Oswego, IL
Eagle Ridge/Civic Center Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #11
3 / 285ft.   3 / 355ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Pro Tee



Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
great course

2-4    4/5/2013   4/5/2013
Review By: rohrean
Played: 36  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.9 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Great mix of woods and open holes
- beautiful setting
- nice concrete long and short tees
- great use of the elevation changes
- well taken care off
Cons: - the longs need signs
Other Thoughts: Great course that I would play again and again if I was local. I am out of state.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

very solid course

5+    12/1/2012   12/1/2012
Review By: booradly
Played: 75  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -nice park
-cement pads (and the pro pads are cement now too dunno when they did that)
-easy navigation/ good signs
the disc course is in its own section of the park so there is little worry of hitting random people
-holes 1,2,3,make for good warm up holes being mostly open
-hole 4 starts the holes that go into the thicker woods and start to get very fun holes 4,5,6,7,8
all have nice fairways clear of under brush but with lots of trees and tight fairways make for some really fun shots
-holes 9,10,11 shoot back out into the open but still use the few trees and bushes well 11 starts open then ends back into the woods
-12,13,14 are in my opinion the best three holes on the course 12 being a downhill hook to the right and 13,14 both very hard heavily wooded shots(14 can really kick your ass)
-15,16 are both just open shots but have the most distance that this course has to offer
-17,18 end the course nicely 17 is heavily wooded left hook shot with a very fun pro pad that lets you throw over a walking path and makes a hard hole even harder. and 18 i a mostly open right hook with the basket behind some tall bushes that make it hard to ace unless you sky it and let it hook down sharp
Cons: -the first three holes are a little boring
-all of the open field shots are kinda boring except for 10 that is still a good challenge
-not many holes with distance
-in the summer the rough an be very thick
-can get a little crowded
Other Thoughts: -one of the best courses around (besides the joliet)
- this course is a lot of fun and is close enough to jericho lake to make for a solid afternoon of disc golf(this time of the year more of a day)
- i wish/hope that more courses were like this one instead of the mass amount of bland park district courses around

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Worth the in state drive

5+    8/9/2012   8/14/2012
Review By: Bodangle22
Played: 70  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is in a fairly secluded part of the civic center's land. Only a section of a path runs through but only comes into play from 2 of the long sets of tees (which are elevated 10 feet over joggers/bikers heads). Once you walk over the train tracks you notice (especially if your from the chicago area) your stepping into an actual DGC. The land used gives the best variety for this course. The "open" holes have enough obstacles in the way to make you still choose a line while the wooded holes offer enough challenges to where if you hit a tree off the box your never guaranteed a 3 or a 4 and even a 5. Something nice to have in this area. The shorts are a great course to get in your buzzz/roc practice while the longs force you to use every disc your brought. The longs add plenty of lengths to the shorts and plenty of challenge for the adv/pro player. Not a destination course in the country but certainly for the state.
Cons: The longs are limestone as of right now. Money was raised just waitng on the park district to get their arse in gear. Some of the long tee pads could use some minor tweaking as far as placement. Poison ivy could be a pain in the ass but the park district put very imformative signs around to warn people about them.
Other Thoughts: I love this course and will miss it when I move. Special thangs to the FVMDG especially SR. for all the hard work he puts in as well as the DG sodfather Frank for taking the time to make the trip to lend a hand and install some of those sweet new benches.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Variety

5+    5/26/2012   5/27/2012
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 89  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/1/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My round at Oswego was incredibly fun! The course's best feature is it's large variety of shots demanded in its holes. Normally, I consider myself a right hand backhand thrower. Here, however I found that the course forced me to have a consistent game with all sorts of different shots, including forehand drives and approaches... very good practice for people trying to get better. Additionally, there is a lot of variety in the distances of each of the holes and this is enhanced even further by the long sets of tees. Unlike some courses, the long tees here, though not concrete, are fairly easy to judge as to where exactly the teepad ends and begins. There's also some good scenery as you go in and out of a forest that kind of takes you away from the park, which is in fact pretty busy.

