Collegedale, TN 
Southern Adventist University DGC Share
Uploaded By: Cerealman Hole #5 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 245ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket: Beware of the stream in front of the basket.



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Fun course with some challenges

1    6/23/2012   6/29/2012
Review By: .DLB.
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: •Good Baskets
•Varied Hole Layouts
•Several types of throw Utilized
•Very nice campus
•Quiet Play with no traffic hardly to be heard (sometimes a train off in the distance)
Cons: •Holes 1 & 2 have overlapping fairways. This was a bummer for our first round because there was a group of students playing that had to throw ~3 times to get to the putting area on 2 while we waited to tee off on 1.
•As of June 23, 2012 there were still 3 holes missing due to construction (6, 7, 8).
•Grass was pretty high when we played, but not unbearable. Probably mowed every week to week and a half, we just caught it at a high time. This really killed any skips or slide action.
Other Thoughts: There were several good holes on this course, and I will certainly play it again. I would say it is unique to this area because it slightly favors forehand throws or LHBH. However, as a primarily RHBH I had no problem throwing understable discs and getting them to turn in as needed, and even some shots required some anhyzer with those.

Really liked #13 as it was a ~410' straight shot with a slight turn in the left at the end - perfect driving hole for RHBH players. #11 was fun as well, since the basket is hidden behind a utility building after a tree line. Good course all in all and enjoyable.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging, A test of patience

1    4/14/2011   4/15/2011
Review By: JSurmann
Played: 40  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 5.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Baskets still look brand new and are discatchers with the bright yellow band at the top so that you can easily see it from the tee. The tee pads are slightly longer than normal ones, but are also narrower. Nevertheless, concrete tees are in great shape. Signs are at each tee and are very descriptive and helpful.

Very well defined fairways and were mowed quite short where they needed to be. The 14 holes will want you to play a few more, but you can always play the first 4 again to make an even 18 holes and not be too far from the start.

Most holes are open with natural (and manmade) obstacles coming into play with each tee shot. These included brush, trees, a creek, and storage shed. Landing zones are only needed on a few holes due to the shorter length of the course.

Hole 1 plays uphill to the right and 2 downhill to the right. The next 3 holes had little to no elevation change but the baskets are strategically placed into openings in the woods and brush. Hole 6 has you throwing up a hill, 7 & 8 are throwing laterally on the side of a hill. Hole 9 is throwing into the woods and 10 runs parallel to a creek. 11-14 are flat but each have their own beauty.
Cons: As great as the signs were, they were installed ON the tee pad. Granted, they were placed at the rear of the tee pad, but it just added a sense of confinement on the tee.

The brush is brutal. Very thick on holes 2 and 3. Stay away at all costs. After trying to find a lost putter in the brush on 2 and a lost glide on 3, my arms and legs looked like I got in a fight with Edward Scissorhands.

Fairways of 1 & 2 intersect and could have been dangerous if it was a little more crowded.
Other Thoughts: Hole 1 has been moved to near the entrance of the tennis court. Look for the tee sign.

Overall this is a nice course and quite challenging. Since most college courses are designed to teach students about disc golf, I would have to say that might be a little daunting for beginners. This course also strongly favors LHBH and RHFH throwers.

There were many other activities going on at the same time but not once, did we have to stop playing to let others by.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Pay attention.

1    9/22/2010   9/23/2010
Review By: ShopTom.com
Played: 26  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Long concrete tees, detailed accurate signs, clean, well maintained.
Cons: Some unnecessary hole overlap, heavy traffic doing other things.
Other Thoughts: This course is designed pretty well to fit into the allotted space. They forced the use of natural hazards to make it more interesting. Make sure you are paying wide attention to those not sharing in your sport though. The course is intertwined through various other activities and they have the right of way.

