Reno, NV 
The Ranch Share
Uploaded By: Sloan Hole #12 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 372ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Basket



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 

5+    11/1/2011   11/9/2011
Review By: man in red
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 12/10/2011
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: mixture of long and short holes, and a game of round 9 to practice putting. Change pins evey day.Right by a store that sells discs (Bicycle Bananas)
Cons: Discs get beat up, Cannot do rollers, Rubber tee pads, and easy to lose discs.
Other Thoughts: Best Holes 1,7,8,14,13, and 18. Front nine is long. back nine is short.If you play here use a fairway Driver.Every time I go to the Course I find minis. I have ten now.

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/23/2011   5/26/2011
Review By: toucan2306
Played: 49  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.1 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great use of altitude. A long walk, but a nice walk and well set up. I really enjoying playing here, might be because it is the only one in town but it is nice enough to play over and over again. Good use of multiple pins.
Cons: No real obsticles. I wish there were some more Mandos or something to force hard shots. The only real hardship is wind, which is there most days. But where it hurts some holes, it helps others. Can be really hard to find discs, they get stuck in sage or when the grass isnt cut can just sit in the grass hiding from you. Cant wait for real tee boxes either, kinda dangerous with the rubber ones.
Other Thoughts: I have played this course almost every single day for the last month. I dont get tired of it, when you get used to it they change the pin spot, making it a whole new course. Different than any course i have played, all about altitude and wind speed/direction. I enjoy it, i like to go on not nice days only because that is about the only time it isnt busy. WHEN WILL RENO WAKE UP AND MAKE ANOTHER COURSE!

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Finally Finished!

5+    4/2/2011   4/3/2011
Review By: Chefkitty
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.9 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -All pins and tee pads are now in.
-There's three pin positions per hole.
-Great use of elevation where possible.
Cons: -Wind, and sometimes the dust that it kicks up
-Not enough garbage cans
-Afternoons, and spring can be insanely windy
Other Thoughts: Reno is in a desert, and as such, there's few physical obstacles to use. The ones that are on the course are used well. The elevation gains and losses are also used well, and give the course some interesting holes.

This is a distance course, as opposed to a finesse course. It's great for beginners, in that there's no trees to shoot around, and plenty of open space to learn how various discs behave. However, at the same time, it's also not very beginner friendly in that some of the longer holes (4, 8, 16..) can be very demoralizing to play because of how many shots it takes you to get to the pin.

It's not the best course by far, but it's a lot of fun to play.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Windy, Hilly, & Fun

1    10/26/2010   10/27/2010
Review By: elton807
Played: 56  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/27/2011
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Plenty of land, a creek, a national monument, and ground undulations that provide interesting terrain, unique views, and a great workout. Easy to find, plenty of parking, variety of shots and hole configurations. The back nine is very fun, with a unique straight uphill shot on 12, and a 500+ft downhill downwind teeshot on 16.
Cons: Baskets 4, 5, and 6 are missing making this section of the front nine a little frustrating. That being said, holes 1-3, and 7-9 are quite interesting.
Other Thoughts: I don't understand the knock on this course. The first 3 holes start off beautifully, but then the basketless 4-6 are a little disappointing. 7-9 finishes the front nine nicely and gets you ready for the super-hilly at times back nine. I'm looking forward to playing here again!
=================
Uniqueness: B+ (tons of space & variety of holes)
Difficulty: A- (long; elevation changes abound)
Fun factor: B+ (you'll get a workout; rewarding birdies)
Aesthetics: B+ (deserts aren't lush; awesome signs)
----------------------
Overall:B+

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Wind

1    5/25/2010   5/25/2010
Review By: Joe_Maumy
Played: 35  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Cool high desert course just outside downtown reno. Killer views. Holes are kind of the same except for some cool elevation changes on a couple. They have added 2 holes to start the front nine for a total as of today of 11 holes. Practice basket near parking area. Fun course, wind wind wind...
Cons: Nothing real negative on this place. Its dirty and windy and there is sagebrush but thats how it is here in Northern Nevada. Maybe some better markers to the next tee on a couple holes. They have started to line the trails with rocks which works cool too.
Other Thoughts: This is Rancho San Rafel Sports Park, not the city park. This is about a half mile past the other park. If your coming on Virginia just stay on it past the college and it will be on your left. Good for Reno to get a course, hope its the start of many more

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 At Least Reno Has A Course

2-4    10/15/2009   1/3/2010
Review By: Peanut
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 9 holes is better than nothing! The group has done as best a job as they can with the limited natural landscape. Elevation makes the holes at least a little difficult.
Cons: Because it is the only course, and only 9 holes, and perhaps because it is also near the University, the course seems crowded. The course really tears up the discs!
Other Thoughts: I am excited about the front 9. Hopefully it will be more difficult and more fun to play. I have a friend who has only played on this course and absolutely loves disc golf, so that is saying something!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 It is a course

1    6/22/2009   6/29/2009
Review By: Unkles27
Played: 68  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.3 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Excellent use of elevation, with some cool uphill and downhill shots. The course is well marked and flows pretty well, finding the next tee was never a problem. Pretty good baskets, lots of parking and multiple pin locations are a definite plus.
Cons: There are no obstacles! Besides one mando to keep you away from the parking lots there was nothing to keep you from throwing straight at the basket every time. The rocky shrubby terrain tore up my discs pretty good as well. Not much of a challenge or any really memorable shots or holes.
Other Thoughts: It is good that there is a course in Reno, and I can tell that they put some work into it. Unfortunately the location didn't provide any natural obstacles other than the elevation, which was used well.
If your looking to play disc golf in Reno, then this is it. Its not a terrible course to play, especially with beginners. The back 9 wasn't in yet so maybe that will improve the course.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Bad course, but the only one near Reno

1    6/4/2009   6/8/2009
Review By: ntwrk
Played: 16  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 18.4 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: At least there is a course in Reno
Cons: Bad back 9 layout, no obstacles to speak of, horrible tee markings, horrible tee pads (rubber mats staked into place, too short and uneven), the course actually only has 9 holes (10-18) the front 9 aren't in yet but the course map is drawn up like it is a full 18. Being from out of town we spent at least 15 minutes trying to find hole 1 since the course map shows a full 18, however there is only the back 9. If they ever put in the front 9 this course could be a 3 star, but no better.
Other Thoughts: If you live in Reno I guess since this is the only course around it wouldn't be too bad, but as far a courses go, this one is one of the worst I've played.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/24/2009   4/24/2009
Review By: elevated plastic
Played: 135  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/26/2011
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The pros are that Reno got a course.
good mix of distance on holes
nice elevation shots
baskets moved often
Cons: It is what it is, maybe a couple of trash cans.
There's one tree in play on the hole course
The tee pads on the back 9 are SHORT!
Other Thoughts: This course is 99.99% wide open but you still can have a good time here. Your enemy here is for sure the wind. The RDGC is taken good care of this course and I expect it to get better with time. For the land they had to work with I feel it was a pretty good design. Saturday 10:00am dubs

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.