Disc Golf Store
Newark, OH 
Horns Hill Park Share
Uploaded By: roadtripstuff Hole #7 (Taken 5/2009)
4 / --   4 / 295ft.   4 / 410ft.   4 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Approach



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Beautiful Course

5+    5/6/2012   5/8/2012
Review By: Mark25
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Well maintained
-Good use of trees as obstacles
-Difficult pro tees and easy am tees
-Sharp looking tee signage
-Plenty of other family activities located at the park (mountain biking, RC car track, playgrounds, etc)
-Neat designed course
-Short walks between holes
-Once you find the starting tee, its fairly easy to find your way around.

Cons: -Woods can be thick
-Back nine is fairly easy
-A few fenced in areas where if you land in theres no getting your disc back
-The open holes are near roads so watch for traffic.
-Difficult where to find start of course
-LONG walk back to your car when done with hole 18.
-Few of the tee sings are missing.
Other Thoughts: Definitely recommend this course, I always love playing here and have yet to lose a disc here. I wish it was a little more difficult from the am tees. The woods holes are the best and they made great use of them. Glad to live somewhat close to this course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Closures

1    1/23/2012   1/23/2012
Review By: bassgod9
Played: 177  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Be aware, this park closes in the winter! Be sure to check Licking County P&R webpage to see if park is open or not.
Cons: Completely gated when closed, no "walking on" the course.
Other Thoughts: I gave it a 3 for now and will update once I've played this course. I thought someone needed to post the potential closure.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Horns Hill Park

1    4/10/2011   4/11/2011
Review By: Ghense
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It is a beautiful course, set up in a challenging manner. I also was pleasantly surprised to find that scorecards are provided beside the first blue tee. Many holes will serve as ace runs for skilled players.
Cons: If there had been a map provided (in the same dispenser as the scorecard perhaps) my rating might have went up a whole point. Some holes are hard to find, and those that drop away from the "park" and into the wooded hillside are difficult to navigate and strewn with debris.
Other Thoughts: Overall the course is balanced, it's pro and cons canceling each other out. I definitely want to play this course again now that I know where everything is.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Schizophrenic workout

1    5/30/2010   5/30/2010
Review By: gcoghill
Played: 50  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 14.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
- Decent tee signs
- New baskets
- Course stays away from other park activities for the most part
- Some nice wooded holes with elevation changes on the back nine.
Cons:
- Course layout can be extremely confusing at times.
- Much of the front nine weaves around ugly industrial buildings, power stations, antenna towers and other unsightly stuff.
- Baskets are not numbered
- Some tee signs/maps are missing
- No tee signs for the last few holes
- Very easy to lose a disc on the back nine
Other Thoughts: Overall I did not have a positive experience with this course. A few of the holes had some charm, but otherwise you are throwing within a "park" in the loosest description of the word.

You'll be near the park roads for half of the course, and holes 1-5 and 16-18 pretty much kill any charm this course might have had.

Holes 6-15 weave through the woods and take advantage of elevation changes, but if your throws are off you'll do quite a bit of searching in the thick scrub surrounding the fairways. There's probably untold amounts of poison ivy lurking in those woods.

That said, there were some fun and interesting holes, but nothing strong enough to overcome the negatives from the rest of the course.

Playing the Flat Rocks course (and hour south of the Horns Hill park) later the same just emphasized what a letdown Horns Hill was.

Glad to have checked it off my wish list, but I'll never play the course again even if I was in the area already.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not for the weak

1    8/20/2009   11/16/2009
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 139  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 12.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging
Well Designed
Excellent Visually
Good Variety
Fun Nature Hike
Cons: Easy to lose discs
Woods can be too dense at times
Not always easy to Navigate
Overgrown at times
Not for beginners
Other Thoughts: This is a really fun and difficult course.

Most Holes go through the woods (big fan). But others plays around some fenced in areas, if you throw your disc over the fence you will more than likely not be getting it back.

The wooded holes are mostly great, I can think of one or two that are tremendous. Many of them are too Dense and a lot of them if you throw a bad throw then it may be digging through a lot of brush and overgrowth to find your Disc. Accuracy and Disc control are a must at this course

A few times I got lost and had to search around for the next hole but most of the tricky ones have arrows pointing you in the right direction.

I'll be back to this one sometime

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 hillside and wooded

5+    8/25/2009   10/31/2009
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 169  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 26.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/23/2010
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Long and short tees

Nice diversity of shots

Extreme elevation changes

Nice signage
Cons: Natural dirt tees

Lost discs can be a concern

The woods are full of plants that deploy sticky seeds all over your clothing
Other Thoughts: This is a fun, challenging, heavily wooded course.

The first couple holes are open, then you throw one down a steep grade, that if overthrown, places your disc in very dense vegetation. The next few holes take you back into the open. The scenery on these holes are OK at best. Hole 4, 6 & 7 have you teeing off next to a couple barbed wire fences. I had to jump the second one to retrieve my disc - no bueno.

Hole 8 takes you into the woods and you stay there through hole 16. These are the best holes on the course. They are technically diverse. Long, short, right, left. Some fairways are very tight. Some nice doglegs. A few ace opportunities as well as some bogey holes. The elevation changes keep it interesting throughout.

The last couple holes take you to a park service roadside, that runs along a remote control car race track. Quite interesting when active.

The walk from 18 back to the parking lot near hole one is awkwardly long. You basically have to walk the length of four holes to get back.