I expect to be back soon and suggest you check it out too.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 :)

5+    6/2/2010   6/24/2010
Review By: dwellman
Played: 23  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 17.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/5/2010
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: If you're a LHBH or RHFH thrower-- this is a good course for you.
Cons: Innova DISCatcher
Other Thoughts: I do not have any real pros or cons to add what hasn't already been said, but I really appreciate the fact that Southern finally put a real disc golf course in (where an object course had existed years before). It serves as a nice alternative to the premier course in the Chattanooga area-- The Sinks-- for those that want a more leisurely pace,


1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful School, Beautiful Course

1    4/23/2010   4/23/2010
Review By: Fender088
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 7.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is located on a beautiful, small campus in an even smaller town. Although a tad out of the way, I still would consider this course to be in the Chattanooga area. Even though the course only has 14 holes, the elevation and distances make it feel like you've played a full 18. The course contains new baskets, signs, and concrete tees on every hole. Hole 1 even has an extremely helpful map of the entire course to decrease confusion. Although the course leans a little more towards anhyzer shots, there is still a good mix of drives. There is also a good mix of elevation. Most of the holes are open fairways with protected baskets. Sometimes they are hidden around a blind corner, but some are protected by random trees on the greens. A creek that runs through the middle of the course adds a legitimate water hazard on a few of the holes, though it's not deep enough to eat discs.
Cons: There are lots of students everywhere you turn. Although they are very friendly and helpful, they're still getting used to a disc golf course running through their recreation area. Be respectful of their home and they won't bother you.
There are facilities around the course, but I don't think that they're available to non-students so I wouldn't count on restrooms.
Experienced players might get bored with the open fairways, but distances should play long enough to present a challenge for all players playing this course for the first time.
Other Thoughts: I thought this course was another perfect example of how to put in a disc golf course on a college campus. I, for one, appreciate the fact that they didn't try to squeeze in another four holes at the expense of the flow of the course.
Don't be afraid to stop off at the Little Debbie factory while you're in Collegedale. Yet another contribution that Chattanooga has given the world!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Short but sweet

1    3/30/2010   3/31/2010
Review By: DGphanatic
Played: 15  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice tee pads. Good use of land and the trees around to make this course somewhat technical. The course is clean and the signs are accurate. There is a shop that sells discs near by, next to the parking lot.
Cons: Its not a full 18 holes and I would give the course 3.5 on rating if it did have the full course. Theres only 2 holes to really grip and rip. The rest are 210 to 260 from tee to pin. Having to share the course with many other activities going on in the area. example, ultimate frisbee leaguers on the soccer field right next to hole 13 which could be dangerous for them and possibly for you if you hit someone with a errant shot.
Other Thoughts: Nice course for locals and would be great if they could finish up the last 4 holes. I lost my star xcalibur on hole 2 with a flick shot that got lots of wind and went into the woods and yet to be found. If you find it please call me.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/28/2009   5/29/2009
Review By: Thundering Elephants
Played: 28  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/12/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice setting for a course. Some play variation: A few elevated holes, a few wooded holes, and one with water. Even though most are not considered wooded holes, an errant throw on most holes has the potential to put you in woods with brutal undergrowth. Grass is always cut. Not crowded. Concrete Tee Pads.
Cons: Some would consider the course to be too open. Pedestrians walking right through the course or sitting in the middle of it. It feels like there is a lot of walking involved, even though the layout is decent.
Other Thoughts: Reminds me somewhat of Cloudland Canyon (except the grass on this course is always mowed) and is a nice course with decent variation of play. I hope they can find a way to add four more to make this an 18 hole course. As of 8/7/2009, they have just added 5 new holes, 7,8,11,12,13. The old 9 is the new 14. To get to the new #11, after hole 10, take the path to the right (facing the same direction as you teed off) walk maybe 200 feet and you'll see a path out of the woods over a small bridge to your left. Take that and walk out into the field and probably 20 feet out of the woods is the teepad for hole 11 and the basket is out of sight on around to the right near the softball fields. I've tried to update the map for the new holes. New hole # 7 is obvious after 6 is played. Hopefully with my explanation and the updated map, it will make sense. Also, new concrete teepads are now installed and the signs are also in. One con with the tee pads is they installed the sign posts in the rear right of the teepad. It kind of gets in the way, but I assume they did that for mowing purposes. The tee pads are a little longer than most, so the poles may not get in everyone's way.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  

1    4/24/2009   4/26/2009
Review By: Crimsonblue03
Played: 21  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Located on a beautiful university campus. Makes use of the creek and woods some. There is one elevation shot.
Cons: Many shots are open, with very few obstacles. There are not shots that are very long, and most are less than 300 feet.
Other Thoughts: The tee boxes have not been installed yet, so it can be hard to find where you throw from. There is orange paint that marks the four corners of the tee box positions and you can look for the dirt spots.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.