Paradise, CA 
Lava Creek DGC Share
Uploaded By: jimbosprint Hole #18 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / 312ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Pease Paradise

5+    2/20/2013   2/21/2013
Review By: flipphone
Played: 33  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/1/2014
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Fun spot
Some good long holes
Some shorter technical holes
the new alternatives are fun
Good weeklies and tourneys are organized at this course
And the course owner is sweet as pie
Cons: This course used to be one of my favorites, Mike was the man putting in 40+ hours a week making this course awesome, the greedy owners have driven him away and screwed him over and I will no long be supporting them.
Other Thoughts: There is no longer a pro shop at this course by the way.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Deceives you into thinking you're better than you really are

5+    12/29/2012   1/8/2013
Review By: xjsnowbum
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great for beginners
Wide Open
Elevation changes
Never closed for rain
Nice scenery w/ vineyard in summer/fall
Different than most wooded NorCal courses
Pro Shop
Electric Carts on Saturdays
Cons: RHBH dominant
Consistent, long, wide open throws
No technicality only distance
Little improvement over time for "pay" course
People rarely return lost discs
Other Thoughts: This course can be a lot of fun, but would get monotonous as a "home" course. It really tricks you into thinking that you are a much, much better player than you really are due to the lack of any type of throw other than the Right hand hyzer/Left hand turnover, no tight fairways, no low ceilings, and minimal OB. 16 of 18 hole are RHBH.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Country-Club Disc Golf

5+    11/17/2012   11/19/2012
Review By: nickrew1
Played: 70  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 1.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Accommodates to all types of golfers, beginners to pros with long arms.
Concrete Tees, new baskets
Plenty of shade for the summer months
Cold drinks in the clubhouse
Wide variety of Discs sold by Mike Pease in the shop
Some nice elevation shots
Cons: Pay to play course, only $3 bucks however
Missing detailed hole signs/alternate positions
Not always a problem, but you do need to be aware of the ball golfers at times. Not a popular course though.
Definitely favors a RHBH player
Other Thoughts: A very nice addition to the Chico area disc golf scene. You can play quickly here and not worry to much about hiking/ losing discs. Definitely worth the money to play this course

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Statement Retracted

5+    2/16/2013   4/6/2012
Review By: SnowvsFire
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.8 Years
This review was updated on 2/19/2013
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Things are starting to look up at Lava Creek. I retracted my last review. This course is much more enjoyable now. Keep up the good work. Its makes it nicer to purchase the 10 round card for a $1 off a round too.
Cons: Muddy tee pads, still quite RHBH dominated even with alternates.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

A fun time.

2-4    3/3/2012   3/3/2012
Review By: nelsofthewoods
Played: 30  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/25/2014
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -This is a great distance course. Mostly open shots, but a fair amount of technical holes as well. Anybody with a big arm will enjoy this course.
-They do a good job maintaining the place.
-Good location, weather-wise. Paradise will be a little cooler in the summer than the valley courses. Also no tall weeds or rocks to play through.
Cons: -Pay to play. Worth it though, probably shouldn't even be listed as a con because it covers maintenance and makes a more dedicated disc-golfer demographic overall.
-Remember when I said it's a great course for people with big arms? Well I don't have one! (...yet)
-Seriously having trouble coming up with legitimate cons. Perhaps some of the mandos or the ball golfers could rub some people the wrong way.
Other Thoughts: I must admit that when I first heard the course was on an operational (ball) golf course I was skeptical. But, after playing I must say that it was not a hindrance at all. The layout was done well in that regard.

That is about as much input as I can give, hope it inspires you to go check it out.

(after playing again I thought I needed to update my review here, bumped it up half a star, and went into some detail.)

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Paradise in Paradise

2-4    6/22/2011   6/23/2011
Review By: Norcal Scot
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.2 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Nice open course
- Owners are always improving it
- Good variety of skill level challenges
- Anna, the owner, is GREAT!
- People are all pretty chill
Cons: - Blackberry bushes...OUCH!
- Hole 9...too soggy
- Hole 1 is too long for a first hole (IMHO)
Other Thoughts: A very enjoyable course to play. P- Town representing!!

