Reno, NV
The Ranch Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #10 (Taken 2/2011)
3 / 196ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee Sign



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
What a dog turd course...sorry if this is ur local course

1    5/25/2013   2/25/2014
Review By: nuttinbutchain
Played: 33  Reviewed: 20
Pros: -distance
-elevation
...I'm trying to find some good in this course but its hard to
Cons: -SAGEBRUSH!!! This totally zaps the fun out of this course. (see below for more details)
-no trees...yes i know its in the desert but still
Other Thoughts: I don't mean to offend anyone if this is their local course and they like it, but this course is whack. Its too bad because the land is decent and so are the distances and basket placements. The major turn off for me is searching for your disc on literally every throw because it gets lost in the sage brush. Don't wear shorts to this course either...you'll get stuck. If they could somehow eradicate the sagebrush I would give this course a 3.0 to a 3.25

Wide Open Course

5+    10/8/2013   10/8/2013
Review By: FMT15
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/2/2013
Pros: Nice throwing pad at each hole, open spaces, lots of elevation changes. A couple nice downhill bombs and good variance of distance on each hole.
Cons: Rough terrain- rocks and prickly bushes. Hole distances are fairly long and an entire 18 holes can be alot of walking and hiking
Other Thoughts: Easy for beginners as there is no trees or huge obstructions on any hole. It can get pretty hot out there without any shade to help but there are water fountains around.

DGC in the high desert

5+    7/17/2012   7/17/2013
Review By: JMONEY
Played: 225  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 4.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: : Lots of parking, Practice basket, Putting game at the practice basket, Dog friendly, H2O and port-a-potty near hole 1,Tee signs with multiple placements and pin dial, local DG club support, +/- elevation change and best of all its free!
Cons: Chews up discs, No shade, not enough obstacles, can be very dry and dusty during summer months.
Other Thoughts: On nights when there are softball games being played , you can play holes 10-18 with the stadium lights. Wind is a factor at the course giving you a chance to hone your skills in the wind.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Wide open

5+    10/27/2012   11/1/2012
Review By: Hammer26
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is very wide open with very few trees. Hole 1 really is the only hole with trees on it and they are utilized on that hole. The rock wall on 4 and 6 make for a good OB line as before the sage overran that hole it was easier to skip OB or roll OB on either. Mando on 6 makes shortest position interesting. 7 and 8 make for decent roller holes. 8s all about placement shot making it a good par 4. Back 9 is mostly up and down hills which on a calm day is fairly easy but wind changes this up a lot and makes those holes much more interesting. Hole 13 gives a great view of Reno. 17 and 18 finish flat but with obstacles including a mando on 17. 2 rounds in a day could bring very different scores as the wind could become a major factor in the afternoon.
Cons: Lacks trees but cant do much about that. Completely wide open which can cause some very errant shots. Some tee pads are a little short and are a slight tripping hazard but only a few. Irrigation in the fall makes the course a little wet in spots.
Other Thoughts: This course can be quite hot in the afternoon with the lack of shade. Some of the back nine has loose rocks that could cause a rolled ankle if one isnt careful. The course only has 1 set of tees but multiple locations that . change how to play the hole. Just bring a good pair of shoes , sunscreen and plenty of water and youll be fine here.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Why Are They Watering The Dirt?

1    8/17/2012   9/6/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 591  Reviewed: 544  Exp: 35.9 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It is the only course in Reno. There are some outstanding views of the surrounding areas. The course is set in a high desert park?, well, or more like a large vacant lot area. It does feature a nice amount of elevation to contend with and leads to enjoyable, if not quite epic downhill tosses on 13, 15 and 17. Unfortunately, you have hot, dusty, tiring climbs to get to those tee pads.

# 1 and # 2 holes are fun and challenging disc golf holes. Then from 3 on to about 13 the holes were overly long, hot, dusty, and mostly boring.

In the courses defense, we probably made the mistake of trying to play in the heat of an August afternoon. By the time we reached the three downhill holes, the course had totally beaten us down. My partner refused to hike up those hills. I managed to climb them and teeing off them was almost worth the climb.
Cons: For some reason, an irrigation system was on and the course was semi-flooded. Vast expanses of the dirt had smelly, sewer water trickling down the hillsides creating slippery, sticky messes which stuck to your discs and was extremely tricky to cross without falling on your buttocks. After a few crossings, my shoes were a goey mess and I was ready to shut it down for the day.

