Paradise, CA 
Lava Creek DGC Share
Uploaded By: jimbosprint Hole #16 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / 282ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 Next >
 Cool Course Near Chico

1    8/17/2010   8/17/2010
Review By: hooboy
Played: 51  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 7.9 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of elevation changes on a course that goes "out and back" through a ravine that also houses a 9 hole ball golf course (also a con). The baskets here look brand new. They have done more than just plop down baskets amidst the golf course. Some baskets were perched atop hills (10), or tucked into a little rock enclave (5). Had to turn the disc both ways here. Even though the course is literally on a ball golf course, they have used the trees where they can to create a semi-wooded effect. Long enough to air it out on several holes. Have never played amidst a ball golf course which was kind of cool. Scorecard and map available at clubhouse. Be sure to take one, you'll need it to get around.
Cons: Only one grass / dirt tee per hole, marked with a white stake, usually on or near the ball golf tee box. No real markings on the course itself, save for a few next tee signs. I had to consantly consult the map, and/or often walk forward to see where the basket was. Be careful you can lose discs here on several holes as you cross creeks, a pond, and lots swamp / long grass areas bordering holes. This course was long enough for me that there were very few one shotters. The course is literally on the ball golf course. I can't imagine playing here when ball golfers are playing. Luckily for me the place was empty the day I played. It was hot and windy.
Other Thoughts: I'm from Atlanta so I'm used to much more heavily wooded courses. We were in Chico at the University. Short and very scenic drive up from Chico. The drive up to Paradise alone is worth the trip. Paradise looks like a cool little town. I chose to play here over Bidwell Park, based on ratings on this site, and the fact that they have new baskets vs. tone poles at Bidwell Park. Place was deserted when I pulled up, but a nice lady helped me with directions before I headed out. This is "pay to play" ($4). You can use the honor system in a pay slot if no one is around.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

1    7/27/2010   7/27/2010
Review By: DaWizard
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Many different types of shots needed. Some longer shots with 5 holes over 400ft. Open area for the most part with it being on a Golf Course. Have some down hill shots and uphill shots so the variety was very good. They also have score cards with a map of the holes which was very helpful even though some were still difficult to find. Without being able to actually see the hole. example #6.
Cons: Very Hilly but if need be there are golf carts. Tee Boxes just marked with white stake in the ground so sometimes difficult to find. Also was difficult with nobody in the club house to ask questions if you had them or not and pay. (they were outside working on stuff)
Other Thoughts: I would say with the money they get per round for it to go back into the course and clean up the tee boxes. Or make them a little more noticable. The map on the score card was great but if i didn't find that i would of been lost. So markings would definantly benefit in my opinion.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Course!

5+    4/18/2010   4/18/2010
Review By: jimbosprint
Played: 69  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 14 Years
This review was updated on 2/24/2014
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Plays across mostly open ball-golf fairways. There are some fun uphill/downhill shots, and a pond and creek at the bottom add some interesting water hazard. Scorecards with a map are available at the clubhouse, as well as drinks and snacks.
Cons: Disc golf is restricted to certain times of day and by golf tournaments, so be sure to call ahead. It can be a bit swampy at the bottom in the Winter but definitely playable.
Other Thoughts: Look out for golf balls! This is also a 9-hole ball golf course and we all play at the same time. Also, be careful not to shoot into the vineyard.

The owners are rude to players. Be sure to tell them you miss having Nor-Cal Plastic Company there!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Good Alternative

1    1/16/2010   1/16/2010
Review By: thejonster
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Sky tees, open, no looking for discs in brush on every hole (watch out for the briar pit before the creek!), green
Cons: pay to play
Other Thoughts: It's a good occasional alternative if you play bidwell all the time, grass is a nice change, prob worth the $3 green fee + $1 basket fee

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great time in Paradise

5+    11/6/2011   1/11/2010
Review By: MikePinchico
Played: 107  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 11 Years
This review was updated on 1/23/2014
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is an 18 hole disc golf course that plays on a nine hole ball golf course. There are concrete tee pads and nice Mach III baskets. Almost every hole has a bench and there are plenty of trash cans. Most holes now have alternate pin locations and there are more to come. The course is relatively easy to navigate and there are maps on the score cards that are available at the club house. There is beer for sale along with a DG pro shop at the clubhouse. Owners are good folks. The smell of the grapes near harvest time is amazing.
Cons: If you have a problems paying 4$ for an awesome round then it is a con. There are no signs indicating distances at the tee pads. Some areas can get pretty swampy during the wet season.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for the area and well worth the drive up the ridge to play. Weekly's are on Saturday at 2:00pm if you are interested and carts are available only during the weekly. You as a disc golfer must yield to ball golf players and don't bring your dog. There has been an issue with players throwing their discs into the adjacent vineyard and retrieving their discs. Many times the fence gets broken and the neighbors get pissed. Please respect the course and the neighbors and don't climb the fence. Lots of blackberry is being cleared for more friendly play. This courses hosts the finally for Shasta Series in May and holds the Lava Creek Classic C-tier in February.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.