I very much enjoy this course. I make the 45+ minute drive regularly to play. Diverse elevation changes always go a long way with me.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Newark, OH Horns Hill

2-4    8/23/2009   8/23/2009
Review By: Robert Scott
Played: 52  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 18.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A nice shorter course from the white tees and a longer from the Blue tees. Two sets of tees on most holes. Nice DGA baskets and signs on every hole. The sign show pin placement and distance from both tees, but are located by the white tees. The bright Orange arrows show the direction to the next hole. I've played this course twice and only seen one other DG out there.
Cons: The lay out of the course is somewhat a mess. The baskets are placed close to the roads, fences, and parking area. And the flight path of the disc crosses many roads and parking area. Hole #18 for one there was a car parked right in front of the basket the second time we played. There is a short walk from hole 7 to tee 8, had to look the first time we played. And there is another short walk from 18 back to the car at hole 1. The tees are gravel, dirt, and grass. The park has other activites but mostly they are out of the way of the course. The course is a little over grown off the road width fairways on most holes. a spotter is a good Idea on most holes.
Other Thoughts: The course is a nice short course and great round to play. The first time we played there was not very many park goers so I did not notice the parking and road crossing fairways much. The second time we played it was much bussier and we had to wait for cars before throwing and the cars parked near 17/18 for the RC track.


4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course

5+    5/30/2009   5/31/2009
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 110  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/21/2011
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Two Sets of Tees (white/short - blue/long)
All Shot Types Required
New Baskets
Great Tee Signs (Only on short tees)
Very Clean
Fairly Easy To Navigate
Ample Parking
Never Crowded
Well Maintained
Great Layout
Scorecards Near First Tee
Cons:
No Trash Cans
No Benches
A Couple of Long Walks Between Holes
Underbrush Can Be Thick (Discs can be lost.)
Tee Signs Missing After Hole 13
Natural Tee Pads Are Getting Rough
Long Walk Back to Parking From Last Hole
Other Thoughts:
Horns Hills is a decent newer course that should only get better with more play. There are no trash cans throughout so pack out what you pack in and keep this place as clean as it is now.

The only real issues with this course is that right now everything but the fairways is really overgrown and there is a lot of down timber so keep an eye on your disc. One of us ended up losing two discs, and a spotter on most holes is a really good idea. I hear that there are plans to clean up the underbrush and downed logs in the near future and that will make this course one of the better courses in the area.

Throughout the course there are orange arrows that lead you to the next hole, which is very helpful when playing for your first time, but they aren't present on a couple holes. There is a long walk between 7 and 8, if you continue over the hill past the basket you will see the tee pads for 8 on the other side. The long is on the side of the hill near the white maintanance shed and the short is down by the road around the curve. Also between 11 and 12, you have to go back up the hill towards the tee pad for 11 and then follow the path to the left. After 18 you will have a decent walk, follow the road, to get back to the parking by hole number 1.

As of now there are natural tee pads and they are starting to get rough, holes, divets, and sloppy when wet. Don't know anything but hopefully there are plans for some concrete or rubber to be installed in the future.

Overall the course is a really good play. There is a lot of variety, both wooded and open, long and short and the dual tee pads can really change the look of each hole. As I stated there are a couple longer walks between some of the holes, but the course overall has a pretty good flow. I have been out to this course a few times now and seem to like more and more each time I play. If you are in the area it is definitely check it out.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/9/2009   5/11/2009
Review By: Trenton187
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/25/2009
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great course. Very challenging from the blue tees. Good mix of different shot requirements, each hole is unique. Offers multiple tee positions on 16 of the 18 holes. Whites for amateurs or blues for more advanced. Fun for all levels of players. Pets are permitted and the scenery is great.
Cons: -It's a new course so it needs broken in
-I've seen a couple pickle hunters
Overall it's a really good course. I like everything about it. I've got nothing but good feedback from everyone that plays there. It was built by Jerod and Eric who are veterans of disc golf and have played a lot of courses. If you are passionate about disc golf and like a challenge then this is the course for you. If not, shoot from the white tees then. It's a good time either way.


Other Thoughts: They have Tuesday night doubles @ 6 p.m

Check out the website lickingcountygliders.com

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Perfect

2-4    5/6/2009   5/6/2009
Review By: dzznutz
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course. White and Blue tees, ranging from 145ft to about 385 i believe. lots of trees and lots of hills. majority of it is pretty cleared out and pretty easy to find discs. couple nice doglegs and some narrow and some wide fairways. Crossing roads on a few holes. Couple shelter houses to run into if it starts to rain or if you need to relax. Very clean grounds. Porta john in the middle of hole 1 if you need to use the bathroom, but there is lots of trees too. I throw RHBH so this course gave me a bit of a challenge so it was very enjoyable to throw even the short holes. I recommend this course to everyone.
Cons: couple of hills are steep so if you throw off it good luck throwing back up. (not so much a con as it is a challenge). Baskets need to have flags or some type of indicator on top so you can see them easier. couple are hard to find. look close before you walk ahead and waste time. Couple holes have baskets next to fences, which are barbed wired so if you throw over your screwed. there are cameras in the fenced in area so beware they do watch them. The park was closed for sexual activity not to long ago and then since reopened and cleaned up a bit. but still you have lots of men driving alone around the park for what i really don't want to know. so if you go there i would just be aware of whats around you and be ready to fight off some 40 year old pedophile.
Other Thoughts: I agree with danhyzer's review 100%. Very good info . The tees are natural which is alright but i went when it rained so the grounds was wet and muddy, there are a few holes that you can always step a few feet and make your own tee so you don't bust your bottom or break an ankle. I forget what hole it is but the tee pad is right at the base of the shelter house, try teeing off from the patio (its concrete) its safer and adds a bit of a challenge to the throw.

Next time im there ill get hole info and some pics and post them

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.