Oswego, IL 
Eagle Ridge/Civic Center Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #17
3 / 288ft.   3 / 388ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Fun in the 'Burbs!

1    8/30/2014   9/3/2014
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 167  Reviewed: 136  Exp: 10.3 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very solid course in a nice, well-maintained, multi-purpose municipal park in Suburbia, USA.

• Disc play: Really nice variety covering a range of shots and fairway types. A great mix of semi-open, moderately wooded and well-wooded fairways of varying shapes and lengths. Invites you to throw hyzers, annies, spike hyzers, straight shots and more… well-balanced in that respect. Nice mix of holes allowing multiple routes as well as holes that limit you to one or two routes. Transitions from open to wooded a few times to avoid monotony. Holes 3 - 18 all give you something to think about. Admittedly, the first two are the weakest, but I've seen much weaker filler holes and they serve to ease you into your round.
+No hills, but the rolling terrain creates moderate elevation changes on many holes, making them play longer/shorter.
+Distances are a bit on the short side, but there are a few reasonably long holes where most players should be able to let rip (4, 15 and 16).
+ Plenty of great pin placements. Many guarded by trees, making tee shot placement important to line up good par and birdie opportunities. Also has a few pins with roll-offs or other trouble behind them to make you think on putts and approaches. Raised basket on 9 will have will also have considering whether or not to run at the basket, especially if it's windy.
+Rough ranges from dense brush to prairie grass/weeds to dense woods, but all the fairways were well-mowed and clearly defined. Punishing in some spots, not so bad in others… as far as I'm concerned, that's all part of the balance between risk/reward: if the rough looks scary, maybe you should consider a safer, more predictable shot.
+ Dual tees should accommodate skill levels from Novice to Advanced. Shorts will be challenging for beginners, but not intimidating. Longs aren't necessarily much longer, but present tighter windows/tougher lines to hit. The longs also present a few more blind looks than the shorts (hence I recommend not playing the longs solo unless you're familiar with the course or willing to accept the risk of disc loss.

• Flow/Navigation: Virtually seamless. There were only a couple of questionable spots, think I only checked the map once... pretty much just followed the well-worn path.

• Basically isolated from the rest of the park, I didn't see other activities likely to bring non-DG traffic near the course. Fairly compact and efficiently laid out - can be played quickly if there isn't a lot of traffic.

• Equipment: Tee posts with hole #, distance, and picture (only at the short tees). Long and short tees are both concrete, reasonably sized, in good shape with little to no signs of erosion. Baskets were a bit older, but in good condition (one was bent, but not so bad it warranted replacement).

• Aesthetics: Very pleasing to the eye, somewhere between a pleasant walk in a city park and that away from it all feel. Didn't see any trash.

• Extras:
+ Plenty of benches throughout.
+ Bathrooms and snack bar that sells drinks near parking.
+ Practice basket has bricks marked at various distances.
Cons: No glaring deficiencies - only the first two factor into my ratings. The rest are just informational.

• Some holes are packed in a bit close together… expect to hear "FORE!" if it's busy when you play.

• Although it's a solid course, none of the holes have any real "wow" factor.

• Signs at both tees would be optimal, but if you're only going to spring for one set, it makes sense to put them at the shorts. Presumably, people playing the longs should be more adept at finding their way around a course.

• The rough is dense in spots - there's a reasonable chance of losing a disc here.

• Quite a few blind holes (even from the shorts) will have first timers walking up fairways.
Other Thoughts: Eagle Ridge/Civic Center is a well-executed, reasonably challenging course with high fun factor. Lots of deuceable holes that are protected well enough to really make you earn birdies. Interesting enough to make you want to return. If I were local, I'd play here regularly.

Some will say it starts out a bit weak, but I like the way it eases you in before things get tougher. The long tees will prove challenging for most players, but even the longs require placement moreso than distance. I'd give the disc play a 3.75 on it's own merit, but the superb course maintenance, design and fun factor make this an excellent place to play - thoroughly enjoyable in pretty much every way... enough for me to bump it to 4.0.

Not that it isn't suitable for tournaments, but you can tell this course was designed with the fun, casual round in mind, rather than challenging top (or even local) Pros… goal achieved!

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Not What I Expected

1    6/22/2014   6/24/2014
Review By: Btown316
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.4 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Multiple concrete tees
-good use of limited land
-nice mix of holes (R+L doglegs, modest uphill and downhill shots, wooded and open shots)
Cons: -Prairie grass, and lots of it
-Bugs
-Signage is showing its age, longs have no signage
-No full power throws
-Some blind shots with nearby rough
-Too many short to mid range wooded shots for my liking
-Tightly packed in places (one of my drives ended up on the edge of the fairway for another hole and I was still close enough to have a legitimate birdie putt attempt, though my putting failed me per usual)
-High risk, don't let your disc find the rough
-Private property perilously positioned parallel to play on holes 3 and 4
Other Thoughts: I came to Eagle Ridge with high hopes for one of the best reviewed courses in my area. Sadly this course did not live up to my expectations. Any course that uses long prairie grass to define a narrow fairway automatically loses points for me, searching for a disc in knee high rough while wearing shorts on a hot day is not my idea of a fun disc golf outing. I understand its high risk high reward aspect of it but the risk is not worth the reward which leads to safe layup shots which again is not my kind of disc golf. The rough in the woods was just as bad with poison ivy a constant concern. There is no way, imo, this course should have a similar rating to any of the 3 courses at Rockford's Anna Page Park (my personal favorites).

