Abilene, TX 
Wildcat DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6
3 / 340ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    3/31/2013   3/31/2013
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 153  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 6.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I appreciated the quality signs, and tee pads. They have nice DISCatchers with a purple band which was pretty cool. Navigation is so easy because they have signs pointing you in the right direction in the only confusing spot( when you are wanting to play hole 3 it is further to the right not the tee pad right there, but there is a sign with an arrow for"next tee"). I like how they used as much elevation as they could, it starts with hole 1 shooting a little down hill. Hole 6 is on a hill and elevated on a giant rock. 7 is shooting down the hill( sort of by that building0. 8 is located on a slope and 9 you have to throw over a tiny hill right of the tee pad and the basket is on a hill. They make use of all the trees available as well. Hole 2 is pretty tight shot. Where even hole 4 has a double mando so you are splitting the gap. I really liked how this wasn't a pitch and putt 9 holer but had some distance with 3 holes over 400ft and hole 5 being a 650ft hole.
Cons: There aren't to many cons except the parking lot says "student parking only" ( no one bothered me). As I mentioned before, I really think the purple bands are unique but when it is getting later in the day they are a little hard to see, when the sun is almost gone. I would imagine this course would get a little repetitive if was played year around because there is a line and you take it, there isn't to much shot variety; however, when driving threw Abilene I found it quite enjoyable.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great for Starters

5+    6/22/2012   11/5/2012
Review By: DiscGolfer16022
Played: 24  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 19.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Designed by Jay "Yeti" and Des.
Great use of the land
Great for people just starting out as there is no water hazards
Cons: Some wide open holes
Lots of long drives
Real quick play
Other Thoughts: If you want to see what this course would look like as an 18 Course, then every year the Abilene Disc Golf Association puts on the "Wild Hair". The wild hair uses Cal Young and the Wildcat DGC, and with the ACU course memebers personally loan out their baskets to complete the course and make it 18. The layout is always sorted out and tested the week prior as a last min fundraiser.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Little Course

1    6/17/2012   6/17/2012
Review By: trevzilla
Played: 31  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 14.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
This course is very well marked. There was no question about where to go. Only in one place would I have thought the tee was a different tee, but there was a big 'ole sign pointing to the correct tee.

The course is very well maintained. Pretty much a perfect lawn. It was nice for a game, but could get boring if you had to play it over and over.
Cons:
Mostly wide open shots. There are a couple fun little trees to avoid but not many. And a lot of the trees you could just throw over them to avoid them.

Although it didn't seem to be an issue, there was a sign at the parking that said "student parking only." I found this a little odd. We played on a Sunday, so it was no problem, but I don't know if they would hassle you on any other day.
Other Thoughts: All in all a very nice course. Some really fun long shots. The shorter shots are maybe missing some hazards and are a little easy, but it's nothing to complain about. I certainly enjoyed playing such a well kept course though.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Well-Designed Course

5+    9/8/2010   9/10/2010
Review By: bmw06g
Played: 22  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Extremely well-marked and well-kept all the time, and a good mix of distances. Interesting factors: crazy wind, a couple of elevation changes, one mando, and a couple of holes that require unique shots to progress.
Cons: Most of the holes are wide open (with 2 exceptions), so the course is not very challenging. Also, because it's only a 9-hole course, it can get boring after a few rounds.
Other Thoughts: There are expansion plans for the course, but it will probably be at least a year before they start. This course should be given 5 stars for beginners, and 2.5 stars for more advanced players. Great place to learn to play, but not one to go back to time and time again.
If mandos and obstacles were added to the course, it could be a great course. Perhaps during the expansion project, they will make it more challenging.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Great for a short course

1    7/18/2009   7/19/2009
Review By: LinuxTX
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/31/2009
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Everything is markedand kept up exceptionally well. Even beginners will know where to go.

Fun holes. No fear of losing a disc. The area is concise so you can get 9 holes done quickly.
Cons: Course is not too challanging, but probably the best layout it could be
Only 9 holes. Will be best course in Abilene once it is 18 holes.
Other Thoughts: Saw tons of college students, so it's getting more people into the sport.

I had a glorious time on this course after trying to find the correct holes to play at Will Hair.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good course

5+    5/4/2009   5/8/2009
Review By: hph04a
Played: 12  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent use of elevation for Abilene. Just about the best possible layout for the area it is. Good combination of short, medium, and long holes. Currently watering course in the mornings. It is and will be well maintained and will only get better as it gets older. Friendly locals
Cons: Only 9 holes
Other Thoughts: Its set up to expand to 18 eventually. It'll be the course to play in the area whenever it goes to 18.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.