/2011   6/28/2011
Review By: S.Cann
Played: 95  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 5.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great use of land available

-Excellent discatchers and tee pads

-Absolutely amazing use of the space made available.

-Variety in shots to keep it interesting.

-Easily navigable
Cons: -Not a good area for a disc golf course. The park itself is great, but I saw quite a few shady characters in and around this park. A couple of them were yelling things at us...

-Some areas around baskets could have been more cleared

-Shorter course
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is an extremely fun 9-hole course in Panama City, FL. If it were in a better area, I would consider it one of the top 3 9-hole courses I've played. Tons of short holes to work on your midrange game and have some ace runs.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Solid little course

2-4    7/23/2010   7/23/2010
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 189  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 7.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
This is a nice little course in a community park. The baskets are new DISCatchers with excellent condition. The tee pads are concrete and ample size for the mostly short holes. While the holes are on the short side the design is such that the trees present a challenge on every one. There's even some minor elevation in play with +/-10 changes on some holes. The tee signs are top quality Houck brand. Besides all that it's the only game in town (or at least within 60 miles).
Cons:
Short holes, all of them. The longest one is ~250'. For any semi-experienced player there's no need for any driver discs. Several of the holes have posted distances that aren't very accurate, I remember specifically #3 that's closer to 150'.

On hole #7 both the sign and tee pad direction indicate the hole was intended to be played RHBH anny line... but only lefties are probably going to choose that path as the RHBH hyzer lines seem easier.
Other Thoughts:
Most of the holes are relatively straight but offer hyzer or anny lines to approach with the challenge of making a choice as to which one is easier for you. Good players will birdie, i.e. 2, most of the holes out here... but the trees prevent this from being a really "easy" course. Play road and beyond a OB to make the course a bit tougher, I wish that were posted on the signs.

The park also has a playground available to keep the family occupied while you play if that's your thing.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Accuracy

2-4    7/22/2009   7/22/2009
Review By: sstieg
Played: 65  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.7 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: We were the only ones in the park and the course was easy to navigate without much excessive walking between each hole.
The course was clean and the parking lot did not put the cars in jeopardy of bad throws. Good signs and tee boxes!
Cons: A few holes such as 7 and 9 did not seem to have much of a fairway to get a birdie. The signs way of getting to these two holes was probably the worst way to go but it did face the correct way according to the sign.
Other Thoughts: This is a putter course and most of the holes offer an anny or hyzer shot getting you to the basket if there was not a straight look at the basket. Hole 8 was my favorite with a straight tunnel shot filled with trees on both sides punishing bad throws.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.