To summarize: A moderately challenging round, thanks to variety. There are birdies to be had though, so if you are having a good day you should have an awesome round.

Update 3/31/13!!!!
One of my few gripes about this course when I first played it was that the pro tees were not concrete. Well that has changed, so I felt the course deserved a half a disc increase in its rating.
Cons: *I wasn't very impressed with the first three holes from the short tees... they were pretty short and open. The round picked up considerably after that.

*There simply was not a hole on the course that was amazing. They were all pretty good, and you'd get to the teepad and say "what a neat hole." there weren't any that blew my mind.

Other Thoughts: When I went here, the baskets for holes 2, 17, and 18 were down, but a Parks person was picking them up in a pickup truck. I don't know if vandalism is common at this course, but if so that would be a most unfortunate way of ruining a very fun place!

Finally: several snakes seen throughout the round! For some people that's a deal breaker.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Oswego Disc Monster

2-4    11/5/2011   11/25/2011
Review By: earth2sean
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.6 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This course has lots of variety when it comes to shot selection, as well as balancing between wooded and open holes.
Cons: This course will eat your discs if you are not an accurate thrower. To some, that provides incentive away from risk-taking, but for others, it just means $10-$20 down the drain.
Other Thoughts: Fun course that is great for experienced players but maybe a little frustrating for inexperienced players.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Eagle Ridge

5+    6/5/2011   6/8/2011
Review By: Jax11
Played: 91  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 4.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Variety in hole design
- Distance variety in holes
- Good use of the given terrain
- Modest elevation changes
- Well defined fairways
- Risk/reward in shot selection
- Blind holes
- Interesting basket placements
- Solid tee signs
- Two sets of tees
- Concrete pads on the the short tees
- Baskets in Good Conditions
- Navigation is fairly simple.
- Bathrooms at Civic Center (when open)
Cons: - The rough is thick thick thick.
- Large Amounts of Poisin Ivy
- Bike path runs through the park
- Some of the long tees have "unfairways"
- Long tees have no tee signs
- Long tees are gravel marked by two yellow stones.
- Fierce Bugs
- No waterfountain
Other Thoughts: Eagle Ride is an excellent disc golf course that starts out in a Prairie setting and transitions into some moderate-tight woods. This course boasts a good variety of distance with both long open drives and tight technical shots. Each hole feels unique and memorable and they will test your arsenal of shots. The holes in the woods are very technical and will force you to control your shots. The thickness of the rough creates high risk/reward decisions by forcing you to make the choice to go big at the risk of an errant shot that burrows deep into the thicket or to play it safe for three by keeping it in the fairway. Hillside basket placements also create high risk reward decisions as missed putts could result in roll-aways. The long tees are for the most part very different than the shorts and make the course much more challenging. Only a few long tees seem to be a longer shot of the short tee, each other long tee requires a different shot than the short tee to score successfully. Overall the course design is all that it can be. Some added amenities such as concrete pads and tee signs for the long tees and some clearing of rough (especially poisin Ivy) could bump this course up to a 4.5 for me. I highly recommend this course because it is significantly better than most Chicagoland courses.

*** Survival Notes:
-There are restrooms on site only if the Civic Center is open.
- No water fountain on site that I could find, bring liquids the prairie holes get quite toasty in the sun.
- Bring bug spray the bugs are fierce in the summer time.
- Watch for poisin Ivy (there is lots)
- If you throw a disc over the fence on the East side of the property, the company can get ornery about you jumping it to retreive your disc. I would try and get permission before searching for it.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Must play!