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 My first experience mixing with ball golfers

2-4    1/18/2011   1/24/2011
Review By: humchris85
Played: 113  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 9.2 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Beautiful well manicured ball golf course for a location
- Nice mix of elevation change with uphills, downhills, and sidehills to challenge golfers
- Holes tend to be longer, with a few shorter ace-able mixed in
- Clubhouse with cold beer for sale, and other drinks, but who needs those
- Very disc golf friendly staff
- Small fee to play helps keep the riff-raff off of the course
- Friendly locals (Jimbosprint lives just down the hill in Chico and plays up here offten, hit him up if your playing)
- Small disc slection in clubhouse the last time I went through with some from the Anderson Valley Brewing Company
- Creek and small pond both come into play on a few holes
- Large area located neer the back of the course may be used in the future to make an extra 18 holes of completely diffrent disc golf
- Scorecards / Maps and pencils are avaliable at the clubhouse
Cons: - Holes are marked by White sticks in the ground with the hole # on it, no real signs
- 4$ Pay to play
- Ball golfers arn't carefull and arn't very good at yelling "fore" when they allmost nail you with a drive
- Can get realy muddy in some areas during the winter
- Beers are a bit expensive there, but what do you expect, it's a ball golf course
- A little too open for my taste, but for some this is a plus
- Could use a couple of par 4's or 5's :D
Other Thoughts: This is a beutifull 18 hole course set amongst a 9 hole ball golf course. This makes allmost the whole course green and beutifull year round. They do charge a 4$ fee to play but this helps to keep unwanted elements from playing out here, and helps keep the course looking as beutifull as it does. The owners are very receptive to disc golfers and treat us with a respect that we usualy don't get from ball golfers. There are a couple of areas that seem to get slick and muddy during the winter months, but the ball golfers were nowhere to be seen then. There are a couple of areas whre the ball golf and disc golf get to where they might have problems, but these are solved with some nice mandos. There is a need for the disc golf holes to get some good signs, but I think it's just a matter of time before they do it. Jimbosprint was also telling me that they have plans to put in another 18 holes in some unused space down by the creek in the back of the course. We just need to keep disc golfers coming out there, until the point that they realize that they can make more money catering to disc golfers than ball golfers.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Best in Butte County

5+    9/25/2010   9/27/2010
Review By: guido
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good long and short holes. Very open course except for hole 12. Very friendly golfers and staff. This course is worth the $4.00 to play. Got green grass to walk on and nice baskets. There are tournaments every Saturday at 2:30, just call ahead. There is an Ace pot so during the tournament if you get an ace you get so much, the money goes up every week. Last pot was $156.
Cons: Can't play on Thursday's because the course if reserved for a Men's Golfing Leage.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Cool Course Near Chico

1    8/17/2010   8/17/2010
Review By: hooboy
Played: 49  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 6.8 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of elevation changes on a course that goes "out and back" through a ravine that also houses a 9 hole ball golf course (also a con). The baskets here look brand new. They have done more than just plop down baskets amidst the golf course. Some baskets were perched atop hills (10), or tucked into a little rock enclave (5). Had to turn the disc both ways here. Even though the course is literally on a ball golf course, they have used the trees where they can to create a semi-wooded effect. Long enough to air it out on several holes. Have never played amidst a ball golf course which was kind of cool. Scorecard and map available at clubhouse. Be sure to take one, you'll need it to get around.
Cons: Only one grass / dirt tee per hole, marked with a white stake, usually on or near the ball golf tee box. No real markings on the course itself, save for a few next tee signs. I had to consantly consult the map, and/or often walk forward to see where the basket was. Be careful you can lose discs here on several holes as you cross creeks, a pond, and lots swamp / long grass areas bordering holes. This course was long enough for me that there were very few one shotters. The course is literally on the ball golf course. I can't imagine playing here when ball golfers are playing. Luckily for me the place was empty the day I played. It was hot and windy.
Other Thoughts: I'm from Atlanta so I'm used to much more heavily wooded courses. We were in Chico at the University. Short and very scenic drive up from Chico. The drive up to Paradise alone is worth the trip. Paradise looks like a cool little town. I chose to play here over Bidwell Park, based on ratings on this site, and the fact that they have new baskets vs. tone poles at Bidwell Park. Place was deserted when I pulled up, but a nice lady helped me with directions before I headed out. This is "pay to play" ($4). You can use the honor system in a pay slot if no one is around.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

1    7/27/2010   7/27/2010
Review By: DaWizard
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Many different types of shots needed. Some longer shots with 5 holes over 400ft. Open area for the most part with it being on a Golf Course. Have some down hill shots and uphill shots so the variety was very good. They also have score cards with a map of the holes which was very helpful even though some were still difficult to find. Without being able to actually see the hole. example #6.
Cons: Very Hilly but if need be there are golf carts. Tee Boxes just marked with white stake in the ground so sometimes difficult to find. Also was difficult with nobody in the club house to ask questions if you had them or not and pay. (they were outside working on stuff)
Other Thoughts: I would say with the money they get per round for it to go back into the course and clean up the tee boxes. Or make them a little more noticable. The map on the score card was great but if i didn't find that i would of been lost. So markings would definantly benefit in my opinion.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.