Panama City, FL 
Joe Moody Harris Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #8 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / 255ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee: Straight shot up the middle through the trees



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Cool Little Course

1    6/10/2011   6/10/2011
Review By: TheRoc
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Amazingly, they got 9 holes in there! Lots of precision shots through the little pine trees. If you need work on your approach game, this is a good place to get it. Tees pads and signage were excellent. With a little playing time on this course I could see someone throwing an 18 (or less!) in 9 Holes.
Cons: ALL the holes are SHORT. Very easy for an experience player to overthrow every hole.
Other Thoughts: Lots of "right handed" holes. If you are a side-arm thrower or a lefty, bring something that turns over.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Solid little course

2-4    7/23/2010   7/23/2010
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 188  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.8 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
This is a nice little course in a community park. The baskets are new DISCatchers with excellent condition. The tee pads are concrete and ample size for the mostly short holes. While the holes are on the short side the design is such that the trees present a challenge on every one. There's even some minor elevation in play with +/-10 changes on some holes. The tee signs are top quality Houck brand. Besides all that it's the only game in town (or at least within 60 miles).
Cons:
Short holes, all of them. The longest one is ~250'. For any semi-experienced player there's no need for any driver discs. Several of the holes have posted distances that aren't very accurate, I remember specifically #3 that's closer to 150'.

On hole #7 both the sign and tee pad direction indicate the hole was intended to be played RHBH anny line... but only lefties are probably going to choose that path as the RHBH hyzer lines seem easier.
Other Thoughts:
Most of the holes are relatively straight but offer hyzer or anny lines to approach with the challenge of making a choice as to which one is easier for you. Good players will birdie, i.e. 2, most of the holes out here... but the trees prevent this from being a really "easy" course. Play road and beyond a OB to make the course a bit tougher, I wish that were posted on the signs.

The park also has a playground available to keep the family occupied while you play if that's your thing.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Joe Moody Park

2-4    6/22/2010   6/25/2010
Review By: sidearmer
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
This review was updated on 6/29/2010
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well, I suppose for beginners, this is a good place to start. The nine holes can be played with a mid-range and a putter...enough said. Any experienced player should birdie every hole out there...enough said on that too. It is a nice park...albeit in a rough location.
Cons: Way too cramped...just not enough room for a disc golf course. Hopefully no one is going to get hit in the head with a disc...as that is not good for disc golf in general. I find it hard to believe that in all of Bay County, another park was not available to place a course in???
Other Thoughts: I would be interested in speaking with the POC for this course, to see what the mood of the county is regarding disc golf. What about the land around Frank Brown park? Who is there to speak to in the county parks department? I will help...if there is real interest in doing this; I have helped build three courses. I gave the course a '2' because it is simply a putter course...no offense meant.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Good short course

5+    6/13/2010   6/14/2010
Review By: discgolfnut
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/17/2010
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good setup for beginners and semi experienced players, Good Quality baskets and launch pads. A real fun short course
Cons: wooded area a little rough to walk through. 1,2,,8and 9 are sometimes hard to play when the park is busy with little kids. or lots of walkers.
Other Thoughts: The area is in a somewhat rough Neighborhood but that's part of the reason they put the course there and spent a lot of money fixing the park up. Just like anywhere lock your car and keep your eyes open. score card box would be a Great addition to the main sign. I will try to set one up

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Crash course in disc golf

2-4    3/19/2010   3/22/2010
Review By: bilemshious
Played: 26  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 7.4 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Baskets and tee pads are in top notch shape. Brand new Innova Discatcher baskets and cement tee pads. The Tee signs have detailed maps on them. Included is the hole number, distance to the hole, recommended flight path, and location of key trees.

Although this is not the longest course ever, it does offer a variety of shots - tunnel shots, high RHBH hyzer shots, RHFH shots around some trees. This course won't leave you reaching into your bag for different discs every time, but it will make you take different shots.

The designer of this course used the plot of land that the course is designed on very effectively. I feel he/she maximized it's potential in every way. The course avoids the play ground so that there is no danger of hitting kids (unless you're just THAT bad). Even hole #7, where it seems absurd to put a hole there. It's a challenge. I think this just forced me to be even more creative with my throws.

My group was the only ones playing disc golf, but there were families and kids curious as to what in the world we were doing that were walking/riding bikes through the park.
Cons: The course is played mostly through the woods. The fairways and paths to the next hole consist of leaves, dirt and tree debris. Bring your shoes for sure. It's in a swampy area. While it was fine while we were playing, you should consider how much rain the area has gotten recently. Along with that, how much the bugs will come out to play with you.

The one thing I wished while playing this course was that it was longer. As stated above, the designer maximized the potential of the land. I guess I am just wishing the land was longer. Ha.

What would give this course at least another half star would be an additional 9 holes. The space in this park is not there for this course, but having more holes is always going to make it more fun.

Crazy man dressed in all white and a large cross around his neck yelling at us. Just keep walking and avoid this man. We saw him the first time but not the second, so it may have been a one-time scary occurrence.
Other Thoughts: This course is located in a small park in what appears to be a rougher neighborhood. Aside from the strange man dressed in white who preached false teachings to us, it wasn't an issue. To put it simply, you're throwing through the woods here. If you don't have a decent mid-range game/disc, you're going to be struggling.

I certainly had a lot of fun. One of my friends aced hole #5. We certainly celebrated! But having played several courses in the last few years, I've had my fair share of frustrating moments. And as much as this course has potential to frustrate (holes 7, 8, 9), it was a lot of fun seeing your disc fly through the trees unscathed. It's possible! You just have to throw it right.

If you're on vacation in Panama City, go play this course. It's not that far away. Go on a cloudy day. Great course to challenge your short game and friendly competition.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Accuracy

2-4    7/22/2009   7/22/2009
Review By: sstieg
Played: 61  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: We were the only ones in the park and the course was easy to navigate without much excessive walking between each hole.
The course was clean and the parking lot did not put the cars in jeopardy of bad throws. Good signs and tee boxes!
Cons: A few holes such as 7 and 9 did not seem to have much of a fairway to get a birdie. The signs way of getting to these two holes was probably the worst way to go but it did face the correct way according to the sign.
Other Thoughts: This is a putter course and most of the holes offer an anny or hyzer shot getting you to the basket if there was not a straight look at the basket. Hole 8 was my favorite with a straight tunnel shot filled with trees on both sides punishing bad throws.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice little place

5+    7/11/2009   7/11/2009
Review By: Fata2683
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 16.6 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Clean, new baskets, tees, and signs. Has a good mix of straight, right to left and left to right holes. Several types of shots are needed.
Cons: The first 5 holes are so short, you only need a putter on them, really my only negative thought, but they are still solidly constructed holes.
Other Thoughts: Can't wait to keep playing it and get a plan for each hole.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.