Marion, IN 
Eastgate DGC Share
Uploaded By: chuckdisc Hole #10 (Taken 12/2009)
5 / 627ft.   5 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee Sign



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Mixed feelings

1    1/15/2011   2/20/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 763  Exp: 12.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a disc golf dedicated area with little interference from other activities. There is a mix of open holes and shots through some trees, with a couple nicely protected pins. A few shots bring the pond into play, including some water carries that add some cool risk/reward elements to the course.

The layout is creative, and maximizes the available space. There were course maps available in the mailbox by the first tee when I played, and they were very helpful in following the course layout. The baskets were all in good shape and caught fine. In addition to the main 18 hole layout, there is an alternate short 9 hole layout marked with red and white signs at tees and holes, offering an option for new players that has less distance and no water carries.
Cons: If more than one group is playing, this could be a really dangerous course. Nearly every shot crosses at least one other fairway, and you are often throwing right over other tees and baskets. Tees and baskets get reused as you go around the course, so you can end up shooting at the same basket from a different angle, another potential safety issue on a couple blind holes. There is a pavilion right next to one of the baskets, if it gets used for picnics etc., that could be a problem in nicer weather.

Several of the holes are wide open with no challenge, and don't really add anything to the course. Even with the map, it was difficult to follow at times due to how much backtracking you do, and how many holes are criss-crossing the same small area. The short 9 layout is a good thought, but it only adds to the confusion, especially with no real tee signs other than the numbered boards.
Other Thoughts: There are some fun holes out here, and I had a good time playing the course, but the way it's crammed in for 18 makes it a pretty unsafe place for more than one group to play and makes it difficult to follow even with a map. You could make a really cool 9-12 hole course on this property that would have most of the same cool holes without the crossing fairways and confusion.

There are enough options that beginners and intermediate level players can have a good time and be challenged without being overwhelmed. Better players will find a couple holes interesting and challenging, but otherwise it's not a very difficult course and doesn't force you to make very many different shots.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Interesting...

1    6/7/2010   6/10/2010
Review By: Jermy
Played: 60  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - They have baskets!
- Holes around the water are fun
- Easy to find / get to
Cons: - See other thoughts
Other Thoughts: I was debating whether or not to review this at all, As I didn't actually play the course. My group came to check this one out after playing Matter and ended up playin a round of safari golf as noone esle was around.
We were trying to play the course till hole 4, we saw signs for 4 and 17 and 6 and who knows, we were completely lost. The only signs in the ground were painted wood boards with hole numbers on them. There wasn't any sort of map for us to look at and noone else around so we just made up some holes - which was actually quite fun around the pond! Should definitely bring a floater for this course if your playing, they have canoes and stuff for you to retrieve it as well which was pretty cool.
It seemed like the course layout looped back around itself and was reusing tpads (which are natural) which could creat issues if several groups are playing at once. Several of the holes were literally in the middle of open fields with absolutely nothing around, could be good for practice?
Lots of thanks to the church, though, for setting this up and lettin people use their property and that beautiful pond to play around.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 FUN course

5+    2/2/2010   2/21/2010
Review By: chuckdisc
Played: 33  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 2/25/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Some nice shots around pond. 8 total different holes around the water
- A mix of long to short holes
- Wooded to open shots
- One rowboat and several paddleboats to retrieve a floating disc from pond.
- A nice 250 ft shot on hole 17 over the pond.
Cons: - Some holes by the highway so it can be loud and distracting at times.
- Some holes are very long. Hole 10 is 627 ft
- Only two tee signs on holes 1 & 10.
- A lot of water shots so you can lose disc easily. NEED FLOATING DISC
- Hole 8 & 18 are wide open shots. Wind can be a factor.
- Only 12 baskets but 18 holes, so players will cross paths and even shoot at same baskets
- You need to print a map if you never played there before
Other Thoughts: The course is clean and grass is maintian. Some times there is score sheet with map on it in mail box at hole 1. Course is a work in progress. Free to play but they have a donation box to help improve course. Played alot of rounds with the Pastor. He is very helpful to play with.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Course needs SERIOUS help

