Reno, NV 
The Ranch Share
Uploaded By: Wesdrummer Hole #3 (Taken 5/2012)
3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
The Nevada Desert

5+    7/31/2014   8/13/2014
Review By: FrankWilliams
Played: 17  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 14.5 Years
Pros: Benches and sponsor names are at every tee so I know DG friendly places to spend my money.

Multiple chain locations and there are tee signs at each hole indicating the distance to each of the chain placements. There is also a dial on the tee sign indicating which location the chains are currently at.

Variety of long and medium distance shots up and downhill as well as into and with the wind.

Several of the 'greens' have been picked free of rocks, which is rather cool. Some TLC went into this course.

You can see the chains from all but a few of their placements.
Cons: The wind (especially in the late afternoon) can be treacherous.

There is very little shade.

Ground is mix of dirt and rock, which chews up softer discs.
Other Thoughts: I had a rattlesnake crawl over my driver on #1.

Wind course

5+    7/14/2014   7/14/2014
Review By: VersitileArm
Played: 23  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.8 Years
This review was updated on 9/25/2014
Pros: Lots of parking and easy to find. Some fun up and downhill shots. A good course to test your max distance drives on. Overall the biggest pro is how challenging this course can be. The best part about the design is that holes 1,9,10,& 18 are all close to the parking lot, unlike some courses (redding) where holes 9&10 are way in the back of the park. Also, everyone I have ever seen playing has been really friendly.
Cons: The biggest cons are the sun and wind. The open design would be fair & fun but the wind frustrates it. Most of the holes are a little too long for how windy it gets, making it nearly impossible to par in the wind. There aren't many trees either, and the trees that are out there aren't well used. If more tee pads were close to shade the course would be more comfortable to play. The only tee with any shade is 8, but you can tell if they had thought about it many more could be placed in the shade. The shade is so important because the sun can really get you. If it's a hot day you probably don't want to bring your dog.
Other Thoughts: The course got a 1 from me because of the nice pads, signs, & baskets and because i hate it. I actually play this course a lot, though the reality is this course is ruining disc golf for me. It is the most frustrating course I have played. I have heard from a few locals that they refuse to play it. The people are nice, the area is nice, and there are some fun shots. Discs aren't lost often, but the rocks can chew them. It's a nice course for night golf, either in a full moon or with spotlights for the softball games that will go past 1am and there is little wind at night. I've seen reviews where people complain about the irrigation but it seems they fixed that by digging some canals. The course is also a pretty rugged hike. While the course is not technical per se, the wind adds a level of tehnicality that is frustrating. If the some of the par 3 shots weren't so close to 500 or 600 ft and there were more tees in the shade this course could get an easy 4 or 4&1/2. But as is, bring lots of water and sunblock, and if it's hot you might have to leave Rover at home.

What a dog turd course...sorry if this is ur local course

1    5/25/2013   2/25/2014
Review By: nuttinbutchain
Played: 34  Reviewed: 20
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -distance
-elevation
...I'm trying to find some good in this course but its hard to
Cons: -SAGEBRUSH!!! This totally zaps the fun out of this course. (see below for more details)
-no trees...yes i know its in the desert but still
Other Thoughts: I don't mean to offend anyone if this is their local course and they like it, but this course is whack. Its too bad because the land is decent and so are the distances and basket placements. The major turn off for me is searching for your disc on literally every throw because it gets lost in the sage brush. Don't wear shorts to this course either...you'll get stuck. If they could somehow eradicate the sagebrush I would give this course a 3.0 to a 3.25

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Wide Open Course

5+    10/8/2013   10/8/2013
Review By: FMT15
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/2/2013
Pros: Nice throwing pad at each hole, open spaces, lots of elevation changes. A couple nice downhill bombs and good variance of distance on each hole.
Cons: Rough terrain- rocks and prickly bushes. Hole distances are fairly long and an entire 18 holes can be alot of walking and hiking
Other Thoughts: Easy for beginners as there is no trees or huge obstructions on any hole. It can get pretty hot out there without any shade to help but there are water fountains around.

DGC in the high desert

5+    7/17/2012   7/17/2013
Review By: JMONEY
Played: 225  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: : Lots of parking, Practice basket, Putting game at the practice basket, Dog friendly, H2O and port-a-potty near hole 1,Tee signs with multiple placements and pin dial, local DG club support, +/- elevation change and best of all its free!
Cons: Chews up discs, No shade, not enough obstacles, can be very dry and dusty during summer months.
Other Thoughts: On nights when there are softball games being played , you can play holes 10-18 with the stadium lights. Wind is a factor at the course giving you a chance to hone your skills in the wind.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Wide open

