Disc Golf Store
Collegedale, TN 
Southern Adventist University DGC Share
Uploaded By: Cerealman Hole #6 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 259ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Southern Adventist

2-4    9/6/2014   9/6/2014
Review By: Mateuis
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *The construction is over, all 14 holes are there and playable.*
Very nice baskets
Mostly open fairways
Clearly marked holes and pins
Challenging hole positions
Nice creek runs through the middle of the course, very refreshing to take a lunch break at or relax for a little while
Cons: Good luck finding your disc if you throw it in the woods, super thick brush.
Course holds quite a bit of water in some areas.
Very thick grass, which holds a ton of water. (my shoes were soaked)
Scenery isn't that great
Other Thoughts: This is a nice course to go and throw around on once and a while for a good challenge or to practice certain shots, but overall I would just consider it average. I would recommend this course for people looking to just have fun, and aren't worried about losing a disc.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

where is the pin?

1    6/19/2013   6/20/2013
Review By: jonray82
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 15.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well its a disc golf course so thats definately a pro! Now about the course....I will have to say that I was rather surprised that a college campus would dedicate this much property to a disc golf course.... the course is fun but not too difficult so anyone could play it... lthough its only fourteen holes they are a good fourteen holes ranging from 250 to 450 feet long and go from open field to over the creek shots and even some woods holes... I liked how some of the brush was cut out to place pins...very well hidden but definitely birdieable with a great shot!
Cons: The baseball field construction has 3 of the holes 6 7 and 8 cut out but they are still playable...meaning the signs and tee pads are there just no baskets....I still played the wholes and threw to where the baskets would be as shown on the tee signs...
Other Thoughts: Worth taking an hour or so and playing if youre driving through!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/23/2013   5/23/2013
Review By: Spurgeonsigns
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Southern Adventist DGC is definitely one of my favorites in the area. I play at least 2 rounds there weekly. On top of being a beautiful and relaxing location it has a wide variety of shots including a few over a flowing creek. The distances and challenges vary from just over 200' down a wooded path to 410' to a basket sitting a few feet from the creek. In my opinion Southern has all the diversity and challenges I like in a course.
Cons: Baskets for 6-8 are still out and have been for over 2 years. Teepads and signs are in, 2 of the 3 sleeves are in also but no baskets. We occasionally bring out portables for Wednesday doubles but usually just skip those holes on regular days. As soon as the new ballfields are complete those baskets are suppose to be replaced. Oh yeah, almost forgot about the signs on the teepads. Definitely need to be moved to the side.
Other Thoughts: Overall a great course. I'll continue to play regularly.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course with some challenges

1    6/23/2012   6/29/2012
Review By: .DLB.
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: •Good Baskets
•Varied Hole Layouts
•Several types of throw Utilized
•Very nice campus
•Quiet Play with no traffic hardly to be heard (sometimes a train off in the distance)
Cons: •Holes 1 & 2 have overlapping fairways. This was a bummer for our first round because there was a group of students playing that had to throw ~3 times to get to the putting area on 2 while we waited to tee off on 1.
•As of June 23, 2012 there were still 3 holes missing due to construction (6, 7, 8).
•Grass was pretty high when we played, but not unbearable. Probably mowed every week to week and a half, we just caught it at a high time. This really killed any skips or slide action.
Other Thoughts: There were several good holes on this course, and I will certainly play it again. I would say it is unique to this area because it slightly favors forehand throws or LHBH. However, as a primarily RHBH I had no problem throwing understable discs and getting them to turn in as needed, and even some shots required some anhyzer with those.

Really liked #13 as it was a ~410' straight shot with a slight turn in the left at the end - perfect driving hole for RHBH players. #11 was fun as well, since the basket is hidden behind a utility building after a tree line. Good course all in all and enjoyable.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 beautifully but not completely

1    8/22/2011   8/23/2011
Review By: bama9125
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: beautiful area! nice view. and lot of variety of shot required. mostly LH anzyher.
hole 1 go uphill on little left in front of fence
hole 2 go downhill but use backhand if plan throw LH anzyher. the basket is hide in right side. cant see it from teepad.
hole 3 and 4 same design, throw straight then sharp right at end. hole 5 straight ahead but beward, 2 big trees in between and have to across the creek .
hole 6 to 9 is closed due to construction.. even though posted july 26 and said for 2 weeks. well played on august 22, almost month yet not open. hole 10 straight ahead but avoid trees if possible.
hole 11 342 feet but the basket is way ahead right. throw straight toward fence then turn right then throw to end corner of shed and baseball field.
hole 12 is easy one of all. throw straight but thru bigh tree.
hole 13 is brutal bec over 400 feet. it said par 3 but it deserve a par 4. then last hole 14 is straight ahead and slightly right. avoid the tree in front u on ur right.
Cons: hole 1 and hole 2 conflict if 2 groups of disc golfer playing, and construction in way and seems wont finished soon. disappoint not play hole 6 to 9. no bathroom if ur visitors.
Other Thoughts: overall nice to play and relax. i lives abt 45 min from there so i will go if i m with group :)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 update on collegdale course

