Collegedale, TN
Southern Adventist University DGC Share
Uploaded By: Cerealman Hole #2 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 280ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee: Basket is located behind woods to right; accurate anhyzer required to reach green.



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Beautiful School, Beautiful Course

1    4/23/2010   4/23/2010
Review By: Fender088
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is located on a beautiful, small campus in an even smaller town. Although a tad out of the way, I still would consider this course to be in the Chattanooga area. Even though the course only has 14 holes, the elevation and distances make it feel like you've played a full 18. The course contains new baskets, signs, and concrete tees on every hole. Hole 1 even has an extremely helpful map of the entire course to decrease confusion. Although the course leans a little more towards anhyzer shots, there is still a good mix of drives. There is also a good mix of elevation. Most of the holes are open fairways with protected baskets. Sometimes they are hidden around a blind corner, but some are protected by random trees on the greens. A creek that runs through the middle of the course adds a legitimate water hazard on a few of the holes, though it's not deep enough to eat discs.
Cons: There are lots of students everywhere you turn. Although they are very friendly and helpful, they're still getting used to a disc golf course running through their recreation area. Be respectful of their home and they won't bother you.
There are facilities around the course, but I don't think that they're available to non-students so I wouldn't count on restrooms.
Experienced players might get bored with the open fairways, but distances should play long enough to present a challenge for all players playing this course for the first time.
Other Thoughts: I thought this course was another perfect example of how to put in a disc golf course on a college campus. I, for one, appreciate the fact that they didn't try to squeeze in another four holes at the expense of the flow of the course.
Don't be afraid to stop off at the Little Debbie factory while you're in Collegedale. Yet another contribution that Chattanooga has given the world!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/23/2010   4/23/2010
Review By: SirRaph
Played: 74  Reviewed: 17
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fairways are well-kept.
Baskets are nice.

Though many of the shots are straight-on tunnel shots, the rough is very punishing. Lots of underbrush, low-hanging branches and some pricker vines. I lost a disc that landed only a couple feet into the rough.
Cons: Signs for each hole are cemented 6" into corner of the tee box, which creates some very awkward steps into the toss.

The course weaves in and out of a number of heavily used tennis courts, soccer fields, a baseball diamond, some walking paths and a running track.
For some reason, they decided to place a picnic table next to a couple of the pins. So if there are any students out and about, you may find yourself skipping some holes to avoid them.
I ended up chasing a couple around the last 5 holes of the course, as they moved from bench to bench to avoid me.

...very awkward.
Other Thoughts: Be careful on hole 8. The rough off to the right has some rusty barbed wire hiding in the brush.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short but sweet

1    3/30/2010   3/31/2010
Review By: DGphanatic
Played: 15  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice tee pads. Good use of land and the trees around to make this course somewhat technical. The course is clean and the signs are accurate. There is a shop that sells discs near by, next to the parking lot.
Cons: Its not a full 18 holes and I would give the course 3.5 on rating if it did have the full course. Theres only 2 holes to really grip and rip. The rest are 210 to 260 from tee to pin. Having to share the course with many other activities going on in the area. example, ultimate frisbee leaguers on the soccer field right next to hole 13 which could be dangerous for them and possibly for you if you hit someone with a errant shot.
Other Thoughts: Nice course for locals and would be great if they could finish up the last 4 holes. I lost my star xcalibur on hole 2 with a flick shot that got lots of wind and went into the woods and yet to be found. If you find it please call me.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/24/2009   6/24/2009
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 228  Reviewed: 224  Exp: 17.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice 9-hole course on college campus. Baskets are new and numbered and are clearly seen. Most of the holes are wide open, but baskets are strategically placed. Holes 3 and 4 were the same, but the rest made for a nice variety.

Grass was freshly mowed making for solid footing and easy disc finding. The rough can be punishing if you throw a disc in there.

The course map available via the link on this site was very informative and helpful. I played during the summer and there was ample parking and we had the course to ourselves.
Cons: There are currently no signs or teepads. There was also no orange paint outlining tees, we just made up tees based on the map and some worn dirt spots that we thought could be the tees.

There are signs posted stating only students and faculty can use facilities or at least get priority, but you could probably ask permission to play in the wellness center when school is in session. The course is also closed on Saturdays due to religious observations.
Other Thoughts: Print a course map before playing, as it is the only way to know where to tee off and where to go next until they get pads and signs installed. On holes 1 and 5 we used the sidewalk. Hole 8 plays down the mulch walking path (we teed off from a dirt spot beside the baseball field, but later found out that was wrong.)

There is a small creek "in play" on holes 4, 5, and 9, but there is no danger of losing a disc.

This course is designed more for casual players and will be an excellent course of this type once tees are installed. It would not be very difficult for more advanced players, but it still has some fun holes.