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

great course

2-4    4/5/2013   4/5/2013
Review By: rohrean
Played: 37  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: - Great mix of woods and open holes
- beautiful setting
- nice concrete long and short tees
- great use of the elevation changes
- well taken care off
Cons: - the longs need signs
Other Thoughts: Great course that I would play again and again if I was local. I am out of state.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Eagle Ridge

5+    12/16/2012   12/16/2012
Review By: kevdiv48
Played: 75  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/27/2014
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Eagle Ridge offers a great variety of shot types. I had to throw straight, hyzer, anhyzer, up and down. There are some almost completely open holes and some completely wooded ones and nearly everything in between. The distances also vary from under 200 from the shorts to over 500 on the longs. The long tees are now concrete, which is a very big plus. The tees they have here and at Jericho Lake across the river are some of the best I have ever played on. The signs and posts are also among the best I have seen. Navigation is not terrible, but the proximity of a lot of the tees and baskets can make it difficult for those who are unfamiliar with the layout. I honestly could not have done more with the land that is present.
There is a practice basket with bricks for around the world, a bulletin board and picnic tables at the start.
The baskets show some age but still catch quite well.
Cons: The rough can get very rough in the summer and spring. Playing on a dry day in late fall is about as clear and clean as it is going to get. The park is usually pretty well manicured, but the rough can definitely get thick with poison ivy.
Update 5/27/2014: After playing a round from the longs, I realized there are some definite NAGS's that occur. Number 3 has the tee partially behind some bushes that do not allow a clear shot at the already challenge intended path. Hole 8 and 12 are similar.
To bring this course up to nearly a 5 it would have to be longer overall. Even from the longs it was not a huge challenge to get a 3 on most holes. That is really nitpicking though.
Other Thoughts: Eagle Ridge is quite possibly one of the best courses in the area between Rockford and Joliet. Even set in a nice suburban park, the holes are very well thought out and have clear lines that need to be hit to score well. I live 30 minutes away and at first did not think it was worth driving to, but definitely have changed my mind.
For the novice player this will be a challenging course but for intermediate players it is the perfect combination of challenge and fun.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

very solid course

5+    12/1/2012   12/1/2012
Review By: booradly
Played: 75  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 2.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -nice park
-cement pads (and the pro pads are cement now too dunno when they did that)
-easy navigation/ good signs
the disc course is in its own section of the park so there is little worry of hitting random people
-holes 1,2,3,make for good warm up holes being mostly open
-hole 4 starts the holes that go into the thicker woods and start to get very fun holes 4,5,6,7,8
all have nice fairways clear of under brush but with lots of trees and tight fairways make for some really fun shots
-holes 9,10,11 shoot back out into the open but still use the few trees and bushes well 11 starts open then ends back into the woods
-12,13,14 are in my opinion the best three holes on the course 12 being a downhill hook to the right and 13,14 both very hard heavily wooded shots(14 can really kick your ass)
-15,16 are both just open shots but have the most distance that this course has to offer
-17,18 end the course nicely 17 is heavily wooded left hook shot with a very fun pro pad that lets you throw over a walking path and makes a hard hole even harder. and 18 i a mostly open right hook with the basket behind some tall bushes that make it hard to ace unless you sky it and let it hook down sharp
Cons: -the first three holes are a little boring
-all of the open field shots are kinda boring except for 10 that is still a good challenge
-not many holes with distance
-in the summer the rough an be very thick
-can get a little crowded
Other Thoughts: -one of the best courses around (besides the joliet)
- this course is a lot of fun and is close enough to jericho lake to make for a solid afternoon of disc golf(this time of the year more of a day)
- i wish/hope that more courses were like this one instead of the mass amount of bland park district courses around

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Watch for IVY

5+    7/1/2010   9/1/2012
Review By: steven2361
Played: 172  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: There are two sets of tees. Lots of different types of shots: wooded, open, tunnel, and many interesting holes. There is nice practice basket by hole 1's tee. Hole 4 from the short is a very rewarding birdie to get. 6 is a nice low slightly downhill tunnel shot. Hole 12 from the long has a very unique fairway. It is a downhill hole that goes from right to left and then back the left. 13's green is very cool as there is a steep drop off down to OB behind it. 14 from the short has a very tight drive but is a rewarding birdie to get. 16 is a fun hole to grip and rip on. This course has a fair amount of elevation for a chicagoland course.
Cons: The poison ivy on this course is absolutely awful. Ye have been warned. Not all are concretes. Some boring holes. A couple blind holes here and there. Some of the holes from the long pads are kind of fluky. The rough can be very bad and hard to find discs in certain spots especially when playing long 17.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the in state drive