Too many of the holes are unnecessarily long. You don't need a 750 foot wide open uphill hole when a 600 footer would do the same trick. These long wide open holes quickly grew boring and redudant. And the wind wasn't even blowing.

And finishing at baskets stuck out in the middle of a dirt field creates no interest at all. It's here that the course developers could take a look at being a little creative and insert some manmade obstacles. Check out Brent Baca DGC in Alburqueque, NM, holes 2 and 11. They inserted railroad ties vertically in the ground surrounding the basket in a similiar desert terrain to spice up an otherwise very boring hole.
Another course to check out would be Schaefer DGC in Denver, CO. There, the course designers stuck dead trees trunks in the ground surrounding a basket to create an artifical forrest around the basket. It's very cool and makes an otherwise boring hole much challenging to play.
Other Thoughts: IF we had played in the early morning or evening and IF the irrigation had been turned off we might have enjoyed this coursed a little more. I'd really like to see someone shorten many of the holes and add a few manmade obstacles to a couple of the more boring basket locations. The course terrain is ugly but with a few improvements it could be made more player friendly.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Fun in Reno

2-4    8/30/2012   9/5/2012
Review By: ajjrt
Played: 14  Reviewed: 13
Pros: Wide open shots. Good mats for tee boxes. Pretty easy to get around (couple of holes could use direction arrows from 4 to 5, from 11 to 12, and looking down at 13 basket). Sunny, great views, easy location, few lizards.
Cons: Morning is the best time to play because of the wind and the heat (August). Direction signs to teeboxes and baskets would help. Bring plenty of water...the one fountain wasn't working. Portable bathroom very very very hot in afternoon.
Other Thoughts: Enjoyed playing the course. Will play again.

 Nice and open

1    6/24/2012   6/24/2012
Review By: lturner
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice shots from different altitudes, very easy to navigate, nice view of downtown and mountains, well maintained, not too crowded
Cons: Not extremely challenging, few trees, lots of sun
Other Thoughts: Definitely will play again!!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Reno Trip

1    5/26/2012   5/29/2012
Review By: freakyflyer
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: FOR ME THE PROS WERE THE OPEN SPACES WAS ABLE TO THROW DISCS I NORMALLY WOULDNT THROW JUST TO TAKE TIME TO LEARN THOSE HARD TO THROW FAST FADERS.
Cons: WIND , IT KEPT ME SECOND GUESSING. ALWAYS GO WITH YOUR FIRST PICK IT IS USALLY THE ONE TO GO WITH
Other Thoughts: GO EARLY MORNING OR EVENING IN THE SPRING, HEATS UP QUICKLY . BRING H2O AS WELL. AND MOST OF ALL FLICK FOR FUN, DON'T BE A BUM

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/1/2011   11/9/2011
Review By: man in red
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 12/10/2011
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: mixture of long and short holes, and a game of round 9 to practice putting. Change pins evey day.Right by a store that sells discs (Bicycle Bananas)
Cons: Discs get beat up, Cannot do rollers, Rubber tee pads, and easy to lose discs.
Other Thoughts: Best Holes 1,7,8,14,13, and 18. Front nine is long. back nine is short.If you play here use a fairway Driver.Every time I go to the Course I find minis. I have ten now.

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/23/2011   5/26/2011
Review By: toucan2306
Played: 41  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.7 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great use of altitude. A long walk, but a nice walk and well set up. I really enjoying playing here, might be because it is the only one in town but it is nice enough to play over and over again. Good use of multiple pins.
Cons: No real obsticles. I wish there were some more Mandos or something to force hard shots. The only real hardship is wind, which is there most days. But where it hurts some holes, it helps others. Can be really hard to find discs, they get stuck in sage or when the grass isnt cut can just sit in the grass hiding from you. Cant wait for real tee boxes either, kinda dangerous with the rubber ones.
Other Thoughts: I have played this course almost every single day for the last month. I dont get tired of it, when you get used to it they change the pin spot, making it a whole new course. Different than any course i have played, all about altitude and wind speed/direction. I enjoy it, i like to go on not nice days only because that is about the only time it isnt busy. WHEN WILL RENO WAKE UP AND MAKE ANOTHER COURSE!

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.