5+    5/26/2011   5/27/2011
Review By: chillis
Played: 90  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 13.9 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great variation! Lots of chances to utilize different driving techniques for all types of throwers.
-Recreational and professional tees (pros only gravel)
-Good signage with pictures of the holes from the Red tees.
-Good mix of hole layouts. Tightly wooded holes demand and reward accuracy, a few open 350Ft+
-Great shot-shaping here! Wooded holes force you into throwing a certain technique or disc...even on the more open holes this is evident.
-Easy to navigate. I've never seen "Next Tee" signs, but the walking lines guide well. Even when the course is busy, it's not congested.
-Elevation is utilized decently here. Throwing up/down the ravines, there's a couple elevated tboxes.
-Plays well after a rain. This course was dry/drained enough to play a day after a huge thunderstorm. If you're wearing proper footwear, this course is like a walk in the park.
-Good practice area, which is also used as the 19th pin/green, throwing from the backside of 18's green.
-Nice park information board and benches at the start. A couple man-made stools near tboxes throughout.
-Beautiful, lush park. So green! (I'm used to desert terrain)
-Plenty of trash cans throughout, please use them!
Cons: -Course plays short. I'd bet it was designed with technicality in mind over raw distance, and that's fine. However, I would prefer a few more options in the 375+ range.
-Lots of thick brush/undergrowth here. Now that the course has been around for a few years there's been improvements. However, an errant throw will likely lose you a disc.
-Change. Started playing this course when it was only 9. Moved away from ILL, only to come back and find all but one of the baskets in the same position. This leads me to believe the pin placements never move.
-No water hazards. I find this to be a Con, not because I like diving for discs, but the risk/reward isn't as high and I normally like it.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorites in the Western suburbs! Very solid design, and you can't coast through this round and expect to score well. Playing the pro tees, and this turns into a different course. The difficulty skyrockets, and the Con listed above (lack of distance) isn't an issue, and there's plenty added when playing Pro.

I would suggest long pants and hiking footwear. Don't come out in flat Adidas (like I normally wear). If you go into the rough, you want to be protected from the plants and bugs. Bugs CAN be bad here, however I didn't notice many after a thunderstorm, which I found to be odd.

This course is 5 miles away from Jericho, which, is no Gold level course for sure, but very enjoyable nonetheless! I do think, however, that Eagle Ridge is a MUCH stronger course than Jericho Lake.

Leagues here on Thursday nights, I believe 6PM start.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Worth Your Time!

2-4    7/5/2009   5/5/2011
Review By: kizzle54
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: - Nice mixture of wooded and semi wooded holes. Some more open, but a solid mixture.

- Several alternates set up for the holes.

- Very well maintained course, virtually NO litter, and the grass is always trimmed up nicely.

- mostly dirt or sand tee pads, but very clearly marked with signs, etc.

- Some use of elevation which is nice.

- Baskets are all pretty new and in good shape.
Cons: - Not much bad about the course other than I did almost have a disc stolen... Left it at a hole, and some kid tried to lie and say it was his, he even tried to rub off my name on it but you could still see it. I got it back though
Other Thoughts: I think this is one of my favorite courses I've ever played really. I think the only thing that could be better is maybe having cement tees? I think that's nitpicking, but I like them.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome!

5+    4/12/2011   4/13/2011
Review By: Au Gratin O'Brien
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.9 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Challenging shots that don't favor one type of throwing style. Every hole you get something different. Tee boxes are set up really nice, and course is just over all well taken care of. Plus the course is never over crowded (use to be wonderful a few years ago when it was always empty, but I guess you can't keep a good course like this hidden forever).
Cons: BUGS!!!!!!! Bring bug spray!!!
Other Thoughts: Besides the bugs it's a great course.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Oswego - Disc Golf Heven

5+    8/7/2010   8/7/2010
Review By: flashniggs3000
Played: 103  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This is one of the best courses in the western suburbs.

Great elevation changes for an Illinois course

Good open holes and wooded holes

Sweeping faiways, well groomed

Cons: The civic centre plays music to loud yet If you are a to 20 person you wont mind

can be a little crowded

BUGS!
Other Thoughts: Next to Joliet's West Park, this is one of the best courses in the Chicagoland area. Wish they had 24 holes!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.