Disc Golf Store
Reno, NV 
The Ranch Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #1 (Taken 2/2011)
3 / 382ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Wide open

5+    10/27/2012   11/1/2012
Review By: Hammer26
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is very wide open with very few trees. Hole 1 really is the only hole with trees on it and they are utilized on that hole. The rock wall on 4 and 6 make for a good OB line as before the sage overran that hole it was easier to skip OB or roll OB on either. Mando on 6 makes shortest position interesting. 7 and 8 make for decent roller holes. 8s all about placement shot making it a good par 4. Back 9 is mostly up and down hills which on a calm day is fairly easy but wind changes this up a lot and makes those holes much more interesting. Hole 13 gives a great view of Reno. 17 and 18 finish flat but with obstacles including a mando on 17. 2 rounds in a day could bring very different scores as the wind could become a major factor in the afternoon.
Cons: Lacks trees but cant do much about that. Completely wide open which can cause some very errant shots. Some tee pads are a little short and are a slight tripping hazard but only a few. Irrigation in the fall makes the course a little wet in spots.
Other Thoughts: This course can be quite hot in the afternoon with the lack of shade. Some of the back nine has loose rocks that could cause a rolled ankle if one isnt careful. The course only has 1 set of tees but multiple locations that . change how to play the hole. Just bring a good pair of shoes , sunscreen and plenty of water and youll be fine here.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Nice and open

1    6/24/2012   6/24/2012
Review By: lturner
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice shots from different altitudes, very easy to navigate, nice view of downtown and mountains, well maintained, not too crowded
Cons: Not extremely challenging, few trees, lots of sun
Other Thoughts: Definitely will play again!!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Reno Trip

1    5/26/2012   5/29/2012
Review By: freakyflyer
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: FOR ME THE PROS WERE THE OPEN SPACES WAS ABLE TO THROW DISCS I NORMALLY WOULDNT THROW JUST TO TAKE TIME TO LEARN THOSE HARD TO THROW FAST FADERS.
Cons: WIND , IT KEPT ME SECOND GUESSING. ALWAYS GO WITH YOUR FIRST PICK IT IS USALLY THE ONE TO GO WITH
Other Thoughts: GO EARLY MORNING OR EVENING IN THE SPRING, HEATS UP QUICKLY . BRING H2O AS WELL. AND MOST OF ALL FLICK FOR FUN, DON'T BE A BUM

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/1/2011   11/9/2011
Review By: man in red
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 12/10/2011
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: mixture of long and short holes, and a game of round 9 to practice putting. Change pins evey day.Right by a store that sells discs (Bicycle Bananas)
Cons: Discs get beat up, Cannot do rollers, Rubber tee pads, and easy to lose discs.
Other Thoughts: Best Holes 1,7,8,14,13, and 18. Front nine is long. back nine is short.If you play here use a fairway Driver.Every time I go to the Course I find minis. I have ten now.

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/23/2011   5/26/2011
Review By: toucan2306
Played: 51  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.4 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great use of altitude. A long walk, but a nice walk and well set up. I really enjoying playing here, might be because it is the only one in town but it is nice enough to play over and over again. Good use of multiple pins.
Cons: No real obsticles. I wish there were some more Mandos or something to force hard shots. The only real hardship is wind, which is there most days. But where it hurts some holes, it helps others. Can be really hard to find discs, they get stuck in sage or when the grass isnt cut can just sit in the grass hiding from you. Cant wait for real tee boxes either, kinda dangerous with the rubber ones.
Other Thoughts: I have played this course almost every single day for the last month. I dont get tired of it, when you get used to it they change the pin spot, making it a whole new course. Different than any course i have played, all about altitude and wind speed/direction. I enjoy it, i like to go on not nice days only because that is about the only time it isnt busy. WHEN WILL RENO WAKE UP AND MAKE ANOTHER COURSE!

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Windy, Hilly, & Fun

1    10/26/2010   10/27/2010
Review By: elton807
Played: 56  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/27/2011
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Plenty of land, a creek, a national monument, and ground undulations that provide interesting terrain, unique views, and a great workout. Easy to find, plenty of parking, variety of shots and hole configurations. The back nine is very fun, with a unique straight uphill shot on 12, and a 500+ft downhill downwind teeshot on 16.
Cons: Baskets 4, 5, and 6 are missing making this section of the front nine a little frustrating. That being said, holes 1-3, and 7-9 are quite interesting.
Other Thoughts: I don't understand the knock on this course. The first 3 holes start off beautifully, but then the basketless 4-6 are a little disappointing. 7-9 finishes the front nine nicely and gets you ready for the super-hilly at times back nine. I'm looking forward to playing here again!
=================
Uniqueness: B+ (tons of space & variety of holes)
Difficulty: A- (long; elevation changes abound)
Fun factor: B+ (you'll get a workout; rewarding birdies)
Aesthetics: B+ (deserts aren't lush; awesome signs)
----------------------
Overall:B+

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.