5+    7/21/2011   7/21/2011
Review By: chrishank
Played: 24  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is set on a christian college campus. Well maintained and a variety of shots. It now also has a practice hole where hole one used to be at. It still has 14 holes tho. My favorite hole would probably hole 2. It goes down the hill and tucked behind a small section of woods. Very fun course and closest to my house so I play this one regulary.
Cons: Right now constuction has holes 6 through 9 out of commision. They are doing something with the baseball fields on other side of the creek. It is only suppose to be for 2 weeks tho. Also on hole 10 there is grass in the trench that is taller than me. Lol. I believe its due to the constuction as well. Also hole one does not have a teepad.
Other Thoughts: If you have not played this course in a while you will not know hole one has been changed. A practice hole, only 150, now takes the place of hole one. They moved hole one to the end of the tennis court. No teepad for it but it does have a sign.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging, A test of patience

1    4/14/2011   4/15/2011
Review By: JSurmann
Played: 40  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Baskets still look brand new and are discatchers with the bright yellow band at the top so that you can easily see it from the tee. The tee pads are slightly longer than normal ones, but are also narrower. Nevertheless, concrete tees are in great shape. Signs are at each tee and are very descriptive and helpful.

Very well defined fairways and were mowed quite short where they needed to be. The 14 holes will want you to play a few more, but you can always play the first 4 again to make an even 18 holes and not be too far from the start.

Most holes are open with natural (and manmade) obstacles coming into play with each tee shot. These included brush, trees, a creek, and storage shed. Landing zones are only needed on a few holes due to the shorter length of the course.

Hole 1 plays uphill to the right and 2 downhill to the right. The next 3 holes had little to no elevation change but the baskets are strategically placed into openings in the woods and brush. Hole 6 has you throwing up a hill, 7 & 8 are throwing laterally on the side of a hill. Hole 9 is throwing into the woods and 10 runs parallel to a creek. 11-14 are flat but each have their own beauty.
Cons: As great as the signs were, they were installed ON the tee pad. Granted, they were placed at the rear of the tee pad, but it just added a sense of confinement on the tee.

The brush is brutal. Very thick on holes 2 and 3. Stay away at all costs. After trying to find a lost putter in the brush on 2 and a lost glide on 3, my arms and legs looked like I got in a fight with Edward Scissorhands.

Fairways of 1 & 2 intersect and could have been dangerous if it was a little more crowded.
Other Thoughts: Hole 1 has been moved to near the entrance of the tennis court. Look for the tee sign.

Overall this is a nice course and quite challenging. Since most college courses are designed to teach students about disc golf, I would have to say that might be a little daunting for beginners. This course also strongly favors LHBH and RHFH throwers.

There were many other activities going on at the same time but not once, did we have to stop playing to let others by.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Hidden Gem!

1    10/16/2010   10/16/2010
Review By: johnnyfoodstamp
Played: 25  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice tee signs and pads. Solid baskets. Nice design with the area they had to work with. Lots of variety. Good mix of short/long/tight/open. Helpful locals. Very scenic campus.
Cons: Kind of hard to find.
Other Thoughts: Lots of other people on course. Shot hard in the rough on 2 trying to avoid 2 people laying in the fairway. An unavoidable problem and not a big deal really. I enjoyed this course but probably won't make a special trip to come back.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pay attention.

1    9/22/2010   9/23/2010
Review By: ShopTom.com
Played: 26  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Long concrete tees, detailed accurate signs, clean, well maintained.
Cons: Some unnecessary hole overlap, heavy traffic doing other things.
Other Thoughts: This course is designed pretty well to fit into the allotted space. They forced the use of natural hazards to make it more interesting. Make sure you are paying wide attention to those not sharing in your sport though. The course is intertwined through various other activities and they have the right of way.

I expect to be back soon and suggest you check it out too.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Place...to visit.

1    7/8/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: pastorfrf
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well Maintained.
Very Nice People!
Changes in elevation.
Cons: A lot of right turns.
Other Thoughts: Enjoyed it though the temp hit 100 while I was there...being from Florida that was not too bad. The hills did make it challenging for me. I met several students pruning and keeping the area immaculate. The greens are very wide open.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.