5+    8/9/2012   8/14/2012
Review By: Bodangle22
Played: 70  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is in a fairly secluded part of the civic center's land. Only a section of a path runs through but only comes into play from 2 of the long sets of tees (which are elevated 10 feet over joggers/bikers heads). Once you walk over the train tracks you notice (especially if your from the chicago area) your stepping into an actual DGC. The land used gives the best variety for this course. The "open" holes have enough obstacles in the way to make you still choose a line while the wooded holes offer enough challenges to where if you hit a tree off the box your never guaranteed a 3 or a 4 and even a 5. Something nice to have in this area. The shorts are a great course to get in your buzzz/roc practice while the longs force you to use every disc your brought. The longs add plenty of lengths to the shorts and plenty of challenge for the adv/pro player. Not a destination course in the country but certainly for the state.
Cons: The longs are limestone as of right now. Money was raised just waitng on the park district to get their arse in gear. Some of the long tee pads could use some minor tweaking as far as placement. Poison ivy could be a pain in the ass but the park district put very imformative signs around to warn people about them.
Other Thoughts: I love this course and will miss it when I move. Special thangs to the FVMDG especially SR. for all the hard work he puts in as well as the DG sodfather Frank for taking the time to make the trip to lend a hand and install some of those sweet new benches.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 High Fun Factor, Good Variety Here

1    7/3/2012   7/4/2012
Review By: sthomas128
Played: 53  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/5/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: .
**Easy to find
**Parking right on the street.
**Walk past the playground equipment and over the railroad tracks to the course (don't forget to look BOTH ways, I don't know if these are active tracks or not).
**Easy navigation thanks to a Yellow painted basket tine and the foot paths.
**The course starts out with the first few holes being pretty easy. I kind of like a course that starts this way to give you a few holes to loosen up.
**Lots of blind shots which left me laying up in the middle to see what was on the other side.
**Good use of the minimal elevation available.
**Nice picture tee signs with a yellow arrow pointing towards the basket.
**Fairly short and technical, but, that's OK.
**I think almost the entire course was in like the 230-260ft range
Cons: .
>>>I HATE PRAIRIE GRASS…
>>>You can be a foot off of the fairway and lose your disc.
>>>It's like a cheap way to save on a little mowing to define a fairway using Prairie Grass.
>>>Nobody wants to lose their favorite anhyzer disc that's beat-in just right in this stuff…
>>>How much fun is that???
**Poison Ivy
**Punishing rough
**I've heard that the bugs are ferocious here, but, even they had run for cover on the 105+ heat index day that we played.
Other Thoughts: .
Nice Course, in a nice neighborhood.
My wife and I had a good time playing here.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Variety

5+    5/26/2012   5/27/2012
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 99  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/1/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My round at Oswego was incredibly fun! The course's best feature is it's large variety of shots demanded in its holes. Normally, I consider myself a right hand backhand thrower. Here, however I found that the course forced me to have a consistent game with all sorts of different shots, including forehand drives and approaches... very good practice for people trying to get better. Additionally, there is a lot of variety in the distances of each of the holes and this is enhanced even further by the long sets of tees. Unlike some courses, the long tees here, though not concrete, are fairly easy to judge as to where exactly the teepad ends and begins. There's also some good scenery as you go in and out of a forest that kind of takes you away from the park, which is in fact pretty busy.

To summarize: A moderately challenging round, thanks to variety. There are birdies to be had though, so if you are having a good day you should have an awesome round.

Update 3/31/13!!!!
One of my few gripes about this course when I first played it was that the pro tees were not concrete. Well that has changed, so I felt the course deserved a half a disc increase in its rating.
Cons: *I wasn't very impressed with the first three holes from the short tees... they were pretty short and open. The round picked up considerably after that.

*There simply was not a hole on the course that was amazing. They were all pretty good, and you'd get to the teepad and say "what a neat hole." there weren't any that blew my mind.

Other Thoughts: When I went here, the baskets for holes 2, 17, and 18 were down, but a Parks person was picking them up in a pickup truck. I don't know if vandalism is common at this course, but if so that would be a most unfortunate way of ruining a very fun place!

Finally: several snakes seen throughout the round! For some people that's a deal breaker.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Chicago (area) Course

1    3/22/2012   4/22/2012
Review By: Bltsandwich1
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Well maintained
-Good variety between wooded, and more open shots
-There is some up and down to the course which is nice to see near Chicago
-Good hole distance variety
-Punishes poorly planned shots
-Good looking course
-Pro and Am tees
-Concrete Am tees
-Baskets are in good shape
-Signage is decent
Cons: -No signs a pro tees
-More benches and trash cans would be nice
-Brush is too punishing at times
-Bugs can be a problem especially on the mid-9
-Some trails can cause hazards on Pro tees
Other Thoughts: Overall a very nice course, and well worth a drive to get too. Not too long so playing twice through is possible. Keep in mind how rough the rough is, and stay careful, and bring bug spray. Other than that a wonderful course that keeps giving

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.