Paradise, CA 
Lava Creek DGC Share
Uploaded By: jimbosprint Hole #12 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / 286ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  Disc Golf in Paradise

5+    1/25/2014   9/1/2013
Review By: DTcrew4
Played: 24  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 6/2/2014
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Beautiful course with lots of grass.
Multiple pin positions on EVERY hole.
Grassy course keeps your discs lasting longer.
Cons: This is a nice course that I live less than a mile from. That being said I may never play here again. The owners, Ana and Tony, are the most disrespectful business owners I've ever come across. That alone will keep me from playing there.

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Open Spaces!!!

2-4    4/21/2013   4/21/2013
Review By: SamanthaWDG
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/24/2013
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: -nice lawns
- interesting holes that go uphill and downhill
Plus you can buy drinks and I think food too. Restrooms at the 18th hole!
Cons: You do have to pay, but it's nice to have lawns and a store.
Real golfers have you moving aside.
Some course don't have flags to see where you are throwing.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Paradise!

2-4    4/10/2013   4/10/2013
Review By: zofo
Played: 16  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.8 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course nestled in a golf course. The scenery is very nice with a vineyard, creek, and tall pines. The tee pads are nice. Course is easy to navigate. Hole one sets you up as you look down from the clubhouse and see tons of green to air it out. I think the course layout and optional tee placement makes for a challenge. This course will let you air it out and test your accuracy. Great elevation changes and interesting water hazards to navigate.
Cons: Would be nicer if there were tee signs. I have to agree that most of the holes can be thrown RHBH so maybe a little more variety with optional pin placement or mandos.
Other Thoughts: I like hole 3. basket nestled behind trees so not easy for righty or lefty. I like the elevation changes as it tricks you with the distance. Water hazards are very interesting. Makes you think about laying up or going for it and possiblity of taking a bath. Lost a disc in the vineyard waiting to see if it will get returned. There is a nice little shop and the lady who runs the course was very friendly. Might be the best selection of plastic north of Sacramento. It is a pay by play not much $4 and well worth it. Course had others but never seems crowded with all of the space. Come for the scenery, fun course, and nice people you won't be disappointed!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Picturesque and Serene- A destination course

5+    2/23/2013   2/26/2013
Review By: cyndibaker
Played: 26  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.7 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: All the fun of disc golf with all the class of ball golf. Gorgeous fairways, vineyard views, and a lovely patio to enjoy a cold beverage before a round. The new pro shop has a great disc selection and a knowledgable proprietor. Now that the course designers have installed more pin positions there is even more distance and variation. Nice tunnel shots on holes 10 and 12 and a twisty wooded fairway in hole 3... Not sure what the other reviewer was talking about. Almost all the holes have trees in play and I have yet to par hole "elevy". A nor cal must play!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Pease Paradise

5+    2/20/2013   2/21/2013
Review By: flipphone
Played: 34  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/1/2014
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Fun spot
Some good long holes
Some shorter technical holes
the new alternatives are fun
Good weeklies and tourneys are organized at this course
And the course owner is sweet as pie
Cons: This course used to be one of my favorites, Mike was the man putting in 40+ hours a week making this course awesome, the greedy owners have driven him away and screwed him over and I will no long be supporting them.
Other Thoughts: There is no longer a pro shop at this course by the way.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Deceives you into thinking you're better than you really are

5+    12/29/2012   1/8/2013
Review By: xjsnowbum
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great for beginners
Wide Open
Elevation changes
Never closed for rain
Nice scenery w/ vineyard in summer/fall
Different than most wooded NorCal courses
Pro Shop
Electric Carts on Saturdays
Cons: RHBH dominant
Consistent, long, wide open throws
No technicality only distance
Little improvement over time for "pay" course
People rarely return lost discs
Other Thoughts: This course can be a lot of fun, but would get monotonous as a "home" course. It really tricks you into thinking that you are a much, much better player than you really are due to the lack of any type of throw other than the Right hand hyzer/Left hand turnover, no tight fairways, no low ceilings, and minimal OB. 16 of 18 hole are RHBH.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Country-Club Disc Golf

5+    11/17/2012   11/19/2012
Review By: nickrew1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.8 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Accommodates to all types of golfers, beginners to pros with long arms.
Concrete Tees, new baskets
Plenty of shade for the summer months
Cold drinks in the clubhouse
Wide variety of Discs sold by Mike Pease in the shop
Some nice elevation shots
Cons: Pay to play course, only $3 bucks however
Missing detailed hole signs/alternate positions
Not always a problem, but you do need to be aware of the ball golfers at times. Not a popular course though.
Definitely favors a RHBH player
Other Thoughts: A very nice addition to the Chico area disc golf scene. You can play quickly here and not worry to much about hiking/ losing discs. Definitely worth the money to play this course

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Statement Retracted

5+    2/16/2013   4/6/2012
Review By: SnowvsFire
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 12/27/2014
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Things are starting to look up at Lava Creek. I retracted my last review. This course is much more enjoyable now. Keep up the good work. Its makes it nicer to purchase the 10 round card for a $1 off a round too.
Cons: Muddy tee pads, still quite RHBH dominated even with alternates.
Other Thoughts: Ana and tony are terrible people!!!!!!!

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A fun time.

2-4    3/3/2012   3/3/2012
Review By: nelsofthewoods
Played: 39  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 1/25/2014
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -This is a great distance course. Mostly open shots, but a fair amount of technical holes as well. Anybody with a big arm will enjoy this course.
-They do a good job maintaining the place.
-Good location, weather-wise. Paradise will be a little cooler in the summer than the valley courses. Also no tall weeds or rocks to play through.
Cons: -Pay to play. Worth it though, probably shouldn't even be listed as a con because it covers maintenance and makes a more dedicated disc-golfer demographic overall.
-Remember when I said it's a great course for people with big arms? Well I don't have one! (...yet)
-Seriously having trouble coming up with legitimate cons. Perhaps some of the mandos or the ball golfers could rub some people the wrong way.
Other Thoughts: I must admit that when I first heard the course was on an operational (ball) golf course I was skeptical. But, after playing I must say that it was not a hindrance at all. The layout was done well in that regard.

That is about as much input as I can give, hope it inspires you to go check it out.

(after playing again I thought I needed to update my review here, bumped it up half a star, and went into some detail.)

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Paradise in Paradise

2-4    6/22/2011   6/23/2011
Review By: Norcal Scot
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.8 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Nice open course
- Owners are always improving it
- Good variety of skill level challenges
- Anna, the owner, is GREAT!
- People are all pretty chill
Cons: - Blackberry bushes...OUCH!
- Hole 9...too soggy
- Hole 1 is too long for a first hole (IMHO)
Other Thoughts: A very enjoyable course to play. P- Town representing!!

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.