From the interstate, when you get to campus, turn left into the wellness center and the course is behind the building. Hole 1 is between the tennis courts.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Home in Happy Valley

5+    6/5/2009   6/8/2009
Review By: Cerealman
Played: 36  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/17/2009
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: * Beautiful setting with good use of available resources
* Several wide open holes with a few in the woods
* Usually not crowded
* New INNOVA baskets
Cons: * No teepads
* Course tricky to navigate for first-timers
* The fairway for Hole #1 is in between the tennis courts, so be careful throwing if the courts are in use!
* The brush / woods on Holes #2-4 contain some thornbushes and are pretty difficult to manage if your disc goes in there. Wear long pants if you tend to veer off course.
Other Thoughts: ***** UPDATE (7-17-09) ******

* Plans are being made to put in teepads with signs in the near future. There is also the potential for additional holes in the near future.

* The disc golf course is not for student or faculty use only as the above post says -- those signs apply to use of the tennis courts.

* The course is not closed on Saturday.

* If you found well-worn dirt spots, you are probably in the correct location of the "teepads"

---------------------

* A water fountain is located beyond Hole #9 past the jogging track.

A quick analysis of the holes:

Hole One: Tee is on the sidewalk at the corner of the tennis court. The basket resides on a hill, which makes "going for" any putt longer than 20 feet an adventure, as your disc could easily roll down the hill. It's advised to throw your drive below the basket. I hate playing like a sissy and laying up for par, but I usually regret my decision to go for the birdie if I'm too far away.

Hole Two: A huge anhyzer required to get to the basket. Avoid the woods / shrubbery on the right at all costs -- hit the deep stuff on your drive and you can expect a bogey. The basket is located on a nice flat area.

Hole Three: Another anhyzer required to get near the basket. Beware of the brush on the right side of the fairway. Also, watch out for the stream located just beyond the basket.

Hole Four: Tee located alongside the tennis courts. Another anhyzer required to reach the mouth of the opening in the woods. While the hole isn't too long, an accurate drive is essential to have a shot at birdie.

Hole Five: One of the best holes on the course. Trees guard the basket, which is located just past the stream. Birdie is possible if you keep your disc dry.

Hole Six: Tee is a short walk from the basket on #5 -- location is beyond the center field fence of the nearby softball field. Aim right with your hyzer and make sure your drive doesn't go left.

Hole Seven: One of the shorter holes on the course isn't a gimme. Hitting the entrance into the woods necessary to make par. The area behind the basket is guarded by trees and a hill, so there's low risk for being aggressive on your putt if you keep it straight.

Hole Eight: Most likely hole for birdie. Avoid the trees on the left and the woods on the right and you're sitting pretty.

Hole Nine: Longest hole on the course. Keep your drive in the fairway and you're fine.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/28/2009   5/29/2009
Review By: Thundering Elephants
Played: 28  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/12/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice setting for a course. Some play variation: A few elevated holes, a few wooded holes, and one with water. Even though most are not considered wooded holes, an errant throw on most holes has the potential to put you in woods with brutal undergrowth. Grass is always cut. Not crowded. Concrete Tee Pads.
Cons: Some would consider the course to be too open. Pedestrians walking right through the course or sitting in the middle of it. It feels like there is a lot of walking involved, even though the layout is decent.
Other Thoughts: Reminds me somewhat of Cloudland Canyon (except the grass on this course is always mowed) and is a nice course with decent variation of play. I hope they can find a way to add four more to make this an 18 hole course. As of 8/7/2009, they have just added 5 new holes, 7,8,11,12,13. The old 9 is the new 14. To get to the new #11, after hole 10, take the path to the right (facing the same direction as you teed off) walk maybe 200 feet and you'll see a path out of the woods over a small bridge to your left. Take that and walk out into the field and probably 20 feet out of the woods is the teepad for hole 11 and the basket is out of sight on around to the right near the softball fields. I've tried to update the map for the new holes. New hole # 7 is obvious after 6 is played. Hopefully with my explanation and the updated map, it will make sense. Also, new concrete teepads are now installed and the signs are also in. One con with the tee pads is they installed the sign posts in the rear right of the teepad. It kind of gets in the way, but I assume they did that for mowing purposes. The tee pads are a little longer than most, so the poles may not get in everyone's way.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  

1    4/24/2009   4/26/2009
Review By: Crimsonblue03
Played: 21  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Located on a beautiful university campus. Makes use of the creek and woods some. There is one elevation shot.
Cons: Many shots are open, with very few obstacles. There are not shots that are very long, and most are less than 300 feet.
Other Thoughts: The tee boxes have not been installed yet, so it can be hard to find where you throw from. There is orange paint that marks the four corners of the tee box positions and you can look for the dirt spots.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.