1    12/9/2009   12/9/2009
Review By: tom woods
Played: 135  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 18.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice little piece of land for a course. Privately owned by church? A few pines, some very young trees, a pond & wind could be fun to throw around. There are a few good holes on this course like 4 5 & i think 15 & 17 all cool over water shots.
Cons: I don't mean to be cruel but this may be the worst course design i've EVER seen. Intersecting fairways, this course does not flow. No way a tourney could ever happen here. Driving over other greens & tees is dangerous. I know not all couses are set up for tourney play & thats fine but c-mon man this cousre layout is mind numbingly bad. You'd have to try & play it to really understand how bad.
Other Thoughts: I really apprieciate the efforts, time & money that goes into putting in a course. I am gratefull for all efforts most discgolf work is vollenter. PLAESE consider calling in a golfer with course design experience & start over. Mabey consider 12 baskets with 24 tees

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Sometimes a Challenge

1    8/5/2009   8/5/2009
Review By: harrystaab
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.1 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The several holes surrounding the pond are all very challenging requiring careful placement or you will lose discs. Long holes are a lot of fun to drive on.
Cons: Too many bland holes throwing across an open field. Good if you just want to work on your distance shots I suppose but boring otherwise. The long holes would be great with some obstacles or shrubbery. Pond is too deep and murky for any hope to retrieve a lost disc. Not worth the risk. Holes are usually over-parred.
Other Thoughts: Lost an yellow-orange Valkyrie in the lake while shooting hole 15. Just before the reeds. We even swam for it for 15 minutes in the rain. Gross. Paddle boats and rowboats seem free to use if necessary...

Would be tough with multiple groups because holes cross each other often.

No pads, holes are marked but it isn't easy to tell where to go without a map.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Bring a Floater

1    5/15/2009   5/18/2009
Review By: zud00
Played: 118  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 6.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are a variety of hole lengths as well as difficulty. This course is well maintained and makes great use of the land that is available. Although there are only 12 baskets, you do not feel as though you are playing the same hole. Scorecards with a map and distances are available at the church.
Cons: There are a few open holes with no obstacles. I know it is a work in progress, but the tee signs and natural tee pads prevent me from rating the course higher.
Other Thoughts: The church the course lays on has done an excellent job of putting its' 23 acres to use. It has laid an 18 hole disc golf course using only 12 baskets. The holes range from wide open to fairly wooded, from very long to super short....there is a good variety of holes offered at Calvary DGC.

Some of the most difficult holes play around the plastic eating pond. This is where floaters would come in handy. I got a little too greedy and lost two discs in the water. A few of the holes playing around water require an accurate 300' drive if attempting to carry the water, however, you also have the option of laying up and playing it safe. Hole 17 is a great hole over the pond which requires only a ~230' drive over the water but to land on only a ~40' deep fairway. Floating discs are strongly recommended if you want to leave with the same number of discs in your bag. A row boat and a few paddle boats are available to use in order to retrieve discs that don't float back to shore.

There are a few holes in a cluster of trees, a few wide open holes, and a few short holes so scores can be on either side of par depending on how greedy you are playing.

This course will definitley rate higher with some sort of upgrade in tee signs and teepads. I would highly recommend getting a scorecard (with map printed on back) for easier navigation or just play with a local. When I played the course, I was greeted friendly by the pastor of the church who played and navigated me through the round.

I would recommend this course to anyone in the area; make sure you bring your floaters.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Loads of Fun!

5+    5/3/2009   5/5/2009
Review By: drock2k1
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/19/2009
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -PDGA approved metal baskets
-Opportunity for different shot selections
-Multiple risk/reward situations with difficult tee locations
-Course is not catered for sidearm or backhand throwers.
-Hole 17, signature hole
Cons: The pond has eaten many of my favorite discs.
Other Thoughts: Calvary is working on installing professional signs and tee pads and is always working to improve the course. Course is open to the public exept for Sunday 7:00am - 1:00pm and Wednesday 6:00pm -9:00pm. There are tournaments hosted every month and all proceeds are used for prizes and course upgrades. Make sure you bring a water disc. When the wind picks up the open holes can be brutal so you will also need some heavier discs. Make sure your discs are marked as any recovered discs will be returned to their rightful owner. Post lost discs or message me if you lose one that is unmarked.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.