5+    10/27/2012   11/1/2012
Review By: Hammer26
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is very wide open with very few trees. Hole 1 really is the only hole with trees on it and they are utilized on that hole. The rock wall on 4 and 6 make for a good OB line as before the sage overran that hole it was easier to skip OB or roll OB on either. Mando on 6 makes shortest position interesting. 7 and 8 make for decent roller holes. 8s all about placement shot making it a good par 4. Back 9 is mostly up and down hills which on a calm day is fairly easy but wind changes this up a lot and makes those holes much more interesting. Hole 13 gives a great view of Reno. 17 and 18 finish flat but with obstacles including a mando on 17. 2 rounds in a day could bring very different scores as the wind could become a major factor in the afternoon.
Cons: Lacks trees but cant do much about that. Completely wide open which can cause some very errant shots. Some tee pads are a little short and are a slight tripping hazard but only a few. Irrigation in the fall makes the course a little wet in spots.
Other Thoughts: This course can be quite hot in the afternoon with the lack of shade. Some of the back nine has loose rocks that could cause a rolled ankle if one isnt careful. The course only has 1 set of tees but multiple locations that . change how to play the hole. Just bring a good pair of shoes , sunscreen and plenty of water and youll be fine here.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Why Are They Watering The Dirt?

1    8/17/2012   9/6/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It is the only course in Reno. There are some outstanding views of the surrounding areas. The course is set in a high desert park?, well, or more like a large vacant lot area. It does feature a nice amount of elevation to contend with and leads to enjoyable, if not quite epic downhill tosses on 13, 15 and 17. Unfortunately, you have hot, dusty, tiring climbs to get to those tee pads.

# 1 and # 2 holes are fun and challenging disc golf holes. Then from 3 on to about 13 the holes were overly long, hot, dusty, and mostly boring.

In the courses defense, we probably made the mistake of trying to play in the heat of an August afternoon. By the time we reached the three downhill holes, the course had totally beaten us down. My partner refused to hike up those hills. I managed to climb them and teeing off them was almost worth the climb.
Cons: For some reason, an irrigation system was on and the course was semi-flooded. Vast expanses of the dirt had smelly, sewer water trickling down the hillsides creating slippery, sticky messes which stuck to your discs and was extremely tricky to cross without falling on your buttocks. After a few crossings, my shoes were a goey mess and I was ready to shut it down for the day.

Too many of the holes are unnecessarily long. You don't need a 750 foot wide open uphill hole when a 600 footer would do the same trick. These long wide open holes quickly grew boring and redudant. And the wind wasn't even blowing.

And finishing at baskets stuck out in the middle of a dirt field creates no interest at all. It's here that the course developers could take a look at being a little creative and insert some manmade obstacles. Check out Brent Baca DGC in Alburqueque, NM, holes 2 and 11. They inserted railroad ties vertically in the ground surrounding the basket in a similiar desert terrain to spice up an otherwise very boring hole.
Another course to check out would be Schaefer DGC in Denver, CO. There, the course designers stuck dead trees trunks in the ground surrounding a basket to create an artifical forrest around the basket. It's very cool and makes an otherwise boring hole much challenging to play.
Other Thoughts: IF we had played in the early morning or evening and IF the irrigation had been turned off we might have enjoyed this coursed a little more. I'd really like to see someone shorten many of the holes and add a few manmade obstacles to a couple of the more boring basket locations. The course terrain is ugly but with a few improvements it could be made more player friendly.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun in Reno

2-4    8/30/2012   9/5/2012
Review By: ajjrt
Played: 14  Reviewed: 13
Pros: Wide open shots. Good mats for tee boxes. Pretty easy to get around (couple of holes could use direction arrows from 4 to 5, from 11 to 12, and looking down at 13 basket). Sunny, great views, easy location, few lizards.
Cons: Morning is the best time to play because of the wind and the heat (August). Direction signs to teeboxes and baskets would help. Bring plenty of water...the one fountain wasn't working. Portable bathroom very very very hot in afternoon.
Other Thoughts: Enjoyed playing the course. Will play again.

  Nice and open

1    6/24/2012   6/24/2012
Review By: lturner
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice shots from different altitudes, very easy to navigate, nice view of downtown and mountains, well maintained, not too crowded
Cons: Not extremely challenging, few trees, lots of sun
Other Thoughts: Definitely will play again!!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Reno Trip

1    5/26/2012   5/29/2012
Review By: freakyflyer
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: FOR ME THE PROS WERE THE OPEN SPACES WAS ABLE TO THROW DISCS I NORMALLY WOULDNT THROW JUST TO TAKE TIME TO LEARN THOSE HARD TO THROW FAST FADERS.
Cons: WIND , IT KEPT ME SECOND GUESSING. ALWAYS GO WITH YOUR FIRST PICK IT IS USALLY THE ONE TO GO WITH
Other Thoughts: GO EARLY MORNING OR EVENING IN THE SPRING, HEATS UP QUICKLY . BRING H2O AS WELL. AND MOST OF ALL FLICK FOR FUN, DON'T BE A BUM

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center